(2005) Brides of year 2005

karen ~ oh good so you managed to look at the various set ups .... i am planning to go down to look again when there is another wedding later this year that is going to be quite similar to mine, in terms of size and style i think

leeds ~ *confused* ... no leh, ngiap heng's is the pond ... and there are two attachments .. one for actual day and the other for studio

Good Morning Ladies..... THink our thread is getting super fast! I will out of the office by 11am. Any changes, please sms me.Oh.....which means I can make it tonite...

Trinity - You want to join us 2nite. Its our 1st gathering. Welcome......

Fates - How are you feeling 2day? Hope you are getting better.....

morning gals,

jelly~ yay! got steamboat gathering must count me in hehehe.

dinah/ ssmilezz~ AMI last nite was quite good! latoya's superb!

ssmilezz~ hehehe.. no prob.. later i go chk

karen~ did u like the hibiscus room? it's quite cosy ya? the windows add a nice effect to the room
i didn't know they have colour themes for weddings!

btw, what time are the early birds meeting today and where ah? i'm quite near suntec, but will prob have to leave by about 6.30 or 6.45 for another appt. so was wondering if i cld pop by if nothing crops up at work!

Dinah, Oh I c... will have to try to open again at home.

Fates, feeling better now? Still coming for the gathering tonight right....

Good Morning ladies,

Dinah ~ u will be there early right?? i should be there by 6.30pm or latest 6.45pm!! u will be standing beside the bull or inside the restaurant!!

Stupy ~ Thanks for yr SMS!! Glad to know that u will be able to join us!!

Trinity ~ Welcome!!

Gd Morning ladies!

ssmilezz/dinah, you must share the pics of the gathering later with us ladies who can't make it today ok?

Jellytots & Anna,
Don't think I've viewed your photos yet... can I take a look pls? [email protected]

leeds,
I've sent the link to you!

Morning ladies!!!!! so all of u prepared for tonight big big gathering????

Stupy, thanks for ur sms last nite..

Gals, i will b late. Guess the earliest i can reach is at 7.30.. will call one of u once i reached ok???

fates,hope u r feeling better now..

stupy ~ great news! don't think there will be any changes, but sms any of us in case you want updates

oraia & cutie ~ erm ... not sure what time early birds are meeting ... playing by ear .. why don't you sms us when you get to suntec

oraia ~ i loved fantasia though ... i thought that last night she was really great

blur ~ not a problem ... so long as you come, we'll be very very happy

<font color="ff0000">AHHHH!!! It's zeee BIG DAY ladies...LOL!!

Thanks for the reminder ~ i brought my cam too. heh heh...

Fates ~ hope u feeling better yah?? Erm..are u even in the office today?

Stupy ~ yes, just SMS us to confirm ok?

Dinah ~ saw Sugar and Spice. They are very very cute.....i expected them to be way smaller. :P How can u tell them apart arh? Looks like twins to me leh...

Oraia ~ I PMed u my HP. So can pop by later if have time yah?

Morning ladies!

More updates on the Mani/Pedi Gathering. Called the place up yesterday and found out the following :-

10 persons - 1 to 6pm ($40 per pax)
6 persons - 2 to 5pm ($38 per pax)

Price includes manicure, pedicure and complimentary tea.

I was thinking maybe not all the gals would want to do mani/pedi, so they can just pop by for the gathering and participate in the corsages making session by cutie. We can also bring our own food. Maybe, it can be a potluck and each person can bring some food each.

Ladies, if u all are really keen in the above, please discuss about the date u want to book during 2nite's gathering and get back to me fast. At the moment, the saturdays from 15 May onwards is available.

smilez ~ hehehe ... thought you would like them ... Sugar is slightly bigger than Spice, while Spice is more active ... also their coats are slightly different ... Spice also has a deeper pink nose compared to Sugar ... heehehe ... i think you can tell that i have observed them at very very close range

<font color="0077aa">Last night's AI was great yah...
Erm, wonder if we will be back in time to watch the results? What time is Survivor anyway? *confused*</font>

Morning.

yesterday have a long talk with my fh abt solemnisation. My initially thoughts was to hold it together with AD, but becos end up AD date is on a friday, i dun want some of my friends to purposely come and attend it and take leave. I mean making those brothers and jiemeis to take leaves is already enough. And moreover i think i mentioned before that my mil keep commenting that solemnisation and dinner together on the wedding date is too rush for her.. *sigh*

So initally I wanted it on 12 March 2005, cos i feel it more meaningful to place is nearer to AD and moreover it just one day difference of my birthday.

Unfortunately, my fmil rejected this date again. *sigh* becos ffil is doing biz in M'sia. that day is too far from chinese new year and qing ming - which he will come back and then go back to m'sia again. So she feel that making another trip in between is wasteful.. anyway ffil is in sabah, so need take plane one.

SO~~ after looking at the tongshu, she decide to have it on 20 nov.To me, the date is already quite meaningless.

