JP - Chan Kai Yau

rayrachel

Sabbath> is actually rest day..
As i said.. Mr Chan is a Christian.. so he practices rest day... he works 6 days and rest on the 7th..

Mr Chan's credentials are pretty amazing....

You can just google Chan Kai Yau...and u'll see what u get...

kidnomore> He still solemnises..he just dun do it on SUNDAYs..

CY> yeah... i told my guests to arrive at 230pm and I told Mr Chan that my solemnisation is at 3pm. He was early.. he reached about 2:50pm..
and by then.. all my guests were already seated.. everyone was just waiting for him to come..

And we were able to start on time..

Actually JPs are supposed to be VIPs.. they are not obliged to come and solemnised us..and they have every right to reject any requets..
Coz they are doing this out of goodwill..and they are not paid for it..

WHat we give them in our AP is just to cover their tpt..

Actually.. i've heard of JPs who are even worse when Solemnisation starts late...
Most JPs will arrive on time..and will not want to be late if possible..they treat every Solemnisation very seriously..and they dun joke abt it..

I mean they really take the Solemnisation process seriously.. but of coz.. some light hearted jokes are good to ease the atmosphere..when both the bride and groom gets too tensed up..

If they are late for one..they'll end up being late for all the appts they've made for the day...

Thats why its of utmost importance that we should always tell our frens that we are starting 15-30min earlier...
If u had told ur JP to come at 3pm, its good to tell ur frens its 2.30pm..

Singaporeans being sporeans.. always arrive late.... and given 15min buffer time.. our frens would still be able to reach on time to watch our moment of importance...
NOte that the whole Solemnisation process is only 10min long.... the most 15min...

If our frens are late for 15min.. thats it.. they'll miss the whole thing... so i would still advise to let ur guests know its starting at a particular time...
unless all ur frens are the punctual kind..and are never late... else.... they'll miss it...
not good to keep JPs waiting as well..

ferlisb

wow... Thank God that Mr Chan solemnize for me cos I had mine on 28 dec 08 (Sun). Mr Chan is good... Thumbs up & he really good in making the rom fun

princess_girl

I have invited him to be my JP so at the same time, can I request him to have a brief opening during the match in for my solenmization?

or must engage another emcee to do the opening? Anyone can give me advice? Pls help....

Rach > I thank u so much .... Mr Chan is indeed BEST wor, very stern look and can crack great joke too. Yes, everything is worth it, $88 is worth every single cents, ha ha ha. My friends and relative also said our JP is not bad.

Princess > Strongly suggest u engage one of ur good friend as emcee instead because Mr Chan time is very precious and i guess he won't be able to help u with the opening bah. Ask ur close friend for help, just a brief one will do ....

shi2308

my wedding is in early july (on a saturday) this year 2009.
im quite blur as to how to get the ROM done.
shd i be calling each of the JPs up to ask them whether they can make it?
and when shd i start calling?
Is calling in February too early?

Thanks in advance for everyone's advice!

Happy New Year!

rayrachel

shi> i think u can start calling up Mr CHan to check if he'll be available on ur day... and invite him to be ur solemnizer... if he says he cant make it.. then u try another...

But be polite..coz they are the VIPs..

6 months before is a good time to call..

SO you can fine to start calling now.. esp if its a hot date..

Let him know the date, time and venue...then he can jot down... before u efile in Apr, call him again to confirm and ask for his licence number which u'll need to efile..

Rach > I heard from my photograher, Lawrence .... Mr Chan is the hottest JP in town right now. He even commented that Mr Chan is one of the best JP he had seen.

melgrace

we also had Mr Chan as our JP, and all the relatives and frens find him very professional yet at the same time have a good sense of humor... ^^

satisfaction for sure!

Grace Teo > Whahahahaha ... yes yes, satisfaction guaranteed.

In fact, my friend whom i met-up with recently also engage Mr Chan as JP last Oct and the same "funny" thing happen to her too. Example, Mr Chan will say the guest cannot hear the bride saying "yes" clearly etc, ha ha ha.

min0511

yeah....Mr Chan agree to be my solemnizer...was worried he wld reply he is not free as i book him just last week for my wedding in early july...i set my solemnizer as him when i attended 2 of my friends wedding...he is indeed very friendly...but HTB was asking me is he a stern person as thru the phone call, he sounded serious...i told my HTB "of coz lah...marriage leh...of coz serious lah.." but i also re-assure my HTB that Mr Chan is very friendly..no worries..

winson_tl

Hi min,

How Did you invite Mr. Chan as your solemnizer? by call ?

anyone has Mr.Chan's email address ?
Coz i think better invite jp tru email.

rayrachel

winson> why would it be better to invite thru email? its so unpersonalised.. It's always better to call to invite.

Mr Chan has only one contact number and that is his home number. I was fortunate enough that whenever i called, he's home most of the time.. calling hours is 9am - 9pm..

Ask to speak to Mr Chan. He'll come to the phone.
POlitely introduce yourself and let him know that your ROM is on xxx date and you would like to invite him to be your solemniser.. he'll ask u what time and where? and he'll check his schedule...
Depending on how early you call, he'll tell u to call back again 3 months before your ROM to confirm.. and very likely, he'll also note it down in his schedule...

the key is to be polite..

rayrachel

faint.. the previous msg wasnt posted...

Relax la... give u a script...

" Hi Mr CHan, this is Winson here.. we're having our solemnisation on xxxxx and was wondering if you'll be available on that day to solemnise for us??"

See his reply from there loh...

"what time?" "Where?"

or.. its still too early to call me now.. why dun you call 3 months before your date?

