Pan Pacific Singapore

chupachup: i like the color..it is very sweet and i think it looks very nice on you...make u very sweet & demure *SMILE*

hi chupachup,
i'm a WL bride too...ur photos are lovely...who took the actual photos for u? WL photographer? U told them u want a mixture of colour and b/w photos? And ur make-up artist from WL too? Just curious, ur wrist corsages are so simple and sweet, how much did u pay for them?
wow, u book ur dinner 1.5 years in advance? dat's really early
how much deposit do we have to pay to book the ballroom?

angelbella: i paid $3000 for deposit and the rest u pay only after the banquet.

chupachup: i also noticed that your photographer took very good pics...who was your photographer for your wedding day? I booked my actual day photogapher from [O] studio, a guy called Alvin..hopes he is as skillful as yours...*SMILE*

yah...u request the wrist corsages from WL or did you do it yourself? My bridal studio i Golden Horse Award

Hi Angelbella and garfield,

Yup, i also paid $3000 deposit upon booking with PP.

As for my actual day photographer, her is not from WL. I don't really trust photographers from bridal shops cos they usually get those freelancers who don't have much experience. I didn't tell my photographer whether i wanted a mixture of colour and b&w. I left it very much to him to decide. Anyway, cos he shot with a digital camera, he could do either b&w or colour. That's the beauty of digital. Garfield, btw, i think O Studio not bad right? I only heard of Jaki O but not Alvin. Hopefully he's good too.

My wrist corsages are DIY. Buying them would cost almost $10 per piece. So i bought the materials from spotlight and my mom sewed it for me. Very simple.

Dear Chupachup,
Thought ur actual day photographer was with WL, they are very well-taken....cos my package includes actual day photography and thinking of getting my own photographer for the actual day.Was thinking if ur photographer was with WL and can produce such std, i wouldn't find another one.Well,...

Anyway, do u have any photographers (studio and outdoor) to recommend? Designers for gown and make-up artist?

hi angelbella

in fact i exchaged my actual day photographer for more photos cos like what i said, i don't trust these wedding shops photographers very much.

Erm, my studio and outdoor photographer was Alex. He's a funny and jovial guy. Not bad. My designer was Hanna but she has since left WL so i don't have anyone to recommend. But heard that Sammi is very good and she's the top designer there. As for makeup artist, mine was Irene. She's really good. Maybe u can request for her.

Hi chupachup,

I'm also a panpac bride... thanks for all your sharings of experiences and photos...

Your actual day photos are very well taken, may i know who did you engage for your actual day photography?

hi m&m,

my actual day photographer is not actually a wedding photographer. He's more involved in sports. However, since i know him quite well and like his photography style, i engaged him to shoot my wedding for me and never regretted it.

So when is ur wedding? All ur stuffs cfm already? I hope u'll have a beautiful wedding too.

Hi chupachup,
It's so nice of you to share what you know and all your photographs and u reply really fast.
So Alex was your photographer! Heard he's good! Think I'll get Choon Huat to do the actual day photography since it was mentioned in other threads that he's really good. Where did you go for outdoor shots? Me thinking of going Rafles Place and Pulau Ubin in 1 day..do u think its possible? The indoor and outdoor shots are taken on different days right?

Hi chupachup,

thanks for replying so fast... it's ok then, i'll continue to look around..

my wedding is planned for March 2003. I haven't really confirmed everything becos i'm still trying to find a church to hold my wedding but the earliest any of them can confirm my booking is 6 months before wedding date... so i'm in quite a fix now. dunno whether to sign the papers with pan pac first. but package wise, i've more or less firmed up with them already.

In fact, I've even tried calling your church becos i've been there before and liked the church alot...moreover it's near my place. But sad to say, they don't rent out to non-members

hi angelbella

no problem at all. It is always my pleasure to share. When i was preparing for my wedding, it was all thanks to the other brides sharing that allowed me to make it even more beautiful.

Yup, Alex apparently is the boss for sensuallink, a subsidiary of WL. So he's the most senior and most experienced. However, my outdoor and indoor shots didn't turn out very nice not bcos of the photographer but my initial makeup artist (who had quite a bit of problem understanding what i want)...so the entire look was not nice at all. And they had so limited gowns for outdoor that i had to choose one that didn't complement me but had to take it cos it fitted me to the tee...

For my outdoor shots, i went to EC park and National Std. Wah pulau ubin? That means u must pay extra right? But i've seen some pictures and they look quite nice. However, is it worth spending the $$? Frankly speaking, after the wedding, u won't really look at ur photos anymore. That's what my friends told me before that and now, that's how i feel too.

