Support group - Divorce

lostatlantis

"Are this bunch of people weirdos?" I guess this question may pop into many's mind when you read a lot of what is posted...

"Will joining them be any good? How the hell is talk to a bunch of strangers gonna help me with what I'm going through?" is another that comes to mind...

I think these two are the most common questions that you may have when you stand at the doorway before making the decision to join this group...

Well.. the answers to the 2 questions are:

NO... they are not wackos... just a bunch of people experiencing a bad patch in life who has taken the courage to step into the light.. and now who bask in the warm rays of care, support, concern that others in the group are more than capable of sharing... (P.S. I am one lucky person, who although do not share the plight, have been privileged to be a part of their path to healing and finding new happiness in their lives... so I should be "sane" enough to say that they are not loonies...!!)

YES... I have been with the group right from the start... and one of the most heart-warming things is to see members of the group go from strength-to-strength... Some were hesitant initially.. but once you open your heart to good things happening to you, its amazing what can happen... Apart from providing support, I think many in the group has served as "consultants" in various capacities... from practical things like how to prepare DOS, appeal to HDB... to obscure things like the best reply for when you get posed the question "So.. are you married??" or "where's your wife/husband?"

So dun hesistate now... take the first step... and I am sure none in the group has ever regretted that tiny little baby step that has given them all back so so much....

Of cos I have to qualify that the group does not enourage separation nor divorce... Nobody wants to have to go through such an unhappy episode in their lives. Members of the group subscribe to the belief that a marriage is a lifelong commitment. Unfortunately they were not given the chance, for various reasons, to give testimonial to this.

redstar202

Had a drive
Driven by your Love
But when you messed around
I lost the drive i found
Thought you needed
Needed someone true
But you changed your mind or had i failed you?
Wished you've been careful with my heart
But you tore it apart and broke an angel's heart
I guess what's true has an end somehow
But i am living proof of what Love is about.
It's hard holding you, loving you, losing you
It's sad to be true and be fooled by you.

- Extracts from a song.

If you are reading the postings in this thread, are you currently facing some problems with your loved one? Do you find the lyrics above somewhat relevant?

Are you feel life very empty and meaningless? Are you finding it difficult to motivate yourself at work? Or are you finding it increasingly difficult to talk about your problems with your friends because it seems that they are unable to fully comprehend your situation? If you are trying to move on with your life, or if you need someone who can understand to share your problems, please do find the courage to join the group.

This support group is made up of people from all walks of life. People who have their own set of problems. People given up on. Yet there is one common characteristic that defines the group.This group is made up of people who had loved with all their hearts, and as a result of it, been hurt deeply. And all the group members want to do now is to help each other go through this painful phrase and be able to live life the way it should.

No matter what reservations you may have, rest assured that this is a group of people who will go through your bad times with you and who will share your pain. You will be accompanied through it all no matter what, unlike that special someone who may or is already drifting further away from you. There is always a listening ear, or something funny to cheer you up. The chemistry and the care & concern for each other is simply amazing given the short time the members have known each other!

Take that 1st step and learn to stand up again with the group! You will not regret this move!

desert_moon

hi meimei 15.. you can get in touch with me.. we are plannin an outing on sat. we take turn to coordinate .. you can email me at [email protected].

we are open to all, going thru what we are going thru.. pls feel free to join us.. any race religion..etc.

hope to hear from yyou/

depression

Hello Lost Child

I would like to join in as well, but I tried to email you, but and was bounced back. Do you or any other members of the group got other email address?

If possible, kindly reply asap. Thank you.

simplylost

After reading the posting here, I realised I am almost facing the same problem as Lost Child.

Mine is the opposite -- I am high drive but my hubby just need (sex) once a month, the most twice.

3 yrs of marriage, it has been so unbearable. Now I am thinking should I get involve with a close friend of mine who is a single, charming guy. But I do not want to hurt my hubby should he find out one day.

desert_moon

hi depression... try calling me or sms me this number 94336009..then..its a prepaid card, then i will give you mine actual nnumber.. and tell you our gathering point tomorrow.. i will check around an hours time.. and every hour for your sms.... you sound like a guy.. cheer up

desert_moon

Hi Simply lost,

Thanks for reading. Well, frankly.. ou should try to discuss with him. And i suggest seek counselling now.. NOW! I did it too late.. or should i say i should have insisted on it.

