Pan Pacific Singapore

hi ppgroom n all,
my coor told me that if it is spoil will need to spend a lot repairing it so that's why cannot borrow to us.

i like ur idea of coorperate together to fight for projector free. some of the videographer do provide projector, but if hotel can provide it will b beta.

hi pp brides,
*wave*

dear all pp brides n grooms...

I'm thinking of holding my wedding at PP. can anyone email me the contract and additional perks to me? will help me in negotiating with my coordinator? I'm looking at the Ocean Rm package...

twinkleglint - you are doing yours at Ocean right? Would you be able to help? Much appreciated....

my email - [email protected]

Hi orosalind,

okie. i will discuss with my bf and probably go and take a look next month. what do you actually neg for?

Hi PPgroom and Sean,

it is quite risky to book just like that. what if it 'chong' my parents or whoever.... actually i don care but have to make my family members happy lei. Can i just tentatively book a date and dont pay a deposit?

Sean, thanks for the link. they are helpful but too bad like i hav mentioned, my parents are not the ones who decide. have to wait for my FIL. and i dont think they are so savvy in computer one lor. but it is still useful for me. a reference. thanks.

Hi convey,

you can go the Pan Pac website. you will see the full package and whatever relevant information you want.

hope this is helpful

Hi Chel,

Can use Sean's links and make a tentative booking first. Just tell your coord that you wish to wait for the actual 'tong shu' to come out first before paying the deposit. usually the coord will agree cos they are quite an accomodative bunch

from the links you can tell whether it is a good day for marriage or not as well as whether it'll cheong which 'sheng xiao'... if your FIL dun like to look at computer screens then print it out onto paper and 'bluff' him lor WAHAHAHA... just joking...

oh? well, that's the risk that you have to take if you wanna book early... but either way there's risk, either risk getting a not so nice date, else risk having your date kenna 'chope' by other people.

I think this kind of dates stuff, depends on you and your spouse "eight characters" too. I had mine taken at Chinatown, this uncle even asked for my parents and parents in law's "animals" (Animals, hahaha)

According to him, even if the tong shu is not out, can check. But will cost higher. If the tong shu is out, it will cost $68.

Oh, he will even furnish you the time to "chu jia". Also dates for "an chuan" (placing the bed) and "guo ta li" (dowry). Actually all these, I dunno what to do, but will ask some elders one when the time approaches.

But hor, this uncle, I think, very attitude.

Hi Chelsea,
Can you advise the website please?
I went to the Pan Pacific website, click here click there also cannot find banquet details. All talking about reservations...

If you ask shifu to calculate date for you, no need to wait for tong shu leh. But a little more expensive...

Rosalind,

Sigh, I was actually scheduled for tomor. But tomor, I got a dinner to attend, so called my coordinator to change to yesterday. Then I went there my coordinator had happily forgotten abt the change and the designer was off.. arhgggg!

Hi Demio,

Heard tt before, but then it's really up to u.

likewise for chelsea, if u really need to book the date now and not going to count so details into "8 characters", the website is quite reliable in terms of 'clashed animals'. Dun think u can make tentative booking for too long with PP tot, depends on your coordinator? I tried to make tentative book in May for Oct04, was told i can't hold for more than 2 wks. End up i called back after tong shu was out in Sep.

blim u have yet settled with your coordinator? I tot u have more or less discussed with PP month ago?

As for projector, hmmm.. depends on your coordinator, some brides did get it FOC (verbal agreement tot), while collectively fight for FOC projector is mission impossible. I'm sure every couple has asked that but they are still quoting $500(!) Talk abt the rate for corporate customer, i was told corporate customer dun need projector tt's y if PP provide projector, they got to rent from outside. So many version of stories, wonder what's true. Advice is to bargain FOC if possible, otherwise don't include in the contract at quoted $500. PP's neighbour hotels quote max so far is only $250++

Good memory lynn.

Yes, I've placed my deposit already. Couple of outstanding items but no urgency yet to want to meet up with the coordinator and see her face.

Before signing the contract, I did try to search the web but without success so I thought they don't have it on the internet. Hence I was surprised when Chelsea located it. Shows how poor my internet navigation skills are...

Finally found it.
Now that you guided the way, it's so obvious!
Wonder how I could have missed it despite so many attempts...
Thanks orosalind.

hello blim,

please dont say that. i searched the web before but could not locate it until recently. I believed the staff just updated it. so it wasn my skill, just right timing. *smile*

1. go to Pan Pac Singapore homepage

2. Go to events home page

3. Go to events promotion and ta da! you got it!

Hi lynn,

so were the dates you wanted taken by others liao, by the time the tong shu was out?

