(2012/10) OCT 2012 BTB

megal

@shannie - I am surprised the cost is about the same to change?? Will you have to forfeit your deposit at BV if u change?

I also considered short long gown for evening. But also thinking of cheongsam type gown with a small train. Haha. Too many ideas!! I need to decide soon. Need to discuss my options with my BS this coming Thurs.

@meiqi - I just bought my wedding bands on Sat! We took quite a while to shop for it. Finally decided on a pair. Also didn't want to mix and match, so had to compromise on my choice. Wanted one that won't have a gap between my solitaire and wedding band, but the matching pair for that would be too thin for my HTB.

meiqi, glad to see you here again! i haven't buy my wedding bands yet. i'm a very indecisive person, am afraid i see nicer ones i like nearer to date. so most prob getting them before my photoshoot next year. hehe. my bf prefers a thicker band too.

megal, i've done a calculation and the cost is lower if i change, that is if i want a tulle WG. i thought i'll just MTM an EG at BV with my deposit, but not too sure if that's possible.

which BS are you with? you can use your CS type gown for tea ceremony, the short front one as EG? so you can have both. where did you get your wedding bands? i haven't been looking around. i think i'm the slowest here, cant decide on stuffs coz i keep thinking i might regret if i confirm now. grrr

liquidzza

@shannie, maybe you can ask BV if its possible just to mtm an eg, and the cost of it, since you sign a package with them already. how come ur bf suddenly like tulle gown? but i feel if you personally like bv's gowns, you should stick to you. coz i rem you mention you fall in love with of of their gowns on you right? btw, who's ur mua fr bridal veil? you can see i uploaded another gf (brenda) wedding tulle gown fr twp..see which one you prefer..=)

@Megal!wad wedding band did you get? ive been undecisive and thought its still early to get too..worry that i like another pair nearer to ad..at first like bvlgari (but worry its too thick for daily wear), then like bvlgari diamond band, then cartier...argh!!so many choices..lol...

my bf have no preference on the type of gown initially, i like tulle. he asked me to go ahead with what i really like. i love the quality, workmanship, and the crystal buttons on BV gowns so much that i signed up with BV. i was telling myself that if i really want tulle so much, i can just top up.

now i'm thinking, i have to top 1k for tulle, if i want a train it'll be additional top up, i should just change BS right? although i love the simplicity of their gowns, but i think it isn't worth it to topup 2k just to rent it? i did not choose any MUA from BV, i engaged my own.

i thought i'll just make a suit or an EG with BV if they allow, since i don't think my package is transferrable.

meiqi28

Hihi shanni n all.. *wave wave*

Ya wedding band is such an headache. But indecisive is not me but my bf lo. Wan thick n yet nice ones not easy. @shanni, our bf sama sama but hav u shortlist any?

@liquidzza, same same as u lo. Was looking at bvlgari initially oso but my bf boss recently wearing bvlgari rings so dun wan to b same as his boss. I like their marry me but guy one abit plain. Now choice is cartier. At first my bf dun wan cartier but he managed to c sumthing he like. Which cartier design u like? If my bf dun chg his mind to others i mite buy this coming sunday.. Heee..

@shannie, ur BV not transferrable? If not can sell slightly cheaper. So many headache choices in a wedding.

megal

@shannie and liquidzza - I got my wedding bands from Goldheart. It was nearly the first pair that we saw and we both liked it. So we got it after shopping for about a month at least. We also wanted comfort-fit bands as we will be wearing the bands nearly forever. Cartier doesn't make comfort fit bands as far as I am aware? There were a lot of other bands we liked, but since they weren't comfort fit, they were out of our running. Really depends what you guys are looking out for in your wedding bands I guess.

You need about 3 months to have the bands custom made to your size and my fingers are really small, so we decided to get our bands while the Christmas sale is still on.
this way we get our bands in time for our pre-wed photoshoot as well.

My BS is Flamingo Bridal. Shirley does mainly made-to-measure gowns and the quality of her gowns are really good. I was throwing up between Amanda Lee Weddings and Shirley, but Shirley was more within my budget. She is very flexible too, since she is the designer and the boss.