No man like to be 'played behind'!!!
When he finds out, the repercussion can be bad. Maybe, i feel its more of expressive as a person. You see love as a different thing as from him.. now i think of it.. it may be a case for me and my wife, Simplylost.. do not go into that path..because... you will be lost once you taste it. We are only human.. if you open your arms to this pleasure of the fresh, if your guy friend is a fantastic person in bed.. you will forget about your husband and think that you are in love with the other guy.

Sit down adn think who you really love first. Before you decides on anything. I have made a mistake..do not wish you to follow likewise.. the pain is unbearable.. and no normal human being should go thru this.

email me anytime.. or post your thread.. the rest will also give their points

I do have another perspective. ultimately its what i call a choice.

desert_moon

hi mei,

there is no problem with the account as i am still getting emails..hmmm...

anyway.. you can email husky boy or drop me an sms.. i will get in touch with you.. hop to hear from you.. we have program for tonight...

meimei15

Hi Husky Boy & Lost Child

Thanks for the invitation. I may not be able to join tonite. Next time I'll join u all. Very shy to meet you all 1st time leh cos never see and chat with you all b4.

twogiantshoes

hi meimei15
(Lost Child aka Desert Moon here)there's always a 1st time to meet the group. don shy and hesitate la... we look forward to your joining us. or why not sms me at 9 433 6009? if it'd make u more comfortable, i can ask one of the ladies in the group to contact you and bring you in. we're meeting at Lau Par Sat for dinner at 6.30pm, really there to irritate each other, probably go karaOK after that. some have to work and will join us later around 10pm. you can join us later also la!

(i don't have internet access now, so my fren twogiantshoes is typing it for me.)

Desert Moon

redstar202

meimei15,
We understand how you feel. The 1st time for all of us is just the same too! We have got 2 gorgeous ladies with us tonight, so that may make it easier for you. Nonetheless, keep in contact with us if you can't make it tonight. We welcome you with open arms!

sick&tired

ALL:

We all know that we have been very busy chatting online and meeting up everyday, but dont forget to post your support message here.

A sentence or two might means alot for those that is reading here.

Move on with life and be happy and go lucky!

deprived

sick&tired,

how can I join you guys in meeting up and chatting online? I should be joining you guys soon, i think. Not sure if annulling is successful or not.

checking

any good lawyer to recommend? had went throu customary 2 yrs back.. however, throu the years, we had been living separate life. want to get a good lawyer, increase chances to obtain annul instead of divorce status...

btw, how much is the fee?

redstar202

Hi Deprived,
Just email to Husky Boy or Lost Child whose email addresses are right above. We communicate mostly through Yahoo Messenger so you may need to install this program. Take care!

desert_moon

hi checking,

well, i would recommend a friend lawyer, he is good, too bad i was not able to use him. Well, i can also recommend mine.Drop me e email, i would email you both the lawyer firm names and contact. But i have learn one thing.. you choose lawyers also base on situation adn wat you want.

i have also left my email and contact on top or you can reach one the ladies too.

Cheer

sunset

hi wan (not so easy), if u like, u can post ur email a/c here n i will add u in to yahoo msger. me also only chat during office hours

evielow

Hi great people!

Thanks for the invitation. Met a bunch of really wonderful people at the BBQ at East Coast. : )

So sorry that I didn't talk much. Was feeling overwhelmed by a sense of unrealness or maybe suffering withdrawal symptoms from moving too fast. Kind of thinking about it, it was just last wed nite, only 4 days since the discovery. I've not cried enuf, have not raged enuf, have not lamented enuf, and i'm trying to run towards recovery. Sighs, very impatient of me but perhaps i was just trying to forget this entire situation.

My empty house still torments me. Staying here with my dog, i feel the sense of loss very keenly. Yet I do not know how to go back home (parents') anymore. I find myself feeling very alienated, not belonging anywhere anymore. In limbo...

