Pan Pacific Singapore

cheerful

hi chupachup_77,

can i know how much u paid for the nett price? My budget is quite tight too so can teach me how to convince them to give me the nett price :p

chupachup_77

garfield,

u can request for a bigger table if u want to fit 11 pax. That's what i did, i requested for a bigger table and managed to fit in 12 pax in comfortably.

Cheerful,

i pd $750nett per table. erm i didn't really had to convince them la. WHen i went down, the price already put me off cos too ex then i told the mgr that i cannot afford and will look for other options although i luv the place very much. then, she asked me wat's my budget and said will work smething out for me. so i told her less than $800 per table, preferably around $750 lor then she said ok and gave it to me.i think there's rm for negotiation cos very competitive...but nxt yr won't have this price already cos of GST and every yr prices increase.

garfield

chupachup, i will be having a bigger table for pax of 12 but will be using normal table (for pax of 10) for pax of 11. so i will be having a mixture of tables having 10, 11 & 12. Hope that 11pax /table will not be too squeezy!

do you remember how many 12pax/tables you have?
i have only 10 such tables.

by the way, what color of flowers did you choose?
wat do you think of blue roses & yellow gebras (look like daisy)?
wat abt champagne roses & pink gebras?

whiterose

Hi Cheerful, I paid $670nett for per table and I had requested to change the fish from seabass to groupa and also change the sharkfin to sharkfin with only crab meat.

whiterose

Hi Cheerful,

Just to make some clarification. Our per table is actually $650nett but we add on $20 for each table to change the seabass to groupa.

bochup

Hi Pauline,

No point going into the panpac website to complain abt them.....
Jus to chk it out, who was the one who actually u r facing the attitute person...
Perhaps you can write in to the General Manager as well as i did face the same problem as u too, but the Director of Catering, as wat she call herself doesnt even take any action on that as well....

garfield

whiterose: wow...that is a very good bargain!u hav how many tables?

by the way, do you think blue roses & yellow gebras will match my garden & candle light theme>

chupachup_77

hi garfield

my flowers combi were pink gerberas and champagne roses and i also had garden + candlelight theme. I think blue and yellow will look very cheerful - a tad unsuitable for such a romantic ambience unless u're only going for garden theme then it'll be suitable. This is my personal presumption so it's really up to u.

erm i cannot remember how many 12pax and 10pax tables i have but total was about 60+ which adds up to 700+ people.

garfield

chupachup, i think blue seems abit moody. *SIGH*

wat about red roses & pink gebras?

i have 10 tables of 12, 5 tables of 11 and 44 tables of 10.
Will be having a total of 605 pple and so actually i have 58 tables confirmed + 1 reserved table

by the way, for the candlelight & garden theme...wat will u have on stage?

the VIP & bridal tables is the 5 footer or 6 footer table?

cheerful

hi whiterose and chupachup_77,

thanks for the reply. Wow 650nett is cheap and can meet my budget! Hopefully they can reduce to this price for me too

petals

Cheerful,

I'm not sure whether you can still get it at such a good price 'cos the weekday price for next year is already $638 +++. By the way, I was just informed that the Pan Pac's new computation rate for next year will be based on 1.1655 (the old rate being 1.1433).

pauline

Hi Bochup,

My initial intention was to complain about the co-ordinator attitude to their management. Little did i realise that the person liaising with me all the while is actually the catering manager.

What can i expect from the rest if the manager herself already has such bad customer service. So i don see any point in doing that.

Pauline

pooh

Hi Pauline

I too, hv a bad experience with one of the so-called catering manager Joanne. I told my FH about it & he insisted to make a complaint whoever she is. We did, & I no longer hv to liaise with her anymore, thank goodness.

whiterose

Hi Petal, actually when I book the package on 2001, the weekend package price is also $638+++ if I didn't remember wrongly. What I do is to get my co-ordinator to sturcture a package for me that is within my budget.

petals

Hi whiterose, was your weekend package price of $638 +++ based on a 9-course menu? For Yr 2002, the same weekend package price applies but it is based on a 8-course menu. With a further increase in the computation rate, I don't really see much room to restructure the package to make it any cheaper (e.g. by reducing the menu from 9 to 8 course).

