JP - Chan Kai Yau

shu_ai

Thanks Ferlis!!! My ROM will be on my AD next year in Nov 09, intend to hold it in the function room before banquet starts. haha... I'm very KS rite? Mr Chan was my bro's JP and I am really very impressed...so was really hoping that he could be my JP! Guess I'll try to call Mr Chan again when the date draws nearer.

mz6467

Princess - I think once u e-file, he will receive notification. After e-file, u give him a call to inform him e-file is done lor. Then about few weeks before your ROM date, call him on the appointment to sign the consent form. Then 3days before, after u collect the envelop...call him again. This is what my HB did. We did our own vows and Mr Chan is OK with that. Just let him know in advance. He drove to my venue himself..so we didnt need to arrange. Hope this helps.

princess_girl

Thanks mz for the info.

Pls advise both of u and your wife wrote your own vows? And did u memorise or read from a paper? do you need to show Mr Chan for any editing or checking before proceed? did he help out in your personal vows...

mz6467

Princess - Ya, we wrote our own vows. After advice from ladies here, i didnt memorize...scare later i gan cheong and then forgot everything..haha. So i just read from the paper lor. Dont think Mr Chan do any checking, editing or help on the vows. We didnt show him earlier...just verbally told him we have our own vows. I was very busy on that day and not sure if my HB showed him the vows before the solemnization.

princess_girl

Thanks mz for the updates...

We are still considering if to write our own vows...as I have seen alot of people writing their own vows but read from a paper on ROM day...i felt like a bit weird weird to look at paper...hehehehehe....no offence to you...

pinky_pinkiss

Can anyone here brief me where is the place normally meet up with Mr.Chan to sign up the consent form? I've received hsi call this afternoon, he told me that at Wheelock place, cafe near to fountain. I'm not very sure the exactly place bcoz i'm not always go there. Can anyone assist me.

When your give the ang pao to him normally? after the solemisation?

Hope to hear from your soon. Thanks alot.

rayrachel

PINKY> its at the back of Wheelock Place.. i think its DOME cafe... you'll see a fountain there.... if the front of Wheelock Place is facing Lido...then the place to meet is at the back.. nearer to the bus stop side....

He'll be standing ard the area... quite prominent as he'll usually meet a few couples at one go.. if u see people waiting ard..and a couple talking to an elderly man one at a time..that's him..

Bring ur own consent form!

Yesh...the AP to be given after Solemnisation.. do rem to give though.. sometimes people in a rush forget abt it..

pinky_pinkiss

Rach> Finally meet with Mr Chan this evening. It is a very short meet up about 2mins..hahhh.. after sign the consent form, he give me a short brief what to do next and give him a call after i receive my rom cert..i've request him to speak chinese on e solemisation due to both of us not very good in english,and mr chan is ok for it..

Do i need to prepare my own vows? or can i leave evrythin to mr.chan,follow and repeat after him? As i really dunno what to write for the vows.

rayrachel

PINKY> great! Congrats!

You dun have to write own vows.. can just follow after him.

he'll say one word and u repeat one line. he's very pro.. no need to worry.. he has a link somewhere in this thread.. u gotta browse previous archives for his video..

ferlisb

shu ai> wow.. congrate my dear =D anything u need any help like sourcing for MUA etc.. u can find me at the thread (ROM Dec 2008)

tiramisu91

hi jie meis,

if my ROM is in august 2009, when shd i call mr chan to check his availability?? if too early later he sabo me...haha.

Garfield, my wedding is in 3 weeks and Mr. Chan called me last Monday to meet up
For you, he will prob call you in 2 weeks time, or so?

tiramisu, no harm calling him to check his availability i feel. he's a very "short and sweet" kind, so don't be put off by his offstandish-ness.

rach > I very "kiasu" de, so he didn't call me, so i panick liao. Thanks again.

chewiegranolabar > After hearing your senario, "Wo jiu fang xin le", guess he will be calling me soon. Thank alot!!!

ferlisb

dear all, yesterday evening we met up with Mr Chan at Wheelock place, cafe near to fountain. He is very nice and patience =D

Mine is on the 17th Jan 09. I am so happy ... everything is so sudden, this morning i received a call from Mr Chan and i met up with him this very evening and got everything sign within minutes. He is quite small in size wor.

