(2012/10) OCT 2012 BTB

lai_maw

The worst thing is that my fiance paid full amount on the spot. Ghhhhh! Now I have no bargaining power. Hopefully, they are helpful, finger cross x

lai_maw

all BTB, have you guys found any photographer or videographer for AD? I am still looking for reliable and professional studio to sign up. Any suggestion? Thanks in advance all. :D

megal

Hi Lai Maw, I didn't like their type of albums. And the photos weren't the type that I like. It was more old school typical poses. Don't quite know what their services would be like. Hope everything turns out alright! When are you going to choose ur gowns?

There are quite a few good AD photographers. Depends on ur budget. I like www.andrewkohphotography.com. He is based in Msia, but he will be willing to come out to SG. The others I like was one eye click or something. I think if u look around in the forums there will be plenty of suggestions. Then u have to check out their website to see if you like their style.

@Ocean Pacific - hihi! How are your preparations going?

ocean_pacific

Hihi Megal, my preparation started slowly.... being lazy is my main reason. Hahaha!!!! Till now, Got my wedding bands, going for my overseas photoshoots soon in late March and now, have decided 7th Oct as our first choice for AD. *just keep my fingers crossed no further changes since time is running fast* next on the list, venue.

How abt u?

Advanced Happy Chinese New Year to all the Oct BTBs
hope things have been going well for everyone.

liquidzza

Hi megal! My pg n vg is Moomedia too! Hifi!! but I haven't engage anyone off childhood montage. How about youagls? DIY-ing or getting professionals? Any lobang?

My bs is the wedding present n just met them for gown design last thur. Was rather disappointed that not much advice is given( is it the norm?) I have Mtm wg,eg, n a tea-dress. even though i know I'm supposed to bring hmwork for my Mtm gowns, I am not sure what will look good on me. But designer simply ask what type,material, color I like.. Feel like I'm paying for a tailor rather than designer...Hopefully the work of the design matches what I have in mind...;) their Otr gowns looks food n I would have sign Otr but just that eg selection is little...

Maybe I can you all for opinions..for evening gown, do you think a nude or dusty pink chiffon toga dress with bling will look too pale?? I like the color but good fren who got married kept telling mi the color doesn't look radiant for bride..

Sigh,have to confirm my design on Monday as I'm planning for photoshoot earlier in may in sg. How abt u gals? When r u taking photos???;)

liquidzza

Sorry mind my spelling error as I'm using iPad n maybe typed a little fast.

Hi Lai Mai, there are a lot of pg n vg around but depends on your budget..Maybe you can start by browsing works of pg n vg you like then zoom down to the price range you n bf willing to budget..

Hi ocean pacific, congrats to you! I'm also very lazy. Haven't even buy wedding bands! Keep thinking that it's still a long way but after Chinese new year, feb is coming!!! N I still thought I can DIY some stuff, but nothigns done yet!!

ocean_pacific

@liquidzza, I can see you have completed most of the critical items like venue, PG & AG, BS. Don't worry, I believe you still have ample time. Wedding bands will also come along the way with your MTM dresses for photoshoots in May.
Too many stuff to do, I just try to strike one item off one step at a time. .... Venue + BS + PG & AG. Wow.....

megal

@ocean pacific - I got my wedding bands, pre-wed PS and BS sorted. Still need to get you venue, but currently in discussions with the banquet coordinator. I guess we are quite ok in the sense that oct dates aren't as popular as the sept dates! So venues so far are quite ok. Have u short listed any?

@liquidzza - I don't think we will be doing any childhood montages. Haha. My HTB doesn't like it. My bro did his on his own for his wedding 4 yrs ago. My guess is that u can ask moomedia whether they can do something like that for u? Or include it somehow in your video clips?

Who is ur designer at TWP? I thought they would have let you try on a few styles first to see if that particular cutting fits u? My BS is also a MTM package. Mine was easier as I really liked one of ther OTR gowns, but didn't like the bodice. So I just did something similar and have different details on the bodice. Evening gown I am still deciding between a cheongsam or a short long hem gown. I would go with brighter colors though. Nude and dusty pink would really not stand out on the night.