Going to my first appointment with her this Thursday. Looking forward to it!! Very excited. Except I really do need to decide whether to go OTR or MTM for my wedding gown. All her evening gowns are MTM.

meiqi28

@megal - initially we oso like a pair from goldheart, the thick pair in goldheart but subsquently my bf chg his mind lo.. We oso went shopping for v long, for months until he told me he is tired.. lol... Did u get from their celestial collection? its v blink.. ;)

hmmm.. I din notice if the ring i like from Cartier is comfort fit but my bf one i tink is cos his is without diamonds n quite heavy tat jacks up the price of his. usually its the part with diamonds that are hollow.

At first we oso buffer in the custom made time but our sizes are available in stores now man. (duno haiz or happy) lol.. Guess most impt is still both like the pair of wedding bands cos its the rings for life. ;)

have fun in your first appt.. n update us on fri ;)

megal

Hi Meiqi, ya. My HTB also got a bit tired for looking at rings. He also initially liked a Cartier pair, but realised not comfort fit lor. We asked the Cartier salesperson and she did say that none of their rings are comfort. Our bands are from the Pure Blue collection. Mine has a row of diamonds, but not sure if it's still considered as part of the celestial collection?

Ya I also noticed some of this has a hollow underneath the diamonds. But I worry it's not comfortable in the long run and will gather a lot of dirt. Haha. Yup. Definitely impt to have both of you to like the rings. And we wanted a brand new pair that no one put on.

Yes, will update on fri about my first appt! Which BS did you go with?

meiqi28

oh.. i din know le.. hahaha but my bf one is purely white gold with no diamonds, thus inside shld be round. He wan comfort fit oso but this one he no complain le. hahaha.. ya.. u reminded me i shld get a brand new pair oso. duno if that is possible.. since im getting it so early n not in a rush to have it now oso.

some sales pple said its bcos of the diamond settings tat y beneath its hollow. nvm gt time jus go back n let them clean n shun bian c c collections? lol...

im with Digio..

i dont think i can sell of my package coz it's non-transferrable? i havent discuss with my bf yet, but i'll most likely stick to BV and will top up for tulle. really hope that my experience with BV will be a good one.

megal, you going your 1st appt on fri? that's fast. my 1st appt will be somewhere in march i guess. they need 3 months to get my gowns ready, i'm planning to take my pre-wedding shoot early july.

i havent been shopping for wedding bands. we'll only shop for bands next year. i need to settle my PG & VG fast, so far haven't found one i really like. faints~ think my expectations too high, budget too low. haha.

liquidzza

heee i like cartier love ring..(the screw one) want to take pre wed photo in may on bf's birthday as i thought it will be more memorable!hee...

megal

@meiqi - mine has a row of diamonds but no hollow underneath.
so it is possible to get a row of diamonds with comfort fit. But still depends on what u like. Definitely able to custom make without any extra cost. I went to goldheart, soo kee, lee Hwa and love and co. All no extra cost to make a brand new band, except need 3 mths. Then if u want to engrave, need another extra two to four weeks. Not too sure about Cartier though...but they usually don't have my size. Hehe. I am only a size 7...which makes it hard to picture how the band will fit on my finger when it's my actual size!

@shannie - my photoshoot is in early April, that's why I am going for my first appt this Thursday. HTB is going for his first suit MTM appointment on sat.
. Makes things more exciting! Once the photoshoot is done, we can then concentrate on the reception. But first... I do need to choose and book our venue....

I am sure your experience with BV will be good. That's why you paid a premium for them!
should be a good process! But I still can't decide on OTR or MTM. Haha!! A few of Shirley's OTR have caught my eye though...

meiqi28

@megal- u r rgt some can get comfort fit with diamonds. But sum rings r jus plain hollow inside. The one i like i forgot to see if its hollow beneath. Shall check it out. Lol... Im a size 7 too n they hav my size for d design i wan lo.. Size 7 is alr a size bigger lo.. Lol..

Ya, u beta hurry to book ur venue. Tink 2013 bookings out soon. Popular ones are alr booked. Btw, im one day later than u. Mine is 07 Oct.

@shannie, mayb u discuss with ur bf n see how.. I oso haven cfm my PG n VG yet.. Lol..

