Peony Jade Resturant

scobido

Anyone has any lunch in this resturant? Any comments?

From the website, it looks pretty classy than the normal resturants...

deremi

hey moo,

can i hv the restaurant website add? thanks

scobido

www.peony-jade.com

Hi deremi, i haed given u the website

I went for a buffet lunch during the fifteen days of cny. I am sad to say that their captain, or is it their manager's attitude sucks. I pointed out to them that their menu is misleading as it indicated fried tilapia but they gave me a steamed tilapia and without a word of apologies, that rude woman just walked away looking fedup! What is this? The food wasn't fantastic anyway so we had given up the idea of having it in this super lousy service restaurant.that's just my opinion. there is one very nice middle age waitress that is very nice. too bad we encountered such a bad service from a higher level person.

btw, if u watch chinese serial yesterday at 9pm, the resturant was featured. zhou chu ming treated meili's whole family to a restaurant, that is their private room.

scobido

sorry, is buffet dinner. feel that their attitude is like that cos we chose buffet...anyway, their buffet isnt cheap...cant rem how much but 5 pax cost $300 plus...

thier chopstick holder is a stone and their cup looks like miso soup holder...

greta

Thanks moo for your feedback. Actually i've arranged a meeting with the owner of the restt this sat afternoon and also to look at their pl. I wonder whether this is the same mgr you r refering to?

scobido

hi dere

no prob

hi greta

i find so so... the food is a bit sweet and i dont really like it cos there are certain food tht i think shouldnt taste sweet..

no, i didn't call up the mgr and arrange to meetup with them cos i want to see their zhen mian mu.

i feel that the person , pauline, i think sounds a bit arrogrant over the phone and the email that she sent to me.maybe she is just proud of her ownership of the resturants

artemissoh

I went Peony-Jade resturant tonight for their buffet dinner. Both my FH and I find the food so-so only. But I really liked the ambience.

Their packages are also quite economical... Especially now that they are having a promotion with Her World Brides.

scobido

yes, their food is so so and their ambience is nice

too bad my parents in law and myself were pissed off with one of their staff's attitude...

so u signed up w them,art?

artemissoh

Actually I find their service quite good last night... Maybe cause there were not many customers.

Yes, we will be signing up with them. The lady, Pauline, was actually quite friendly and gave us lots of advice.

greta

Hi Artemis,
They got one weekday package, plus 3 weekend package. Which package do u intend to sign up? Will u be changing certain dishes on the menu? BTW, saw fm their website that the private room appears to be open air...is the whole place airconditioned by the way?

scobido

hi artemis

i didnt inform pauline i am going there...is a surprise visit...v sad at first that they gave me lousy service but everyone in the family who went there didnt like the food v much...all tasted a bit sweet...

it is not the waitress or waiters who gave us bad service but is a captain at least or a manager who ignored our comments and just walked away...we merely pointed out that the menu was misleading as the dish's name was printed wrongly...that rude woman just walked away feeling fedup with us...of cos the waiter served us the wrong dish but as it is the wrong dish, we didnt want it...maybe that's why she was angry...don't see any reason for her to be angry though...

anyway, just disappointed.

gd luck to u!

artemissoh

Hi Greta,

I am taking their Enchanted Menu but I am changing 3 dishes within the menu so the price increased a little. The whole place is air conditioned, they even have a lift (good for elderly folks)
According to Pauline, the private rooms (The windows are quite big) will be converted to the changing room if we can keep the number of tables within 18.
This number is just nice for my FH and I.

Hi moo,

Sorry to hear about your bad experience. The only thing I found quite weird was the captains were all standing at 1 end of the resturant chit chatting while the junior staff keep serving us. They were very attentive, kept changing our dirty plates and refilling our tea cups. I did not inform Pauline of the visit, my FH and I just happened to be around the place and decided to try the food. But according to their bouchures, their banquet chef is "awards-winning" so have to keep my fingers crossed and hope the banquet food is of a better quality...

greta

Hi Artemis,

Thanks for the update. I just went down tonight with my FH to look at their pl. My FH said the candle lit staircase very nice. One young man served us drinks while he called pauline over. I like the idea that the whole restt will be for the couple's usage if table no. kept to 17-18. More intimate and exclusive. The most impt thing i'm concern abt is their food though...basic menu doesn't really look impressive.

