(2012/10) OCT 2012 BTB

yes fullerton is a nice place! are you taking the main ballroom? i've seen good reviews on sophia.. their gowns are nice too. i haven't even thought of colors/flowers for my bouquet yet! most likely after i settled gowns/suits/car then see which colors match them. dont really have preference on the flowers. haha.

rolrol

hey shannie, yes i will be using the main ballroom. Haha... think you're right, maybe should look at the gown and theme of the venue to better decide on the color. Haha.. but that will also depends on what is the color of my bridemaid's dress.

Maybe one thing at a time. I gotta think of finding my videographer first... are you engaging one?

ferriswheel

Hi Min Min, I think i saw some pics on Oriental theme but the ballroom is more of a concern. We were offered the Waterfront ballroom which has a nice cocktail reception corner, but the ballroom has 2 pillars and is a low ceiling one. Was thinking how to overcome this part. Probably has to reduce few more tables to spread it out??

Hi Shannie, overall GCW has the best feel. Traders sucks. The carpark entrance was a turn off the time we drove in. It was tight and conjested. Didnt know we have to share with Tanglin Mall. Also reminded me of the flood! :p Anyway, the offered ballroom was kinda old and the reception area was too squeezy and it was just opp a pub! It was damn noisy when we arrived.

Any babes here any held weddings in ballrooms with pillars? How to overcome it??

rolrol, i'll most likely engage a VG but haven't decide which yet. hehehe.

eileen, my friend held his wedding at the waterfront ballroom. i cant remember much but the experience was not bad leh? i dont remember there're pillars blocking my view though. haha. i think guests wont really mind that? but i strongly advise that you should look for another venue if pillars are a concern for you. coz i think many of us regret after paying deposit for our venue.

so quiet recently. all busy?

i havent decided on my BS. how?! they all have its pros and cons and i seriously dont know which i like better.

i need some advice from the ladies here.

bridal veil- i like their impeccable service and the workmanship of their gowns & suits. their gowns are quite simple and it requires top up if i want more details on my gowns etc. i don't really like their MUAs though. i havent asked how much they'll deduct from the package price if i were to engage my own MUA, or they'll allow me to exchange for something else. they have little negative reviews too. my concern is the cost.

the wedding present- i like their comprehensive package and the MUAs and PGs they work with which can help me save a bit here. their gowns do not wow me, but i tried on a few gowns and i look good in them. i dont really feel right when i visited them, they do not appear to be passionate about designing of gowns. i read some negative reviews about them which i'm quite worried. but i'm still very attracted to their comprehensive package and their promotion. haha!

ted collection- they only have a package for gowns only which consists of WG, EG & CS and i get to keep them! they make beautiful gowns and their workmanship is good. i felt the quality of the materials are lacking somehow, but of coz they dont look cheapo. i've to source for my own florist, MUA and i think the costs will add up.

any comments on the above? they all have its pros & cons but i like them all the same. haha. how how how?

liquidzza

shannie, how much do you have to top for bridal veil. i didnt visit them coz their shop was closed when i was bridal shopping at delfi so cant really give my opinion. who are their MUA? if im not wrong they dont deduct much for MUA. my gf who take up michelle loves the simplicity of her gowns. but i see the makeup done by their MUA (i dunno who), but really not something i would like for myself.

end of day, i feel just go for something you like if it doesnt exceed ur budget. else even if u sign twp, u will still be thinking abt BV..

i like twp coz i tried their gowns and find i look good in them too, so i just sign. actually comparing too many shops give more headaches. the shops u mentioned are renowned and much better than average bs. so discuss with bf what he is comfy to pay for BS then maybe can decide from theere?=)

ferriswheel

hey babes, i haven't visited any BS yet. Was thinking if most BS do rental of gowns also? I'm contemplating engaging outside PGs and MUAs.

What do you all think?

liquidzza, i dont know how much i've to top up until the design is finalised? for ballgown i have to top up 1k. and if i want additional crystals or a different fabric i have to top up as well. if i'm not wrong, they have their own in-house MUAs. i have to spend at least an additional 1.5k for pre-wedding PS and AD make up if i were to engage my own MUA. i believe it will add up to a lot. i love BV gowns, but i feel that the top up is scary since i cant gauge how much i need/want as of now. so most likely i wont sign up with BV.

so i'm left with twp and ted collection. ted collection costs more, but i get to keep all 3 gowns. i really cannot decide.. sigh.

need to think very hard, i'm someone who regrets easily. =X

hi eileen, most BS won't allow you to bring their gowns out for photoshoot. there are a few that does rental of gowns only, but i'm not too sure which ones. hope the rest can help. hehe.

ferriswheel

thanks Shannie, didnt know of that haha.. but seems like there are many free lance PGs now, so surely there must be many BS who will do rental of gowns? Any one care to share more details?