@liquidzza, u gg to get love ring with diamonds? Tat day d salesperson showed us with black sapphire one. Unique for guys but sum mayb cannot accept black ba.

megal

@meiqi - oh u are size 7 too!! Means your fingers are even smaller than mine! I am surprised you can find sizes cos most places I went to don't have my size. Go bck and have a look at the ring you like again. I went back to different Goldhearts to see my ring four times before we finally bought it. Haha. But we did go back to the salesperson we liked the most.

Which venue did you book? We are trying to avoid hotels, so maybe subconsciously hoping that the venues we like are still available. Yes yes, better book soon. I keep pestering my HTB about it but he is really busy with work at the moment.

How come you didn't take PG package with Digio? Their gowns are quite nice too. But I have only seen the gowns from magazines. Didn't actually go to their shop.

meiqi28

@megal - ya sumtimes finger small is a headache man. when im too cold, size 7 seems ok. but my other rings i wear std size 8 wor and when the cartier salesperson measure my ring, she said its a size 6. weird.. size 7 fits well but if i took their size 8, it really move alot when i swing my finger. tat y im quite worried abt the size.. scare i will grow fat..

My venue is at One degree 15 @ sentosa.
oh.. i din take digio PG bcos my bf v particular on photography. So wana engage photographer for pre-wed and AD day lo.. another headache..

Have u shortlist any venues?

megal

Hahaha. Well, I guess we will all grow fat at some point in time especially when we decide to have kids? The other thing I wa advised on is to get a ring that can be resized. Particularly for when we fall pregnant and start to go bigger.

Oh! I considered one degrees 15. But as I didn't want a ballroom reception, the other areas are either just slightly small or no wet weather contingency. But I have heard reviews that they provide quite good service.

The few places we considered were Sentosa Glass House, but it will be closed for renovation. We also looked at Gardenasia, Hoyt Park and Spabotanique. Going to see a few more places this wkend and hopefully we can make a final decision.

Which photographers have u looked at?

smilem

WTS:
1) Wedding sticker (for doors / walls = 4 design)
2) Wedding pocket mirror
4) Wedding bears (for car / deco table)
5) Red basket (put needles/ scissor and etc)
6) Red packet x 8 pkt (for jie mei / brothers) 7) Thank you cards
8) ALpha deco
9) 6 pair brand new Wedding mini bears (for wedding pen / decotheAPBox)
10) 1 set of mirror + 1 comb (unique)
11) Candy Boxes (to put candies & distribute to kids/children)
12) GUest Book + 1 no. of rose pen c/w box(western or chinese couple)
13) 3 nos. of different design cake topper
14) 6 pair wedding Hello Kitty
15) WEddinng tea set
16) 1 pair of red chopstick
17) 1 mini deco weddg cake
18) 2 nos. of mini photo frame

Email me = [email protected]

meiqi28

Ya.. tat y im quite worrying abt the size too. The cartier salesperson, a very nice lady, told me that actually they can add a metal plate behind the ring to make it smaller then if u really grow fat, they can removed it. of cos its not foc. lol..

For me, me n my bf like One Degree 15, partially outdoor and oso a sit down dinner. Actually they have buffet options too but of cos still in the ballroom. Jiayou.. gt to scout ur venue early le..

hmm.. PG & VG still looking but tink will be getting from those freelancers. we like those warm n cosy photos instead of more to models like poses.

megal

Good luck with the photographers and videographers! Take time to choose one you really like because i guess the photos will last a lifetime! Although our wkend is not too hot date, but I think you might need to book early too. Otherwise they might already be booked.

Yup, I also heard of the "plate" method. But then I don't know if I like the idea. So I just went with my size and will resize in future when necessary.

Are you planning to have children soon after your wedding?

meiqi28

ya.. so many things on hand. My frenz kip telling me i hav less than 10mths to do my stuffs and its freaking me out man. Tat y m reading forum n stuff more these few days n tat is why im more active these few days.. hee..

ermm... the baby will commerce prob mid 2013 ba cos i wan a lil horse rather than a lil snake. my pref.. no offence.. what abt u?

megal

Ya. I was counting and it's nearly like 9 more months to go!! So scary. To think that we will be a missus soon. But at the same time, so exciting!! Wedding planning is driving me a bit mad though. Lol. Really so many things to think about.

Haven't really considered when I want to have a lil bub. Always wanted dragon baby, but obviously not happening in time!! Ya, ppl do say horse baby better than snake. Hmm. Even baby also need forward thinking. Too many things!!!