I don't know if I've made the right thing to do in seeing 2 fortune tellers yest. Despite being a christian, i wanted answers and explanations. The terrible thing is the second fortune teller said that my husband will drag me into deeper shit and the quarrels and torture will get worse before it ends. How scary! The good thing is that it makes me all the more determined to end the marriage becos I don't want to be stuck waiting for him for another few years. Even though I love him, I want to move on.

I guess we will never have the answers we really want. But one thing's for sure, God is still urging me on. Esp in the guise of you wonderful guys yesterday.

Thanks for being around!

redstar202

Aren't we all guilty of trying to move on too fast and sometimes of being reluctant to move on?

Don't we find ourselves trapped in a never stopping emotional roller coaster?

Aren't we amazed that the person we love so much can cause us such pain and wondering where our formerly loving and caring partners disappeared to?

I miss the sense of security and assurance of hugging someone i love deeply. It feels like someone will always be around for me no matter what.

I miss being able to look at her lovely face the first thing every morning. I miss kissing her good night before sleep, and holding onto her hand while sleeping.

I miss shopping for furniture and groceries for her new flat with her. I miss arranging and deciding the positions of her furniture.I miss doing household chores with her and tidying up her stuff.

I miss having a soulmate to talk with and confide in anytime i want, be it something happy or sad.

I miss having someone to cook for me, and someone to have a nice simple dinner with.

I miss attending our families and friends' functions together and being the envy of everyone else.

I miss talking about and planning our wedding, who to invite, where to hold the dinner, how it's gonna be etc......

Although i haven't officially married her, our life has merged and fused together in such a way that it feels like we were already married. Most importantly, we were really contented and comfortable with acting like a married couple.

Therefore it does feels like a divorce when she wants out abruptly. What about the endless promises she made? What about the Love that she had? What about the life that we shared? What about the assurance she gave me?

Worthlessness, helplessness, lonliness, a sense of betrayal is what i feel. That is probably how anyone faced with marital problems feels too.

I am glad to be able to meet a group of people who can understand why i am finding it so hard to let go and move on. A group of people who never 'discriminated' me because i am somewhat luckier and who will be around to support each other. I know with you all around, sooner or later i will be able to find the courage and meaning to push on with life. Thank you.

I quote the following from one of the threads in this forum :

Hurt is inevitable, Misery is a choice!

I am determined to stop being miserable....and i hope we will all succeed with time.......

not_so_easy

There is a choice you have to make,
In everything you do.
And you must always keep in mind,
The choice you make, makes you.

-- Author Unknown

almost decided

Hi Lost Child

Could you email me the contact of the lawyer too to [email protected]. Thks.

Hi Checking

Did you contact the lawyer? Did the lawyer advise on the success rate of getting annulment? How much is the fee? Thks for sharing

strawberry78

I am using Ms Foo from Foo Chia Partnership at Chinatown Point, tel 6538 6188 you can email her at [email protected]

Her rates are reasonable and she gives sensible legal advice.

I am signing the separation papers next Monday...it has been a while since I stumbled on this forum when the whole thing started in May, almost five months now and I am feeling quite positive about the whole thing.

Thing is, we should never commit ourselves to someone who cannot love us back totally. That's why I am so determined to end this, even if he turns back later (which I won't be surprised cos he keeps changing his mind, words every other day), I don't know how to accept him back again. Its just that he's proven to be the biggest AH in my history!

BB is doing well going to be one years old soon this week, so handsome but active, energetic and naughty, made me quite frustrated sometimes, esp when he wakes up so many times a night just to shout around. ie. when its too hot, then will have to turn on the aircon, or when he wants to drink milk, and finish half, maybe he just wants a drink of water??? In any case, visited an infant care since he is too young to go childcare, the new govt subsidy is really good.

Take care all, life goes on

troubled person

Thx Strawberry78 for introducing me to this thread. You're a strong lady. Hope everything goes well for you.

I know this might not be the most appropriate thread to post my question but I hope I can get some answers here.