Looks like I need to go gown-shopping soon :p

are you looking for a bridal package or just gowns only? made to measure or off the rack? those higher end BS will allow you to engage your own PG for pre-wedding photoshoot, but for those one-stop BS, they may not allow as they have their in-house PGs.

have you booked your venue?

liquidzza

Eileen, most BS rent their wedding gowns.

the difference for price is whether you want a Made to measure (MTM) or Over the rack (OTR) gowns.

price for mtm will be more expensive, as they design the gown based on what you want eg, the color, material, design, blings, cutting. generally package includes wedding gown and evening gown, mens suit, makeup flower bouquet and ranges $4k-$6k. eg Silhoutte, Bridal veil, the wedding present, Dang...etc..

generally, most BS in tanjong pagar offers OTR gowns (means a few brides might wear the same piece) with photography package of 25-30 photos included. it includes the above gowns n suit but you choose what is already designed over the rack. price range is definitely more affordable $3.5k up.

basically, designer bs will be more costly...so it really depends on what you wish and budget you are prepared to pay..=)

liquidzza

hi shannie! have you book you bridal shop already?
hows everybody? i've been lazy to research on my mtm gowns, still deciding on my color theme for my wedding!!! so many colors!headache!haaa...

I signed up with BV. Hehe. I'm not sure if i should engage my own MUA or take theirs. Sigh. Now looking for PG & VG.

Have you decided to stick to MM or change venue? I guess most likely i won't have a theme for my wedding. My guests are mostly relatives, and i should just keep it simple coz other than food, i dont think they'll remember anything else. Haha.

liquidzza

congrats shannie!you chose the bridal that you wanted!!!

me too, ive changed to MBS...

now looking at live bands, are you gals engaging?
whos good? heard some recommendation for Yours Truly..

their quotation: 2 sets of 45mins
2pc band $900
3pc $1200
4pc $1600
5pc $2000
additional surcharge for some of their more popular singers..

yea yea! hope i've made the right choice!

i'll most likely be engaging yours truly too. cant decide if i want 2 or 3 piece band, i want the singer to double up as emcee as well.

liquidzza

shannie, have you heard about Shili & Adi? i heard them at some wedding shows and bf quite like them. adi can play keyboard and sing and they charge $1000. both are good singers and they play at timbre and reddot.

for yours truly, need to engage one keyboard n 2 singers =$1200. and i have to add $200 for kexin, $100 for alfred..and kexin is not confirm to be free on my date...so i might not engage them..

prada,whens ur hotel pg vg and bs?

think other than that, im looking at decor stylist for rom, live bands, and candy bar vendors, as well as thinking of theme or color-theme! =)

yea, i heard abt shili & adi but have not seen them perform. i will check them out!

i would like kexin to sing at my wedding and double up as emcee. i have not checked her availability on my date yet. if she's unavailable, i'll engage meryl. kewei suggested a mixer and monitor control for a top up at $250. so the price would be $1200 + $250 + $200(kexin) + $250(double up as emcee) = $1900. -__-"

liquidzza

shannie, who are you engaging as the 2nd singer then?i was quoted even more coz my hotel doesnt provide sound system.

YOURS TRULY
3 pc band $1200
Alfred additional $100
Kexin additional $200
Kexin double up as emcee $250
sound system $400
Total cost: $2150

they ask me to make a soft booking and kexin can only confirm by mar2012. That made me unwilling to place a booking since I cant even confirm kexin.

Shil & Adi
$1000
$380(system)
$150(double up mc)
Total $1530

Its about $600 difference for the bands. My bf chose Shili & Adi (though he doesnt know the price of the live bands) coz he feels that they are more jazz style, while yours truly more ktv style..how any comments/ help babes??

they asked you to place a deposit when they cant confirm the availability of the singer you want? omg.

if you're comfortable with shili & adi's style, then i think you should engage them. since your bf helped you to make decision already. you can save the $600 for your candy bar. haha.

i would like to have keyboard, guitar and 1 singer. my hotel allow live bands to use their sound system, yet i need to top up $250. other live bands i enquired actually say the system is good enough.

i will be visiting wedding harmony at a wedding show this sat to hear them sing and know more abt their packages. i dont think i'll confirm that soon since i'm afraid i'll regret.

liquidzza

shannie, the thing is he prefers shil&adi, while i prefer yours truly...

i can decide btw kexin (more jazzy, broadway vocal) or dawn (high, sweet vocal)..

wedding harmony famous singer is lorraine tan right? can find their songs on youtube