Anyway, I finally have my gown.
Took OTR, but part of me still wondering if I should have MTM. I really really love the skirt of the gown, but so so about the silver lace at the front. It's a duchess satin gown a line. I wish the lace was pastel pink or something. Haha. Shirley had a gown that had pink embroidery with organza skirt. If only that was a sweetheart bustier gown, I think I would have snapped it up in a heartbeat! That's why now I am thinking if I should MTM a pink/silver embroidered bustier gown. Hehe.

Next appt will be to discuss my MTM evening gown.

liquidzza

@meiqi, dunno leh, the diamond on the love ring like very small and not worth the price leh..ehheh

im like lost on what to do after booking everything...starting to be lazy...jialat!just came back from holiday at hawaii...been eating eating eating...havent start dieting too! n havent really decide on design for my mtm wg and eg...omg!!!

megal

@liquidzza - when is ur actual day? I am still trying to finalize venue and I think we nearly have it! But I think I'll also be lost after we book everything. Haha. Luckily we have our photoshoot in early April to distract us!!

Only 9 more months girls!!! Time is flying!!

liquidzza

Hi megal , mines 14oct12
I too eating a lot chocolates n haven't start dieting! Planning for photoshoot in sg on bfs birthday in may12 so less than 5mths le!!!worry I won't be able to ctrl ESP lunar new year is coming too!!! Omg!!!

Thinking if carriers love ring is nicer in rose gold or white gold? I kanna prefer rose gold but my engagement band is in white gold...how uh? Do u gals think wearing white n rose god band doesn't match??

Pls motivate me!!! Start to jia fei!!!

megal

I think rose and white gold can match leh. Mainly will depend on the design ba? I quite like rose gold and wanted a mix rose and white gold wedding band, but HTB's skin colour doesn't go well with rose gold.

I say, enjoy Christmas and CNY first, then all let's jian fei together! Haha!

Merry Christmas everyone!!

meiqi28

Merry Christmas to all!!

Yes! Lets motivate each other to jian fei. Time is running out le. Me still finding my pre-wed photographer lo.. Prob photoshoot wil b at may/june. U all so early? Heee..

@liquidzza, tink the diamond on the love ring muz fit the screw-like symbol rgt? Then their bands is not very thick so not tat big oso.. Lol.. If u taking rose gold n u wearing tog with ur proposal ring, mayb its abit hard to match. U tried wearing tat b4? Or consider wearing them separately? I bot my wedding bands from cartier le. Paid deposit n ask them to order a new pair. But duno when can collect..

Clock is ticking.. So scary.. Like not much time to slim.. Jiayou all!!
M.E.R.R.Y C.H.R.I.S.T.M.A.S!

megal

@meiqi - how come still looking for photographer? Anyone in mind already? My HTB is a lecturer, so he only has fixed times where he can go on leave. That's why our pre-wed shoot is so early.

Going on holiday today!! Wheeee! Eat first, jian fei when I get back. And a good break from wedding thoughts.

liquidzza

hihi happy new year everyone!!!

i think im getting the cartier love ring or bvlgari ring.. still havent decide...

thinking of DIY candy bar now..heheh
n most likely not engaging live band le..just cant decide what to do on MCs..

megal

Happy New Year!! Was thinking how come so quiet. Haha.

How are you planning to DIY the candy bar? I haven't even thought so far about my reception! Do you have any themes set for your wedding? I was thinking of engaging a photographer to take photos of guests that can be posted live during the dinner but haven't checked out costs yet.

By the way, I went to my BS again yesterday and finally decided to go with a MTM gown rather than the OTR I chose. Haha. I think my designer also want to faint at my indecisiveness. So my MTM will have the ruching i like plus pink and champagne embroidery along the skirt! Now I just have to decide what I would like for my evening gown....lol

Anyone as indecisive as me? :p

megal, i'm very indecisive too! haha. i haven't thought of the designs for my gowns yet. they'll be very simple anyway. hehe. been really lazy recently. boohoo.

looking for AD PG.. any recommendations?

lokiewedslydia

Shan this is Lydia! Knot in pics

Ah u looking for pg allow mi to recommend u dear! Check out Melvin Poh photography on Facebook his very gd n hardworking n affordable rates I haf worked with him a few times n like his attitude n photos of cos!
hope this help n thank u for hiring us dear!

megal

Hi Shannie, ya my gown also quite simple. In fact it is nearly the same as the OTR gown I chose, except I am changing details on the bodice. Prefer the not so bling bling type gowns.