Actually the indoor and outdoor shots are taken in 1 day. 10am-5pm indoor and 5pm-7pm outdoor. But i think if u're going to ubin, then it'll be split into 2 days. Not too sure cos that time i wasn't offered ubin as a choice.

Oh, how much does Choon Huat charge for actual day photography? I heard a little about him in the forum, not much. But got a friend who engaged him and she said he's ok only. I don't really know.

hi m&m,

r u really interested in engaging my photographer for ur wedding? If u are, i can ask him if he wants to do it. But he's a little pricey - about $1200 cos he uses digital.

Why don't u use ur regular church for the wedding instead of looking for other churches? U know, my church also couldn't cfm my booking until 6 mths before but i still went ahead and planned cos if u wait by then, it'll be too late already. Why don't u book with ur church and also tentatively book with another church just in case one rejects ur application? Yah, Grace only rents to members. I think bcos our members already so many and if they still rent to non-members, they can't cope. But i do know that my mom's church rents to non-members. if u're keen, let me know i can give u the church name and u can call them to enquire.

Wah march 2003 is very soon so i think u must quickly cfm with PP. They are quite popular nowadays and if urs is an auspicious date, then must be even more kiasu. I booked mine 1 yr in advance leh.

Hi chupachup, u mentioned tat you have 64 tables for your wedding banquet at Pacific ballroom right?
You still managed to have long march in? Which door did you march in into the ballroom? Is it squeezy for 64 tables...
I have some problem here now..need to increase tables to 61...not sure if it will become very squeezy and i wan to have long walk in...*SIGH*

Hi garfield

yup, i had 64 tables (a mixture of table of 10 and 12). Of course for table of 12, they used a bigger table. Ya, my march in was still quite long. If i'm not wrong, i walked in from the 2nd or 3rd door. It is not squeezy at all. In fact there was still space to walk around. In fact, my catering mgr did not know how to arrange the tables but we spoke directly to the operations mgr and he suggested that we do this and it fit perfectly. However, not all my tables were lined up in 2 rows. From the 10th row onwards, the rest of the table were lined up horizontally. I don't know how to explain but do u get what i mean?

chupachup...i think it is a great idea to have a table of 12...Great!!
so you ahve 64 tables (10 or 12/table mixed) and 2 reserved tables? altogether 66 tables?

hi garfield,

yeah, i had 64 tables (including the 2 reserved). The tables were lined up such that the first row down are all table of 12, then followed by table of 10 etc etc...why don't u ask ur manager if u can do that too.Frankly speaking, it's easier to arrange a table of 12 than 10...but make sure they use the bigger table (if i'm not wrong it shld be 5 or 6 inch) so that ur guests feel comfy.

hi missuskoh,

nope, for easy calcuation, if ur per table is $100 for table of 10, that means $10 per pax, so if table of 12, add another $20 so should be $120 for table of 12. However, if u don't fill up the table of 12, i think they'll still charge accordingly...maybe u want to chk with ur mgr.

I agree i agree! Chupachup is one of the most helpful and friendly bride in this forum

Hi chupachup,

Thanks for all your advice... yup, i think i will set up a meeting with Celina (taken over Wai Leng) soon to sign the contract.

Hmmm... i'm not keen on having the wedding at my church becos it's a pretty big place and it's the theatre sort of place, not so "churchy" and cosy for wedding. But after reading your advice, I think i better book my church as a back-up first... just in case

Thank you, chupachup, you've really been very patient and helpful to all of us here... Thank you

hi angelbella, missuskoh, garfield and m&m,

aiyah, don't say thanks lah. It's my pleasure to assist and provide as much info as possible. U know, it's never easy planning for a wedding. If u gals need some checklists, let me know. I can email it to you for reference.

