JP - Chan Kai Yau

adyong85

Rach, Thanks a lot for the info... will tell FH to tell him that then....

sorry for the late reply... not that active in this forum hehe...

happysnowball

hw soon did Mr Chan contact you? My wedding in Nov, I contacted him last month, he said ok but subsequently i asked when shld I meet him up, no response liao.. what's the norm? I so scared he fly kite or forget cos my wedding day is supposedly "hot date". fear last min cannot find backup.

connie_r

hi snowball,

my ROM's in dec but i've met up with Mr Chan 'cos need him to sign the form for us. he'll contact u / vice cersa 3mths before your ROM date.

~cass

Hi Snowball,

My ROM in Jul and Mr Chan just called me yesterday to meet up next week.

I have been wait for his call for 3 weeks already... at first also thought he might forget =)

leejeslyn

hi, i had juz called Mr Chan to be our solemizer on 4th Oct...glad that he is able to make it cos 4th Oct is a hot date! So happy!

He told me to contact him again after 4th Jul for his license no. and efile after tat...

leejeslyn

hi, can i ask for those who hv engage Mr Chan b4 to be their solominzer, wen do we need to give Mr Chan the consent form? It's before or after we e-file?

poohwed

Hi Jeslyn,

You have to contact Mr Chan b4 e-file to check if he is available on ur ROM date.. U will need his license number to do the e-filing..

After e-filing, do call him again to confirm ur ROM date.. He will then call u when nearer to ur ROM date to sign the consent form..

perfect_moment

I have invited Mr Chan to be my JP .But the problem is he does not carry a hp. It is difficult to contact him via his home number as he is alway not around.

i am worry that he forget to turn up for my ROM.

anybody facing the same problem.

perfect_moment

I have invited Mr Chan to be my JP .But the problem is he does not carry a hp. It is difficult to contact him via his home number as he is alway not around.

i am worry that he forget to turn up for my ROM.

anybody facing the same problem.

kai9

The most safe idea is to get another JP. Not worth taking the risk if he really doesn't turn up on your big day.

poohwed

Hi Perfert moment...

U may try calling Mr Chan during lunch hour (fm 12pm to 2pm).. Last time, i called him during this hour and have no problem looking for him.

He is a very professional JP and will write down all the details of the ROM date on his diary immediately...

rayrachel

tortoise> sorry.. i've lost track of this thread..coz i changed account..

You should have gotten my PG's contact by now. if not... u can go to www.melvinho.biz

Cassandra> my AD is 1st Sept..

$388 for basic ROM package..

snowball> you can call him again 3 months before..tats when u are about to efile too..

Then u can get his licence no..and when he gives it to u.. u can rest assured he's confirmed..

Michelle> hehehe.. hope u found my PG's contact.. i believe i did post up his website earlier..
www.melvinho.biz

Jeslyn> you can do so either before or after..doesnt matter..as long as u sign it before you go down to make some declaration and collect ur certs..usually 3 days before ur ROM..

Better to do it earlier also... Mr Chan will contact u to go meet him at Wheelock Place...so no worries..

Perfect moment> was it difficult for u to contact him? i guess its abt right timing..weekends i believe he'll be busy out solemnising for others.. i usually call him ard 7plus at nite.. weekdays. i called him 4 times.. he was ard 3 times..

he will neber forget..and he has never done so..

That was the concern for most couple.. but Mr CHan is very very trustworthy...he knows the importance..as long as you confirmed him, met him and signed consent form.. it shouldnt go wrong.. once we collect our certs..we are supposed to call him and let him know we collected already..which is usually 3 days before our ROM...thats a final confirmation..
SO... i guess it should all be fine..

sunshinepeach

Hi, gals.. Mr Chan was also my solemniser for my ROM last Oct.. As I was the 1 who see to the details of the ceremony.. I got my hubby to call him.. Hubby told me that "Gosh.. Mr Chan sounds so fierce.."

