Peony Jade Resturant

goldiepooh

Blurblur, got at least 6-8 dishes, cannot be just nasi padang bah. same as vegetarian. if no full 10 pax, they count by per head lor.

blurblur,

i ordered vege dishes for them...got a few courses like chinese cuisine lor. feedback from them say not bad. duno about nasi padang though.

sean_yeo

Hi ladies, my food tasting will be on 13th Jun 2007.

Will comment and update you gals after the session.

Anyway, how much are they charging for a veg / muslim pax for dinner? I was told $43.80/pax, same as you gals?

olengjuz

Hi sunbelle, my hubby ordered from Bengawan Solo..it's walnut cake cos I told him to order that flavour (my fave) yeah~!~! GDL is picked by my master. An Chuang date also picked by her which is going to be coming thurs evening!

Sean, my sis and my friend are having vegetarian meals hence the bill will go by per head. Pauline gave me the menu at a cost of $500/10pax so I am assuming each costs $50 nett?

Next Sunday is my banquet already..getting more excited. (but thinking of staying with in-laws kinda .........)

sunbelle

Hi Midas,

smart of you to mix the guests with the vegeterians one..hehee

do we share the toilet with the rest of the guests huh?
yo tot can be a bit paisheh to share with them hehe

yeah better to have a separate one to use frm the guests...oh yeah do they have a safe box in peony jade huh?

sean_yeo

Hi SK,

Hmmmm....vegetarian food is gonna be cooked by PJ or catered from outside? I do know that muslim food is from outside caterer and they are charging PJ a much lower price than what we are paying PJ though....

Sunbelle,
Ya hor, if theres no safe box, so where are we gonna safe keep the ang pows during the dinner?? Definitely I wun be stuffing them all in my jacket and pants pockets " )

donk

Sunbelle,

Do u mean the card cover? T-dragon has lots of designs. As for the PJ's toilet... only the one behind the reception upstair lor... I lun all the way, did not go to the toilet lei.. mafan la.Imagine the heavy n big gown... think need someone to help u too in the cubic woh!!

As for the reception, it can be downstair or upstair. Hubby choosed to let the guest to the table once they arrived sit them comfortable.

For muslim food is $50 additional per head.Nasi Padang??? It a 9 course dinner for them too mah!! For ours we were told that the muslim food were cooked by them is no pork no lard but not certified by MUIS so we let our muslim guest know first as some might be staunch muslims they may not take them.Feed back from them the food is nice. Humm outside caterer for now?? My muslim guest dun mind sitting with non muslim guest, they were served indiviually.

Sean & Sunbelle
No safebox at PJ, for the ang paos i took all out put in a plastic bag and chuck in a haversack and let my sis jaga for the whole nite... Heehee...

sean_yeo

Hi Penjop,

Wah...is there no other way to safe keep the ang pows? So ur sis sweating for whole nite lor, such a big responsibility....haha~!

So did u ask PJ staff last time how did other couples deal with this issue?

donk

Sean,

Well still ok lar.. i got 2 sis so they take turns to handle while one need to be away. Must get someone u really can be trusted one lor!! heehee... think most of us did that la!!

blurblur25

Pauline told me is nasi padang leh, she did not mention there is 6-8 dishes for them. i told my chinese convert to muslim gd friend. she say she will not come cause too exp $45 per head just for nasi padang. very bo hua

donk

Blurblur

No lei mine not nasi padang lei.. served indiviually de woh .. changed dishes while they changed non muslim food lei... think u call n check with Pamela.

mrsyong

Hi ladies!
Anyone having their cocktail outside at the Quayside Seafood side? how is it liked? Are they removing all the tables and chair? Sipping drink by the river is quite nice!!Hmm.. heard from Lydia, my coord. there's going to be one,, anyone taking up this option?

Hi sunbelle!
so qiao to see u here!
lotsa similar details we should pay attention to tog ok? When's your big day?

piggysbride

Hello...

Do you know where can I get cakes/pastries which are packed individually in a small red box with the chinese character 'XI'? I knew someone managed to get those cause he/she has attached a picture in this Forum. But I cannot remember which thread.

