JP - Chan Kai Yau

wen~wen

Anyone solemnized by Mr Chan? Care to share his style and your experience of being solemnized by him?

hweiz

Hello wtsh, our outdoor solemnisation was done by him on 21/02/04. I could say he's someone who is very friendly and speak very well though he around 70.

Our solemnisation lasted for around half an hour .He gives advises to couple on how to maintance a marriage on the first meetup and in return you have to tell him something about yourself for him to know you better.

cary

Hi wtsh! We were being solemnised by Mr Chan too on 14 Feb 2005
He's very friendly and even my parents said we chose the right JP
He's very kind and sincere, that's what we felt.

Yes! like what hweiz said, he will want to meet up with you when signing the form so that he gets to know you better. Some JP just faxed the form back to you, lacking interpersonal touch.

I would strongly recommend Mr Chan

ylyl

I had my solemnisation by Mr Chan as well last yr in June. He's very fatherly, friendly. & even made all of us laugh during the solemnisation. Though it's a serious & solemn event, but he's able to let us enjoy the event in a light mood.

wen~wen

Thanks for all your comments, appreciate it all... Looks like I have made the right choice for my JP! So happy...
So he does a bit of marriage counselling on the first meet up? I understand that he works in a church. Wonder if he preaches? How long did the first meeting last?

Does the whole process really last for half an hour? Cos i'm planning to have the solemnization done at the beginning of the wedding dinner, after 1st March-in. If it really last that long, i will probably need to hold it earlier. I had the impression that it will only last about 15 mins.

popie

wtsh,
hello. i am also going to be solemnised outside of ROM soon. and am looking for a JP now. how did u arrive at ur choice of choosing ur JP? any tips to share?

wen~wen

Hi Popie,

I basically surf through the existing threads on JP recommendations. Initially i had wanted to book David Loh, whom u can see, is extremely popular in this forum! However, he is not available on my date of ROM. I then try to look for the next best, names who are mentioned in the forum as well. There are a few of them for my 2nd choice like Dr Anamah Tan, Mr Chris Chen and of cos Mr Chan Kai Yau. I then asked around for frens recommendations. One of my fren's fren was solemnized by Mr Chan Kai Yau before and she commented that he is quite good, very fatherly and wise.
I felt that Mr Chan could be a good choice hence I approached him. And I must say he is really accomodating and nice to talk to.

cary

hi wtsh,

No lah ... not marriage counselling, more chit chatting per say
Yes, he works in a church now (he's retired already) so volunteering there. My first meeting with him lasted for about 30 mins before he meets another couple. When you meeting him?

Whole process lasted about 15 mins ...

popie

wtsh,
wow. thanks for the details.
are you a christian? would mr chan's speeches b very preeching-like? cos i dun come from a christian family. so they might not feel very comfortable if it gets too preeching-like.
how about Dr. Anamah Tan and Mr Chris Chen? Wat's they like? Any threads on them?

wen~wen

Hi Carolyn,
Thanks! I'm not a christain so rather afraid of people preaching at me. hehe... Ok, so it's a chit chatting, that puts me at ease. Will be meeting him this Fri to sign the consent form.

No problem popie, only sharing...
For Dr Anamah Tan and Chris Chen, you should be able to find comments about them under the thread JP recommendations. There are quite a few similar thread so u might want to go into each of them to browse thru.

So when is your ROM popie?

popie

icic. ladies, thanks for your help. sounds like mr chan is also going to be my choice. btw, wat is his contact information? can i have it? thanks.

wen~wen

Congrats Popie! where do u intend to be solemnized then?

Mr Chan's office no. is 62564298.

Btw, why dun you try David Loh first? He was my first choice, cos he darn popular. My fren was solemnised by him and she loved him! Besides,from the forum,not difficult to see that he is very humourous and builds good rapport with the couple and "audience". I was disappointed when he was not availabe on my date.
His mobile is 97425005. Good luck!

wen~wen

Hi Muffin bear,

you may wan to call his office number to ask for the church address. he's still working at the church. the number is stated in this thread.

care to share your opinions of him with the rest?

popie

thanks wsth.

i already called david loh. n his timing very tight for my intending rom timing. so i think if can find another person lor.
i m looking at safra function rooms. not cfm yet. going to view the venue then decide.