Anyway, I cant have it on a too expensive venue like ballroom and swimming pool. So we will definiately having solemonisation at the ROM.

The makan place for after rom is a headache, becos with all parents and friends, it is going to be more than 1 table, which i feel wasnt a good arrangement.

So I am going for a buffet with 2 choice of venue. One at chalet, one a fh place. the 1st option will cost more eg aranda chalet at pasir ris will cost abt $200 per night, fh place will be cheaper but perhaps more crump.

Then *sigh* i dunno how lah~~ both options feels werid to me. Anyone knows the pricing for chalets - say SAF or safra ones.. or anyone intend to book a chalet or have buffet at home after the ROM. Can share experience with me? Perhaps it is not my inital intention, so I feeling quite unhappy abt it.

Another thing is ROM photographer. Do you think there is a need for ROM photographer over just at the ROM?

<font color="ff6000">Dinah ~ LOL! U are so observant yah? Erm, u must be peering very very closely at the two of them when u first got them. Kinda like those SPOT of the difference contest. hehee

I thought Sugar should be more hyper mah..afterall too much sugar really makes someone super active. LOL!

Hey, i heard that Carmen Electra appeared in Shusky (yikes ~ my spelling suxs) + Hutch??

Kysha ~ wow..u work fast..hmm...i don't think i'll go for the mani/pendi. My nails are in bad shape, i need to grow them first. :P Think u guys confirm the date, then i will let you know if i can pop by to makan and chit chat.

touraco ~ they are my hamsters ... hehehe

smilez ~ yeah .. initially had tough time telling them apart ... but after a while, quite easy lah.

And yes, carmen electra had a small role in stusky and hutch ... yuck yuck .. the typical blonde, boobsy bimbo role

<font color="0077aa">Icy ~ I think u need a big *HUG*. 20th Nov is a Sat i think (ssmilezz flipping thru calendar to check), so maybe it's not that bad yah? At least more people can make it and if your FMIL is really so particular, i think no choice but make the best of it yah? Don't let it spoil your day.

If u want to hold the buffet at home, will it be too crowded and squeezy?

Chalet is ok too as i think Nov is still the exams period so u won't have those kids/teenagers around making a lot of noise.

<font color="aa00aa">Dinah ~ i think there's this reality program on MTV with Carmen and her hubby Dave. She kinda reminds me of Pam + her ex hubby Tommy Lee. :P The show supposed to be quite good. </font>

Hi Ssmilezz,

Had received your message in jawn thread.

Hi Everybody,

Goodday, girls. Sorry, I had to confess that I haven't been following the thread for a while. This thread is really too active until I could not catch up at all.

Yes, I will be signing up with jawn coming weekend. Had already make an appointment to meet them. Very pleased with my choice as I will be able to find my dream gown there. Simply love the gowns that I tried there.

Dinah,

Saw you in the tan yoong thread so you will be signing up with him soon I love his gowns a lot too but selected jawn over him at the end.

Sorry , girls. I a bit blur. When will be our meeting.

Icy - I can help you chk the rates for the chalets coz I've a friend who can get discount. Juz let me noe the actual date that you want.

Ssmilezz - Agree w you,last nite AI was great.I feel Latoya was fantastic &amp; Jennifer is improving every week. I like JPL....

Icy

Cheer up gal! You are not alone. I'm in the same boat as you. MIL insisted on choosing auspicious date for my AD and like u said the date is meaningless. My ROM is in Nov and AD in May. Different day and month. Sigh! Just have to respect her lor!

I think the SAF chalets are quite nice, abt $50 a nite i think, but they are very popular and u have to book way in advance.

ssmilezz,
Yap~~ 20 Nov is saturday, seemed like quite a popular AD day too, so if i want a ROM photographer then I have to get him quickly.

fh place at 5 room flat is pasir ris. I just have a feeling that friends wont feel comfortable to be a house as compared to a chalet.. i mean chalet still can move around into bedroom or etc.

My date is first day of school holiday, so which means perhaps really have those teens and kids, also means have to book early.

icy
yaya big big hugz -anna copies smilez eg..haha.

hmm... sometimes we dun really get to choose everything our way but life has its ups and downs i think and sometimes wats worse is in fact better.. just to share with you, i still hv not gotten my date either cos fmil says tt must see tong shu. she's convinced tt one of their relatives din see date tts why now cannot get kids... i think tt is so arcane. so here we are stuck, cannot settle anything. i dun care so much for the dates cos i must hv a sat ad due to church constraints. plus i wld want to avoid my period days since i hv a very bad period.

guess life isn't abt fairy tales...you dun always get wat you wan and sometimes you do get gd things you dun really wan as much.

i rem someone in the thread bked a chalet for rom? but dunno who... can try to check?
you cld also borrow a relatives condo or house for the lunch party?

queenie ~ yes ... i will be going with tan yoong ... and am so relieved that finally i have made my choice ...

icy ~ cheer up ... sometimes things are like that lah ... but don't let it get you too down ...

hi cutie

i was thinking since u are the one teaching us how to make corsages during our next gathering, could you kindly help me co-ordinate the discussion about which date and find out how many ladies would like to come for the Mani/Pedi gathering?

btw, a 30% deposit is required upon booking of date.

thanks in advance!

