Peony Jade Resturant

sean_yeo

Hi penjop,

Wow...u r sure very lucky to cover all the dinner expenses with the ang pows collected! Duno whether for my dinner can cover anot...

So u had a ang pow box at the registration counter for guests to put their ang pows in?

piggysbride

Hello...

May I know what songs are you playing at the wedding banquet?

I have planned to play English love songs but if I am holding it in PJ, I probably have to play Chinese love songs. Any suggestions?

SK
Same as you, I am staying with my in-laws.

oh...ok, understood liao..but still all my muslim frens came n ate the non halal food(vegetarian)...n their AP given to us ranges from $60-$100. the others non muslims guests gave an average of $80 also...highest we received were from best frens...$250 + 4D tix(our wedding date)..we not only break even, we earned 33% more to cover our car rental n all AP for helpers n the 1 nite hotel stay tat was not included in our pkg

penjop,
ya...guess we r more lucky than u hehehe *kidding*

it is also becoz we only invite the closest n most important pple in our lives to share our big day...thus most will come n willing to gv more generously. my hubby's old pals who r teachers took MC juz to attend our fri lunch event
we were very grateful for their presence

donk

Hi Jo,

Missed out your earlier post. You are most welcome to browse my wedding page @ www.penjop.multiply.com.

I did consider having the reception outside but hubby say it too hot!! Hmm... anyway me banned to go out that nite b4 wedding start! Hahahah...
Fyi, my guest start coming in about 7.30pm!

Yes.. I arranged for a photoshoot at PJ around 3pm where they are closed for business.

skyrainbow

You ladies have more experience. Can I ask you did you all open up all the tables. To my understanding, The max we can hold up to 250 people but 23 table right? Correct me If i am wronge.

I ask cause, I seem like have more guests than what I expected and I dunno know how to let people know if they are unable to attend my dinner but tell me as there are limited place to sit. All suggestion from you ladies that are more experience?

sunbelle

Hi Penjop, ur website is veri nice ..i luv it veri muchie..jus tat realli no time to do up the website hhee hehe

oh yeah wanna ask u why did u do away the cocktail huh? i have no experience on the cock tail at all ..i noe is across one rd from the resturant ....

have anyone been to the cocktail reception huh? any comments huh?

cheers,
sunbelle

olengjuz

Hi paulinena, this was what happened to me. I told a friend of mine that I am inviting her but not her hubby due to limited seats I hv got. I had even sought for her availability on my wedding luncheon. Then upon hearing that, she said " In that case, I wont be attending. Thank you for inviting me. I wish you and you hubby ....." That was very hurting. I thought she could have been more understanding. It's not that she wont have other close friends to talk to. *Sigh*

BTW, check with you gals. Is it usually the norm to give ang pows if not going to the banquet about a week or less b4 the wedding banquet (after the invite was received)? I had 3 friends who told me that and of course not mentioning about the ang pow. =( Haven't attended the banquet already knew would lugi abit already. Where to find ppl at last minute to fill up those empty seats?

piggysbride

Hello SK...

Usually if one has responsed and received the invitation card but not able to make it at the last minute, one is to give ang pow (but probably with smaller value) to the couple.

From what I learnt, you may ask your guests to bring their partner or children to fill up the empty seats.

pinpong

Just to share,
For relatives, we call them to check who r attending & d pax, den we prepared d invitation cards

For frenz, we call them to check whether they r able to attend & if they can attend we will get their mailing address & d same time or arrange to meet up so as to pass d invitation cards to them.
Most of my frenz do understand y we asked them b4 sending d invitation cards. 'cause if our frenz said they r not able to attend we will not b sending out d cards, & they will not feel "obliged" to give ang pao too..

My papa's invited his frenz but 2 of them informed dat they r unable to attend, but they still give angpao. & it is not a small amt... i m surprised & touched. My papa's frenz even said they remember d small little girl with curly hair now finally getting married.. hahaa...

donk

Hi Sunbelle,
Thanks!! Glad that the web of some use to you too. The cocktail reception not bery sure lei, "across the road" hahahah.... is front area of the PJ entrance lar, one thing u should look out for is the weather too... if it rain there will be no shelter for outdoor cocktail le!!!Bit mafan..for my AD it dizzer on n off for the whole day, anyway you can decide later on that day itself to have it indoor or outdoor.