My PS is in early April. Similar timing to Ocean Pacific that's why I need to confirm my gowns soon as well. Will be long for my first fitting of my wedding gown after CNY and that's when I need to confirm the design of my evening gown.

ocean_pacific

@megal, have short listed My Humble House and Pan Pacific Orchard. Just wish to have a small and cosy gathering with relatives and closed friends. Intend to do away the usual March In and GateCrashing. Main aim is to be simple and cosy. Hope to get Good AG and PG to capture the moments of quality time that both of us spent with our invited guests and live casts on the screen. Somehow I wanna our guests to have some sense of pArticipation on our important day.

meiqi28

woohoo.. this thread has new Oct btbs.. hihi..

i also getting lazy liao.. recd call that my rings have arrived but yet to collect, probably after cny then go n collect.

i finally confirmed my photographer for both pre-wed & AD le. FINALLY! Phew...
@ megal: i only took digio AD wedding pkg but no photography with them. My bf dun like those std studio pics with them lo. so gt to find ala carte.. very tiring le.. next will be finding VG lo.

Jiayou..

Any MUAs to recommend for mums and sisters? Preferably about $80 per pax.

Got my wedding band from this shop at One Ounce located at 112 Katong, customize takes about 3-4weeks unlike big companies which usually takes 2-3 months.

megal

@meiqi - ya, ala carte can be a bit tiring but at least it's stuff that you guys like!

I am very very close to finalising my venue! *excited*! Negotiating details with them now.

ocean_pacific

@meiqi - hihi (^_^)
@prada - $80.00 consists of hairdos and makeups? Perhaps you can ask your AD MUA to introduce?
@megal - way to go... One item down ...

liquidzza

Megal, I did try a few gowns before I sign but after that I decided to have a different design from what they have. Then in design discussion, no trying was offered. I've chosen my evening gown in dusty pink silk chiffon already. Now left my tea dress. Initialky just wanted a sweetheart puffy short hown but Designer advised that Btb usually choose cheongsam or designs that they will wear again for teadress, coz we get to keep them. So now researching hard again!

megal

Go with ur gut feel. Don't change ur mind just because u want to wear it again. Unless u r ok with that too! I would love a cheongsam as my tea dress, but my package doesn't include it. Contemplating long cheongsam as evening gown but I find it a bit too stiff and proper for my dinner.

I also need to research for my evening gown before my first wedding gown fitting, which should be after cny! Need to lose the meat around my belly...

megal

Happy lunar new year everyone!!! Hope we all have a really good, healthy and prosperous new year and all our wedding planning goes smoothly!

meiqi28

Happy lunar new year to all!! May all b blessed with good healthy n tons of wealth!! May all our wedding plannings and weddings go smoothly and of cos beautiful!
Its counting down.... Gosh!
;)

jacylia

Hi ladies, am very new and excited to be an oct bride like all here! Have booked the more critical stuff but still some to go.

Venue: hotel fort canning
Bridal: amanda lee
Pre wed Photography: la belle
Actual day pg and vg: cant decide
Band: yours truly (kexin and alfred)

Still have the pj, wedding bands, ad car, decorations, wedding invites, rom venue to sort out.. Any thoughts on pg/vg?

megal

Welcome Lin! You are quite sorted! I am in final stages of negotiating my venue so it would be one big thing off my mind then. Having problems fitting the guest list in though. Tsk.

I like Amanda Lee gowns. But they were a bit out of my budget. Haha. I heard Your Truly and kexin is quite good! Well done on hiring them!

I got my wedding bands already. Should be ready for pickup by end of this month. Bought my Pjs for wedding night from Peter Alexander. Haven't thought abt pjs for night before wedding though. Hmmm.

Also haven't sorted out invites, theme, etc.

I like Andrew Koh Photography for AD. Worthwhile giving him a try? If not, Moomedia is always a hit.

Are u having your ROM on the same day as ur wedding?

jacylia

DD, my email is [email protected]

MeGal, thought Moomedia is qte expensive right? Ok shall go look at Andrew Koh.
Yes ROM is same day as wedding but the venue cannot be confirmed yet and for a 15mins effort, am not sure how much i want to put in..

Just confirmed Mr Chan Kai Yau as my pj
So its now down to bands which i shall let the man make the decision i guess? :p

liquidzza

Hi jumping, you mean Jp? Justice of peace? Wow you manged to cdm someone! Tts early!!I emailed dr Phua but he can't cdm till jul/aug..