Hi PPgroom and orosalind,

i think getting the shifu (whoever) will be a better idea. I was told that the tong shu is very 'chiem' so no point buying it. Heard that ppl go to temple and stuff like that. Hai, anyway I dont think my FIL will trust those from website thing *faint* headache headache. but still thank you for your help. ;)

Hi blim,
keke.. of cos i remembered cos we shld have the same coordinator. haha.. anyway think the price of package is not stated in the web if i'm not wrong.

Hi chelsea

Yes my first choice is taken, a Monday some more. Think i call abt 2 wks after news of OB nett package is released and all gd dates are grabbed. Well, still not tt bad cos the date we choose is ok, not clashing anyone one in the family.

and yes, tong shu very chiem one, i dun understand either. but my date is selected from the website cos those date given by the lady were all taken up and since we are not particular abt 8-C, so the web site is gd enuff ie no clashes of animals. :P

Welcome, blim...

Chel, the tong shu not chim at all. I learn how to use it in less than 15 min. I think u can too.
Anyw, u can try the temple which I go to. I oni nid to give an angbow to the China master. He dun use tong shu but a special book. Think it's ok to check for 2005. If u want, I can give u the no and u call him to check out first before u go down to see him.

hi chel,
u wan me to recommend u a temple (not really a temple) where all my gfs go to? they can check the dates. even my mil also go there for auspicious dates, no charges jus give an hong bao.

i give a few dates we wan and they choose a date for us. then i check with pan pac but was booked so they choose another date which i have already confirmed with pan pac.

u mus tell the lady it is for marriage and they will give u a list of advise like when to do guo da li, an chuan, time to enter the bedrm on AD, time/date to shui fa....etc.

u PM me if you wan.

Hi all, recently busy with work and din manage to come in here. Surprised to see so many newcomers and postings. A big welcome!

I got my AD from a shifu @ AMK who was recommended by my FH's friend..He oso use tong shu. Weeks later my FH's parents went to get another 'book' and realised that the date given by shifu is not a good day..they insisted to change to another day.
But at that time, my FH already fixed the date with coord and 'hao bu rong yi' got this AD(cos most of our preferred date are already booked).I was very unhappy with the sudden change but then...wat can I do?? As wat some of you mentioned, the AD should be decide by FH's side. Eventually, my FH's parents went to ask another shifu and lucky that shifu said it's neither a bad nor very gd day, we can still go ahead. Phew!!! After hearing this, my FH's parents felt much relieved. This was the 'ma fan' that I went through. As u all know, it's not easy to get a date especially weekends.

My personal advise to all PP brides and grooms, do all kinds of 'research' at early stage. Once confirm, do not change liao else you might not get one later.

oh dear, this is so scary. I have to do some many things, especially when i have totally no clue.

Hi Sean and twinkglint,

can you email me the place of shifu? thanks.

Hi lynn and Meiqi,
oh so your wedding is in 2004? good at least you got a date. To me, any November Sat is a good day for marriage. too bad I have to please my parents and all.

Hi orosalind,
please give me some tips on how to read the tong shu. and btw, in the earlier message, you said "Hi Chel, I have PM u" what does PM means? Sorry i blur...

Hi Chel,

There are actually some english tong shu around and thus quite easy to read. try to get these instead... but your wedding's in Nov 2005 right? even if you buy tong shu, it's not out for 2005 yet...

wah... this thread really really happening...

twinkleglint, thanks... received your mail...

seems like most of us here are having problems with the projector... $400 - $500 for an evening use? crazy... wonder why PP dun realise it at all... they should really review their rates...

like to check.. how are you guys gonna overcome this? rent? any lobangs?

Chel,

PM means personal msg. Check ur email (the one u use to register in the forum) on that.

As for the tong shu, u can check using either the western date or lunar date and then fm there, u can see if it is auspicious or not to do certain things like wedding and na chai (guo da li), etc.
==================================================

Convoy,

Check the first thread under Banquet and u can see a few cheaper rentals there.