SK
Do stay relax for your big day. Are you having your make-up done in PJ before the banquet? From the past messages, it seems like most brides had their make-up done in the hotel room before arriving at PJ.

hmm...my banquet is actually a ROM pkg...it was held last yr..pauline charged me $40nett per pax only for vege dishes. the dishes r prepared by PJ..not catered from outside one.

my AP all put inside the AP box n safe keep by helpers...assign tis task to ur most trusted person coz whether there is safe box anot i've heard of pple stealing AP boxes one..the AP din even make it into any safe box.

as for toilet...there's only one common toilet so need to share with guests.

olengjuz

Hi piggySbride,

Pauline agrees to let me in at 10am (was told that there will be someone to open door for me). I be staying at Conrad, the travelling time doesnt really give me enough time to get ready on time leh. Mum also wanna shares the MUA with me.

Still think MU at PJ is better, saves heaps of hassle.

Cant relax eh cos just met a hiccup past couple of days. Im a Teochew and hubby a Cantonese. We were only told 2 days ago that the tea ceremony to kick off for the bride's family first. Is that true for the Cantonese customs? His father said it is "all along" been like that. We had everything planned then got "hit" by hubby's father's last minute comment. FIL got flared up cos of this. Suppose praying and make offerings to ancestors as well as tea ceremony should commence at groom's side 1st yah? My hubby got badly scolded by FIL and I felt so bad. All my gals friends had tea ceremony with groom's family & relatives first when it's just the opposite for us. Reckon it would be much peaceful to abide my in-laws but it seems so hard.

Like to seek advice from you ppl. Is it awkward to ROM in tradition costume huh? Our rom at my maiden house at 3.30pm. Need to reach groom's place from 1pm (yes, thou I am a teochew but master advised our auspicious time starts from 1-11pm). To conduct tea ceremony at his place (will do in WG), then need to chg into costume before returning to my maiden house. However, I like to do the solemnisation in my WG, so shortly after my return I need to chg back into WG again cos mum says cannot wear back the WG to return home. Have anyone heard of such cases...chg couple of times for proper attire to suit event? After ROM, want to chg back into costume agn for tea ceremony for my relatives and chg back to WG again for outdoor photoshoot with friends.

Then mum said need to change back to costume before returning to groom's house again.

pinpong

Hi gal

someone ask for d pic of PJ's favour - keyring,
sorry for delay, tried uploading but failed if u r still interest drop me ur email, den i send to u.. paiseh

Hi Lab_baby79
dun know whether u still visit dis thread, just recall dat ur dinner at PJ in May, Congrats...

pinpong

Hi SK,
Frankly speaking i m not very sure abt custom.
Just to share with u, i m a cantonese bride.
When HB came over to fetch me at my parents' plc, we had our 1st round of Tea-ceremony, - to my parents only (as my grandparents not ard anymore...). den we proceed to d groom's side, to hav d 2nd Tea-ceremony to my in-laws & relatives.
When we went back to my parents' plc, we had d 3rd round of Tea-ceremony for my side of relatives.

d reason for having d first round of Tea-ceremony at bride's side is to show respect to my parents for bring me up & now dat i m marrying.

Hmmm...actually its also depends on individual, my cousin did away with d first round of Tea-ceremony at her parents' plc during her AD.

Suggest u discuss with ur parents & in-laws,together with ur HB to resolve dis...

oh i do know dat d bride has to change to a Tea-dress or kua when return to d parents' plc after d tea-ceremony over at d groom's side. This is to symbolise 'returning to d brides' plc after 3 days'

piggysbride

Hello SK...
Cannot help you with the tea ceremony. I always thought that tea ceremony starts with the groom's family.

Yes, I agree that it is better to have make-up done at PJ. But from the past messages, it seems like most brides did their make-up in the hotel. So, I thought the changing room in PJ is not suitable for make-up.

mrsyong

Hi SK,
I'm a Teochew and my HB is Cantonese. Nvr heard of tea at bride's side first, mabbe in ice's case, only to the bride's parents only. The bride's relatives should only come in after the groom's side? Just my 2 cent's worth. We're doing it the usual way, tea at groom's then my side. But since your FIL thinks strongly this way, guess you guys have to go his way, maybe egoism at play, he wanna have a part to play at your wedding? Sorry, nt badmouthing him but I think it's safer to listen to him, else more hiccups on that day.