Don't forgot to print additional inserts for ur cards cos u may need more at the last min. And btw, PP charges $1 extra per card. Quite ex.

m&m: u from New Creation huh? I understand what u mean by 'churchy' feeling. I was also so worried that my church will reject my application so i quickly booked my mom's church as backup. But all glory to God, my application was approved!! Have faith.

hi gals, sorry i missed the thread for quite a while.. tied up by work .. i agree with all of you, cos i feel much more relieved after paying deposit with PP to secure the date.. now feels like so free, nothing to do until 6 mths later ..

hi garfield, my bridal with x-zen.. just 2 appts, i think managed to give Kim the designer, some idea what i want for the gowns. she will try to look for the materials/colour that suits me better .. the seamstress took my measurements too. as far all the people i meet there quite ncie n friendly

Chupachup, your hubby so cute.. first time i see groom in sun-glasses! cool.. i like all yr flowers - hand bouquet, bridesmaid bouquet etc so sweet so unique.. WG also very nice.. u mind if i ask u how tall are you.. cos yr train looks sooo elegant n i aso wanted something like that but i only 1.57m, dun know if will look nice on me ..

hi aileen

Welcome back to the thread. Actually my hubby forgot to remove the sunglasses when he came out of the bridal car. Therefore he wore it until he went up to my place. Everyone teased him and said he looked like mafia~!

Erm i'm not very tall. In fact, i'm slightly shorter than you...but i still feel that a wedding gown should have a train otherwise, it'll look incomplete. U should discuss your concerns with your designer so that she can find a train that best fits u. Don't be surprised, there are different cuttings for trains too.

My hand bouquet's flowers are calla lilies + champagne roses. It's a nice combination but the flowers didn't last very long leh...by noon time it turned a bit yellowish (u can see frm the photo). But it's ok lah, no one will notice the flower cos the bride is the 'lead actress' on that day

Hi chupachup,

oh, i'm from FCBC - Faith Community Baptist Church. Both our churches were formerly cinemas, so it looks more like an auditorium.

Which church is your mum attending? Maybe i can check with them too... thanks!

hi m&m

oic. yup, i remember the church looking like an auditorium. Not too appropriate for weddings.

My mom's frm Yio Chu Kang Chapel. I don't have the number. maybe u can call 100 to check. However, as the name says, it's at Yio Chu Kang area so maybe out of the way for u? But i guess that's the only alternative if u really want a church. Btw, i think they charge about $300 for non-members to hold their weddings there.

chupachup, thanks for advise on the train n flowers! i like call lilies as well .. which cannot last? lilies or the roses?

it must hv been fun n certainly amused by a "mafia lao-da" groom! cheers

hi aileen

it's the roses that didn't really last. Maybe the weather was too hot. Whatever it is, bring along some water and spritz the water throughout the day on the bouquet. That way sure will last longer.

May I know if anyone has encountered a change of Catering Coordinator for their Banquet to be held at Pan Pacific? Wondering how's the service rendered by the person who's taking charge of your case?

Would appreciate your replies....Thanks ;)

Hi Stephie,

I did and it was ok, i mean the service rendered by the 2nd coordinator was gd too.
but my case was i booked the banquet with the first person and when i again started contacting them for actual preparations a few mths later, i was told there will a change; so it wasn't a change in the midst of preps though.

Hi Cheerios

Thanks for your reply..

Glad to hear the positive feedback about your coordinator. My fiance was the one who contacted her to ask about the card collection. So far, I have not met up with my new coordinator as she said that it's not necessary to do so.

In the end, the cards were collected via the Conceirge Service. There were no advice given on where we could send our cards for printing...

Kinda feel that the coordinator is not very service oriented (ie. being reactive instead of anticipating customer's needs)

Hmm...maybe it's a normal practice in the industry and I'm being over-sensitive. Hopefully the remaining preps will be smooth sailing....

Hi Stephie

I had a change of coordinator as well. The thing was, PP didn't even inform me. Instead i found out thru this forum that my previous coordinator was transferred to another dept.

My new coordinator was ok, although not very pro-active. It's always me who's calling her asking her this and that. And there were also some screw ups at the last minute. However, all was settled when i contacted the Director.

Anyway, i didn't really have a very good experience with my 2nd coordinator. But really, don't fret cos everyone has diff experiences. Overall, i nvr regretted having my dinner at PP.

Oh and about collecting the cards from conceirge, it's the norm. I think the coordinators are also quite busy so they don't really have much time to meet us just to pass us the cards etc...

Btw, one word of caution, PP's coordinators are not obiligated to be present on the day of your wedding. Some other hotels practice is that if your client's wedding falls on a Sat or Sun, u have to be there. Whereas for PP, if it's the coordinator's off day, then someone else will take over so better check carefully.

Yup Stephie, like what Chupachup says, it's normal to collect the cards from conceirge, mine aso like that. but my coordinator told me she'll put a few quotations from various printers along with my cards, so that i'll know who to contact when i start printing.

anyway, i finally chose another printer as i feel their charges is lower and quality is not bad.

rgds.