I'm planning to go for annulment. Would like to hear from people who have gone thru it what grounds did you file under and if there are any complications involved.

If you have filed under non-comsummated marriaged, what are the reasons that you have given and how did the judge want you to prove that?

Is it true that annulment has to be filed within 3 years of marriage because I tried searching that in the legal websites and it is not stated so.

babybluez

I stumbled upon this website by chance. I must confess I am actually a bride to be but in my course of work, I have seen a lot of broken marriages. I wanted to answer some of your questions but my post got deleted I think by administrator. Dunno why cos I only giving information on divorces and annulment. If you guys want info on the procedure, just email me lor.

Am glad to see that there is such a wonderful site here for people to exchange their thoughts and encourage each other.

Just want to share my philosophy with you guys. I grew up thinking that marriages last forever. But as I got older, I found out everything is not black and white. In my work, I try to be as neutral and openminded as possible. But inevitably, I tend to side with the person I am helping. Especially a spouse who committed adultery, I will feel he/she is in the wrong. But I was touched by the reasons behind Lost Child's situation. Thanx for giving me a reality check.

People ask me why I break up marriages? I feel I am not. Because I do not egg people to divorce. If there's a chance I would like people to reconcile. I have reconciled myself to my role in divorces and perhaps by sharing my views, I hope I can ease people's torment too.

I feel that when a marriage is really broken down, then let's just try to put the past behind us and move on. Whether or not we can still be friends, at least we don't have to make life difficult for each other. I think it's best to end the relationship quickly and then move on with my own life instead of keep thinking about all my greviences and seeking vengence or fairness. Why prolong my own unhappiness?

A lot of people tell me it's not fair. How can he get away with all the things he had done to me? He must suffer the consequences. He must admit to everyone what he has done. My view is what good does it give you to think about all this anymore? that's life. when someone steps on your foot, it's not necessarily that that person will be punished.

To the people who are coping with a divorce, best of luck. I know it is hard but you have to think of it as a new start to survive. If you keep thinking back of your past and not letting go, there's really no point cos we cannot go back in time. So might as well make sure our future is happy.

dingo_beans

Dear group members,

The idea of forming divorce support group took birth over couple of beers between Zorro and me back in July. Thanx to all your support, the group continues to prosper helping many broken souls

Over the past few months, I’m really glad to see many new comers joining and old timers moving on. As an once appointed "chairman" (che me).. Really, I don’t see myself doing much.. On the other hand, thanks to all your postings to the web, organizing outings, initiatives in leading new members to the group and more importantly, a heart to help. The group seems to take life by itself and maturing day by day.

Over the past few months, I’ve really benefited a great deal from the warmth of your concerns, your company and the livening up of your lame jokes. (ha..) We’ve only knew each other for a very short time, but due to the similar trauma we have gone through, I seem to have known you for a very long time.

For those that have known me long enough, you’ll know that..

Through this experience, I gainned a mirror for myself.
So from cursing my wife and wanting to plant C4 in her plane to seeing the problem lies in myself.

Through this, I learnt about life and love.
So from me trying to end my life, I am now celebrating life day by day and counting my blessings along the way.

I also learned that pain is a fuel that energizes me with an intensity to change that normally I would never posses.
So From screaming to God “why is this happening to me?” to praying God not to take this pain away as I see how effective this is in helping me to grow spiritually day by day.

Through this, I’ve learnt how loving God is to me and the art of letting go, let God.
So from trying to forgive her to trying to forgive myself to really couldn’t understand why once I had such a big fuzz.

Most importantly, through this, I’ve met you, my dear friends.
So from learning that my case ain’t that worst after all to learning from you, your strength and courage in moving on.

I’ll be starting work tomorrow. (A new life and new beginning). Before I get myself burried with work commitments, just like to take this opportunity to thank you all.

Take care my friend.

Dingo
Checking in and Signing out

soonalone

I happened to come to this group. I'm a divorcee-to-be, with 1 boy soon 4 years old. I've problem telling my friends and colleagues about my failure in marriage. My colleagues always ask why not to have a 2nd child and I could not have enough encourage to tell them my situation. I do not have problem telling friends via email though.