I saw a young couple who came to meet Pauline while we were still discussing. Abt 6pm. Pauline said they came to place deposit. Artemis, is that u & your FH?

artemissoh

Hi Greta,

No, my FH and I were that much earlier yesterday.
We are requesting to see the contract and have it finalised before paying the deposit.

artemissoh

Hi Greta,

Forgot to add that Pauline actually allows you to change the items within the menus.
There may be extra cost involved though... You will have to check with her.

artemissoh

I have paid my deposit for my WD at Peony Jade!
"Heard" good comments about the food from some of the ladies in this forum (See Carlton Hotel thread). So glad! Anyway, come to think of it, actually to judge the resturant's food on the basis of buffet fare is a bit harsh. I did some research on the Internet and found some pretty good reviews on Peony Jade from Straits Times. http://food.asia1.com.sg/gdfd/fea_20050122_001.shtml.

greta

Hi Artemis,
Wow that is abt 6mths fm now. U can tell the chef your likes/dislikes during the food tasting. Everything will be fine and the guest will love the ambience. Keep me updated of your AD event, ok?

scobido

hi artemis

just want to clarify that if u r referring to my comments abt the buffet food, let me just say that i emphasize that their service is lousy, at least to my family who dine in there for e 1st time. if the captain or the manager gave u this kind of attitude, i doubt u want to go back again.

anyway, u r one of their few wedding customers, thus i am kind of sure that their attitude towards u all will be superb since they need to build good word of mouth in order to secure more orders

generally, food reviews r not that bad, is a fact.

artemissoh

Hi moo,

lol... Actually I was referring to my FH's comment: "the food is lousy..."
But he gave in when I insisted on the place cause of the ambience and the articles I came across on the Internet.

Well, hopefully their service is superb all through till after my AD.

horsey

I had also booked my wedding venue at Peony-Jade but mine is on 1Mar next yr. Didnt try their food but we two just fall in love with the ambience & the fact that their packages are quite reasonable priced.

artemissoh

Hi horsey...

Welcome!
I'm so glad to find that I am not the only Peony Jade bride here.

My FH and I fall in love with the ambience too... Very chic Chinese look hor? The fact that the packages are reasonably priced is a major draw for us too...

horsey

thks..

yup, same for us.. i was telling my hubby tat the ambience seem very modern & nice frm mag but he wasnt convinced till we stepped into the resturant!! i told him, tat's it.. tat's where we are holding our function! haha..

we are on a budget too so the price per table was quite an attraction to us too.

so how's ur preparation for Oct05 wedding? any tips to share.. ^-^

we are waiting for our photoshoot this coming jun and then i guess to count down for the big day ba.. ^-^ where did u book ur wedpkg with? Mine is with Feline.

artemissoh

Hi Horsey,

I am with Golden Horse Awards (Tampines Branch)... My photo shoot will probably be in end July. Wah... Your photo shoot so early... But I guess better to have it in the non rainy season of the year. But won't June be very hot?

I no tips... In fact, I am trying to find a pair of 2" - 2½" ivory shoes to fit my gown... <sigh> Really headache...

