Peony Jade Resturant

bb_queen

I dare not speak to Pauline leh coz I scared wait she gives me attitude and I quarrel with her...:p Maybe it's all the previous post that made me not very willing to deal with her as yet.

PJ should really be thankful that they have Leon and Pamela who are ever so helpful. When I go down, I must really find out who is mysterious Ning is...she sent me the contract but Leon and Pamela don't know her at all. Is PJ really such a huge "organisation" that they don't know each other or PJ outsourced their "contracting" job? :p

As a BTB, we already have zillion things to worry about and the last thing I want to do is to pester someone to remind them to do their work!! In my earlier post, I mentioned that they had in the draft that mine is a luncheon instead of dinner and I am pretty anxious to get them to amend that in black n white. You never know what can happen if you don't get such things down in contract.

goldiepooh

Hi bb_queen, sorry to hear about your frustration. I myself paid my deposit in Jan, only got my 1st draft in March, amended a few items, tried to confirm my hotel and it took 2 months for the hotel to respond and confirm. Till now I have not sign anything. I do agree they are a bit slow with regards to the contract but sometimes is really not entirely their fault. Take my case, the hotel just did not respond to PJ and my emails at all. Do forgive them for overlooked the fact that yours is a dinner not lunch since they most likely as you said is cut and paste from previous contract.

As a BTB, we are anxious and want our wedding to be perfect. However, coming from their point of view, they have hundreds of anxious couples who want their wedding to be perfect! So can imagine how much pressure from all of us here.

PJ is owned by Quayside dining. Those who are working in the restaurant may not know all people in the HQ at all. I do agree that to have a black and white is important so that they will be no disputes. However, let's not discount them just because of such administrative delays. I am sure the operation team in PJ itself will help us throughout the whole event. From previous postings, PJ also helped them in many ways that are not stated in the contract as well.

We have already paid our deposit so is a done deal already. They will have to honour it anyway. So let's have faith in them that they will do a good job for us.

Let's not get stress over this. Don't forget we need to start take care of ourselves now so that wedding day itself is 'mei mei de'!

pinpong

Hi BB Queen,

so sorry to hear ur encouters. suggest dat u call Pauline directly, dun think too much as to whehter u will b given d attitude or whether u will engage in a verbal war with Pauline. D ultimate reason for calling Pauline directly is to clear ur doubts & get things moving.

Can understand ur dismay, been thru d preparation process. At time it was really a pain, my 2 cents advise, talk it out with ur HB or u gal frenz when u feel d heat is getting overbearing. Focus on "marriage is for a life long & d wedding is for mayb one or 2 days". Most imp. is u hav ur HB with u.

For my case, Lydia has been following up closely with us & we did called Lydia frequently whenever we have questions. By speaking directly to d co-ordinator & follow-up with an email it sort of smooth things faster.

Cheer gal, weekend is on d way ; )
Hope u will clear d issue fast fast...

bb_queen

I wonder how you gals manage to be so calm throughout your preparation. Thanks for your consolation.

I had dealt with hotels before and their service is so prompt. They would even call to ask if you had received the documents. I do agree that PJ is not really that bad and I give credit for some things as well. However, it's not a joke when I just take this easy, then one day realise that the dinner on my wedding day has been taken by someone else because they had mistakenly thought mine is a luncheon. Can you imagine what a disaster it will be?

Anyway, I will just go down one of these days and speak to Pamela. I haven't heard any screws up on wedding days yet and I believe they won't. Like I said Leon and Pamela are great. It's the admin/customer servicing part which I feel they should improve on.

alone

Hey, just curious. Where did you all print your wedding cards? I haven arrange for food tasing yet. Wanted in June then Pam said to call early next mth.

pinpong

Hi BB Queen
hehee... u r not alone. It is not easy.. did blowed up a few time. I meant not with PJ, it was during d preparation process.
As Goldiepooh said, must be "mei mei" on ur day.
; )

Hi Moon
We hav our cards printed at TDragon, me typical lazy, didnt source for other printing company.

jew

Hi All PJ BTB,

Does anyone have any idea what is their favours for guests? Thinking of getting mine if theirs not nice...

piggysbride

Hello...

