JP - Chan Kai Yau

rayrachel

Jeslyn> shouldnt be a problem to find him at the fountain..

Its at the back of wheelock.. so far he meets every couple there..

mz6467

For the brides who have done the ROM ceremony with JP Chan, appreciate if you can explain how the whole solemnization goes to have a better idea. After he brief/intro the procedure, he will ask the groom and the bride, "will you....." and say "yes/i do"? When do we read out the vows? Each word after him or he will give a slip for us to read out loud? When exchange ring?

Thanks for your help.

rayrachel

mz> you can refer to this..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSxXyeBh39Y

its almost the same...

We dun have to read out the vows... simply repeat after him..while looking at one another...

doesnt matter even if u dunno whats going to happen next...he'll lead u... relax..and enjoy that moment.. best if u have a VG to capture the whole process..

Very sweet and nice de.. hahaha.. i forgot everything that happened the moment it ended.. hahaa... i need to relook the Video to rem. oh ya.. this was what i said... coz its too nervous...at that moment.. my heart almost jumped out... just doing whatever we were being told.. hehehe..

Relax...

sunshinepeach

The video reminds me of my own solemnisation by Mr Chan.. So short.. but sweet and memorable..

MZ>> Agree with Rach.. Relax and enjoy the moment.. BUT remember to answer his every questions LOUD and CLEAR...

Be prepared that Mr Chan will hand the ROM cert to the bride, not the groom, so I am sure ur hubby will be a bit surprised.. cos normally, the bridegroom will stand up and receive the cert.. Wahahaa.. But u dun have to be superly "gan cheong" to stand up to receive the cert from him too.. let him finish the "woman's charter" story.. he will automatically present the cert to u... ")

mz6467

Thanks Rach, Thanks Sunshine.

I have a VG. I was thinking if I should write down the vows and read the whole thing out instead of repeat word by word after him to make the video footage more "flowy".

Any comment?

sunshinepeach

mz>> I think you wont have any free hand to hold to the paper you write... U have to hold the mic and ur hubby's hand while reading the vows.. And if i am not wrong, he expects u to look at ur hubby while reading the vows, not looking at a piece of paper..

If you do not want to repeat after him, you can memorise the whole thing.. BUT i wont advise this.. cos if u become too gan cheong.. u might forget everything.. Heheee.. Better to read after him.. Just my 2 cents worth...

pinky_pinkiss

I'm thinking to have my ROM ceremony and wedding dinner at the same day/place. And looking for JP. Is anyone can help on this.because i really not aware about this. And i've read some of your msg above. May i know how much for the JP charges? And what is e procedure?I'm from malaysia and currently holding a PR and planning to have our own ROM solemnisation at sgp.Hope your can help me on this.

Thanks alot

rayrachel

Pinky> hihi..

There's no charges for JP..they are all volunteers..
There's just a guideline on rom website.. www.rom.gov.sg that says that we should give at least $28 to cover their transportation fees....
For Mr CHan.. being soooo experienced and soooo popular.. i think most people here will give him an Ang Pow of $38-$100... so its really up to you..

You can actually check out the procedure from the ROM website...

ACtually what do u need to know?? As long as you've confirmed ur Wedding date, call up the JP about 3-6 months in advance and nicely ask if he's available and if he can be ur JP on that day...

He'll check his schedule and let u know if he can make it.. let him know the venue n timing too..

3 months before your wedding date.. say 10 December, so by 10 Sept, you can efile at the website... you will need the JP's licence no. to efile.. So you can call your JP again on 10 Sept or after to get his licence number.. but u must efile min 25 days before ur ROM day....means anytime from 10 Sept to Mid Nov u can efile...

Then 3-4 days before ur actual day...you are supposed to go down to ROM and collect ur ROM certificate and some documents to bring back to the JP on ur actual day... oh .. before that.. you should meet up with your JP to sign the consent form...available on the web.. u can just print it out... on the day to go down to pick up ur cert, you will have to bring both witnesses NRIC copy, and the consent form.... and then u can just bring the cert and the whole envelope down to your venue on ur ROM day..

Thats all..

rayrachel

Jernelle> I think Mr CHan prefers to meet up...he'll want to know the couple a little..and chat a bit. he usually spends about 5-10 min during meet up.. at Wheelock Place fountain..

It'll be good la..

pinky_pinkiss

Hi Rach,

I've called Mr.Chan and he confirmed he'll be my JP on 30'Nov and give me his license no as wellthru the phn. He very nice and told me the date i shd do my efilling and he'll cal me again for meet up but no so fast, mostly around oct. Do i need to inform him after efilling?

Rach > So nice to see u ... "zhen you yuan", where ever i go, sure can see u de, hee hee. Thanks for the site wor, by the way Mr Chan Licence what number huh? What other info to fill in? In case i listen wrongly then jialat liao. [email protected]

I am a mountain tortoise de, seldom go out shopping so not sure most of the place. I am a singaporean lah. Thanks Rach and have a nice day

rayrachel

PINKY> cool!! Congrats!!

So u told him that u are not sure what to do??
I guess so.. since he gave u so much info..

When u meet him to sign consent form, he'll tell u what to do de..

You'll call him once u collected ur certs...about 3 days before ur ROM..

No need to call him after efile.. i think he'll know abt it too..

Garfield> hahhaa.. not fate la..

I'm everywhere ma.. hahahhaa.. :p
Huh. dun think nice for me to put his no. here..