Hi Chupachup,

Thanks for sharing your experience with me...Will keep a close follow up on the preparation process...dun wan any screw ups to spoil the happy ocassion :P

Hi cheerios

Hmm...at least you have quotes for the printers from your coordinator..I have yet to speak to my co-ordinator about the quotation..

Can you let me know the printer that you have chosen? And what's the price that they charge? Normally, how long does it take for the cards to be printed?

Sorry for posing so many questions to you...really have no clue on this matter...

THis thread is so active and interesting. Really enjoyed reading. I'm presently looking for a venue for wedding dinner and church wedding, and also a bridal boutique. Can you share with me which coordinator at PP is good, flexible and negotiable? I'm on tight budget. Hope to have a good deal like all of you. Also, Chupachup, heard them talk so much about your pretty photo and gowns. If it is not too much trouble, can email me. Am thinking of going WL cos heard can pay by 0% installments (hope i don't appear too cheap skate). Thanks.

Hi kel

Sure, you can view my pictures at www.picturetrail.com.

To view morning photos, key in chupachup_77
To view church photos, key in lok77
To view dinner photos, key in dinner_panpac

I'll be most happy to assist u if u have any questions since i'm an ex WL and PP bride.

Hi Stephie,

sorry for my late reply. u may wish to leave me your email and i'll email the printer's details to you as it's not with me at the moment. basically, i pay abt $140 (cannot remember the exact amt) for abt 380 inserts. printing time required was abt 1 week (i think we collected late as we were not in a rush). but they don't deliver the inserts, so you hv to collect them yourselves.

hi cheerios,

can u send me details of your printer also? sounds like a good price u got!

how come this forum so quiet liao. I am having my wedding at Pan Pac this 17th oct 02. anyone else throwing wedding dinner there?

just for your infor, Pan Pac wedding coordinator chaged again. Celina left for another company and now, Ailing took over.

i am considering either pan pac or marina mandarin for my wedding. seems like the wedding coordinators at pan pac doesn't seem to be very pro-active. i had to keep calling and calling, just to get a copy of the wedding package .. and have not received one yet? and they even got the date of my wedding wrong, when i wanted to place a tenative booking?

but i really luv the pacific ballroom .. especially with the garden / candle theme!! so BEAUTIFUL!! is the food good? seems like the price is abit ex though!

i went for the food tasting liao and i find it ok.

actually, the food depends on individual lah. not everyone will find certain food nice wan.one man's meat may be one man's posion..so it is difficult to say whether everyone will like the food

to me, on that day, i won't have chance to eat so my main priorities in choosing hotel is whether the ballroom nice, bargainable and the pice.

Hi enya,

I had my wedding at Pan Pacific Hotel in April this year. Same as you, I was hesitating whether to choose Marina Mandarin or Pan Pacific before my wedding. In the end, I still choose Pan Pac becos I like their ballroom very much even thought the price for Marina Mandarin was more reasonable and the service of their co-ordinator was better.

It is true that the co-ordinators in Pan Pac are not very pro-active. My co-ordinator even made mistake on my hubby's name for 3 times. But I never regret choosing Pan Pacific. Although I'm not very happy with the co-ordinator but I've to give a thumb up to the operation manager Dim who incharged of my wedding on the actual day. He had done a good job. He has co-ordinated everything very nicely and smoothly for me.

As for the food, the foods was very lousy during our food tasting session. So we actually written down the comments on the comment sheet and we also requested to make some changes. To my surprise, the food turn out to be very good on my wedding day. There were many good feed back from my guests. There were also many good comments about the ballroom, the whole events from my guests. So I am actually very happy with my wedding.

For me, I don't really bother about the food as long as it is not that bad. My priorities is that I want a nice ballroom. So is all depend on you which is your priorty. But if you intend to choose Pan Pac, don't expect too much from the co-ordinator.

Anyway, if you are interested, you can give me your email address. And I can show you my actual day wedding photo so you can take a look at the ballroom.

Hi Whiterose,

I would very much like to take a look at your photo is u don mind sharing with me. Cos
I am planning to book my wedding banquet with Pan Pacific. Tentatively book the date with them already. Now waiting for the coordinator Juliana to call me to further discuss on the details.

Same here, i choose Pan Pacific becos of the ballroom. Very nice indeed.

My email address is [email protected].
Look forward to seeing yr picture soon.

best regards
Pauline

Hi Pauline, Icemilo & Stephie,

I have already sent you the link of my photos.

Icemilo, you nick look familiar to me. I think we chat before in one of the forum. Did you chat in JWB Forum or Punggol Forum?