Does anyone know if PJ is holding a wedding banquet soon because I am thinking of checking out the actual set-up of the restaurant?

As for the menu, am I able to substitute for similar category item at no extra charge?

Next, does anyone know if I can bring a wedding cake to be served to my guests?

olengjuz

I still got some leftovers of plain wedding cards (yellow/shimmering gold & red) and maps of PJ to sell. PJ maps are in exclusive paper material in card form. Also lightly scented. Would be wasted if throw away or unused.

Please PM if required. Thanks.

So excited for my coming wedding in early June. =D

alone

Hi, Ice. What're the charges of Tdragon like? How long does it take for them to print? How's their svc? My wedding in Sept, so shd be giving out in Aug. Thanks.

sunbelle

so far my experience with Peony Jade has been great
i have written in queries and they are also being answered..yeah in fact i guess for them sometimes they might be too busi to answer all emails on time....we are also working so we know the kinda of emails we are recieving...

i can understand that aspect as well.....i am looking forward to my actual dae on 20/12/2007...wow
shld be veri exciting leh

goldiepooh

Hi Meow, not too sure but I heard them mention before they have chopsticks, scented candles and another 1 cannot remember think is chocolates. Sorry not very sure.

Hi Piggysbride, you may like to call them up and check with them whether they have any wedding banquet over the weekend. Thats what I did when selecting my banquet. Went at around 5pm before the wedding to see the whole decor. Was very surprised cos did not expect a chinese restuarant to have such nice wedding decor.

I was told previously that it was recommended not to change the menu as the menu was designed to compliment each dish. However, they will try to accomodate if is within the same price range.

I am sure they can allow you to bring in your own wedding cake. But then you will have 2 type of desserts? Also one thing to note is the coordination between your cake supplier and PJ, what time the cake should arrive and how long it can be kept in the open before the banquet begins.

Hi Sunbelle, mine is just few days after you!

piggysbride

Hello...

SK, moon, sunbelle and Goldiepooh
Congratulations! Wishing you happiness always! Wondering if you like to share with me your experience and pictures after your AD?

pinpong

Had key-rings as wedding favours. Initially wanted chocolate, but was told due to poor response, PJ has opt out d chocolate as favours for d time-being.

Hi Moon
i forgot abt d pricing liao, let me check & let u know later

jew

Hi Goldiepooh,

Thanks for yr info, I think I may be getting my own favours .. My Sis got to see their key-chain favours durin one of their wedding banquets, its sooo small. Hoping to get something memorable for the guests.

alone

My AD is on 28 Sept 07. Looking forward to food tasting next mth, have to call in early june to book weekdays. Coz weekend per Pam all got booked for wedding. Hope to go try out the food coz I booked PJ w/o eating there b4 but a lot of good comments on net about them. Hope to see and select the wedding favours.

PiggySbride, initially i thought of a cake too. Sounds fun. But I think the cost of a cake is not cheap, then the menu is 9 course rite, lazy to check our menu again. scare waste food as pp cannot finish. Also, the timing got to coordinate with PJ, dunno if they willing to help u cut n serve. That's what i think la, so i didnt go with the idea. Deep down, I still think it's romantic!!!

sunbelle

so excited to see all ur emails coming in leh
hi goodiepooh, wow so u are oso in the midst of preparing for ur wedding huh?

i am thinking what is a list of tins which we can do now first before clamping everyting nearer to the wedding date leh

i like to preplan in advance first eheh
anyone got fotos on their wedding favours huh?how does the key rings look like huh?

olengjuz

PiggySbride > Thanks. I agree with BB queen and there's heaps of weddings on the weekends at PJ. Just pop by either around 1030-11am or 5-6pm to see the setting. I was there in the early evening and manage to see the how they setup the place. I cfm my order on the spot too.