Kexin with Alfred
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GW-ECt_t5gE

Kexin
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5TCJ4q1UIrI

Dawn with Alfred (I think this is so romantic!)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=22mrjX-GEHg

Lorraine with 5 pc band
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b6t40choeBw&feature=related

Shili and Adi
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PuU4-H0OHhw

any comments? who do you like?

i've watch their videos on youtube but i prefer to hear them sing live. hehe.

actually i cant decide who i wanna engage too, i like alfred but i cant engage him since i want one singer and i prefer a female. i think both kexin and dawn are pretty good, so if kexin is unavailable, you can take dawn?

lokiewedslydia

hi all Oct2012 brides! so happy to have graduated fr Oct'11 bride!!
Our wedding was held on 1oct this yr!

jus wanna share this instant photo service which provided alot of fun for my guests and myself!
u can check em' Out at knotinpics.com

also, talking abt liveband i hired mine fr

a little dream

engaged a 3piece band with
female signer - renhui
male singer - levin
pianist - matthew

althou they look so young, they all have incredible talent esp renhui, she sang our march in song to pitch perfection..! n it wasnt an easy song.. THE WEDDING by mona fong

you can youtube..! hehe!

smoooooth planning ahead!

myob_angie

Hello to all Oct2012 brides!

New member on this thread! Saw alot of useful info from each and every one of you! At least I can get a headstart from here
. Up to now I've only accomplised so much. Abit stress when I see some of you already book your BS, venue, PG & VG...

Date: 27 Oct 2012
Venue: My Humble House
PG & VG: Still looking
BS: Still looking

Hope to get more info from here!!!

liquidzza

hi helovesmiilovehim, thanks for sharing!!your wedding must have been a great one! how much did you pay for ur 3 pc band? i cant decide the band, im very indecisive!hehe...

hi angielow! welcome to join us here!!!ooo, my humble house is a nice place!!food is good i hear!=)
go try bs, meet pg n vg and you will know your preference!

lovelyday

Hi, I'm looking to buy a past issue of Her World Brides (March 2011) as my wedding gown was featured inside. Anyone has a copy and is willing to sell? sms me at 90270968. thanks!

liquidzza

hi JT, great to see you here!!!mine is 14 oct, yours? im over at MBS forum too =)

taking begonia junior on 3rd floor...u?

liquidzza

jt are you ansons friend? he mentioned having a friend same date as us at MBS, and at peony!

if so, such a small world!!haha=)

jenovith

haha.. i was thinkin if you were anson's wife.. keke! yah! such small world! =) any luck in finding your wedding band?

liquidzza

mmm...havent buy our wedding bands yet..ive shortlisted a few but havent decide, maybe buy next year..now im busy looking at livebands, candy bar, designs for my gowns, photoshoot props n places...so many things already!=)

liquidzza

those that i like all quoted around min $1500 leh.
im still thinking about it.

Dessert and palette
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dessert-and-Palettes/133116806763608

Love republic
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Love-Republique/163174640391491

even pine garden charges more than $1500. think depends on the type of dessert too. those above provides more expensive items so price wise more too.

recently 2012 fb btb recommended The MR & MRS?
https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Mr-Mrs/287735694575095

* Package B: $538.00 [For 50-55pax]
(The following info provided by MR & MRS) For 200-250 guests, I will suggest you to take up package B with 2-3 top up.
The quantity of candies with 2-3 times top up is sufficient to cater for your expected guests however if you would like everyone to have a bag of candies, definitely you can consider to top-up more. The first top up for package B will be at $250 for 55 paxs and subsequent top up will be at $180.

think their price seems more affordable, design wise more simple la..

im still deciding.. coz if DIY, have to print out the tags, provide paper plates/ serviettes.your xd jm alot more work. need to arrange the dessert and decor. most important, need to keep all the expensive jars etc after banquet...hmmm..thats a real pain. of coz, alot brides DIY, maybe i worry too much about details..

recently, ive been slacking!been super lazy!hehe..i plan to go to frenz wedding then decide if candy bar makes a diff=) how about u shannie, what have u been doing?

the mr & mrs' prices are affordable but i agree their decor are simple, limited choices of desserts too. my budget is less than $10 per pax, so can only engage them. my bf is not too comfy with signing the indemnity form, still finding ways to convince him. haha.

i've been very lazy too. haven't book my PG & VG yet. can't find one which i really really like. sigh. haven't been looking much at PGs work coz after sometime, they tend to look all the same. -__-

i might not be engaging live band coz i find that it'll be quite noisy if guests wanna chat, so i'm still thinking. i'm so indecisive!

we have less than a year to go!