Hi piggySbride,
I'll be doing MU at PJ. Visited the room, it's quite spacious. There's a full length mirror and there's a dining table inside though, Lydia says she'll remove it. She'll also give me the key to the room, and lock it up so as to safe keep angpows. Anyone using this idea? Or keep it in a haversack with a trusted friend to make it safer? still contemplating..

Oh, Lydia suggested keeping the free hotel room to use on another day, cos it's kind of wastage to use it to rest in the noon for a short while and returning to sleep. I'm thinking of using the hotel voucher another day and rest at mom's place after tea. Then shower at home b4 heading PJ dinner. Anyone tried this? dunno if it's convenient at PJ dressing rm,

piggysbride

Hello Jo...
Do not think is a good idea to lock your ang pows in the changing room cause there may be more than 1 key to the changing room.

bb_queen

Hi SK

Tea ceremony no doubt is imp but is so insignificant as compared to your life ahead with your husband and inlaws. Try to give in to your inlaws if it is not a big problem.

As for the gown changing, how about doing your tea ceremony and solemnisation in a nice tea dress (besides the kua)? In that case, you won't need to change so many times. As for whether it's weird to do solemnisation in your traditional costume, it's up to you. You are the bride, if you like it, who can say no? :p I personally find traditional costume like kua and Cheongsum very nice coz it's very rare that we will get to wear one.

pinpong

Hi Jo
You r right, for our 1st round of Tea-ceremony only to my parents, when we r back from d groom's side den we had Tea-ceremony with d rest of my side of relatives.

As for d room for make-up, hehee... we dare dare leave all Ang Bao box in d room & locked up during d dinner. We didnt MU at d room though, had my MU done at home.

olengjuz

Thank you all for your views and thoughts. I think I know what to do. Appreciates it.

Going to be more tiring as the time goes by.

Currently experiencing indigestion problem already. What's next?

sunbelle

Hi SK,

enjoy the process of ur wedding day coming and you will be filled with joy..dun let any small setbacks draw u down...jus tell urself there are bounds to be some imperfection one hehe or else is not human liao ..jus relax and let go..as for staying with in laws, after ur wedding then come and tink of this issue....shld be ookie one these days...hehe no worries, hehe be a radiant and worry free bride

hi Sean,

i usually tink ahead and preplan all the moves first..cos last time when i was a jiemei rite, i uesually jangan the ang bao box, veri stressful job cos i scard wait kenna robbed too hahaha

Hi Penjop, u mean no safebox huh? jialat cos i tot ang bao box is quite impt one leh ...ur fren stress or nt huh? taking care of the ang bao box...

Hi Jo, u are rite leh hehe
a lot of details to take note leh..

sunbelle

Hi Midas,

thanks for sharing with us ur experience. wonder if it is safe to go put the ang bao box in the car huh? dun tink is safe rite huh?

oh yeah for the brides to be, what time do u ask ur MUA to come to PJ to help u all make up huh? i tot of making up in the room which is quite nice and furthermore is airconditioned u dun sweat easily lor

hi SK,

all my frens' marriage started with the tea ceremony at their groom side one leh..tink mine is oso gonna be the same leh ..pray to ancestors and then tea ceremony at my hubby place then change to go back to my parents' hse for tea ceremony ..

mrsyong

Hi piggySbride! Thks for ur advice, u r right, scully one waiter or waitress open the door!! Drama.. haha..
SK, cheer up!
your indigestion may be due to stress leh, rem your wedding is a day to shine!! yea!! don't fuss so much. Most imptly you should enjoy yourself and accept all the well-wishes.

Hi sunbelle,
I thought it's a good idea but my HB says, 'out of sight, out of mind'. Mabbe getting a minder is better. We fret later bah! Oh, when's your big day?

olengjuz

Yup, thank you sunbelle & jo, shall play by year lo. Cant possibly to oversee/handle everything by myself. Will hope for things to go smoothly on both days.

My PG was so nice and told me that he proposed to provide me another PG FOC. In this regard, to extent coverage and to capture what's happening over at both families at the same time, different places. Hee..

For my ang pow box..prolly to get my jie mei to pass the ang pow box to my sis when luncheon is gonna get started. Strangely, I never thought that to be a problem. After you gals mentioned about the safekeeping part, I begin to worry. *sweat*

donk

wow... thread moving fast... so many to read!!