Hi Paulinena,
PJ only opened up to 22tables the max, no space le!! Some tables will be having 12pax. Unless u wan to sacrifice you changing room? heehee.....
Jus work towards 250pax along the way some will not turn up due to certain reason, then you can cut the amount of tables.Anyway you still need to have a final confrimation your total tables a few days b4 AD. What you have to do.. call your guest up a week b4 to double confrimed their attendance.Dun think too much on the lugi issue.. jus concentrate on your dinner plans.

sunbelle

Hi Penjop,

do u mean that u can have ur cocktail indoor one huh? u mean 1st storey or 2nd storey huh?
pls advise leh =) i oso havent decide yet leh...no finger food one rite ? onli drinks rite ?

donk

Sunbelle,

For me actaully dun have cocktail reception, when the guest arrived we ask them up to the table to sit them and drinks will be served to the guest. No food before dinner start.

skyrainbow

Hi SK,

I face the same problem with my ROM. but I realised that if they are not going to give me blessing no point asking to come. After that, I am okie la. Dun Be unhappy =)

To my understanding, if you got the invitation card must give ang pow le even you cant go =)

Penjop,
Thanks! But I am told that Max table is 23table! I think must check again and I am going to compound my guest list again before asking to avoid over-invited.

olengjuz

Thanks all for the kind explanation. It's going to be my big day tomorrow. =) Not getting anywhere excited about it but very very exhuasted. *grins*

My father's friends couldnt turn up but had passed him their ang pows (not sure how much thou). Relatives too. My friends didnt mentioned anything about giving me ang pows but have already received my cards. Too think I still give one of them angpow even thou I didnt recevied the card nor had attended it. Anyway, cant be bothered so much now, too tiring to think further.

Paulinena, I just went to PJ ytd to cfm the guests' no. So long the no. of pax attending exceeding 221-229, we will be charged as 22 tables, from 230 onwards it's 23 tables. I hv got 235-240 pax, so will be charged 23 tables. HTHs.

For all info, PJ's projector and sound system is fine, just that the wiring of the audio might not be functioning well. Need to adjust the wiring slightly in order to have the music connected from the laptop to their PA on. Abit off when we test run our montage onto their projector...thought no sound and still think it's our laptop problem.

olengjuz

Yup Penjop & ice. Thank you! *grins*

just got last min notice that couple of pax to come for banquet. Still need to re-arrange again. Haha...headache siah.

skyrainbow

Hi SK,

Congrate! enjoy your day! I think I will face the same time as you. Dun worry! I believe that everything will turn out well for you =)

Remember to update us =)

lovelytulips

having a little problem. i just resigned. u think it's a good idea to invite the ex-colleagues? if so, mite have problems with the limited seats.

becos we are thinking of not using the max no. of pple. cos dun feel like putting pple inside the function room. headache now... hahaha

by the way, anyone did luncheon and had their second makeup in the changing room? MUA told me to wash away the morning's makeup but wun it be very farnee to go to their toilet to wash? hahaha

SK,

congrats... though this may come a bit late. btw, do u stay in the north? i saw this groom's entourage this morning. a total of 6 cars!!!!!

lovelytulips,

if u juz resigned can still invite closer frens from ex-company...the morning makeup can wash away b4 u head down to PJ mah..after u r done with all the tea ceremony etc.

SK, congrats...hope everything went smoothly for u

mrsyong

Hi penjob!
Thanks for your pics!! Totally love your red gown!! haha.. sort of inspired me on how to look that day.. You look stunning! How's married life? kind of worried about that part, hmm.. lots to learn leh..

SK!! congratulations! You're a MRS now!
hope everything went smooth, let us know how it goes ok?