How much did u engage yours truly for? I wanted to engage both of them n dbl Kexin to be mc but total added to 2250 with sound.seems too much leh..

I booked Moomedia for my pre n actual day vg pg.. Their actual day package is not very ex, coz I prefer vg n pg fr the same company,,, hehe..

Thought of doing candy bar or photo booth instead.

Anyone has ideas to share on guest book?

megal

Oh! JP. Haha. I haven't contacted anyone yet. Andrew Koh had a videographer that usually works with him as well. So hopefully the price suits and they r both available.

How come u can't confirm ur ROM at the same location? Are they charging u more for it?

@liquidzza - haven't thought abt guest book yet. At the moment my venue package includes guest book but I'll probably want my own. Are there other suppliers of guest books? I was thinking of having another photographer going around taking photos which guests can take home and they can paste their photo in the guest book and sign next to it.

jacylia

@liquidzza yes thats the price but becus they are friends and also i like their tone so im ok
i thk guests need entertainment haha..

Mr chan told me to remind 3 mths before wedding because thats when rom lets them file official docs

Im thking of a dessert booth too and likely nt too much food as i doubt pple wld eat alot before actual dinner and they can pack home i guess?

My fren did a guest book like a decree scroll type, ez to keep.

@megal, the hotel did provide a room at a small charge but i wanted to have it outdoors; though im not sure if it is worth it as its just a short ceremony..

megal

If u want it outdoors, will it cost u a lot more? Plus do they provide any wet weather contingencies?

myob_angie

Hi All BTB,

I have one Qs, are you allow to keep those MTM gowns? Sorry, I hope I dont sound too silly here coz I'm getting abt confuse on the packages that were offered by some of the bridal salon. =)

kitminish

hi angie, for those BS, they will not allow you to keep unless otherwise stated.
Your MTM will become other OTR after your wedding.
So you might want to look at the OTR range before signing a MTM package.

myob_angie

tkx for the clarification Kit! =)

now I'm bk to square one. dunno which bridal to choose.

looking at this thread, quite alot of Oct bride gg for the MTM bridal. Any particular reason for that?

megal

I didn't like the Tanjong Pagar studios as they were too pushy. Most of them do OTR.

My studio had OTR, which were very nice, but I just felt like something was missing, so I splurged. Haha. But her OTR and MTM packages both had MTM evening gowns to keep anyway.

Just depends on your preference of studios, designer and the packages they have.

myob_angie

@megal - ur BS is flamingo bridal? Okay, I'll go there 2morrow.

@kit - ya those at amanda lee also quite ex le. headache headache headache....

megal

@angie - yes my BS is Flamingo Bridal. I really liked her OTR dresses but in the end went with a MTM which is a mixture of two of her OTR dresses.

I really like Miah at Amanda Lee Weddings too. But their package was a bit out of budget. The other BS I was considering was Emanuel B Coulture. Really loved her cheongsams. Elaine is the designer.

Didnt really like the Wedding Present. Thought the designer was a bit aloof. Couldn't feel like I connected with him.

liquidzza

hi babes, im with The Wedding Present.

My package is $4699 with mtm wg, eg and teadress, and two suits, bridal bouquet and makeup artist. it was a promo to get the additional tea dress n suit. i get to keep eg and teadress, and htb get to keep one suit.

i have to agree the price is rather steep for designer bridal shop. but i really like the fitting of their tulle gowns n the idea of being the 1st to wear my white gown! i tried a few bridal shop in tanjong pagar but didnt find any gown that i really like. its difficult to find one gown that has the cutting, color and design nice. and i am very particular about good makeup artist..ehhee, in the end decide to spend alil more coz at least TWP didnt require top up. I went to Dang, renee l, jawn happily ever after, and silhouette but all mentioned top up, and so i decided to take TWP in the end.

i just submitted my designs for gowns, so pray hard it looks nice! mtm gowns is really a headache! after researching and thinking for so long, i really cant picture what will look best on me. now i have to wait for the actual fitting, especially evening gown coz im not sure if the color i choose will look nice!