SK,
Try to communicated with the elders more la... and also have to give in lor bo bianzzz de!! Beware of nearer day, u also wun be surprise some "三姑六婆" will come out last min request eg got to buy this buy that. Get prepare for that!!! Lucky for me both side parent dun follow book we just plan n suit everyone timing. Even those last min advise given by my relative, my mom all turn down. :p

Sunbelle,
Haahhaa... no my frend la... my 2 Sis hae!!! the safest hand of all!!Alamaka if u think of putting in the car, later car kena smash even jialat.. might as well put in PJ changing room under lock at least still under eye range woh!

Did my make up at merchant court hotel about 5pm and MUA took one and half hour to finished. Then my bridesmaid helped me in the toilet for the last shee shee before going to PJ!! Heehee...Hubby's frend came over to pick me and my bridesmaid to PJ about 7pm. Fyi, beware PJ changing room is damn cold! Dun know is still the same bor, the aircon cannot be adjust. As I was not allow to go out b4 first march in..I stayed in the room n shivered for 2hrs!Advise get something to cover eg.. groom's jacket !!

olengjuz

Thank penjop, no need to wait for those auntie's "advice" I kenna today from my colleagues liao.

My GDL is very very simple. No comb, no lamps, no basin, no spitton, not going to have kids to "jump" on the bed, no one to open door for us when returning to groom's house ...then my colleagues was saying how come no this no that....then I told them, both families wants to keep it simple loh, only very very, extremely basic stuffs will do e.g SDJ, wines, canned pork legs, oranges, cakes, sweet biscuits & Pin Jin. I remembered I was still wrapping up the sweet biscuits with red paper when hubby came over for the GDL. Then the xiao gu even helped me with the wrapping. Machiam "ga-rang ga-bok".

I consider that as very simple liao then they said "WOW...I got those stuffs mentioned earlier also the basic package given too...but yours is like ....". =*0_o*=

Groom's family also suggests not to put up the "red ribbon" (if you know what I mean). Then mum says "their son marrying a DIL should treat wedding grander how come no red ribbon?..we can do away with ribbon but they should have it mah. It's not like we are marrying off daughter so dun need to spice up so much but they should at least have the abit of decor for ony son's wedding." then I go ...

After gathering so much info, I found out there are too many views from the same custom let alone perspectives from different customs. We got no grandparents from both families. If got, I can imagine the worse.

sunbelle

Hi Penjop,

thanks for ur advise on the coldness of the changing room..cos i intend to go there for make up and then change there as well
yeah like tat i can know whether time is on my side and is not too rush..tink for the ang bao box, is best to safekeep with reliable fren...unless hor, peony jade managament managed to buy a small safe for the resturant
maybe tat can be put in as a form of suggestion cos i tot all married couples will definitely love to have this security feature

is it a good idea to go out and mix with people huh? quite bored leh to stay in the room huh?
or have to be more demure and stay til when march in huh? like tat gt to tong for 2 hrs leh

sunbelle

Hi SK,

all people have their own views so long as both u and ur hubby stay firm can liao ..cos i strongly believe that u cannot realli satisy everyone so why bother huh? jus ensure majority are happie can liao lor heheeh
dun make urself so unhappie is not worthed it esp over someone's comments...hahaa jialat tink i veri the old liao leh hehe more tins i more bo chap hahahaha

mrsyong

SK!! Sooo envious!!! You had another PG thrown in? Who's your PG? I went to a friend's wedding to be jie mei, she got 3 PG and a vg, when we went in to her room, ma jiam like Hollywood! haha... snap snap,, so fun!! Ask both PG go ur hse, groom side nothing to take lah, haha!! Mabbe one inside the house shoot jiemeis n u, another outside the hse shoot groom n brothers. When's your Big Day? :D

Sunbelle, you're right! Muz get them buy a snall safe man, seems like the basic essential.

Thanks penjob!! luckily u 'warn' us b4 hand, our gowns r usually backless or bustier leh! mabbe the smile can freeze le! haha...

I'll like to mingle with my guests leh, cos invite them all should take pics and thank them for coming, mabbe i'll hop down to the cocktail area (quayside seafood dining) just outside to mingle in a tea dress. Then run up to change WG at 7.30pm? Dinner always starts at bout 8pm. Mabbe MU done by 6.30pm?

penjob, any pics to share? Would like to see the effects of the pics at PJ dinner,, did you go to PJ to do your PS?

blurblur25

I receive a reply from Pauline regarding the muslim meals. Pls let me know what you think.