Brambles,

I have waiver of cockage for wine. I ask for it cos it's not included in the package.

hi orosalind, thanks for the reply.

i oso asked for waiver of corkage for wine but when they sent me the contract, it's stated in the contract that there will be corkage charge for wine.

is this the same for ur case (as in it's 'formality' thing to put this in the contract)? or do i hv to tell my wedding coord to take out that clause?

hi chel, clarawoo
sent the temple contacts liao....

i m neg my videographer to provide the projector foc. they r ok to provide foc if u use their svcs. i dun wana neg further wif the hotel if they r not accomodating. for those booking pacific ballrm u r safe cos they will provide for u if u asked for it. for ocean ballrm, the hotel think that the package is cheaper so dun wan us to get more perks than the pacific one. moreover they cannot afford to answer if repair cost for the projector if it is spoil, plus the package is the cheaper one.

i m also those kind of pple, if u dun wana give then forget it. i dun wan them to turn nasty (u might not kn) in case they screw other things during my dinner or say bad things behind my back.

anyway, if ur videographer can provide u it is beta since they r doing the set-up of the screening of ur montage or morning highlights. u can trust them more than the hotel, what if the hotel's projector is spoil??? then there will b no show for the nite.

just my 2 cents worth..........

Hi Chel,

There are many tong shu available at 'Fu Lu Shou' building and many shifu there as well... How i know? i've been there

Hi rosalind,

you mean you got corkage (not COCKage wahahaha) waivered for unlimited bottles of red wine??? wakau!!! i only neg for 40 bottles waiver with my coord and she agreed immediately... now i know y

Hi twinkleglint,

no leh... i am using the Pacific Ballroom and tried to get PP to provide the projector but no use cos PP said they themselves dun have projector and even those seminars, they have to go rent from other ppl... but i guess you're right, get gtom the videographer for FOC better still.

Hi brambles,

that is what contract is all abt... you gotta be specific else end of the day they charge you corkage fees and use the contract to whack you and you'll be LL liao...

Hi brambles,

I got my coord to put in everything she promised into my contract. As detailed as possible. Maybe I'm KS as what other brides said things can be neg nearer to the date but I think put everything in is beta cos I deal with contract in my work and see a lot of dispute arises bcos of things not stated clearly in the contract. In my opinion, just ask ur coord to pen in the details and things they promised. Otherwise, what's the use of having a contract. So in my case, my contract states waiver of cockage for xx bottles of wine and additional charge at $xx. Straightfwd and clear, no dispute in the future.

To someone who PM me regarding the contact fm the temple:

I have accidentally deleted the mail n so cant recall who u r. I believe u read abt the temple fm this forum cos I oni post that here. Please resend a PM or email to me so that I can reply u. Thanks.

PPgroom,

R u referring to my post Posted on Thursday, November 13, 2003 - 9:49 am to brambles? Read properly, I spelt as COCKAGE not CORKAGE lah.

orosalind - thanks!

dear all, I'll be meeting the coordinator this weekend. Is there anything I should be negotiating for? I'll need corkage to be waived for wine... will they allow cos I'm taking the OB package?

haha... i oso tot it's spelt at coRkage leh

okie... now i know ;)

convoy, most of the time they will alow the waiver of coCkage for wine. so no worries

Hi convoy,

sure can waiver one... it's just a matter of how many bottles only... i'm quitre surprised that rosalind managed to get waiver for any number of bottles. For me, i use the one bottle per table as a guide. but still i felt i shd've asked for more hee hee... so as for you, just go for it, ask for more bottles to be waivered. how abt beer? another free barrel perhaps? whack on the projector too (but all of us can guess the answer liao).

brambles/ rosalind,

alamak... confirm the spelling is coRkage la kekekeke

coRkage: charge made by restaurant etc, for serving wine etc.

hahahah... so coRkage, instead of coCkage

ppgroom... so u actually hv quite a good number of coRkage for ur wine

think i'd better call my coord and ask her to change the contract. it's the 2nd time she's amending the contract...

Hi brambles,

yes, shd get her to change so that the contract can't be used against you later... but just to let you know, corkage charge is abt $18+ per bottle so if they really whack you on that, you'll faint kekeke

then how come I saw fm one of the quotation that it's spelt as cockage? I prev used to think it's corkage but I tot I spelt wrongly when I saw the spelling as cockage in that quotation. OK, my mistake, thanks for pointing that out.

Brambles, apologise for the mistake.

Convoy, u got the wrong idea. I dint managed to get waiver for all bottles (oni ard 20 bottles). As for beer, I got free flow.

Brambles,

In case, u din get waiver of corkage for unlimited bottles of wine, as a guide, I got $15 per bottle if I open more than 20 bottles.