JP - Chan Kai Yau

nlimm

Cherry: Minimum is $28 ma. Anyway most ppl giving him $69 etc.Me planning eitehr 68 or 88

Felicia: Thx for ur feedback. theres actually a videoclip at Youtube of teh solemnisation he conducted its good.

Just tt late part tt i worry, u know la we cant control the guests' punctunity haha. to avoid tt i told all my guests to reach latest 245pm though actual solemnisation starts 315pm.Mr Chan told me after me, he need go for anotehr solemnisation, hope he will be patient on my day if my guests really late coz those i invites are really those super close frds n direct family only hehe

raragal

Felicia> thanks for ur assurance!! Really glad to know...but one thing Mr Chan doesnt do is to counsel the couple or talk to them more rite? Coz I've heard other JP meeting up the couples and talking to them for an hour etc...and some others conduct mass seminar for those ROM-ing in the same month and give them advice on happy marriage stuffs and maintaining a good marriage etc... hehehe...

But i know Mr Chan is super experienced to the extent he doesnt even need to look at the script to conduct the Solemnisation...he just speak it like he's talking it every single day! which i think he is almost doing that anyway..he's by far the most popular JP ard.. heheh..am glad i got him..

I'll likely be giving him $88...thats almost like his rate that most people are giving..

I told my guests 2.45pm and told Mr Chan 3pm... but i think he'll arrive early kind... he is seldom late kind..

bethany

Hi nlimm, not to worry, if yours are those very close friends and relatives, they wont be too late for your event i think.. The most is at least 80% of the people are there they you don't wait further if Mr Chan cannot wait. He got to attend another wedding right after ours but I think he waited at least 5-7 minutes for us..

Hi rach, yes he did not counsel the couple. But we are 100% fine with that, after all that is our marriage and we have to be responsible for that, he is not obligated to tell us what should we do to maintain a happy marriage.. haha we think that way lah so we are perfect fine with his style.. all we need him to do is to hold this holy event for us so we can keep a great memory, and he really made the event memorable for us..

footprint

ya, which is why my solemnization starts @ 12pm, but i ask my guests to reach by 11.30am. :p

better the guests wait, then JP.
Since guests are family and close friends. Guess they wont mind la. :p

bethany

Hi Connie,

Maybe you want to check with him if he will be available once you confirm the date, because venue is not impt but you must let him know the exact date and time. If your wedding is in Dec, maybe you can try to call him in June, just to book him. Then maybe in late Sept or Oct you can call him again to re-confirm and inform him that you will do your efiling. After that he should be contacting you for signing the consent form already about 3-4 weeks before your wedding..

connie_r

Hi Felicia,

Thks for the advice! but I need him to sign the consent form for me first as I'll be getting my keys in June. Does that mean that I have to call him this month or next?

bethany

Wah Connie, I didn't know you need the consent form before getting the key leh.. that is a must is it?

Because consent form can only be signed after you efile your ROM, and efiling can only be done not more than 3 months before your actual ROM date. So no matter how you got to do you efile in somewhere late Sept or early Oct i think, after that then you can get the consent form signed. Unless you want to call Mr Chan up now and check with him, i think some JPs are okay not to meet up but just to sign the consent form and fax back to you.. But for Mr Chan i think he got his own style of doing this so I am not sure if he is fine with meetup with you and sign the form before your efiling is done. Maybe you got to explain to him that you need that for your house key.. =)

raragal

Connie> you dun need the consent form to get the keys... U can just show ur efiled letter to the officer in charge can liaoz... and then within 3 months, just submit ur ROM cert to the same officer once you have ROM-ed.

But just realised u are looking at ROM-ing in Dec..then u will have to apply to HDB for extension... longest is abt 6 months which is possible.. but subject to approval... when's ur 1st Appt??

We had our 1st appt in Feb and 2nd appt(collecting keys) in April..and we are ROM-ing in May... we just pass the officer our efiled letter.. but u can't efile till September.. so u need to seek approval from ur officer first..

Congrats on getting keys!! Found any ID?
Can intro my FH to you!

connie_r

Hi rach congrats to u too!

My 1st appt is in Feb but was told 2nd appt will be 4mths to 6mths time but we are thinking of ROM-ing only in Dec.. with the e-filing only in Sept, I am in a loss now... was hoping that we will be able to extent after getting Mr Chan to sign the consent form for me

raragal

Connie>
Who told u abt getting the consent form? I dun think thats necessary at all.. the reason they want us to be ROM-ed is to ensure that we are eventually going to get married.. U have the number of ur officer in charge rite?? call and ask what is the requirements needed... i dun think need the consent form for extension.. its possible one, just need to appeal or apply or something... just check with ur officer... u should have her number in the letters sent to u..

Why do u need 4-6months?? were u given the 2nd appt date? I was given the 2nd appt date during my 1st appt.. i need only 8 weeks.. is urs a resale???

Have u gotten any ID??

connie_r

rach> i was told by my friend have to submit consent form... i think i gotta call the officer up to clarify...

I was told by the hdb officer on my 1st appt that my 2nd appt will be 4 to 6 mths time.. How come yours so fast?? which area are you getting? Mine's a new flat... My 1st appt is also in Feb..

raragal

Connie> ooh think u better check with the officer..

Maybe coz urs is a new flat.. mine is a resale..

ID=Interior Designer.

Have u settled the rest of ur ROM or AD stuffs?? Have many lobangs can share with u if need to..