From Pauline: If under 10 pax, the caterer wants to charge $70 nett/person to make it worthwhile. O/wise if your guests can take no pork/no lard, then our Quayside Seafood can cater, 8 course, at $50 nett/person

The price is quite ok?

yu83

hi SK, i am teochew, husband cantonese too..i thot start with groom plc first hmm..ha i oso not sure of all these customs..lucky my fil n mil are quite easy going persons so the customs can more relax...who your photographer?any recommendations,still looking for one..

mrsyong

Thanks SK!

blurblur, I think the charges is reasonable. For a table of 10pax, it's $60nett per person. I'll try to squeeze out 10pax. Just that some are from my side, some from HB side. Wonder if it'll be awkward.

From what I know, my Malay colleagues prefer halal. They do not consider no pork/no lard as Muslim food. Just my 2 cent's worth!

Anyone doing cocktail at Quayside Seafood?

blurblur,

i suggest u do a simple survey of ur muslim frens see if they mind 'no pork no lard' anot...most younger malays dun mind tis...n the food better got 8 course. somemore $70nett per pax is more ex then ur banquet price per pax...u sure lugi one..malays usually bao less for AP too..

blurblur25

true hor. my sis told me except to lugi for lunch wedding. she say most ppl bao $40 nia. like that i sure lugi 1 lor. if i dont invite my malay friends like quite bad leh. *headache* cannot squeeze put 10 muslim friend leh.

blurblur,

do u hv vege table? why not cater all vege...muslim shld be ok to take vege mah.
i dun think pple now will bao $40 lah...so little...shld be at least $60 bah.

cutecat

muslims not about taking vegetables..they can't take pork/lard stuff..if your restaurant is not halal most of them won't be able to eat..

donk

Yozz gals.. just prepare to lugi lor.. if got $40 ang pao very good le..... Well since good frend sure must invite lor bor pianzz de. Jus tell them the food is not pork no lard, for those modern malays they usually dun mind.You can jus invite and tell them, if they dun wan to come you can also cut cost and save your headache for the arrangement. HeeHee..

Well staying in the room got pro n cons la...
Pros get more rest till the whole thing start,at least no need to perspire outside, make up last longer bah. And for me, my wedding shoes bitting my feet that time, damn painful!!

Cons no chances of taking pics with friends n relative indiviually.

sean_yeo

Hi midas,

I believe the term Halal is in reference to whether the catering organisation (Peony Jade in this instance) is certified with the Halal certificate from MUIS.

The term Halal cannot be used for the muslim food served even if its no park no lard. The catering organisation also doesn't qualify to call itself a Halal establishment even if the poultry items are supplied by a Halal certified supplier (Went through the proper prayers).

What is most impt is rather, whether the pots & pans used for food preparations and the utensils & crockeries used during the servings are halal also anot (Cleansed with holy water). And i believe that PJ would not have these equipment / procedures as part of their normal operations.

I intend to invite a few muslim guests to PJ for my dinner but after learning that its not Halal certified, they turned down the invitation as they are quite staunch muslims. Same age as me somemore (mid 20s) So the saying that younger muslims will not mind is probably not very true also " )

sean_yeo

Hi Penjop,

Since we're at the topic of ang pows as well, care to share wether u managed to break even for your dinner expenses from ang pows collected or gotta fork out more from you & hubby's pockets?

People tend to have the mindset that restaurant give only $60 ang pow is more than enough liao, but in actual fact whereby 1 table already costs more than that, without even including the alcohol yet

cutecat

midas, Halal is stricter than "no pork no lard' places. Malay muslims by right cannot eat at places where it is "no pork no lard" as our chinese kitchens still cook pork stuff and the ustencils/forks/spoons are in contact with our chinese food, hence they will never eat.

Please read Sean Yeo's explanation..

donk

Hi Sean,

For my ang paos collection it did cover all PJ expenses as all my guest are very good friends of hubby average $80 thus covered the loss of 5 malay frends we invited. Fyi the malay frend average on $50. We consider ourself lucky!