You should call him and double check if u really not sure man...

hahahhaa... :p

U know Orchard rite?? u know Lido cinema? Wheelock is opposite..the fountain is at the back.. near the Cafe... furthest point away from Lido...

pinky_pinkiss

Hi Rach,

Thanks. B4 i call i quick worry and nervous..hahh..cos read thru e msg from here n sound like Mr Chan is a very serious person, when called he pickup the phn and he ask me the date n place for my solemnasation, after he check n take dawn my no n name , n told me i must do the filling after 1sep n give mi his licence no..etc..jus a simple & short conversation with him, then he said he will cal mi again..hee..normally when he wil call and meet us? after we get e cert or b4? at least i've idea in case he really forget den i can give him a call.Bcos i don't wan keep on calling him and disturb him..hee..:p

rayrachel

ah... u definitely need to meet him before u collect la.. coz u need to let him sign the consent form..

So... it should be about 2-3 weeks before ur ROM. u should meet up with him.. ;)

jo_vin

Hi, can i check with those who have alrdy efiled your notice of marriage. U will need a consent form from Mr. Chan rite? Then do i call him now to ask him for the consent form? Or just wait for him to call me? I very worried if i don't call him, he will forget.. Will he?

rayrachel

jon_vin> you need to print out ur consent form from the website..

At ROM website...

He'll usually call u about 2 weeks before ur ROM to meet up.. if he has given u his licence number and confirmed that he is available..usually no issue..

Just wait for his call.. alternatively, you can call him abt 2 weeks before ur ROM to ask when u can meet up.... u need to bring the consent form to ROM when u collect ur certs..

jo_vin

Rach, i'm sure u must be super duper excited!! Perhaps u cant even fall aslp now! Do come back and share with us what happened on the AD ya? Congrats!!!!!

rayrachel

thanks all..

jovin> you are sooo clever.. i cant sleep at all.. rolled on my bed for 4 hours..and i give up..so here i am.. on the forum.. hahahah.. :p

Stay tuned.. i'll be away for HM immediately though.. be back 10th sept.

jo_vin

Hi rach, haha!! Guess u must be super tired now and about to send ur guests off.. Enjoy ur honeymoon!! And rem to come back and share with us what happened!

I called Mr. Chan at about 9.10 pm. His line was engaged throughout the morning. As mentioned by the ladies above, he checked his schedule and told me to call him when I e-file for his licence number. I will e-file end of this mth
He was very serious - man of few words

I was fortunate to attend one of my friend's wedding where he was the solemnizer but I didn't know it was him! My SO got the contact from his friend, then we realised that he is Mr. Chan. He left a lasting impression and I'm glad he's available for my solemnization too.

jac15

I am intend to ROM on 14 Feb 2009 and my friend told me that JP chan is quite good and popular. Can i call him in 6 month in advance or i had to wait till Nov . Anyone can advise me. Thank you

ferlisb

sunshine> hey gal it me.. hee heee... I manage to get Mr Chan Kai Yau today for ROM on 28/12/2008 (Sun). Sorry that I'm not able to attend ur wedding on 1 Oct cos u koe why lor.. Congrate gal & I will hop over to ur new hse to chit chat with u after u back from Honeymoon.. Keep in touch my darling =D

sunshinepeach

Ferlis>> How u know its me? :p

Congrats to u too!!!

Can can.. when u free then come over lor.. I will be back after 18 Nov.. but hor, i think better to meet outside ba.. more convenient to talk and gossip.. my in-laws and family are moving in this sat.. Of cse if u wanna come over and see my hse.. of cse welcome.

ferlisb

sunshine> i was looking @ the thread & almost 90% of the description fit the bill... hee hee so I decided to click on ur name & confirm .. hee hee...

sunshinepeach

Ferlis>> Bingo! U are very smart! :p

So, when are we meeting up for makan again? I gotten my wedding album le.. but hubby forbid me to put up all the pics.. cos he said, he wants to keep the guests in suspense.. If all see the pics liao, then, wats the point of bringing the album.. Haa.. he n his stupid theories! :p So, see when we can meet up, i show u my album.. not bad.. I like..

Its good tat u managed to get Mr Chan as ur solemniser cos I can say that he is very good! Tough stern.. and the ceremony was short and sweet.. My guests said that he's good! Humourous in his own serious style.. Thumbs up!

So, hows ur preps?

ferlisb

sunshine> gal u changed ur hp nos har??? cos I sms u yesterday..

preps still okie except need to have discipline to get rid of my tummy, getting bigger cos at workplace always sit down de..

Btw for Mr Chan, he said he will call us but then didn't say when. as mine is on sunday & initially i saw some threads tat he dun solemnize couple on sun so abit puzzle thus we just tried our luck to call him yesterday.

shu_ai

Hi Ferlis, may I ask if your ROM is on Sunday afternoon or evening? Mine is on a Sunday late afternoon (before banquet) and was hoping that Mr Chan could be my JP...but was told that the earliest he could make it is around 730. So am still looking for a JP as my preference would be to hold a simple ceremony in a function room before banquet starts.

princess_girl

I m new to this tread. My HTB and I have already called Mr Chan up to be our solmmiser for our ROM in Feb'09 and he has agreed. Pls advise if i have to call him exactly 3months before or few days before 3 months before? Anyone have asked him before if can do our own personal vows? Did anyone in this forum did your own personal wedding vows with Mr Chan? So for transportation for Mr Chan, must we arrange cab to pick him up and send him back? Pls advise. Thank you.