<font color="0077aa">Queenie ~ u blur lar...i thought u didn't see my msg. hehe..had to go to the Jawn thread to page for you. LOL!

Our meeting is TONIGHT my dear...u coming along??

Icy ~ Well, i'm not too sure if it's really so impt to get a good/popular ROM photographer lor..i'd rather save my $$ for the AD photographer. It's really up to u.

But some of the chalets are big enuff to accomodate your friends/family so it may not be that bad. SAF chalets are very nice nice!

Stupy ~ hey!! *high 5* i also like Hobbit Jon alot. He's funny hor..did u see him dance last night?</font>

Hi stupy,
thanks.. i have discount for aranda chalet - ntuc disct rate.. i also wanna know which chalet is good. cos like cannot take those NTUC pasir ris chalet - too small mah.

kysha,
SAF chalet so cheap!! dunno my friend got lobang or not.

icy ~ dont be sad lah!! think positively, at least every year u will have an additional present to receive from yr hubby mah!!!

kysha ~ no problem!! will discuss with the girls tonite!

icy - yah, i agree wif ssmilezz. My ROM was very simple. Wanted to save the best for AD. Anyway, u can stl make a simple ROM memorable. I had Monica of Vividshots to help me capture the beautiful moments during the ROM proceedings, then proceeded to Chongqing Steamboat for a wonderful lunch with close friends and family in a private room. To me, this is making the best out of a small budget.

icy

I'm not exactly sure if the price is stl the same. any gals can help confirm? but u need SAF personnel to book for u.

cutie

thanks a lot!

<font color="119911">Kysha ~ do u have any ROM pics to share with us? heh heh heh....:P

erm, i'm feeling a bit under the weather today. Shucks. Got to "tong". </font>

Ssmilezz - Yah, saw JPL's dancing, he so cute...

Icy - Try the bangalow at Changi(under SAF, Ithink!) Very huge, got a large compound outside for you to have BBQ or Buffet.

Ok Ladies - I'm off now. Enjoy chatting &amp; see you 2nite!!!!

<font color="ff6000">Dinah ~ will do will do....feeling heaty and erm..i think just body aches (but could be due to gym last evening. )

Yah, think should SMS fates yah? just see how is she feeling</font>

thanks girls.. all of u are so nice.

fh says he will makeup by having a mini holiday after rom.

kysha, how much does it cost for rom photography?

Smilezz, Dinah, I like fantasia last night. I used to like jasmin but her singing is getting a bit stale now yah...

Icy, Yah getting a chalet sounds like a good idea and you dont have to spend much $$$ too. I also intending to have a simple ROM followed by lunch buffet at my place downstairs. Better to follow fpil, otherwise they will nag nonstop and make you feel bad for not listening.

smilez ~ hehehehe ... you lah ... siao on at the gym ...

yah .. think will wait see if she pops in this afternoon into the forum or not .. if not think should sms her lor

leeds &amp; smilez ~ yeah ... jasmin and red-head john are getting too predictable now ... the three black girls are really power houses though ... very very good

icy,

well...don't be so upset...u can't please everyone in the world right?

i wanted to have buffet at a chalet after my ROM but family complain too far...but i think it would be a nice idea as pple can relax and sit around and chat

my friend had hers in her condo...

Hi icy,

Sorry to hear about the difficulty that you have over your ROM date.

Seems to me that you'd want your friends and relatives to witness your solemnisation. Because if you don't mind that only the immediate family and your jiemeis &amp; xiongdis get to witness, then you can still do your solemnisation on the AD.

Another option is to ask if you can do the solemnisation as part of your banquet proceedings. This way, it doesn't take up additional time (so your FMIL cannot complain rush) and everyone can witness the process! I've seen photos where this is done. So maybe you want to consider this option also?

When you disagree with your FMIL's opinions, you must first try to get FH to stand on your side. If you can persuade him that what you wish to do is reasonable and he agrees that that's what he wants also, then ask him to speak up for the both of you. If he's the one to try and convince your FMIL, it'd be easier coz he would definitely know how to persuade his own mother mah...
But never never threaten FH with things like "it's either me or your mum!/Why you always listen to your mum but never consider my feelings one" etc. He'll be very stressed and this may affect your relationship.

Hope that things work out fine for you in the end!

<font color="0077aa">Dinah ~ i just SMSed her. See what she says hor...i'm just worried she could be at home. hmmm

more gossips..shall read in awhile. heh heh...

leeds ~ yeah hor, when the old folks nag..they really can nag non stop till the cows come home...*headache*

Jasmine arh? She's the one with the flower right? yeah, agree, quite standard performance.

Icy ~ hee.holiday arh? Maybe u can go some beach resort and take some bikini pixs for us to see..like Blur Blur. LOL! *wink*