Pan Pacific Singapore

Hi rosalind,

hope you dun get offended leh

Hi brambles,

after adding in the +++ the corkage price is abt $20 per bottle lor.

Hi rosalind,

oic... i tot PP gave you unlimited waiver (since when hotels become so good kekeke!!), sorry for my misunderstanding

PPgroom,

Did u request for the perks which I neg? I did send to some in this thread and I mention ard 20 bottles. U r rite, dun think can get waiver for unlimited (esp if mine is under Ocean Ballroom promotion, Pacific Ballroom maybe, I dunno). OK lah, think the hotel considered not bad oredi lah.

Clarify to all: I have waiver for 20 bottles.

yup, actually all quite standard perks after see see look look and ask ask around...

kekeke!!! no la, i take Pacific Ballroom also cannot get unlimited waiver, tried, but failed hee hee... i din even manage to persuade my already very accomodative coord to provide me a projector FOC... i think PP really have ZERO projectors kekeke...

maybe i shd go buy one solid projector (probably cost $3k-$4k) and rent to PP instead? with so many weddings, i sure earn back one WAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

This thread is soooo happening huh..

PPgroom, you mentioned to Convoy to negotiate for another barrel of beer. OB's package is free flow. Unless Convoy is considering PB.

hi rosalind n ppgroom, if i'm not wrong, they're charging me $20+++ per bottle. v expensive. but i do vaguely rem that they did mention giving me a waiver for up to 20 bottles. will call them...

hey all... i think PP has one and only one projector leh. but weddings dun get priority, only corporate seminars etc.

hahaha... ppgroom, u go buy one projector and rent to pp and let us use at huge discount! hahahahaha

anyways... when is ur AD?

Hi orosalind, twinklegint and PPgroom,

thank you for all your precious information and help. I will tell my bf and FIL about the shifu. hopefully they can select a date early based on the 8 characters (whatever it is called) w/o the use of tong shu.

Hi brambles and the rest,

FYI. I managed to get a waiver of 24 bottles, and my coord is charging me $15+++ after that. And mine is under Ocean Ballroom promotion.

So, brambles, try to ask for at least 24 bottles at least ....

PPgroom, Convoy n Miata16,

I tot PB oso having promotion at $20 off per table and oso come with free flow of beer?
==================================================

Brambles,

Go ask for waiver of a few bottles if not unlimited. Say someone got it at $15.

U r rite, seminars got priority in the use of projector and that's why, it's impt to add into the contract if they promise u FOC usage of projector.

Hi brambles,

my AD on the 8 Jan 2005

yeah, i buy, but skali no one wants to rent from me then i have to go to Ch8, 7pm liao (He Lan Chun kekekekeke!!!!!!)

Hi Chel,

i think irregardless, have to use tong shu one... cos that is where all the info resides, unless your shifu got supernatural powers and can see into the future hee hee.

Pacific Ballroom's offer of $20 off + free flow of beer is only for minimum of 40 tables and the offer is ending end of Nov 2003.

good news! juz called my coord. she has agreed to give me waiver of 1 bottle per table. so i've got a waiver of up to 25 bottles. thanks to all for the help!

can i oso check with everyone... for food tasting, how many pax hv u all bargained for? i managed to get 10. anyone who's managed to get more?

Hi brambles,

me managed to get 11 pax stated in the contract. Actually, we wanted 12 pax but my coord said she only can give us up to 11, however, can still add one more when the day comes nearer, that's what she told us.

kpo lady... really? i had wanted to get 11 she she would not give me and neither did she mention that we can still add one more closer to the day.

hey ppgroom... hehe... i oso wanted to take the Jan 05 date but den the package price for OB would have gone up by den

Really hats-off to you people for your negotiation skills... can increase from 6 pax to possibly 12 pax. Wow!

I took the Ocean package. Something about the menu is bugging me... the prawns. Do you think unshelled or deshelled prawns better? Prawns with shells intact will indicate freshness. However, if the prawns are not deshelled, quite cumbersome, right? Especially for ladies with those beautifully manicured nails. Presentation wise, I think with shells on better. May look a little pathetic deshelled eh? What do you think?

Hi Brambles,
Yup, really. I got 11 pax stated in the contract.

Hi Blim,
I dun remember there's any prawns in my menu except the fried rice with fresh prawns. Are u referring to this one?