smilem

HI BTB
I completed my wedding.. would like to let go:
1) Wedding sticker (for doors / walls)
2) Chinese wording (Just Married)sticker
3) Wedding pocket mirror
4) Wedding bears (for car deco table)
5) Shang Tou basket (put needles/ scissor and etc)
6) Red packet x 8 pkt (for jie mei / brothers) 7) Thank you cards
8) alpha sticker (for deco)
9) 6 pair brand new Wedding mini bears (for wedding pen / decotheAPBox)
10) 1 set of mirror + 1 comb (unique)
11) Wedding tea set.
If keen, email me at [email protected]

megal

Hi hi! First posting here too. Oct BTB. I havent actually booked anything yet and you girls are so organized!!

lovebirds

Hi to all Oct BTBs...

My virgin post to this thread too!

AD: 28 Oct 2012
Venue: Holiday Inn Orchard City Centre
BS: Venus Bridal
PG&VG: Muse & Huse

Any other BTB same date as me?

welcome megal and liz! the thread have been very quiet recently. hehe.

megal, you gotta book your venue fast. from what i know, those popular hotel are fully booked for weekends next year.

megal

I know!! Getting a bit worried. Trying to confirm within these 2 weeks.

But have managed to sort out my bridal studio, wedding bands and photography.
happy that things are moving along!

Shannie, how are ur plans going?

liquidzza

ive been busy being jiemei for 3 weddings!
the whole day is really busy n tiring!!hmm, also find that alot gatecrashing games are similar, alil boring leh..

now thinking of making the photo props like moustache and specs coz my fren used it for her wedding. i think its quite cute..most likely gonna use polaroid for wedding, ask guest to sign on it n slot in an album!

candy bar all my 3 frenz dun have, so im still thinking if it is necessary..

liveband only seems nice for march in but realised most guests dont pay attention to them..spending $2000 is it worth it?

megal, which venue are you looking at? i'm taking it slow, so far only confirmed venue and BS. need to buck up liao. =P

liquidzza, i thought of doing away with gatecrash, but i'm also afraid that the video will be boring. i dont really like the idea of tekan-ing the groom and i want a fresh groom to fetch me. so most likely doing very easy and simple games. hehe.

i will engage liveband coz i need emcee service. coz if i engage emcee alone, also not cheap. i would love to have a dessert bar coz mine's lunch, most of my guests would be hungry while waiting for the banquet to start. but my bf is uncomfortable with signing the indemnity form though. so we will decide on this nearer to date.

i saw your photos on fb. one of your friend is a BV bride and she held her banquet at pan pac? exactly the same as mine. haha!

now i have a big headache, my bf recently say that he would like me to wear a tulle gown. and i was thinking of changing BS to TWP. i've already paid 2k deposit at BV, and i've engaged my MUA for AD already.

should i change? or stick to BV but top up for tulle? their tulle requires 1k top up, and no train.

megal

Hi shannie, HTB and I prefer outdoorsy type venue. But looking at the weather nowadays, we are a little bit hesitant. Don't really like the formal ballroom feel.

With regards to ur BS, do u want to wear a tulle gown? BV's gowns are very simple and elegant. Depends on how u will like to feel for your actual day I guess?

Luckily for me, my HTB and my preference for gowns are very similar. However, he's been trying to persuade me to wear a front short, back long type gown. Which does suit my personality, but after all, most gals will dream of wearing a long gown to get married in right? Haha. I don't mind it for our ROM, but would prefer to chu Jia in a long wedding gown. Problem is that we are going ROM and everything else in the same day, so I would need to have 2 wedding gowns if I wanted that??

i see. hope you can get the venue you like soon!

for my BS, i will need to discuss with my bf when he's back. the costs work out to be abt the same or slightly cheaper if i were to change. i love BV's service, quality of the materials and workmanship, and most importantly, the row of crystal buttons! but i think they are too atas for me. i dont intend to spend so much to top up, just to rent the gown.

i would prefer a long gown too. maybe you can wear one with short front for your EG?

meiqi28

Hihi... back to update again... The thread seems abit quiet mayb all still enjoy the relax period now. ME TOO! lol.. very relax now.. lol..

Went to attend a wedding at my venue end Oct. I din know it was a buffet style dinner. so i cant really know the taste of their chinese style food. The buffet spread was ok, quite alot but then there was alot of food wastage. Sumhow me n my bf was disappointed. lol...

Currently still looking ard for our wedding bands.. My bf prefers thicker wedding band n hope to be in a pair, not mix n match. N his choice always chg one! :S Went shop ard looking ytd oso. Saw a pair tat we like. Hope can finalise our choice soon.. Hav u gers bot ur wedding bands?