Anyway, I must thank you, mail lum & chupachu for the feedback & advise given. I've managed to secure a nett price for my package with Pan Pac. Best of all, it's within my budget ...

Luv,
Petals

petals

Hi whiterose, my mistake .... typo error. It should read as weekday package (instead of weekend package) in my earlier post. So, did you restructure the package to 8 course menu to get the $670 nett?

chupachup_77

hi garfield,

blue not so nice cos the ballroom also very blue so the flowers won't stand out very well. As for red roses and pink gerberas, i also don't think it really blends well cos both almost same colours. for the candlelight + garden theme, i actually had the gazebo on stage and it was really sweet cos no other hotels have such a setup.

I also agree with u guys that PP's catering mgrs are all quite lousy. They don't really provide very good and comprehensive service. I also had a hard time with my coordinator then but everything was more or less settled when i feedback to the Director of Catering. Maybe these catering mgrs have too much work and customers that's why cannot provide personalised svc.

garfield

chupachup, agree with you. I decided to have champagne rose & pink gerberas as i find these 2 colors being warmer and cosy. *SMILE*

thanks a lot for your advice!!
then wat about the candles?? if no candles then not candle light theme liao leh

jack

Hi Chupachup 77,

Can i know wat is wrong with ur co-ordinator?

In fact, once the contract is signed, i find that we dont really have much bargaining power. A lot of things that u requested i dont think they will agree to it. :C

Jack

chupachup_77

hi garfield

cool. i believe u'll not regret ur decision.As for the candles, i had them as centrepiece - candles floating in a bowl of water. Very nice too.

Hi Jack,

Erm basically my coordinator was very incompetent cos she was nvr pro active or could offer good advice. And always promise things but cannot deliver so i got really fed up and made a complain to the director. It's not really true that u lose bargaining power after signing the contract. In fact PP was quite accomodating when i asked /requested for extra stuff and they were quite willing to give. Just be nice la not demanding.

chupachup_77

hi jack

the extra stuff i ask for is nothing big la and i know i shld deserve it since i book with them so many tables i.e. like more invite cards, waive more bottles of wine corkage, extra night stay,1 overnight stay for helpers, more parking coupons. that shld be it!

garfield

dear all...i am back from my wedding!!! so tired but very happy!!!!

my wedding day was smooth and everyone was happy!! *SMILE*

will come back to tell you all when i have clear my stuff *SMILE*

X

xin999

Hi, I'm new here. I've meet up with the Pan pac catering manager. Her service sucks big time. I have a 5 complimentary tables in pan pac worth $5000. I was very happy over it but after the meeting, i think pan pac's service is really bad.... no good offers as i can see.... Do correct me if I'm wrong.

I'm now thinking of selling the voucher now. Details:
complimentary 5 tables worth $5000 at pan pacific hotel.

Meaning, with this voucher 5 of your tables you booked in pan pac is FOC. Valid if you confirm your banquet by end this year 31 dec 2002.

We are now selling off to couples who have the intention to place their banquet in Pan Pac.

Call 96844478 Mrs Yeo for price discussions. or you may email to [email protected]

garfield

xin999, i just had my wedding dinner at Pan Pac and i find my coordinator very nice & flexible!

who is your coordinator ? my coordinator is Ailing and i really feel very thankful to her for without her help, i believe my banquet bill wld be very ex!

anyway, a lot of my guests were very satisfied with Pan Pac's food, service etc.

i have 58 tables and i have 1 waiter/waitress to each table. they serve food to everyone for every table.

X

xin999

my coordinator was caroline... but they've changed she for me. someone better is servicing us now.... anyway. i'm contemplating holiday inn or pan pac.... tables roughly 35...

can save more the merrier.... holiday inn package cheaper.... pan pac i have free 5 tables... so how?

F

flip

Hi Xin999,

oh don scare me leh.. Caroline is the one i am talking to now. So far quite ok. she is very friendly to me and proactive in following up for our appointments. Do let me know more about Caroline oki. appreciate veri much. Who is the one who replaced Caroline btw. Thanks!