Hi Blim,

Me think of changing the shelled prawn to unshelled ones cos my fren said it looks beta esp when u take pics at each table (based on his own wedding experience).

lly and orosalind: Mine on the menu states Sauteed Live Prawns in "Szechuan" style. You all don't have this dish for Ocean Ballroom?

I only have 6 pax food tasting. Coordinator says this is standard and stands firm. Never occurs to us this is bargainable...

Hi brambles,

actually no effect one leh... my date is in Jan 2005, but i still enjoy the package but of cos must pay the deposit now lor... which means i take the package liao, just that i use it in 2005 hee hee

Hi blim,

Refer to the earlier postings (but dun know why they are already removed from this thread), there are PiXie Menu and Ocean Menu (if I remembered correctly). Mine is the PiXie Menu, that's why I dun have this dish that u have mentioned earlier. Strange ...

hey ppgroom, u took the Pacific Ballroom is it? cuz i rem that OB has got a different price if the dinner is in 2005

wah... i din know that there were a few menus to choose from. thot it was standard esp for the OB package

Hi Blim,

Yup, I have that Sauteed Live Prawns in "Szechuan" style but I wanted to change to unshelled one. Me maybe changing to Pixie menu.

Can inc the no. of pax for food tasting one.....

lly,

I think Blim refers to Ocean Ballroom promotion menu. U r correct if u refer to Pacific Ballroom menu (Pixie, etc). Pixie menu has no Sauteed Live Prawns in "Szechuan" style.

My coordinator told us the menu for Ocean package is fixed. We could only change the way the dish is being cooked eg not too spicy etc... Any change of dish would be chargeable. Grrr....

lly, how come you still have the choice of pixie menu?

ppgroom since your dinner is in 2005, you're going to be getting lots of feedback after we've had our dinners.

I'm entitled to this PiXie Menu right from the beginning. I only come to know about this Ocean Menu from this thread. And yes, mine is the Ocean Ballroom Promotion Package. But how come there is a diff in the menus, me no sure .....

Hi Blim and lly,

For my case, I can opt for either Pixie or Ocean Menu but still cant decide which to take. Maybe a combination of both.

Hi brambles,

yup, mine is at the Pacific Ballroom. my coord told me that for 40 tables, i can book and pay the deposit before the offer ends to enjoy the $20 off/table as well as the free flow of beer. else normally no $20 discount and only 1 barrel of beer. Mine's on a Sat so one barrel where got enuf? kekeke... ppl would want to sit back, relax and drink up

Hi blim,

yup, that's really good. can get feedback from you all and hopefully improve from there.

Hi all, may I know how much you all pay for the +++? I just received the contract from my coordinator. She's charging me 16% for 2005.

ha ha PPgroom, you very funny. esp your WHAHAHAHA trademark. ok so if i cannot get the tong shu, and the shifus do not have enough power then no choice lor...

anyway i am just KS and worried that ppl will snap up the dates just like how ppl cheong for The Coris BTO 2003. but hor, come to think of it, if the tong shu is not out, then all the shifus in Spore will not have enough power. that will mean that other couple also cannot decide a date also muh. ha ha ha. OOPS!

hmmm... so in the end, i don have to worry so much already right PPgroom?

when i went to my frd's wedding dinner, her menu had this shelled prawn n we love it so much cos very tasty. however, i heard fr another frds in the other tables that not much pple eat the prawns. then we concluded that was because i was sitting with very close frds (ex classmates) so we used hands while other tables too lazy n shy to use hand.

so me also changing to unshell prawns too... hahaha

hi twinkleglint, is ur frd's wedding dinner at PP too?

unshelled prawns are definitely much more convenient. however, my concern is that the elderly folks mite think the prawns are unshelled cuz they're not fresh. hahaha... so how?

hi brambles
nope, my frd's WD is at crown prince. actually i love prawns esp the steam kind with shell. hehehe, but i m not the one eating on my wedding mah..

Meiqi,

My contract states 1.1544 for the +++ (which is 10% serv charge, 1% cess and 4% GST).

brambles and twinkleglint,

I dun like shelled prawns cos it's so messy haveing to remove the shell. brambles, if u think the elderly folk might think unshelled prawns not fresh, why not change to the dish under pixie menu (not the prawn though but something in XO sauce)? I'm thinking of doing that cos unshelled prawn might look a bit too miserable (i.e. too small). But I attended a wedding at Suntec, the unshelled prawns taste nice with cashew nuts, etc.