I had customised my wedding favours with hubby & my pics on a magnet - wedding favour is fridge magnet. Both of us think it is great great for guests/relatives/friends to see our cartoonic pic everytime they open their fridge. Hee...

goldiepooh

Hi Meow, depends on your budget lor. If you do not want PJ favors, they will just deduct $1 off per head confirmed. Also thought of getting my own favors, something personalised but looks like most things willl exceed the $1 budget.

Anyway, ask around for ideas and flip magazines. Or got money fly to Bangkok and find nice and cheap stuff there and buy back in bulk. kekeke...

goldiepooh

Hi Meow, depends on your budget lor. If you do not want PJ favors, they will just deduct $1 off per head confirmed. Also thought of getting my own favors, something personalised but looks like most things willl exceed the $1 budget.

Anyway, ask around for ideas and flip magazines. Or got money fly to Bangkok and find nice and cheap stuff there and buy back in bulk. kekeke...

goldiepooh

oops sorry. explorer hangs resulted double posting. paisay.

Sunbelle, I now waiting for fitting. Other than that, flipping magzines for ideas like wedding favors, songs, GDL cakes, wedding shoes, coming up with guest list, list the bros & sis whom can help that day, logistics arrangement for AD, checking with elders what they want, shop around for furniture and most important of all, loose weight and improve complexion! seems like long list hor.. keke...

sunbelle

hi goldiepooh,

thanks for ur posting
almost all the tins u mention i onli did some of them hehe
cos still earli jus tat i have went to search for GDL cakes liao
have u try neo garden or YSL catering huh? intend to cater onli for 20 people on 2 homes on actual day lor? Any recommendation?

goldiepooh

oh catering no comments yet cos I havent search myself. But you can try other threads, I am sure they have some comments on this. Some caters have minimum pax requirement which mostly is 30 pax leh. Not sure whether 20 pax in 2 homes can count as 40 pax or not so better ask carefully lor. Had tried Jack's place catering and neo garden before not too bad. Dont think I tried YSL before.

olengjuz

I will be trying YSL catering but mini buffet catering on coming sunday for my bday. See see if their foods is "fantastic" or not.

sunbelle, what's your email addy? I paid $2 for a customised magnet. The pic is designed by my friend and I sent it to a potential magnet printer who will get it done for me. The printer is very good and reliable. Seriously not bragging their credibility, they also go extra mile by initiating to pack for me. I bought my packaging from overseas to match/pack the magnets. That will definitely save me heaps of troubles manz. Really muz thank them for contributing so much in making my magnets. So in all, I paid $1.10 for a magnet in an organza pouch after deducting from the PJ's rebate.

My wedding will be in coming 3 weeks' time and there seem to be tonnes of things yet to do...

sunbelle

is both neo garden and YSL halai huh? cos some of the guests will be malays

hi goldiepooh, i read thru their thread before shortlisting these 2 caterers hehe

hi SK, mus let me know leh whether is YSL good or not leh
MY email is [email protected] yo, thannks for emailing me

alone

Hi, can i check with u all, my ad on 28 Sept then my friend from JC is on 14 Oct. She said she cant attend mine, can i attend her?

goldiepooh

Hi Moon, really depends on whether you superstitious or not lor and whether she really that close friend of yours. You may not be bang dang but your elders may. So either you dont tell them if you really want to attend (in case they dont allow) or you seek their advice. On the other hand, you may want to seek your friend opinion whether is she bang dang such that she prefers you not to attend?

Personal opinion, it will be very sad if can't attend good friend wedding. I personally not bang dang but will respect my friend if she believes in this.

jew

HI PJ BTB,

Anyone holding their wedding banquet on Dec?
I was told by Pauline tat they are having 26 wedding on Dec this yr, so there are lot of items which I request are NO NO..
kao_angry.gif
The reason given by pauline is b'cos Dec is a busiest mth! and they will only offer perks when the month sales is slow.. tat will be kind of unfair....

goldiepooh

huh! 26 wedding in Dec month? Almost everyday in Dec is wedding day ah? Meow, what items did you request? I am Dec BTB, they wanted us to book higher package cos that period is their high sales period. Low package will not cover their usual takings if no weddings. Well, quite reasonable so I am ok with it.

piggysbride

Hello...

