Peony Jade Resturant

olengjuz

Hi all, I still some leftover PJ maps in card form to sell at reasonable price or to exchange for NTUC vouchers. PM me if you need any. Thanks.

sunbelle

hi SK,

how come u got leftover huh? u mean too many printed ones huh? jus to check with u gals out there....do u all collect the invitation cards from peony jade or collect from the t-dragon direct huh?
is there any costs involved huh? pls help to enlighten ..thanks

paunic

im a dec-07 PJ bride too...

i hav heard some stories about the projector in Peony-Jade which dun really work well...

and because of space constraint, it is quite messy when screening the montage... and especially when u are screening both childhood photo montage and video express, have to move the projector in and out...

can anyone share their experience with me? considering whether to rent the projector from outside and how to better prepare myself from the mess...

many thanks

paunic

hi sunbelle

have u drop by at t-dragon to chose the design of ur card?

When u go to t-dragon, they would calculate the number of cards u get without any cost (included in the PJ package), that is 70% of the headcount u have book. In my case, I booked for 250, so I got 175 cards with no cost.

however u do have to pay for the printing, which depends on what u choose. they have a variety. for example, u could print directly on the card, or print on the insert.

different kind of words (eg gold, matt gold etc) is charged at different price... if you want to add some symbols or cartoon (eg Double Happiness, Precious moments etc), also must pay extra.

for my case, i chose gold words printed on a cream color insert. I paid $150 for the printing cost.

would be good to go down to the shop to take a look. they are very friendly.

olengjuz

Hi sunbelle,

I have printed extra inserts for my cards. Have bought too many cards too cos in case not enough. There are pro and con about choosing to print on insert or card directly. We opt for the former cos we think more cost saving. If you write a word wrongly on the card, you be throwing away the entire card. If it's just insert, the cost of printing insert is lower hence throwing a few cents is better than a dollar.

Plus, I have over-printed the PJ maps. Estimated wrongly.

olengjuz

Shups, I intend to use the projector from Pj cos it's FOC for my usage. Hopefully, things dun go wrong eh. I be having my banquet there in 2 weeks time.

piggysbride

Hello...

SK
How are you coping now with your wedding coming soon? Excited? Do share with us your experience and pictures taken on that day.

squashy
Seems like the services provided by PJ is not standard. Better check with PJ again.

olengjuz

Hi piggySbride,

It's very tiring. Just done with bridal photo's final artwork last night. Will be collecting it next weekend. More or less done with guests' seating arrangement. Going to meetup my Jie Meis & Emcee on coming Sat for program outline discussion.

Squashy, initially the projector was not given free usage cos I told Pualine that I be using the entire restaurant to hold my banquet and I keep negotiating the FOC usage with her thus she's ok I think? She's quite prompt with replying my emails.

I checked back on the booking of the hotel room during the food tasting. It was Pam who served me and Pauline to send request on room booking. It took just a day to confirm the booking after the food tasting session. Date of email has proven it. I requested for early check in at Conrad and it was processed by the same CSO from Conrad who did the booking cfm. Quite satisfied with all services so far. Hoepfully, things to go right too on wedding day. *grins*

paunic

my projector is also FOC... maybe becoz i wld be using all tables too and i booked earlier in Dec'06...

SK, if u don't mind... can share with me your experience after your wedding... would like to know how you handle the situation...

thanks a lot

sunbelle

Hi SK,
ur wedding is realli near ..but seemd like u have all done up liao
thumbs up for u leh

any idea what is the colour of the waitresses at peony jade wear huh? cos din want to have the same colour evening gown as them leh cos oso tinking of making sometin like cheong sam..from my memeory think the waitresses there wore cheong sam which is veri nice hehee
i luv their staff dressing .....

yo SK what will be ur evening gown huh?

piggysbride

Hello...

May when I know which bridal shops did you gals go to? Any recommendations?

sunbelle
Me too. I am thinking of wearing a cheong sum if I am holding the wedding banquet at PJ. I am also thinking of other ways to enhance the 'oriental' wedding theme.

olengjuz

shups > Sure do! Glady share my experience with you gals too. Afterall, this forum is what it's for, yah? *grins*

sunbelle > I dont remember seeing the waitresses wearing CH thou. Correct me if I am wrong, they are wearing 2 piece uniforms. Colour similar to maroon and black skirt I think. Top uniform is 3/4 sleeves with some embroidered stuffs on it?