Think my hubby said something like, "Mr Chan.. My wife and I wld like to invite u to be our solemniser" And Mr Chan answered, "What? U have a wife already... why do u still need me for?" My hubby was so malu.. and said, "sorry.. its fiancee"

After tat, he reminded my hubby to do efiling... My hubby ended the conversation by, "thank u, mr Chan.. see u on 1 Oct". Of cse, kena shoot again... Mr chan said, "Wat? U need to meet me before that".

Hahaa.. wat a gd 1st experience my hubby had wif Mr Chan..

When we met up wif him to sign the consent form at Borders, he asked my hubby to write my chinese name.. (I was queueing up to pay for stuffs i bought from borders).. Hubby said he dunno..

When Mr Chan asked us whether we want our solemnisation to be done in mandarin or english.. we opted for mandarin since our elders will not understand english.. And guess wat? Mr chan said, "U sure u want to be in mandarin if u cant even write ur wife's chinese name"

Overall, the ceremony was perfect.. Mr Chan cracked a few jokes and my guests said he very nice.. Thumbs up... though he sounds stern over the phone!!! Nice old man..

rayrachel

Sunshine> hahahaha... good experience for ur hubby... i got shot too... coz my initial venue was at Bottle Tree Park...wanted to do it there initially...So the 1st time i called Mr Chan..he asked.." so you like that venue huh?? you like fishing or something?"

I was dumbfounded.. haahaha... but he meant nothing.. he just like to crack jokes.. in a stern manner..

But we changed to Merchant Court in the end... and it was better for Mr Chan coz he had a prior ROM at 2pm..

I was careful and polite all the while when i called him... so nothing else went wrong from there... i also asked him when to call him back and when to meet up.. He said he'll call me...

True enough.. he called abt 3 weeks i think..befor e our ROM.. to meet up to sign the consent form...

And there he asked for our chinese characters too..

And we wrote our own.. so no issue..

He also asked what we were doing..and chatted a little while..like 5 min... he's a very nice man...
As long as we are polite and not take them for granted..it'll all be fine...

We had a fantastic ROM..and everyone praised Mr Chan..he had indeed left behind a good memory and I have never regretted getting him to solemnise our wedding..

sunshinepeach

Though the whole ceremony was quite short and sweet.. no dilly dally kind.. but Mr Chan conducted it in a serious manner.. And he also cracked a few jokes in his own serious manner.. Heee.. Still remember when I said I DO.. he still asked all the guests whether they can hear me.. Of cos, kena sabo.. all said cannot hear..

When he talked abt the woman's charter and that the ROM cert is the bride's property... all the female guests clapped loudy.. Can still remember hubby's atonished and malu face.. cos he stood up and wanted to receive the cert.. but Mr Chan passed it to me.. Wahahahaa.. So funny!!!

rayrachel

SUnshine> hahaa.. yah. exactly. the same tricks are being deploy all the time.. i've a couple who attended my ROM..and went to another after mine on the same day....and.... according to them..he said the exact same stuffs.. hahaha...and the jokes are the same too..

But still... its the guests who get to enjoy the humor.

My Hubby also stood up..and was signalled to sit down... hehehhe...

~cass

Hi~

My ROM on this coming sat, 12 Jul.
So "kan jiong" now... =)
haha~ let c... whether Mr Chan will use back the same tricks on my ROM...

wanna ask, how much ang pao shd give to JP?

sunshinepeach

Actually, i read abt his "tricks" on the forum.. but I kept quiet.. never tell hubby.. 1 2 give him a "surprise".. Hahaa... his surprise look is super funny lor..

I gave him $68.

~cass

Finally my ROM is over...
too bad Mr Chan didn't use all his "tricks" on my ROM. Maybe because of delay half an hour and he is rushing for another ROM.

But really appreaciate for his patient as my hubby family stuck in jam and late for half an hour.

rayrachel

Cass> thats why should arrange for JP to come on time...and the guests to arrive half an hour later..

I arranged for guests to be seated by 230pm...
And i told Mr Chan my ROM starting at 3pm..
Coz Singaporeans being Singaporeans.. sure will be late... and if frens are late for 10min...they'll miss the whole thing already..coz the Solemnisation is only about 10min..

The rest should take note... let ur guests have the impression its starting 30min earlier..