PM me..

raragal

Amras> haha. okie.. i was thinking ur nick very familiar,... but dunno where i saw it.. haaha..
Just the consent form will do..
He'll just chat with u a bit and ask to write down ur chinese name and occupation on a slip of paper for his own reference.. nothing else.. very nice man...
So blessed to have him solemnise our marriage..

raragal

Cool! Had my Solemnisation yesterday..
Mr Chan was soo cool and experienced.. my guests all had a good laugh and commented he's VERY professional...
yeah.. no regrets definitely! Thumbs up and appreciate him for running around!

applenut

I just called Mr Chan, so scared.. he sound fierce.. lolz.. he say his diary is not with him.. so he will check again and call me back.. btw, my ROM in sept.. =)

Cheerios~

applenut

Quite disappointed.. MR Chan just called me during lunch.. he say he got wedding to attend.. so wun be free..
think have to find another JP le naa..

raragal

celine> you can try calling him 6months before to see if he is still available..and see if he's okay to make a tentative booking for u.. coz usually its 3 months in advance.. but being so popular.. difficult to get him la.. and if urs is a hot date.. better to chop him earlier. hehe..

raragal

celine> you are welcome.. u can contact my PG directly if u like his works...he charges $388 for ROM.. with the montage included.. the one as seen.. but he doesnt do printouts

raragal

hehe.. thanks octus..

You can look for my PG if u like his works..

ROM package @$388 inclusive of:

- Up to 3 hours of services
- Unlimited digital shots
- All photos will be individually corrected for colours/white balance/cropping for the best result possible
- Signature Photoshop Digital editing for 80 Photos
- Photo Montage (slide show in Flash, Mpg, FLV and windows screensaver format)
- Return of all edited photos in high res + slideshows via DVD media
- 80 x 4R Printing + 1 Slot-in Photo Album

amrasenelya

just wanna double check with you girls, after we have verified our details and our witness nric details and collected the cert at ROM a few days prior the solemnisation, do we still need to produce the witness photocopy of the NRIC on the day of the solemnisation or is it just strictly the 3 pieces of paper, namely
the coloured marriage cert,
the white coloured marriage cert where we sign on,
and the yellow piece of paper only right?

thanks!!!

raragal

Amras> MMm.. depends on ur JP.. ifs its Mr Chan, he didnt really check... but u would need both witnesses to be present.. and you can place 4 of ur NRICs at the table for Mr Chan to verify... but he didnt really do that also...
So.. as long as you pass to Mr Chan, the whole envelope that was passed to you from Registrar... its fine...

Your venue provides u with pen?
Needs to be black ink.

amrasenelya

thanks rach.. cus there's 1 piece of info from the registrar which says need witnesses' identification on the day of solemnisation.. so i was puzzled since we've already shown the photocopy of the witnesses' id to the registrar already..

yup my venue provides us with pen, but is ballpoint kind.. but we're thinking of getting a backup nicer looking black pen just in case. hahah

raragal

Amras> thats not really necessary coz they are not bringing it back.. just need to bring the original to show the JP if JP wants to... Mr Chan didnt check ours..

zenith

i'm actually having a buffet sit-down luncheon at the hotel after the solemnization. do we have to reserve a seat for Mr Chan for the luncheon? veri paiseh to call him & ask if he's staying for lunch rite?

raragal

zen> no need to leave a seat for him coz he dun normally stay... he runs off after the whole Solemnisation.. so must standby ur AP very fast also... else he run off liaoz..

~cass

Hi Rach,

When you meet up with him, what you all chat about? Do we need to bring anything?

He haven't call me to meet up... Don't know whether he will forget o not...

raragal

Cass> when is ur ROM? he called us about a month before to meet up..
You need to bring along ur consent form for him to sign. u can print at ROM website.

He'll just write down ur english & chinese characters..and ur occupation..

Just find out a little abt u... 5min talk only..
He'll usually meet a few couples at the same place..
The fountain at Wheelock Place.

Give him a call if u are worried.. he's very nice de.

adyong85

Hi ladies...

My FH have actually contacted JP Chan wo meet up... However he wants to c the both couple together??? and i'm not in SG... I'm currently in KL i won't b back to SG anytime... Will only be back to SG 3 weeks b4 my ROM... how ar?? >.<"

I saw him in real life b4... in my FH best friend ROM.... very nice sweet man i would say.... very funny too... he might look a bit TUCK UP but he is definately not...

raragal

Adeline> Yeah.. he would prefer to meet both together.. he very nice one.. he will just want to see how we are like la... i ever seen a girl going to meet him alone when we meet him to sign consent form.. if u wont be in SG, just ask ur FH to tell him u are overseas.. its okay one... as long as the form is signed.. and he knows how to write ur chinese name and occupation.. its fine...

He's not stuck up la.. he just have a stern face.. but he's really very nice.. hehe..

~cass

Hi Rach,

Thank you =)
My ROM will be on 12 Jul 08... 1 month to go...

So when is your AD?
Yeah! your photo very nice.
Cost how much?

connie_r

I've met up with Mr Chan he's soooo stern looking! but he's ok afterall... He didnt talk much just signed our consent form for us &amp; told us to call him back 3 mths before our ROM date to remind him.. heez

Btw, where do you gers source for nice pens?

nissan2001

My wedding was solemnized by Mr Chan on 24 May08 Very professional indeed. He has a sense of humor too though stern looking. Do book him early. I booked him in Jan