Hi Chel,

thanks for the compliments

not true leh... dun forget there are Christians... they dun believe in tong shu one leh... i still suggest booking your date first based on the online almanacs... tell your coord that it is still way too early to pay deposit and ask them to let you wait for the tong shu to be out then pay.

Hi twinkleglint,

i recently attended my fren's dinner at Crown Prince too. the ambience is nice. i find the service not bad initially cos the waiters/waitresses keep topping up our drinks, but once the banquet starts, wa biang, cannot make it man... not enuf manpower...

another thing i noticed is that the Fanta Orange that they serve right? all flat one!! no gas... think they put into the jar too early for too long thus become flat... wonder is there any way to avoid the flat soft drinks for all our dinners?

Hi ladies n gentlemen

Talking abt prawns, why pple prefer shelled prawns is because fresh prawns the head will be "in-tact" with the body. also the dish will look more presentable since the prawns are bigger with shells. My prawns cooking style is changed to "Live prawns with Herbs and wine", something diff.

and yes, got 2 menu for OB promotion. Apparently when OB is first offered, couples commented that they prefer whole fish, prawns etc etc. So PP change the menu to the more traditional menu. Pixie menu is more exotic, if u compare the cooking style and ingredients. Overall, i still prefer the OB menu, got fish, got prawn, got meat, wont have any negative feedback from older relatives. Youngsters like us are more open abt trying new style of cooking. :P

Hi PPgroom
Seldom see a guy so on about preparing for wedding.
Soft drinks in PP should be fine, they will set up a bar counter where they will dispence the drink and beer from. Anyway, the drinks left on the table long enuff will become flat also.

dear all...

thanks for your replies...

like to check with you guys - anyone taking out shark's fins from the menu? me toying with that idea cos if the eating stops, the killing stops too... *not that I'm really that onz abt this*
but think a lot of ppl will then think i cheapo...

anyone manage to negotiate for an additional nite stay?

Hi brambles/ lynn,

walau!! you all making me blush liao la!! no la, my FW abit indecisive one, so i gotta take charge lor (if she sees this thread she'll wring my neck!! Wahahahaha

Hi convoy,

if you take out the fins, then wat you plan to replace with? any other items on the same price line as fins? dun tell me you wan 2 sets of abalones? kekeke... Like you said, if you take out the fins, those older generation type will give you that cheapo look... not worth it la... just leave the fins as it is, if there are conservationalist among your frens, they just forego one dish lor... afterall, S'pore is a democratic country, if i dun eat, doesn't mean the whole world must follow me and dun eat too right?

Main items: 1 sharksfin soup, 1 fish (sea perch vs garoupa) and 1 other seafood (sea cucumber vs prawns)

Pixie is sea perch and sea cucumber.
Ocean is garoupa and prawns.
What's your take on this?

I'm thinking since the ocean prawn dish is giving me so much hesitation, might as well opt for pixie hor?...

I take Ocean, parents prefer to have a whole fish (you dou you wei) and prawns, hubby dun like sea cucumber

alternative for sharkfin soup can be lobster. then got feedback from my friends that if no sharkfins not consider a wedding dinner. Actually caught in between, cos i find nowadays sharkfins not as well cooked as before, either too watery, too starchy or too many tau kay.

I even come across no taste sharksfin in one of the well-known hotel....

Blim, agree. Me oso same thinking as u, if the prawn is giving u so much hesitation, might as well opt for pixie or u can opt for a mixture of both menu.

ai yo PP groom, if ur wifey read this, she will either pull ur ears to love u more lor. would breadk ur neck lah.

when is ur crown prince dinner? dun tell me we went to the same dinner!!! cos i encounter the same thing in the dinner with drinks not top-up when needed and before the dinner, they keep topping up the drinks.

hi convoy,
mayb u can try replacing the shark fins to birdnest. no killing here cos u are eating their saliva...hahaha.

hi girls n guys,
aft so much have been said. some of u r quite right that the older pple like things got "head got tail" looks beta. i really thinks that if pple refuse to eat beos of the shell then very wasteful. i love shelled prawns so much, but on my WD sure got no chances to eat. mayb can wait at the kitchen or ask the hotel to ta bo for me if noboby wans to eat....hahaha, jus kidding.

btw, can we neg our menu again??? mayb we sould but the sea cum more ex then prawn so def mus top up or drop out other exp dishes. maybe i go n ask the PILs first.