AD PG - what's your budget like? Any particular style that you like?

megal

Oh btw Shannie, did u end up sticking with Bridal Veil? When do you actually start your appointments for the gown?

hi lydia, i will check out his work! thank you!

megal, yup, decided to stick with BV. i should call them to fix appointment soon as i'll be taking my pre-wed photos in early june. i dont have a high budget for AD PG as i intend to take 2 pre-wed shoot. hoping to find one below 2.5k. hehe

i will check out his work tonight!

i'm doing my local pre-wed shoot with bryan jean. we're still deciding if we should do another pre-wed + casual shoot in malacca and/or JB. that's the nearest i can find carousel, horses and bf likes those old buildings. we don't have budget to go europe for pre-wed shoot. haha. if i decide to do 1 pre-wed shoot, i can engage a better photographer for AD.

i'm very indecisive!!

megal

I am meeting out banquet coordinator tml to finalize details then hopefully we can sign the contract and the important items will all be booked! Yes have booked my PG and VG. Wanted Andrew but unfortunately he was already booked on my AD.

Yes only less than 9 mths now!

Have you thought of a theme for your wedding? I am not quite sure what to do with mine. Any ideas to share?

that's great! where is your venue? who did you engage for PG and VG?

i wont have a theme for my wedding. maybe the rest can share their ideas with you.

megal

We are now looking at the Sentosa Resort and Spa. HTB proposed near there. Haha.

I got Moomedia as my PG and VG. Admirer of their work since 2 years ago.

Do you have any colour themes at all?

oo.. nice!! liquidzza also engaged moomedia!

i haven't thought of any color theme yet. hehe. want to settle my AD PG fast. í'm afraid that i can't find one i like who is available on my AD. i asked 2 PGs, both not available.

megal

Nice! I like their work. They are very busy ppl!!

Better quickly start asking soon! I am kind of glad that I didn't go with our good dates in Sept as there are so many ppl getting married on those dates! Our own dates are busy as it is with 2 or 3 couples getting married. Good luck with the photographer, hopefully something will work out soon!

smilem

WTS:
1) Wedding sticker (for doors / walls)
2) Wedding pocket mirror
4) Wedding bears (for car / deco table)
5) Shang Tou basket (put needles/ scissor and etc)
6) Red packet x 8 pkt (for jie mei / brothers) 7) Thank you cards
8) ALpha deco
9) 6 pair brand new Wedding mini bears (for wedding pen / decotheAPBox)
10) 1 set of mirror + 1 comb (unique)
11) Candy Boxes (to put candies & distribute to kids/children)
12) GUest Book c/w box(western or chinese couple)
13) 1 paor of ROSE Pen (to sign guest book)
14) 6 pair wedding Hello Kitty
15) WEddinng tea set
16) 1 pair of red chopstick
17) 1 mini deco weddg cake
18) 2 nos. of mini photo frame
19) 3 nos. of cake topper

Email me = [email protected]

rolrol

felt very stressed... nothing is done yet except for booking of venue and bridal studio. Got to spilt the time since i just collected keys to my flat. Feels like maybe its better if i can push the date to next year.. haha!

lai_maw

Hi, my wedding is also in end of Oct. I bought bridal package from "Seleter Broadway Bridal Studio". My gown will be MTM. I am a bit worried whether their service will be good and can offer what i need. I want to use a bit of French Lace in my gown although they said no French Lace before. Anyone has the same experience?

megal

I am sure you will be fine! Everything will be worthwhile in the end.

Maybe ask your Jie meis to help out?

megal

Hi Lai Maw! Hmm. The first studio that I saw was them, but I am more particular about photos so I didn't go with them. Have you asked them again about french lace? Usually you will probably need to top up for that because it's an expensive material.

lai_maw

Ya MeGal, I guess so too. I was psyco by the sale woman and went ahead to purchase their package and it was my first visit to the bridal shop/event. I didnt even look at other bridal shop and kind of regret though.

You mentioned about photos, it is not good as others?