Because I be holding a luncheon I like something to be light hence wont consider wearing an evening gown. Gown seems too elaborate for lunch eh. Hehe.. Cos me on the plump side so wont be wearing CS too. I got a KUA-like costume but no intention to wear it at the banquet. I got a simple tea dress only. It's off-white with tiny champagne/gold ribbon at the waist.

olengjuz

Hi Blurblur, have you gone for the food tasting? If not, I think can still negotiate with Pam/Leon/DXXX (cant rem the name). For red wines, they can offer 50% of guaranteed tables for me only.

jew

HI SK,
Pauline also didnt give us free usage for projector!! Could we don sign the contract 1st until the food tasting day?? I want to negtiate with them (face to face) i/o emailing...

blurblur25

Hi SK: food tasting noy yet, mt AD is in Nov, usually ard 3mth before right? Still able to nego with them? SK remember to share your experience when your AD is over. Congrats!!!

olengjuz

Meow, I rem negotiating the terms before signing. However, I believe the free usage can still be negotiated further with a strong valid reason. I signed my contract in week 1 of Jan this year, had booked & paid deposit in late Oct. I believe other terms not discussed/confirmed can still be further negotiated with the floor mgr in charge at food tasting.

blurblur > thanks! =) finer details were discussed at food tasting. Try your luck then.

I think I omitted cards & favours and red wines (50%) thou. Took complimentary hotel stay & parking coupone only. Need to cut down expenses lah...FH & I not much planning if we knew we gonna spend so much $ on banquet we would keep our AD simple already. Sighz. Give ourselves more headaches only. Initially dun want book whole rest cos wanna invite relatives & close friends but ended dad wants to invite his friends too. Really head pain.

donk

Jus back from my trip, went Krabi and got myself BBQed!!
Long time no visit tis thread, it moving so fast!!

BB Queen,
Hope that you have settled your problems with PJ liao. Dun be angry la... there sure to have hic ups here n there, once you got them sorted out, things will be fine le!

SK,
You very good in your nego lei, I too booked the whole place and also request for FOC projector and more complimentary car park coupons all were turned down.

Sunbelle N Piggysbride
Jus to share, I got a pic with their waitress in it http://penjop.multiply.com/photos/photo/48/5

You can also browse my wedding pic at PJ
www.penjop.multiply.com . I went to PJ for my album pic too. As for my MTM gowns, PJ has a modern oriental zen style ambience, my choice will be of an oriental cheongsam style with a tad of western look as suggested by my BS designer.

jew

SK>> I confirmed the date with PJ on the 3rd wk Jan and has paid the deposit on the spot, but have not signed the contract yet till now. Cos there's lot of terms written in the contract need to negotiate, afraid tat once contract is signed, none can be changed! sigh...

skyrainbow

I also did not get the FOC projector.Can I ask did any one who did not use the room on that day but use it on another day after your banquet?

olengjuz

I am pretty satisfied with the service with PJ so far. Understood that they cannot allow me to bring in more red wine from outside cos this will affect their sales. I told my parents that they are charging $20nett/bot of red wine and dad said "Why so cheap?! Confirmed low class wine! ....But no choice loh must buy from them loh." *faintz*

My mum said the 12 bots of red wine to bring in by grooms are for grooms's tables hence for my side we will need to purchase from PJ then dad got slightly disappointed cos of the "cheap" wine quality. Nonetheless, I trust PJ's quality of red wine not to be so bad eh after reading other PJ brides' experiences. Pam told us that guests dun drink that much for luncheon. What do you gals think?

bb_queen

Penjop, haven't heard from them since. Anyway, I am going down for dinner next week so I will ask Pamela again. Thanks for asking.

I think it's the norm that PJ doesn't give freebies so if anyone of us manage to get anything, that's really good luck! :p

donk

SK

For my weekend dinner full 22tables, my guests din drink much. We bought 80bottles red wines, used only 40bottles.My hard liquor only half a bottle.The beer 30L also half barrel.Too bad!! can't bring the balance of beer back :p

BB,
Oh food tasting next week hum...I miss their food le!!

sunbelle

Hi Midas,

thanks for letting us see ur beautiful cheong sam
is veri nice and looks great on u

mi goin to share a design which i personally like it ...what do u gals tink huh? as i am also a bit plump side one lor so want to have a v-neck hehe

yeah i jus wan to look good and not too fat to hahhahhaha

Hi SK, we look forward to your experience okie? yeah mi tinking issit veri veri far for the last table to see the projector screen huh?
still tinking whether shld have the photoslide shows huh? are u all having it huh?

Hi Penjop, welcome back
thanks for sharing the foto on the waitress ..is definitely beri good to let me see what do they wear hehee

any peony jade brides wans to share their evening gown design huh? mi goin to meet my designer for my MTM evening gown this sat liao
so wanna to see more design before confirming it ...

personally i trust their quality of food and wine ...to mi and my hubby is not a concern at all hehehe

anyone wans to share their printed cards huh? does t-dragon got lots of designs for us to choose huh?

olengjuz

Hi penjop, I am only given 20L barrel cos am not taking their higher range package. *grins* I think it's the red wines which we will be paying for most. Pam told us we could bring in "unlimited" #s of hard liquor. Anyway, ppl nowadays dun drink hard liqour let alone at lunch.

sunbelle, would love to share the pic of my teadress. But i dunno how to upload the pic leh. *blushes* Of course looking forward to the big day. Am meeting my jie meis tml. So excited too. I have arranged my neighbours to sit at the last 3 tables. Dad says seating arrangements is not a concern to him hence be putting them in a cluster at that corner. Hehe...