Looks like I have to decide soon if I want to have wedding banquet at PJ. I intend to have it in Oct 08.

But I still cannot make up my mind yet. 3 venues to consider - Rendezvous, Traders and PJ.

olengjuz

Hi Meow, you could PM me or email me [email protected] for the contact. Your Pm doesnt seem to work. Can show you my magnet design if you like.

Just realised that the price of each customised magnet should be around $2.50. Got mixed up with another supplier. Had chosen my supplier cos her work are more exquisite. Every step of making the magnet is oversee by herself. I am a very satisfied customer of her. *grins*

alone

Hi, PiggySbride and Goldiepooh.

I asked my mum and she advised me not to attend. Think my friend also mind, coz she cant attend mine. Thanks for the advice. Yeah, is a pity, she's one of my best friends from JC, another good friend of ours is getting married this sun. So we both can attend. =)

blurblur25

my cousin is getting married in dec, so i guess th whole family will not be attending my nov wedding as well.

BB Queen: I will need your merchant court hotel voucher, novotel clake quay quote me like $260 per room night! so exp!

goldiepooh

Hi Piggysbride, first prioritize what you want, price, food, ambience, convenience for guests etc are some factors to take into consideration. PJ has good reviews for their food. Hotels will probably have better decor and ambience. The 2 hotels you listed not so accessible from MRT. So decide which is your most important factor then decide. For me, I go for food so had not looked at any hotel banquets only restaurants before deciding on PJ.

pinpong

Yeap, Dec is busier mth, as what PJ told me.
Our initial plan was to hold d dinner in Dec 06, but we changed our mind & had it in March 07
There r other reasons too lah, i meant for our change of mind.

jew

Hi Goldiepooh,

I have requested a few items in case some are rejected. 1. foc usage of projector and white screen, 2. complimentary litres of beer, 3. complimentary bottles of wines (if purchase their wine), 4. wavier of wine corkage (if purchase from other wine supplier).
Out of 4 items, She just give in for the white screen and ask me to provide my own projector. The rest are all Rejected!! sigh.. will try to persuade again... but this time just request for beer only!!

Hi SK>> u've email!

piggysbride

Hello...

Goldiepooh
Initially, I intend to hold my wedding banquet in a ballroom because of the ambience. Moreover, the bridal suite is just above the ballroom. But the food is not as good as what is served in a restaurant.

Unlike a hotel, there is only a changing room available in a restaurant. However, having the wedding banquet in a restaurant is value for money.

Now, my colleague just recommended me to check out Club Chinos.

Sigh... What to do???

goldiepooh

Meow, ya try to get at least free beer.

Piggysbride, yes Club Chinos is another good choice, they are located at Orchard Parade Hotel, besides their restaurant, they have a ballroom as well so it may fit both what you want, food and ambience but of course you will need to take note of their minimum table booking requirement. Had seen their wedding settings both restaurant and ballroom which are nice. So dont sigh, go down take a look yourself and decide.

No matter what your decision is, you are always welcome here to chit chat and seek advice. kekeke...(oops, hope other PJ forummers dont mind i say that!)

sunbelle

tink is all up to the couple's preference on what they want...mine is oso in dec but still discussing on the terms.....i believe that their business is good and i also believe that sometimes we have to pay more to get good service

bb_queen

piggySbride,

Club Chinos in my opinion seems very squeezy and old coz the ceiling is low. PJ has a nicer ambience. As for food, both are comparable I guess coz Club Chinos is under Tung Lok. PJ is also cheaper and is more suitable for smaller banquet. Deco is more chic. However, as I have said many times, PJ's back-office service is the worst I have encountered so far. It's those "you like, you take. don't like, too bad" kind of attitude.

Blurblur,

You have my email, email me your date and I will make the booking for you. It's only a weekend night right?

Meow

The white screen is already there....it's no cost to them to let u use it. I think it's difficult to get freebies from them but no harm trying.

sean_yeo

Hey ladies,

My AD is on 5th Aug 2007, so do u tink its about time for food tasting to be done at PJ?

What about the confirmation of wedding cards printings? On the same day as well?