X

xin999

well for ours she is very reactive.... I've gotten far much better service than hers.

chupachup_77

hi flip and xin99

i also had caroline as my coordinator then. aiyo i tell u i had so much probs with her (maybe bcos she was still quite new then). initially she was ok and very good then near to the date, she like nvr bother to pay attention and even forgot this and that and i had to call her every time to chase her.

whoever u gals get, just make sure u follow up closely instead of waitign for the coordinators to call u cos they are usually quite busy and thus, maybe not remember everything.

Garfield : ur pictures very nice. i actually posed some qustions to u in ur other thread. can take a look thanks.

F

flip

Hey ladies, just met up with caroline this evening. suppose to be her off day but dnt know why she sound so eager to meet me and came for work today. Think she is sick too. My session with her quite ok, maybe she need time to "warmup" with her clients. hmmmm like what chupa said maybe she is ok @ e beginning. but who later who knows heee.. but cross my fingers
your_image.gif

Wow i really love their favors and their suite is real big.
your_image.gif

Anyhow have not cfm PP as yet. Need to meet up with HI too.

Hey Garfield, you look great!
Care to share ur pictures @ the dinner? Thank you leh.
your_image.gif

F

flip

hey garfield. you reply so fast ah hehee. still online so late. ok ok thanks.

sorry forgot to attach the images just...here u go ladies...
your_image.gif

F

flip

ai yo. something wrong with my computer sianzz. need to reboot...sorry gals I "pollouted" this thread. :p

let me try again heee
10532.gif
10533.gif
10534.gif

10535.gif

chupachup_77

hi flip

dun worry, no matter which hotel u go, there bound to be good and lousy coordinators. It really depends on ur luck so don't choose a hotel based on the feedback of their coordinators. More importantly, choose a hotel because u cannot resist not holding ur wedding there. I agree with u that PP suite is very nice. And in fact, I must commend that the captain and operations people on duty on the night of my wedding were very good and pro-active. Overall, no rerets holding my wedding there.

garfield

i totally agree with chupachup, i have no regrets having my wedding there. infact, it is the banquet floor captain that is more important.

F

flip

yeah. i agree too. The event manager on that day will be the most important person. Chup, garfield, what other hotels did you source before cfming PP?

garfield

i went to look at Marina Mandarin, Orchard Mandarin, Grand Hyatt, Goodwood Park, Westin, Grand Copthorne & Shangri La.

In the end I chose Pan Pacific because of its unique ballroom and their ballroom decoration theme. their wedding favour also very attractive.

but i think the most important thing was the my then-coordinatoras very flexible. so i had quite a good package.

F

flip

Thanks Garfield. Wow u've been to quite a number of hotels. For me, only shortlisted HI, FS and PP. Another good thing abt PP is that they provide different lightings i think 8 colors to play around with

chupachup_77

hi flip

i actually shortlisted orchard, hyatt, hilton, marina mandarin, mandarin, oriental, suntec and beaufort sentosa. In the end i chose PP bcos of the following:

- ample parking for guests
- convenient by public transport
- nice ballroom theme and favours
- menu within my budget
- nice bridal suite

After the dinner, all my guests were full of compliments
Oh and btw, their guest book is also very unique, not like the usual red cardboard paper or booklet kind. I don't know how to explain but it's really unique and pretty,with the couple's name on it too.

F

flip

really har...i din ask to see their guest book...wanted to but forgot...too many things to ask...heee..else maybe i can get what u mean. Anyhw fr e way u describe sound really nice..:p i've seen their wedding cards...simple one. the usual red/ivory white but thats not a problem.
PP package is quite attractive. If caroline can work towards my budget i think it is really attractive/good bargain :p

chupachup_77

hi flip

yea u shld ask caroline to show u a sample of the guest book.I believe u'll like it too.And as for their invite cards, i agree with u, it's nothing to shout about. In fact i think their cards are quite ugly compared to some other hotels. But again, i don't really mind and that wasn't my priority cos people tend to throw away the card after the wedding. Hope u get a good bargain. Try to squeeze as much as u can cos usually, if it doesn't cost them anything, they'll give it to u.

cheerful

just booked my wedding package with panpac

Love their ballroom. My coordinator is delia... but seems like she's going to have her maternity leave soon.. hopefully her replacement is ok.