I reckon I would still be showing my friends & colleagues my small bridal album & online banquet pics. Will give them (+ neighbours) my 4R pics too to appreciate their coming.

Initially was using personalised card designed by a friend. It's quite an ang-moh style card. Card already designed yet to print only. However, I chose to buy a traditional classic design invites in the end. It's love at first sight. So pai-seh to my dear friend. Insert format still getting her design though.

So much to spend on a wedding eh.

blurblur25

SK: do u need to pay corkage for the wine? for my case, i dont have to pay corkage as long is not duty free and also dont have to get the wine from PJ itself. i think i have 30L of free beer

penjop: Krabi!! im going in jul any photos to share in your multiply for this trip?

olengjuz

Hi blurblur, which package do you take up? As mentioned earlier, I only entitled 20L FOC beer. No corkage to charge for opening wine. All wines to be duty paid.

Me sua gu abit, where's Krabi?

blurblur25

SK: me taking the lowest range pkg. not much freebies from PJ. budget budget

Krabi is in Thailand, very near to Phuket (think abt 1hr drive)

bb_queen

Penjop

It's not food tasting...it's just a dinner. I had eaten there before though. The good is nice. Service is good. Ambience is great.

donk

Blurblur,
Yeah.... me still putting up will be finishing soon will let u know once I done.

SK
Krabi is a part of Thailand located opp of Phuket. They jus got their new aiport and Tiger Airways had a flight there daily. Well the place is similar to Phuket, but the things n food is cheaper. Our hotel located at Ao Nang a small town of Krabi, did not have much time to explore out others places ard as I went for Island Hoppping Trip.

BB
Wow!! U a fan of their food?? heehee....

piggysbride

Hello...

midas and penjop
Thank you for sharing your pictures.

Goldiepooh and Meow
If I intend to have the menu Eternity I at $568+++ (which is not the most expensive menu) on a Saturday, am I right to say that I would not get to enjoy more perks from PJ?

olengjuz

So desu..Krabi is in Thailand. Anything nice about Krabi? Or guess not just enjoying sea breeeze?

piggysbride
Still can negotiate I believe. It's just that you cant have the best of both worlds. Noted that blurblur had 30L barrel FOC when I only got 20L. Only diff is that I got free use of projector. I am not sure if blurblur is also using their entire premise or not. I do. Most imptly, both of us took up one of their cheaper range of banquet package.

blurblur25

SK: sorry, i just check throught my contract, i have have 20L free beer(sorry, me really blur) so u still have a better deal compare to me. Haha. Free usuage projector :0

olengjuz

Oopz, blurblur. =P

Today is my GDL day. Tiring eh cos when bf came over to my hse I was still helping out to pack nicely the chinese traditional biscuits. :0 Mum said the stall owner dont sell bigger packs so need to repack 2 small packs to make one big pack. A tad cumbersome and "kan cheong" when hubby came over..haha...still need to wrap nicely in red paper and paste "XI" stickers. Very "ka-lang-ga-bok". Hehe.

Anyone still interested to get the maps of PJ from me? Please PM me. Thanks.

olengjuz

Hi BB, have replied you. =) including pic of map.

GDL process very quick, took abt 30mins. Fast but rushing thru.

Like I have mentioned earlier, I didnt take up PJ's invites and favours. All outscourced to someone else. Cheaper and more personalised. =)

jew

Hi piggysbride,

I don think so...i m trying to get free beer n projector from them, mayb during the food tasting session... It will be easier to discuss face to face. Try to persuade them... at least get one perk complimentary..
My package is also the lowest $$ ($598nett), their reason for not giving me any free perks is cos Dec is the busiest mth... how honest they r!

olengjuz

Yes, it's impt to get them throw at least something for you loh. Sound reasonable to them so that they are willing to give "freebies"?

sunbelle

Hi Penjop,
thanks for sharing ur card insert. yeah will be goin to the T-dragon to take a look. T- dragon shld have lots of template available rite huh?
i shld be using back my younger bro 's one whm jus got married in dec last yr...

Hi SK,

how did u decide on the GDL date huh? mi still tinking whether is beganwan solo halai or prima deli halai or not lor cos one uncle of mine married a muslim wife so have to be a muslim.....

do u gals have muslim tables huh?

Hi Penjop, jus wondering whether is there any toilet in the changing room huh? mi went to view the insert of urs, veri nicely designed and done up..jus wonderin tot there is a reception rite huh ? tink around 7pm huh? did u invite ur guests to be there ?

hi sunbelle,

i put my muslim frens at the vegetarian table..

the toilet is outside the changing room...hv to walk out to use it.