As what most people have said here, i proposed to leave a seat for him at my lunch but he rejected it immediately that he don't eat and quickly thanks us before attending to another lady.

ferlisb

Garfield> Great at long as Mr Chan signed the form,1 thing has been settled =D

Oh yes, lucky u mentioned abt the seat cos I gave him invitation card & do RSVP... Yes, he is very small in size but he is very experience in handling solemnization. I'm very happy that he will be doing mine =D

Ferlis > Yes, he signed the consent form so few day before our ROM, we will go down to the registry. Beside parent photocopy IC, what other things do i need to bring?

Wonder how abt the "Ang Pow", $50 enough?

rayrachel

Garfield> the amt is entirely up to you... the ROM's website states a min of $28...

But Mr Chan's amt so far i've seen is abt $88-$100...
of coz.. u can give lesser..
But i can assure u..he's worth every cent...

Ferlis > Oh ya, always forget about the consent form ...

Rach > I am really delighted to see your assurance. In fact, i chosen him partly because of your strong recommendation, hee hee. So i pass him the ang pow after my ROM?

rayrachel

Garfield> hahaha.. i know he wont disaapoint u..

Mmmm...technically... u pass it to him immediately after u take photo with him.. on the way out... as JPs are VIPs, you should have someone to receive him when he arrive..and to walk him out after ur ROM.....

so he'll let u know that he's leaving..provided u dun get too engrossed with ur wife and photo-taking.... keep his AP in ur pocket.... when he is gg off...walk him out..and on the way, pass it to him and thank him for his time..

Thats all..

Rach > I really really appreciate the things u had taught me, it is valuable to me. I never know and don't think i will pay much attention to such small details.

I will never forget this and will remember it till the very day i ROM .... thanks.

rayrachel

Garfield> hehehhee... u are most welcome la...

Coz there are people who actually forgets to give the AP after ROM..coz too stressed with the ROM liaoz.. hahahhaha..

Its something that i took note..and keep reminding my HB... give him already?? haahha... so we have already planned that as he walked out to send him off.. will pass to him... its like secretive... but yet like private loh..

aspire09

I must say my first impression of Mr Chan was a very stern old man. But after talking to him in person, he is actually a very very good person with kind soul,a fatherly figure to me. He shared with us a lot of meaningful experience about himself and his children. How to keep a marriage together. It really touched my heart.

His speeches was loud and clear with a little senses of humor. If you had engage him you will not regret for sure.

rayrachel

Aspire> definitely!! It was a great joy and blessing to have such a nice JP like him to solemnise our wedding!!
no regrets!! Thumbs uppp!!

ferlisb

Thanks Sunshine =D ... Mr Chan is great and he handle the whole ceremony well & all my guests was laughing as he is steady and humourous =D .. Thumbs Up for Mr Chan

dinny

Was looking for a good solemniser for my wedding next Dec 09..saw this thread with so many post so I decided to go with my gut feelings..Haa care to share more about this Mr Chan guy???

kidnomore

hi all, i called up mr chan few days back inviting him to be my jp, but he said he doesn't solemnize on Sunday. so disappointed.

rayrachel

Ger Lim> hihi.. if u read thru the threads previously.. u'll know all that we have to say abt Mr CHan already... just browse up yeah?? go to archives if need to..

kidnomore> yeah.. he doesnt solemnise on Sundays coz its his Sabbath.. Mr CHan is a Christian..

kidnomore

hihi rach, yeah what does sabbath mean? actually i read the thread abt mr. chan, up to oct '08, he still does solemnisation but i guess he decides to stop now.

cyys

hi BTBs,

just to share my experience with Mr Chan KY, he did a fantastic job for my ROM (I was actually scared he would be very stern when I first met him!). but he was very friendly and cheerful, and even made a few lighthearted jokes during the solemnization cos we were very nervous. he also stayed a while for the buffet reception and chatted with my parents and in-laws.

however, one of my friends had him for her ROM last year, and it didn't turn out as well. he showed up half an hour early cos he mixed up the timing, and he wasn't very happy that the ceremony started 15 mins late as my friend was waiting for some guests to arrive, cos i think he had another ROM to go to after that. so he kinda rushed through the solemnization and wasn't as friendly.

anyway, cos of my past experience with him, I still think he's a good JP. just be sure to double confirm the timing with him and tell your guests to be punctual so that the ceremony starts on time

cyys

oh btw Garfield I think he told us he used to be a teacher before he retired, but I'm not 100% sure cos my ROM was a long time ago so I could have remembered wrongly