~cass

Hi rayrachel,

yes, i arranged all my guests to be seated half an hour b4 the solemnisation start.
All my guests arrived early only except my hubby's family. They r from JB and donno what happen that day stuck at checkpoint for 2 hours which unexpected... =(

rayrachel

porsche> you can just give him a call.. his number is listed above..
call him before 9pm..

Cass> icic.. its ok la.. all over..

If anyone needs PG...can look for mine okie?
www.melvinho.biz

My slideshow is inside too.. u can see how Mr Chan looks like..

rayrachel

Sunshine> how come u edited ur post???
He's my cousin's hubby too.... who are u????
U are Ling's Father's side issit??
I'm Ling's mother's side.....
hahahhahhaa.....

sunshinepeach

Hee.. Yeah.. I am Ling's father's side.. Actually, after seeing ur pics more carefully.. i think i know who u are.. Last time used to play 2gether when we were small.. During CNY also got to see u at ling's hse sometimes.. So Qiao leh.. so long never see u ard liao.. then, we actually "Met" here.. Wahaha..

Ling's father's side only got 2 female cousins who are of marriagable age.. the rest still young kids.. and i am the elder 1.. sounds familar? :p My younger sis got married liao..

U see my pics at, then, u will know who am i liao...
http://www.patrickneobk.multiply.com

Aiya.. i edited the post cos pai say mah.. dunno u remember me or not.. Heee.. Seriously speaking, i didnt know Melvin is a PG.. otherwise, wld have asked him to help me on my AD.

My AD is 1 Oct.. how abt u?

UP for this thread, i have also engage Mr Chan as my JP liao. Booked him 6 mth in advance and he said "still got a long way to go". Ha ha ha

AD PG charge how much huh? Just enquire only ....

rayrachel

Sunshine> hahahhaa... yah man.. who did u get to take ur AD?? aiyo... u never tell them u getting married issit?? else they sure tell u de... i know u who la... "flower" lo.. rite?? hehehe....
I no need to see ur pics i also know.. but i'll add u anyway..

Mine is 1st Sept.. hahahahhaa... even more qiao.. haha... my fren also 1st Oct.. where u holdin ur BQ??

Which BS are u from?? But good thing we have the same JP.. actually my link of photos here very long liaoz.. had u watched them earlier.. u would have known..

Garfield> you can just go to melvin's site.. www.melvinho.biz

His packages are there..

sunshinepeach

rayrachel>> Am holding it at holiday inn atrium.. How abt u?

Erm.. think my plans to get married isnt a surprise cos it's planned late last year. But think i super long never go ling's place liao.. cos i staying at Jurong West now.. Think the last time I saw them was during CNY.. :p I engaged a photographer called Leong from V*lans Couture. *Replace * wif O.. think the name was banned due to the company trying to advertise themselves or wat..

my BS is Golden Horse Bridal(Yishun).. Can see from ur pics tat urs is My Bridal Room.. Hw's the service so far? I chose GHA becos my gd friend signed up wif them.. and the end products were quite good... so, i signed up too. So far so good.. And the thing i am thankful is.. they didnt "chop" me like carrot like most bridal studios will. The topup and everything are quite reasonable.

Preparations for wedding is really tiring and sianzz..

rayrachel

Sunshine> Orchid Country Club..

oh yah... i understand what u mean abt the names... MMmm.. okay... but maybe never talked abt it la..coz Dec07 was the 1st time he took wedding pics..for my cousin...i was very impressed with his works..and encouraged him to start his own thing...and since then..he has shot dozens of wedding liaoz... hehe..and his schedule is packed all the way loh.. hehe... prob didnt mention of it during CNY ba... i introduced many people here to him.. haha..and they are mostly satisfied with his service loh..

Hahaha... u see from where that mine is MBR?? my pics got write?? ooohhh..yah...the signboard.. hahaa.. okie.. yesh...

The service is fantastic and the staff and quality are all amazing..

yeah...everything is so far so good and very satisfied....

So u paid the PG liaoz ah??? else u can still backout.. hahaha...

sunshinepeach

rach>> Yeah.. Think 1 of the pics has got the signboard on it..