alan from TWP is friendly, but i thought during gown discussion he should have provided more ideas from my homework but he didnt...he merely ask what i want, then even when i commented im not sure if the eg design i decide is too plain, he just kept quiet. so it was a tad disappointed. my 1st fitting will be in late feb, *pray hard* and hope result turn out well...!

what i will suggest to brides who havent choose to try as many bs as possible with ur gfs. if u can find a nice otr gown then u can save cost n also hassle of thinking of designs for your own gown.

thinking of diy stuff after seeing the btbs 2012!

kitminish

Something that i was very worried about MTM was your dream design might not suitable for you or you do not know what is the best for you. I know some BS let you try the OTR first to let you have a feel of what design/shape is suitable for you and from there , both couple & BS design something else specially for you.

myob_angie

@megal - I went to flamingo today and meet up with Shirley. She's really one nice person to chat with. Friendly and share quite abit of info and opinion although I didn't sign any thing with them. Tkx for this recommendation. I may consider this bs.. =)

I also went to silhouette too. Really love their gown. Big poofy and dreamy, but like what liquidzza mention they require top up for tulle and lace gown and most of their gowns are of lace and tulle and lace. But their gown REALLY very beautiful!!!!

@liquidzza - don't worry your gown will turn out nice and pretty coz u take effort I'm designing it. Would love to have a chance to take a look at the completed gown. =)

megal

@angie - glad u liked Shirley. Let us know if u did choose to sign up with her!

I went for my first fitting today. It was just to try on the inner lining. How exciting!! Also discussed my evening gown. Decided on design and material, but not yet decided on colour.

Time is running short! I need to create a spreadsheet just to keep track of what we need to do.

Has anyone sent out Save The Date in invites yet? Or not planning to do so?

jacylia

@angie low, i wanted MTM because i had a specific design in my mind. La Belle guys are not very pushy you may want to consider.

@MeGal, I will be sending save the dates about 3 months before (July), have verbally told the close friends and relatives anyway

Have just bought my wedding bands and very happy about it. Now the biggest headache is still the AD photo+V. And ROM venue - my hotel coordinator left

megal

Have u been looking on the forum for AD photographer and vid? No luck?

Oh no..I hope they will be replacing ur coordinator very soon? I just only very recently secured my wedding venue.

liquidzza

thanks angie..really hope my gowns turn out nice! will post photos after gown is done, but 1st fitting usually is only the inner layer right?

now n then, also thinking of DIYing my photobooth and candy bar placards..think its more meaningful!but that also means more headache!haha...

i havent buy my wedding bands yet..still undecided btw cartier love ring n bulgari bzero 1 band with diamond...argh...*pulls hair*

megal

@liquidzza - yup, first fitting only inner lining. Can't wait for my 2nd fitting. Haha. Had a dream abt my gowns 2 nites ago. Currently my gown is being sent for embroidery.

liquidzza

hihi meiqi, how come u strongly recommend cartier? is urs cartier??heheeh...my1st fitting is this sat...cant wait!!!any idea if i need to bring nu bra for 1st fitting or heels?

megal

@liquidzza - definitely being ur heels. Ur designer needs to know how Long ur skirt should be. I didn't bring nubra because my gown is meant to have bra pads attached. I was given the inserts when I went for my fitting.

Wear nude undies as well of u don't want too much showing. The lining is usually pretty thin.

myob_angie

@liquidzza- yes! My choice Cartier too!!!. Elegant and timeless after all wedding band are for eternity and suppose to be worn everyday. I felt that bvlgari ring too chunky. No offense to those who purchase chunky ring as their wedding band. I can't wait to see your gown from TWP.

@megal - I've sign up with flamingo. I felt is the right choice after so many other bridal visits and advise from everyone. Thank you!!!! My final decision came after I saw how Shirley handle her after sales couple. Instead of closing the deal as a business transaction they parted like old friends. I guess that's the overall package that I'm looking at.
I've got my gown sketched out, can wait for 1st fitting in April!!!!

To all the Oct BTB jia you everyone!!!! 8 more months to go!!!!!!!!

megal

@angie - glad to hear u have signed up with Shirley! I also enjoy my time chatting with her and I like that we are not treated like as if we are only $$$. How about ur photoshoot? Did u go with her recommendations or did u already have ur own PG in mind?

Would be lovely if we could all see each other's gowns!