how abt u?

btw anyone got picture of mr chan. haha. i wana hv a look.

wen~wen

hi popie...
so u have called david loh. as expected, he's booked up very early. when i called him in Jan to book him for Nov, he is already booked. Mine is suppose to be at night, at the beginning of the dinner, and yet he is already booked for that date and that timing. gosh!
but... luckily Mr Chan is also not a bad choice either!

from the way the gals describe, he is an elderly man around 70 yrs of age. i'll be meeting mr chan tonight... will come back and describe how he look like tomorrow. hehe..

my solemnization is going to be at orchard hotel.

popie

oooh. thanks wtsh.
orchard hotel... how do u find the food n decor there? its one of the hotels within the budget for my customary AD. but hv yet to find out more.

wen~wen

Hi Popie,

no problem... it's all about sharing here...
we chose orchard hotel because the food is good.. decor wise, i remembered i didn't have a very good impression when i attended a wedding at Ballroom 3 about 2years back. sometimes it depends on the couple's taste. for me, i have my own ideals when it comes to decor so i will specify the colours of the flowers and table cloth etc. pretty particular about the presentation actually. hehe...

if your budget is around orchard hotel's pricing, then u have quite a number of choices along orchard road. e.g meritius mandarin, hilton, holiday inn etc... but most of them are quite full on weekends esp if yours is in the months sep onwards. i was lucky to get orchard... perhaps you might wan to start calling now...

popie

wtsh, yes yes. i m about to start calling. but need to shortlist a few first. cos i hvnt been to many, or almost no weddings recently. so really hard to gauge which is good n which is not. quite headache. cos going down to every hotel n restaurant withing my budget is really quite tiring leh. i dun hv that much energy n time. haha. i m quite the lazy kind.

so who is the chef cooking for orchard hotel? from which restaurant?

wen~wen

just met mr chan yesterday evening. very nice elderly uncle in mid 70s. had a chat with him on our professions and his histroy.
no regrets choosing him.

hi popie,
yep, agreed that u will have to shortlist a few on hand to call. if i appear to be chasing you to call, my apologies. hehe... btw, when is your actual day customary and banquet?
not sure who's the chef but the food is from Hua Ting Restaurant, also within Orchard Hotel. My company had quite a few rounds of D&D at orchard hotel and they have never fail us on the food quality. but again, this is subjective. you have to try it to comment.

sweets

Just butting in to share, Uncle Chan is a family friend of ours, he and his wife watched me grow up in church and I must say, he's a very, very nice, humble and sincere man. Good choice in JP

wen~wen

Hi Sweets,

Thanks for sharing. That would really help to ease up everyone else who might be considering Mr Chan as their JP! Must agree that he is very nice to talk to. He advises young couples like us on how to have a blissful marriage.

popie

oops. wysh. dun worry. i am not offended by u in anyway. haha. re-read my post then realise i sound very impatient in my reply. yikes.

my AD n banquet be in mid 2006. but not yet cfm the date. btw did u go for the style weddings fair at taka? there were quite a few hotels n restaurants on exhibition. but mostly out of my budget range one. ahaha. thanks for the info abt orchard hotel. agree lor. cos like almost every thread that u go, there will be ppl saying the place is good n ppl saying place not good. so really very subjective.

wen~wen

Hi Popie,

Hehe... no worries.. that's the problem about emails and such. Easily get misunderstood.

ya, i'm aware of the style wedding fair. thought i didn't wan to go cos I've selected my Bridal boutique and hotel. Dun wish to compare anymore and think otherwise about my decisions. you know wat i mean?
so most of the banquets are beyond your budget? thought orchard hotel's per table price is pretty expensive, should be easy to find one around that price?
so your AD is in mid 2006.. you have got more than enuf time, dun worry then.
i only started planning in Jan 05 for my AD in Nov 05. but it's better to decide on a date first then start to call up the hotels so that straight away you check for availablity.

popie

wtsh. hmm. i tot i saw somewhere it is 600+ oops. maybe i m mistaken. anyway i m abit KS. cos i wan hv wedding on weekends n i need to keep to some of my family member's schedules, cos they are overseas. need to fly back. so its like limited time i can hv my wedding onli. that y i wana start n book early.

wen~wen

Popie...