Hey sunbelle,
There's cocktail at the Quayside Seafood dining area outside PJ. What confuses me is the tables and chairs there. I wonder are they going to remove the tables and chair for the cocktail? Yet to confirm with my coordinator. Think i'll check it out when it's food tasting. Food tasting is 2-3 months before ?

donk

Hi Jo,

U r welcome!!Thanks for your compliments on my EG.Married life harrr... like that lor.. already ROM and stayed together for 8yrs before AD liao, no plans for any BB too. kekekeke..

olengjuz

Thank you for the wekk-wishings...appreciate it heaps!

YES! Everything went according to plan. Many guests commented that foods served was great and good service. Nice ambience & among all all my guests left with a full stomach!

Credits to PJ's staffs and helpers! Hee..

Lovelytulips > My hubby came in BMW with other 6 cars entourage but me staying in the west. *beams*

sunbelle

Hi Jo,

yeah jus tinking whether do most people have their cocktail for wedding dinner huh?

SK :: Congrats on ur loveli success of wedding

paunic

Hi SK

Congrats to MRS!

Hi all... if you can advise me on this....

My AD is on 1st Dec 2007. I'm planning the dinner program now and a bit unsure...

My general sequence is as follows:-
1. Cocktail reception
2. Guest seated
3. Screening of Montage
4. 1st March-in (No cake-cutting)
5. Indoor Solemization
6. 1st Course
7. Screening of Day Highlight
8. 2nd March-in
9. Champagne Pouring

Just wondering, with the portable projector & white screen, screening of montages, solemnization etc etc... is it possible? would it be a big mess? Coz I was thinking, maybe have to move the projector, the screen and the solemnization set-up, the champagne glass tower up and down... don't know how is going to work...

If anyone could share with me what is their sequence on the AD?

And SK & Penjop, when do you discuss with PJ about ur AD sequence?

olengjuz

Thanks Meow, sunbelle & shups,

I discussed it on the very day. Preferably to do it a few days before your wedding banquet. Would be slightly messy if discussing in a rush.

Personally, I think your program is alright. Cant see any problem with it.

Meow, my photos not out yet.

But you might want to see our friend's blog whose got our photos uploaded in his website though. Hee.. http://blackathy.blogspot.com/

Oh btw, I still got 3 bottles of Martell 750ml left. It's $75/bot and I am selling it at $236 (including GST).

Duty Paid and comes with box. Everything still intact. It's $75/bot (excluding GST) and I am selling it at $236 (including GST) to you.

Kindly PM me. Self collect at Jurong Point. Thanks.

sean_yeo

Im having my food tasting tomorrow and i checked with PJ, if i wanted to taste all 9 courses instead of the given 6, would have to pay an additional of $120 for 6 pax.

Worth it? Or not?

olengjuz

I rem I din pay anything to add on another pax for the food tasting...portion of food served to share with 7 ppl. The dessert was throw in FOC.

However, if to taste all except first course we need to pay another $50nett for 6pax.

We took up the $600 banquet what about you, Sean? Maybe you took a more expensive package hence higher cost to pay.

olengjuz

Hi Piggysbride,

It's absolutely not a hassle to makeup at PJ's changing room at all.

Here's my wedding songs.

1. 1st March-in - Enya's Only Time

2. 1st Course Presentation - Bond's Explosive

3. 2nd March-in - David Bryne's The Main Theme from The Last Emperor

4. Champange Pouring - Canon in D

Leon told me that Bond's Explosive was used by another couple who held their wedding before so they are pretty familar with the song.

We had a trial run too hence Leon told me about the song.

The Main Theme had that oriental touch cos it's the OST from the movie The Last Emperor. Got that idea from my friend's 2nd March-in when I attended her wedding banquet last year.