Then u call back later and get his licence number and efile loh..

kidnomore

hahah.. this is funny, you all very cute lei.

anyway, envious of you all coz i had intended to invite mr chan as my jp, but he doesnt solemnize on sundays anymore. so for those whose ROM or AD are on sunday, fyi.

winson tl > Don't be nervous when u call him ... because i also "fall into the same trap" as some of members here encountered.

I was like asking him .... my wife and i would like to invite u to our solemnisation on XXX, are u free on that day? Immediately he replied, so u mean u are already MARRIED?

serenedarryl

Mr Chan arrived quite late for my rom.. so disappointed and he rush thru the event as he had to attend another rom I think.. haiz... tot he don't like others to be late then y he himself late for such an important event..

kidnomore

sometimes it cld be that the earlier event started late, thus resulting in the time delay for the rest of the subsequent couples. dun sad le, i think mr chan was also very anxious to want to come to your rom on time, maybe he tried his best to rush there already, but you know lah, traffic jam & all the what not...
kao_dizzy.gif

hope u'll feel better now.

ferlisb

Hi serene, dub be sad le, be a Happy bride =D

I agree with kidnomore, perhaps there was other stuff which caused him to be late for your ROM.

I believe that Mr Chan dun mean to be late ya. Even thou he is quite old le but he still manage to keep his word and rush down to your rom, solemnised & went thru the whole ceremony. Wedding ceremony is only a one day event whereas marriage is for a lifetime. Hope U feel better =D

serene > Pls don't be sad and don't take it to heart ... i can be very sure that he really don't meant to be late like what Ferlis had said. My ROM not only started on time, Mr Chan also came slightly earlier.

serenedarryl

haiz.. itz reli quite rush in the whole process.. u gals not there of cos wont understand how it actuali went thru lor.. u imagine if it is ur own JP who rush thru ur event how u feel rite..

sept_09_bride

me juz manage to secure Mr Chan to be our solemnizer.. so hapi that he agreed to it despite such a rush arrangement.. my rom is on 090909.. today juz cmf him.. hehe.. :p

juz had a changed of solemnizer.. :p
he sound so assuring.. like talking to him over the phone..

waiting to meet up with him in june..

Cecilia > He is very very experienced, patience and nice solemnizer i ever seen. Trust me, you won't regret choosing him.

Every word he said during the ceremony is so clear and loud, despite him getting on in age.

sept_09_bride

im so hapi that i manage to change my JP to Mr Chan.. heard him solemnize b4 for my HTB bro.. really v lucky i still manage to engage him despite i only call him up late Apr.. when my rom is early sept..

breezy

Just had my ROM done by Mr Chan, he was early and we sort of started early too.

It was pretty much like a video clip I saw online some time back, he managed to lighten the atmosphere even though he look quite stern..haa.

He came, he solemnize and he left..very quick and concise..all in 15mins.

sept_09_bride

congrates breezy.. nice update fm u on Mr Chan..

waiting to mit up with him to sign consent form in late june.. btw, he will call us up to make an appointment with us to mit him up to sign the form rite?? or do we have to call him again??

lawrain

i wonder if my frd called mr chan at the wrong time. cos according to her, she said that his tone was rather curt. definitely none of the humor or reassurance felt at all. can someone englighten me? cos i'm considering him as my JP as well. Thks!

kidnomore

mr chan sounded firm to me over the fone too, so i guess this is how he talks usually, prob. nt coz he was hving a bad mood when yr frd called him.

maybe u might wanna try calling him & invite him to be yr JP? better be fast, coz he's a popular JP!

breezy

Yes, my hub also said he sounded very serious over the phone but no worries at all cos my ROM when thru without a hitch and he managed to make my guest laugh..maybe we were too tense..he also asked us to relax so that we will look nicer in the pic..after the whole ceremony we took pic with him..and he cracked some light jokes over the standing position :p

P/s: just make sure you have ALL the documents and I/Cs ready for him to check.

Good luck & congrats to all BTBs..have fun

RLSY > I would suggest that you prepare what you want to say, keep the conversation short and sweet. Don't be long-winded and treat it seriously will do.

He is like that over the phone, actual "performance" on that day of ROM, is superb ... every single cents of "ang pow" you gave to him is worth is.

Mr Chan is strongly strongly recommended by Rachel here, kekekekekekekekekeke.

Good stuff are worth recommending, even for FREE!

sept_09_bride

hey, those who invited MR Chan before as JP, do we hv to call him up to 'remind' him abt the meet up to sign our consent form before we register on-line? or will he remember to call us up to meet up with us??

we intend to rom on 090909.. n invited MR Chan to be our JP.. he agreed.. and says he will call us to mit up with us n to sign the consent form.. today is 15Jun..so to say, we can register on-line liao.. provided we hv MR Chan's license no to register on-line.. nw im wondering do i hv to call him to remind him for the meet up or will he call us up as he says earlier when he agree to b my solemniser??

i scare he forget leh..hehe.. :p

dzxz

Can I ask normally when do we call him to invite him as our JP...Is he working cos only have his home number...

Will be going online to register in Aug so thinking to call him soon but always thinking which is the best time to call...

rayrachel

Cecelia> just call him...tell him u wana register online liaoz...can i have ur licence number??? at the same time, you get his number, and at the same time serve as a reminder... he'll prob meet u to sign the concsent form ard jul/aug.... so u can call him to get his licence number first..

dzxz> his job is a JP..he'l prob be out solemnising... or doing some JP related work... usually he should be home.. i called him a few times.. only once he was not at home...

but call between 9am - 9pm. too late he'll suan u also... but also polite not to call people so late..

when's ur ROM??

sept_09_bride

rach>> ur rom ov already?? u had Mr Chan as ur JP too??

he's nt in twn nw.. bk only on fri.. me cant wait to register online liao leh.. scare too late might forget..hehe.. :p