if you want weekends, it's $689+++, which works out to be around $813. Mine is on weekend.

true that if you want it on weekends, u really have to work hard. But i think u still have time la. Good luck!

popie

wtsh, jus to let u noe that Mr chan is available on my AD n hv jus "booked" him! hee. happy happy. now one thing settled.

snipsnap

congrats popie! me interested in getting mr chan too
how far in advance should we book him? my wedding is in July? Is it too early?

popie

hi snippy. i guess no harm booking early, jus in case... my ROM is in may n i jus booked him. n he is available. so i guess no need to book so early.

r u doing ur solemnisation during ur dinner or is it jus an ROM thing. if its dinner better book early cos need to fit into ur banquet date. else u will hv a headach trying to find an available JP for that day. esp if its a hot day.

wen~wen

Hi Popie!
Congrats that you have booked Mr Chan!

Hi Snippy,
I dun think it's too early to book him now cos now with this thread about him, i'm sure his popularity will shoot up! hee... better "chob" him early to avoid disappointment. My ROM is in Nov and I've booked him in Feb. Just that you can only let him sign the consent form 3 mths from the date of your ROM.

popie

hey wtsh, snippy, how r u doing? getting on well with ur preps?

i jus went to see mr chan with my FH last week for the meet up. he's a nice man. v fatherly. hee. like my grandpa like that. nice nice.

wen~wen

Hi Popie,

Nice to hear from you again...
I'm doing fine.. not much "action" lately.. hehe...

I thought you have already booked Mr Chan, how come gotta meet up with him again?

popie

hey wtsh,

yes. i already booked him. but its his style. he always request to meet ppl to sign consent form n to have an informal chit chat with the couple to get to noe them better.

when is ur ROM again? i cfm mine on 30 April. coming soon. so exciting. hee hee.

wen~wen

Hi Popie,

Didn't hear from you for a quite a while..

oh, i misunderstood... i thought u said booked Mr Chan means u have already met up with him. Ya, it's his style to meet up and chat with the couple. i find him very nice and he gave some advice about marriage.

My ROM is Nov on my AD.
Yours is end of this month! I'm sure u r very excited. Have you settled your gowns and everything?

popie

hi wtsh,

duno if u still pop by. been so busy with my ROM. haha. hardly dropped in. jus ROM 1 week ago. it was really nice. mr chan is fantastic! hee. he is so good, so candid n so pro. i really feel very thankful that he is my JP. he even did some MC-ing for before the ceremony started, explaining both in mandrin n english wat the ceremony is going to b like, as my grandparents were amongst the guests. it was indeed a very nice and warm session. oh yes. he even teased us in front of everyone. shall not go into details. hahaa. embarressing lah.

how's ur preps so far?

wen~wen

Hi Popie,

Thks for updating!
Happy for you that your ROM process was so enjoyable!
Gives me more confidence in his style and approach. He seems to be able to handle crowd well.
Mr Chan teased you and your hubby? hehe.. must be fun...i'm sure he made the audience laugh. how long did your whole process take?

My prep so far so good.
now busy with our love nest reno discussion. gotta get the quote and design settled and the selection of materials done before reno begins in June.

Feel free to keep in touch with other matters. My email is [email protected]

popie

wtsh,

u've got mail! hee.

well, yes. mr chan teased us. made us say "i do" very loud so that the audience can hear. when we not loud enough, he made us repeat. haha. but the audience were very entertained. they laughed n laughed. he kindof brought up the whole atmosphere. made it very fun.

the process was quite fast actually. i think in less than half hour, we were done.

cheerss

Hi Popie,

I have booked Mr Chan too for my ROM in Sep, and spoke with him over the phone. He would like to meet up 3 months before the ROM, i am really looking fwd to see him... :)

BTW, do you have a photo of MR Chan? Can you pls email me at [email protected]

Thanks thanks!!!

happytea

is there anyone out there can share their latest experiences with Mr Chan? i had booked him for our solemnisation for 9Sep05 and have not meet him yet. hope to see this thread alive again!

popie

hello happytea.

as i have shared with the rest 3 postings before yours. i jus got married by mr chan on 30 april 2005. he is a very nice old man. love him to the core. all the family members and friends were full of praises for him. some even said it felt like hving my own grandfather solemnising for me.