Did you get the 6 tickets for the boat ride? I not sure whether I want to ask from Pauline a not... If I am within the first 30 couples, supposed to be entitlement, but even if we did take the tickets... We probably won't be using it...

horsey

hi Artemis,

tat's the idea.. we prefer sunny days.. didnt want to get caught with unexpected rain..

can always custom make at leapin lizards..

did u also place a $1k deposit with Peony Jade? then how long does she takes to pass u the contract? when did u book yours?

btw, when is your AD? if u take yours in end jul, wld ur album be ready in time for your Oct wedding?? thot they usually need slightly more than 3mths to get it done.. also hv to give allowance in case size or watever that may go wrong?

i hvnt get my contract yet.. she said she was too busy with the enquiries tat she hasnt got time to sit in office to do paperworks! but i jus dropped her a reminder email earlier this week.. btw, wat does the contract consists?

ya.. i'm not too keen on the tics.. i wld rather she give me something useful or more related to the banquet.

artemissoh

Hi Horsey,

Best of luck to your photo shoot!

I asked but the lady quoted me S$214 which is way out of my budget...

Yes, I paid S$1k deposit with Peony Jade but that was after I got the contract. I guess that's cause we signed up earlier. She was not so busy then. But things have been picking up for them (I guess). Then again, it would probably be better if you told her you would go down to her office to pick it up from her. We went down on a weekday afternoon when we figured she would not be so busy.

My AD is on October 1st. I am engaging a freelancer who promised it can be done within 1 month max. So I am not that worried. He came highly recommended by one of my friends who is very into photography. I would trust her taste...

I was hoping to convert the tickets to something useful too.

_orange_

hello! just the thread i'm looking for

I also like PJ's ambience and ultimately, it's the pricing which attracted me. Just well within my budget.

Pauline is a very nice lady. She may sound arrogant because she's a tai-tai, i think she's used to being like this. But overall, she's very nice. Disclaimer: I'm related to her in any way. Not even her friend.

I'm having my ROM ceremony at her place next month. I too, popped in with my HTB without telling anyone. I just wanted to check the place out and i was pleasantly surprised with the feeling the place gave me.

Went there again in the evening on another day to meet up with Pauline. The ambience at night is even nicer.

The only concern I have is the perception of this restaurant. Will ppl think it's a cheena restaurant? I used to laugh at ppl's choice of wedding venue so I'm pretty sensitive to it. I didn't realise it takes alot of money to get married. Now then I know lor.

artemissoh

Hi Orange,

I believe any perception of the restaurant being a cheena one will be dispelled once the guests arrive at Peony Jade. Do let me know of your ROM experience okay?

Artemis (artemissoh),i am keen to noe more abt this rest,as i am quite interest in this rest quite nice n due to my budget.i haven decide my AD but mostly ard end of feb'06.and how much deposit i should pay?did they gave free flow for beers?my min table is ard 15 can ornot huh?
thanks give mi sme advise okok

Hi Horsey (horsey), i would like to check wif u how much u pay fo=r the deposit?ur deposit iszit by cash or credit card?did they accept credit card?When is ur AD?Can u tell more abt ur packages to mi?Wat did pauline throw any good deals for u?IF u dun mind can email mi [email protected].
Thank u

artemissoh

Hi jesslyn,

Sorry for the late reply. Peony Jade's deposit was S$1k and I paid by credit card. They do not give free flow of beer but free barrel of beer. 15 should be no problem as Peony Jade only requires a minimum of 18 tables or S$8k of total charges.

horsey

hi Jesslyn,

apology for the late reply.

I had also paid $1k deposit via credit card. My AD is on 1Mar06.

One thing to note, if u want to hv the whole place for your event, u hv to meet her $8000 requirement. So assuming your AD is on wkend, that should not be a prob cos she said she needs to hv at least $8000 to cover for the whole day. Mine was on a wkday so i hv to hv min of 18tables to hv the whole place. ^-^

_orange_

my rom is finally over. now...headache for annual dinner. pauline's place is not available on the dates i want
(( i'm dying for a venue now..

the rom was good. solemnisation plus lunch plus Jing Cha all done at one breath. i had 5 tables of guests. Food was good except that the portion was just too big. Luckily pauline and her staff didn't charge me extra for the leftovers otherwise i'll be too broke to even have internet connection :p

it was almost a private affair because there wasn't any public dining in the restaurant that afternoon.

i thought there wasn't going to be any wedding flavours so i brought my special gifts along. End up i was pleasantly surprised that pauline had prepared chopsticks as wedding flavours for my guests.

overall, i'm very happy with pauline's service.

i would recommend it to anyone who is considering the place for grp luncheon.