Dun think i can backout liao.. Cos I paid the PG le.. Furthermore also signed contract.. so, gotta stick to it and hopefully everything turns out well n good...

Its abt 1 mth plus to ur big day.. so, hows the wedding preps? I still a bit eng eng abt the wedding preps.. those need to be done stuffs are already settled.. And when the Chinese 7th mth comes.. i can "eat snake" from the wedding preps for the whole mth.. After tat, will have to "cheong" for the remaining preps le.. Like sending of invitations and cakes to relatives.. Sounds tiring.. Btw, in case ur hubby havent order cakes for your "Guo Da Li", this website may be useful to u.. I am ordering from them for my "Guo Da Li" as well... If u are gng to order more than 30 boxes.. must email them to ask for discount.. cos i did and got some bargain.. Hee..

http://www.sweetestmoments.com.sg/wedding/default.aspx

U got any lobang for nice corsages for jie meis?

rayrachel

hey.. i think we can chat somewhere else?? hahah.. flooding Mr Chan's thread...

My GDL is coming sat.. we've ordered from Gin Thye..

Famous for traditional cakes and stuffs..they are very experienced.

Have checked out sweetestmoments before as well.. ex leh.. but nice la..

Now rushing some bedroom thingy.. then cant do any shifting or moving in 7th month.. come 8th month will be my AD liaoz..

i did my own corsages.. u have multiply?? can add me..

rayrachel

sunshinepeach

Hahaa.. yeah.. we are flooding this thread..

Can add me at [email protected] if u have MSN.. can chat there..

Wats ur multiply ID? Mine is MrNMrsNeo.. Add me lor.. Tat multiply website which has my ROM pics belong to my hubby.. and he lost his password liao..
But hor.. my multiply got nothing yet..

mz6467

Just met Mr Chan at Wheelock's waterfall to sign the consent form. The meet up really short wor >.<" less than 2 minutes..just asked us to stand at the side to sign, write down our chinese name and occupation..then tell us to bring the consent form when collect the stuff at ROM and bring everything on the day. Anyway..he is nice and he speaks very clear (although he just talk a few words)...haha. Glad this is done.

mz6467

Rachel - Thanks.

Sushine - He didn't asked us to call him leh. I will collect the stuff 3 days before the big day, so maybe will also drop him a call lar.
My big day is 6-Sept...so excited lar..hehe.

How is your prep going? Your BIG day coming soon too..2 more months left...should be 77 88 lar hor..
. Congrats!

mz

jo_vin

Hi all! I've alrdy booked Mr.Chan too for my ROM in Nov'08!

Sunshine, U had urs done last oct? Btw, u mentioned u had it in mandarin rite? Tat means u all also read the wedding vows in mandarin? Or language is mandarin, vows still in english? I still cant decide whether to do it in mandarin or english...

sunshinepeach

jo_vin>> Congrats!!! I did my vows in mandarin. Mandarin as in language, not venue. Held my ROM at Peony Jade restaurant.

Erm.. Actually, we never even go and read up the vows b4 hand.. on the actual ceremony, just recite after Mr Chan lor.. Heheee.. Luckily no hiccups.. But must recite loud and clear hor! Hehee...

rayrachel

jo_vin> yah... congrats!

do it in both la... we did it in both..

We told him to explain in mandarin what he's going to do...then we recite it after him in english... quite simple english..and actually the crowd dun really have to understand..coz he'll explain what he's going to do..then he switch to english and repeat the same thing in english to the rest.. after the vows...he'll revert to mandarin again to explain what happens to the keeping of the cert...then back to english...he's very fluent in it.. no worries..

Yah.. be loud and clear..else kena sabo by him! hahaha..it happens all the time..

sunshinepeach

Yeah lor.. I also kena sabo.. A bit pai say.. He went to ask my guest whether they can hear what i am saying.. Haa..

He's good cos he make the solemnisation serious but not boring. He cracked a few jokes in his serious manner which made my guests all laugh...

leejeslyn

Hi, anyone meetin up Mr Chan on the 18/8 eveing at borders?

He had arranged to mit up wif us on tat day! Btw, as he doesnt hv an hp, how do we contact him if we cant find him on tat day? haha