I changed the 1st March-in song at very last minute cos I think this song has that "fairy tale" like touch. Better than The wedding March. Tee..hee....

lovelytulips

Hi SK, no honeymoon yet???

did u get any red wine from them?

saw the blog you posted. wow... so many cars. u did a luncheon? seems like u manage to finish everything on time. what time did u start the lunch itself?

hi sean,

when i enquired about having 10 pax for the F/T, they wanted to charge me 250 for the whole course. kind of ex. but if only serve 6 dishes, abit weird rite....

sunbelle

Hi SK,

will u be able to share the songs huh? i am looking for the 1st course presentation and champange pouring one hehee

yo, how do u all keep the angbaos huh? we are still tinking abt the ang baos..

did u all go the pump room for the 12 free drinks ? i been to the pump room is so nice leh and cosy their pump room. thumbs up

olengjuz

Lovelytulips > No plans for honeymoon yet. *grins* Yes, we brought in 12bots of our red wine and they dun charge us on corkage. Yep, that was a 6 cars + 1 bridal car convoy. We had a wedding lunchoen at PJ. My friends reckon we had everything in planned and the luncheon ended on time ard 3pm. It's about 3.45pm when we settled for the bill.

My sis tried their vegetarian course and it was superb! It's not easy to get her commented on foods to be nice and tasty but she said the sauces for all dishes were great! Very well-blended into the mock meat dishes. Hee..

sunbelle, of course I dun mind sharing with you my wedding songs. What's ya email addy? My 2 sistas safeguard the angpow box for me. In fact, it's quite true that any waiter/waitress could access to the keys to the changing room. Therefore, not safe to place your angpow box in the room.

I wasnt informed about the pump room and it wasnt in my package. But, I dont think we would patronise the place cos we were damn tired by the time everything ended. Haa...

teddy_mac

Hello there,

My sister is getting married next year 26th Jan. Pretty excited about it. I am suppose to think of ways to play my brother-in-law before he enters our gate and bring my sister away. Any of you have any ideas

ROM Date: 07.07.07
ROM Venue: Love That Binds
AD Banquet: PJ
BS: Somewhere in Johor
ROM photo, AD photo, AD VDO: 4 Friends Network

Can share with me your wedding songs also?
My e-mail add: [email protected].

sean_yeo

Nvm....post again then....

Went for food tasting with my wife and both of our parents. Managed to psyco Kenny to give dessert (Mango sago) FOC, haha! Its at no cost to them anyway, since it doesnt require special preps or expensive ingredients.

All the food is good! Abit different from the hotel usual menus. Both of our parents are very satisfied with the food and ambience.

When dessert is served, Kenny came over for feedbacks (Lydia is overseas) and we proceeded to select VIP sashes, wedding favours, floral deco and stuff like that.

After everything has been settled, went over to our BS to let our fathers test out jackets sizes. At the same time collected all our photo albums for the PS which was done in Mar 2007. Wheee!!!! Never expected collection to be so fast as they promised me earliest date of collection will be in July.

You may want to check out http://community.webshots.com/user/thebanquetboy for the whole series " )

493321.jpg

493322.jpg

493323.jpg

sean_yeo

Haha...we not that young liao...see my age in my profile? My wife is younger than me by 4rs, definitely past the teenager stage liao " )

pinpong

Hi Sean

Both of u looks great, like ur wife in Kua.
yeap agreed with Midas, u 2 r young.

d Mango sago from PJ is yummy... missing it liao

olengjuz

Dear btb here's couple of feedback from my guests. Do bring it out to the rest. mgr in-charge. Below was what extracted from my email to Pauline.

2 comments to note.

1. I received feedback informing me that the dishes served were slightly slow (e.g. 4 dishes to serve within an hour) but the waitress was rather quick to collect the “empty†dishes from the table. One of them even have to que the waitress not to collect the dish back when the foods were yet to finish. Therefore, in this regard, my guests waited a while before the next dish was served to them.
2. A number of my guests didn’t know that the roast chicken in the dish “Roast Chicken with Hot Sesame Sauce†need to consume with the sauce within the dish. I would propose that your waiters/waitresses to recommend how the dish to be savoured during the dish out. We had it tasted during the food tasting session hence we knew that the chicken would taste nicer if to consume along with the hot sauce unfortunately my guests did not know. Would appreciate that your restaurant manager to note this point. Else, one would think that it’s a typical roast chicken dish, nothing special at all.

olengjuz

HI blurblur, not a prob. =)

In fact, I could even give you a copy of my AD;'s schedule, emcee's script and Banquet schedule too. It comes together. (of course with our pics at the background). =)

What's ya email addy?

sunbelle, what's ya email addy? Do you still need those songs?