Any suggestion or input? Or it is ok to tell friends but not colleagues because company wants to hire you to work for them, not to listen to your problem.

silverstar_75

I need advice. Is it better to do an annulment or a divorce?

I am feeling sick and tired and depressed,yet a little relieved... Odd huh?

desert_moon

hi soonalone

WHy do you want to tell in the first place? IF you need support than tell close friends. Anyway in the group many did not say a word to even family till it was settle and collegues as well. Frankly its ultimately your choice and situation.

hi silver stone,

Cannot advice, not bec we do not want...but we do not know your situation. The anwser would be in the consequences you want? Emotional obligation of finiancial obligation.

To both of you..you are welcome to join the group. As there are different pple..with different opinion. You can hear them out. As mentioned we are not here to judge but to help each other thru and not feel alone in this time of need. We are meeting at one of the group friend's place today. You are free to join us. Do feel free to contact me at 94336009. Sms me i will get in touch with you. This is a prepaid card, thus will try to switch over now and then to check.

We will know how you feel, been there and done it. Hang it there.
The Sun always rises.

soonalone

Thanks Lost Child for your reply.

I felt I'm hiding the truth when being asked though the divorce is still in progress. I just wish those people can stop asking those kind of questions such as "are you having a 2nd kid" etc. They are not bad people, but they just do not know what I've gone thru and going thru.

Anyway, I need to get myself ready to face the reality to be able to answer those questions when the paper is signed eventually.

I'm going to move and when I signed up my boy for his new childcare, I was also wondering whether there is a need to tell the teachers.

In summary, my question is:
while the divorce is in progress AND
upon completion of the divorce process,

is there a need to tell people who ask? OR
is there is need to tell voluntarily? (like the childcare case?)

Also, my worry is my boy. He is a very sensitive boy. I'm not sure how to tell him. I'm also concerned whether he will feel inferior when compared to other kids. Now I'm just telling him he still has a dad, but his dad will not stay with us in future. However, he has a mom who loves him very very much. Thus, not to compare since he has things that others do not have and he does not have things that others have.

Thanks for listening.

strawberry78

soonalone,

you want to email me directly? I can introduce you to this online single mothers group, you can ask them for advice.

i am separated from my husband and mom to a one year old boy, his dad is not in singapore, gone back to his home country. I totally understand how you feel - single parenting is not easy, esp my BB was hospitalized for suspected asthma over the weekend and the nurses etc....noticed no father visiting him but were too polite to say. So it can get awkard...in any case, do email me if you want to talk.

desert_moon

Hi soonalone,

hmmm...its normal to feel and face all that you are feeling. It is unavoidable.

TO be frank nobody can say whether to say or not to say. Circumstances have to play apart. However, for the childcare you should let the principal know. Thats my opinion as she can help look for your son, in term of his behaviour etc.
As for collegues, i have learn one thing, i just be frank if circumstances calls for it.

Well, strawberry side got a support group which you can seek advice and support from, or you are also welcome to join our support group..best join both..

Please note that you are not alone, alright! You can make it...

The World is a stage!

soonalone

Thanks for all the encouragement.

When my boy was 20 months he too was admitted to the hospital. I could still remember when he saw the kid walking in front of him had both her dad and mom's accompany, he suddenly held my hand very tightly and wanted me to carry... From there on I know he is a very sensitive boy, that's why I'm worried.

I've have tried to salvage the marriage and perhaps my husband had too. But I think I've reached my limit. I can't sacrify my life just for a dead relationship because I still have a young boy who needs me. Thus, I chose to get out. It's a painful decision and sometimes I doubt whether I've made a right decision.

Anyway, it's decided and I need to look forward.
Now I just want to live my own life and forget about the past... Don't think I can forget, but at least learn from the past and just look for the future. I just need to keep psychoing myself that I should be strong for the sake of the boy and for myself.

Maybe to share, I feel that for a relationship to work, it needs alot of Cs: Commitment, Communication, Compromise etc... However, if it really didn't work out, it's important to let go.