what other info do u need? i hope i can b of help to u.

happytea

Hi Popie, nice to see a reply
Congrats to you, a MRS now, heehee

Got a few qns here, Where is your solemn held?
Do we need an MC to start the whole thing or will it be Mr Chan calling out to everyone to crowd around to start? Did you march in? or is this necessary?
how long will Mr Chan take all in all? cos on my day, he got another session right after mine and theirs is at 1130am, i want to gauge rougly the time for my session, havnt meet him yet.
Can you brief us what the whole thing would be like? Many thanks!

popie

hello happytea.

thanks. actually not much diff since me n hubby not living together yet. haha. we hvnt had our customary.

we had our solemnisation at Yishun Safra. used their function room. well, we initially arranged to hv one of our friends as the MC. but think cos of miscomm, he jus went ahead n started the ceremony, being an MC himself. abit awkward for the friend lah. but it was ok, cos we jus wanted the mc to get everyone to sit down, and cue the sequece of event. in the end mr chan did it all.

where u hving ur rom? r u intending to arrange for seats for ur guests? cos we arranged seats for the guests. something like church pews layout like that. our guests were very auto. they jus sat down when time was about up. din even hv to tell them to sit down. mc also became abit redundant. hahaha.

mr chan very pro one. during our rom he jus see the situation. he realised our grandparents were there. he did an explanation in mandrin about wat was going to happen, before he conducted the ceremony in english as we have requested. we were very surprised he did that, cos we told him we wanted the solemnisation in english.

the ceremony very fast one. if u nvr ask him to do extra things, jus the solemnisation part will be done in less than half hour. he also tease us abit lah. kinda liven the atmosphere. we were both very nervous.

when u meet him u can ask him. so he can address ur concerns. he is quite a nice man to talk to. during our meeting with him, he chit chat with us, find out abit about us. so if u hv anything, can ask when u meet him.

wow, very long post. dun get lost ya? if u need more feel free to ask. be more than glad to help. cheerios!

happytea

Hi Popie, thank you for giving me a good description of whats going to happen! at least i dun hv to worry abt how to kick off the event.

did you march in? is it going to be weird that you chitchat half way then go right into the seats when Mr chan call out to start the solemn?

Is Mr Chan's mandarin good? or one piece one piece? dunno if it is good to say everything in mandarin, cos i want our parents to understand the whole thing instead of interpreting to them.

i am deciding on merchant court poolside, they said will hv seats arranged for the guests but think its not possible to arrange for an isle to walk in betw the seats from what i see the place.

popie

hey happytea,

its up to u whether u want to march in. cos for my n FH, we din wana make it so formal. we wanted to make things as simple as possible. wanted to save some "steam" for AD. so we jus walked in. in fact when we were in the room we were making some last min arrangements before the ceremony started. but some of my friends feed back that we shld hv marched in. looked nicer. not so abrupt. so up to u.

mr chan's mandrin is SOLID! my God. he is really very impressive. he even got the term for woman's charter. hehehe. so u can imagine for solid his chinese is..... all our eye balls drop out when we heard him speak in both language.

oh. i was re-reading my previous post. i realised i was abit unclear. mr chan actually started off the MC on his own. so my friend din get to read his MC speech. hehe. but its due to miscomm. we din noe mr chan had the MC part prepared already.

merchant court nice place. the surroundings very good for taking pictures. =P

happytea

Hi hi!
Ya Merchant Court location is so ideal for photo shooting, thats why i cant wait to settle on that place, i have got their poolside for our solemnisation, heehee. Had settled my ROM package today too. WOW! good work done! so next are the wedding bands and to exercise more! heeheehee

Really, i am so full of confidence in Mr Chan even before i met him, all thanks to you gals' comments in this thread. Cant wait to meet him.

chng

For those who have not seen Mr. Chan b4....

He is a very professional & nice guy, but only a pity tat I did not entertain him well on my ROM date. Cos mine is at a chalet and he was "lost" in some sense and in the end gotta get my friend to fetch him...and he gotta walk quite a distance...soooo pai say bout tat...which i should have ask my friend to wait outside for him brought him in with buggy so tat he don't need to walk under the hot sun. So dun make the same mistake as me!

I like him as my JP as he got white hair...hehe..."bai tou xie lao" signifance.
294106.jpg