I've no comments abt dinner since i've no first hand experience but i do believe pauline will make sure it's done beautifully.

Hi Artemis (artemissoh) &amp;
Horsey (horsey) Thanxs for ur reply..i want my Ad fall on wkday n only needs 15 table as i noe each table cost $498nett.i dun think i hit the requirement $8000 ley.So horsey wat free gift given for the guests?did they gif u how many days for hotel stay?Btw when is ur AD?

artemissoh

Hi Orange,

Congratulations on your ROM! I am happy to know that you have had such a pleasant experience.

Hi jesslyncheong,

Perhaps you could speak to Pauline to see if she would do something for you? And even though you say you only need 15, you at least have the option to have more should you require it.

horsey

hi jesslyncheong,

i hvnt select the wedding flavors yet cos Pauline said she may hv more options by year end. my AD is on 1Mar06.

is 15 tables your actual guest list? cos think it's a must to hv 2 backup tables (only chargeable when it's used). Think u'll be in a better position to bargain for more perks if u hv at least 18tables.

i had initially wanted only 16 tables but cos we want the exclusive use of the place so we had raised our tables to 18 and also got more bargaining power.

Hi Orange,

Congrats on your ROM too! ^-^ Seeing your comments reassured that we had made the right choice! ^-^

greta

Hi Orange,
Glad to read your good comment on the ROM lunch. BTW, when is your AD?

Hi jesslyncheong,
Think if you up the menu package to the higher one, should be able to hit $8000 even with 15tables. I don't think there is any other restt that can offer execlusive use with small group. I know that grand copthorne can also accomodate 15tables. Meritus Mandarin also can but don't know why alot of gals putting their package for transfer. Let me know your budget and ideal location and see whether i can help you cos I've done quite a fair bit of research on 15-18tables.

Gals, I'm meeting with Pauline next mth for negotiation + drafting contract. My AD is in Mar'06. Any things I need to ask/know before hand?

artemissoh

Hi Greta,

Actually, Pauline is pretty okay about everything and anything. Feel free to ask for things. If she can give, she will.
Ah... Pauline did mention that she was recruiting a HK chef. Perhaps, Orange's ROM was prepared by him?
That means I can go for food tasting soon.

I heard quite a number of horror stories about Grand Copthorne... Bad food and worse service. And their package is not that affordable. Not very sure how true... But to me the place is quite inconvenient for any guests who do not drive.

greta

Hi Artemis,
Thanks, hope the new chef is gd. Let me know how u find your food tasting session, ok? I heard gd comment abt Grand Copthorne from my FH's fren. I think it depends on which grade the couple select for the menu, maybe the cheaper grade food not so nice...How's yr wedding prep? PS already?

artemissoh

Hi jesslyncheong,

I went to dig through the wedding packages that Pauline provided me months ago and found that for weekday wedding banquets, she only requires 15 tables. So that should solve your "problem".

Hi Greta,

I will most probably be having my food tasting late this month or early next month.

Maybe Grand Copthorne pulled up their socks after all the complaints.

I will be preparing my invitations next month. Cause I have overseas guests so have to get the invitations ready for posting. I still have to plan my wedding songs and decorations. Other than that, I think most of my stuff is pretty much fixed. I am not having a PS.
Super camera shy. Will be having AD photography. Hopefully that day I will be too distracted to mind the camera too much.

greta

Hi Horsey,
My PS will be in Oct'05. Wah, your PS so fast in jul...Have u rom already? I'll be rom + AD on the same day loh.

horsey

Hi Greta,

my PS is not in Jul but in Jun.. haha..

yup, we had already ROM in yr03 and we are already living together. the customary is jus to wrap up the whole event.

who is your BS? mine is Feline.

btw, hv u applied for your hse?