Strawberry, my email is [email protected]. If you don't mind, I think it's great idea to publish the online single mother support group here as some might need it.

sad_man

Hi Im new to this forum. My dreamy happy marriage just shattered. really need someone to talk. Wife told me feelings died. We just passed our 4th anniversary. The situation has really set in yet but Im already feeling numb...
Geez.......

desert_moon

Hi Mark,

Feel free to join us..we are having a gathering this sat..in any case...we do chat at night online in messenger....email me or call me..the number or is above.. hang in there buddy,,you will be ok.

Soonalone,

good thing you are moving on..

sad_man

Lost Child Hi
This sat I cant make it. Next weekend is possible. Nite online chatting is out.Sorry.
How to contact you? Im new to this forum, dont see your number nor email.

Sad man

evielow

Hi Mark,

The group is big. Online chatting is not just limited to nite. Some of us "eat snake" and tok during day at work too. Just register for yahoo messenger and post your nick online. We'll add you in. If not, just contact Desert on his pre-paid card, 94336009. Just scroll up and check the various email addresses.

See you soon. Don't get too sad. The sun always rises tom.

dingo_beans

Now in the process to sell flat.
Wife called this afternoon requesting to pack her belongings from flat.

Wanted to be a gentleman. Went to pick her up, helped her packed her stuff into big bags and chauffeured her home.

outch.. it was more painful than I thought. Going through all that and now looking at the empty house minus her stuff..

Wanting to learn from Me_No_Expert. Wanting to raise the yard stick and wanting to walk in grace. Though I hyped and prepared myself for this, but it was really tougher than I thought.

Me_No_Expert: Really, you're the expert. I salute you.

soonalone

I'm not too good here too... Planning to move end of the month, but my boy said I can move and he does not want to move. His dad could sleep in 1 room and him another room. His dad will send him to childcare in the morning. Now wondering whether it's a right decision to get his custody. :-(

Any lobang in selling the house? Agent?

d_in_progress

I am currently undergoing the divorce process with my hb. Need to surrender our flat back to HDB. Wondering if anyone is in the same situation as me? Having headache over the selling of our furnitures and fittings.Would appreciate if someone can give me suggestions..

I have gone through the crying and sad times..now its time to face the reality.

strawberry78

Soonalone,

Sorry late reply, was overseas for a while, been working quite long hours recently.

I think the group admits by recommendation, actually, I emailed the lady who set up www.flyinsolo.org

unwed moms - so she said i am not eligible cos i am divorced mom, so recommended me to the yahoo group, communicate by emails, they have gathering coming up next sat 30 october.

so you might want to go?

will introduce you by email tomorrow, i going home now....busy busy,

what a life? i lose about 65K on my house....almost sold. its so depressing :-(

geez.

dingo_beans

Soonalone - It must've been hard on you.. hearing that from your son. Me really don't know how much you've gone through and how much hurt you've been. Juz sharing my two cents worth..

Should you want to leave the house and let your son stay with his dad, he would have done the same and don't want you to go. I'm just trying to figure out what's in the kid's mind. Ask your son to choose between dad or mum? In time of separation, anybody will think of the laughter and warmth at home and the good old days. Mark an end to all these? Sorrow is how anybody will be. Making the decision to leave him is hard for you. Being still naive and innocent, it would be even more difficult for your kid. At the back of his mind, he would definitely still carry a faint hope that.. may be.. may be.. one day my dad and mum might get back together? may be.. may be one day this nightmare will be over? or.. even though I know I'm bluffin myself.. I enjoy this dream that my dad and mum are still together? I love my mummy and daddy.. I want to be with both of them. Don't ask me to choose. I love both of you. I miss how things used to be. Days when mummy and daddy are holding hands.. Why can't you two be together anymore? Promise I'll be a good boy and behave myself in the future. Don't go mummy. Don't go daddy. Not that I don't want to leave this house.. I don't want to leave this hope.

Sorry SoonAlone, hope I din't get you sentimental. Know that it's tough on you too.. but give your kid more time. Time will work someway out..

Take care.