JP - Chan Kai Yau

annping

Hi Annette and Rach,

Wow... both of your solemnise places are so wonderful..

My solemnisation will be holding at Sentosa at One degree 15. and it is on 08 Apr 08.

raragal

ann> thanks.. I'm sure urs is nice gtoo!! Else you wont hold it there!!

Have u gotten ur PG??

fishylim

Hi All Brides to be, Mr Chan was my FSI's solemiser too... i think he is quite good. Fluent in English and Madndarin (Elderly can understand). Heard that he is a lecturer or professor in one of the institution

Need to heed your advise. I would want my solemnisation on my wedding banquest. Do your have any idea what time should I book Mr Chan?
Coz he seems to be rushing here and there. My FSI's ROM, he wanted to start immediately when he reach the solemnise venue. And he left almost immediately finshing the ceremony.

raragal

fishy> I guess it would be a good thing to start at 730pm if you are having it together back to back. Make sure ur guests arrive by 730pm..then u can start at 745pm or 8pm.. it'll take just 15min... since usually BQ starts at abt 830pm anyway....

If ur BQ is on a sat, you can have Solemnization at 6pm, follow by BQ at 730pm...
So depending on what you mean by having solemnization on your BQ..
Maybe u can elaborate...then we can help to give u a better suggestion.. hehe..

nlimm

ann : urs is nice ye, best is on yacht out to the open sea hehe^-^

rach: mine is free. coz me n sis get fr same BS, so we bargain till my package to same price as her(she got it 5yrs ago) My wedding package $3088 while the rom package is free which consist of gown n suit fr rack, make up ,hair styling.Mini album is fr wedding package but no pt have big n small so negotiate till mini album use for rom n come with 6-12 studio pics

nlimm

rach: can u give me the contact for ur PG? wanna ask him if can cheaper since mine only 2 hrs haha or can outdoor photo taking afterwhich since half day hehe

footprint

rach,
interested in ur PG wor.
Can give me his contact? :p

I had also invited Mr Chan to be my solemnizer.
He called me yest to meet him in the evening to sign on the consent form.
Quite nice.
And yes, he quite fluent in English and Chinese. :D

annping

Hi Rach... Current, i have a PG, but is $300 for 3 hours. Can I have PG contact?

Hi Poohise, you mentioned Mr Chan called on 19 Feb, then when is your ROM date...?
Wondering how many days before hand that Mr Chan will contact us?

raragal

poohise> Okie.. you can refer to:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/melvin_ho/sets/72157603420915736/

his contact is listed on his web. u can take a look at what he did also..

He charges $250 for half day + editing into slideshow as in the website above.. all images will be returned back in DVD.. no printouts.. u can do on ur own..saves costs.. else u can go to photobook.com.sg or another fotohub located at Raffles City Basement to take a look.. saw it there last week when i was walking around.. quite nice... photostory journal costs about $280 thereabouts..20pages 12" x8" size i think... its like a coffeetable album.. but if u just want normal slot-ins... 20cents each only.. hahah..cheap cheap la... can get it almost anywhere..

when is ur ROM?? so fast meeting him to sign liaoz??? Mine is 10 May... gotta slowly wait.. :p
Yeah.. saw him on youtube before... very experienced JP... veteran!

ann> you can refer to above...

footprint

my rom is on 25 Mar.
Then going registry there to declare as well as to collect cert on 19 mar.

From what I know, he usually do group meet-ups. haaa.. :p

nlimm

Same here hehe. i just do efiling only. mine on 28mar

ann ,maybe he will arrange us to meet together since ours so close

nlimm

rach: me n my htb besides direct family only invite a few closed frds, our frds all take leave that day either full day or half day lor hehe

footprint

same here... immediate family, and close friends.
Well, think close friends wont mind taking on one day leave to attend our solemnization ba.
Same, i wont mind taking one day leave to attend theirs, if need to.

raragal

haha.. okie... if close enough they will find ways to make it... if they can't make it or didnt even think of taking leave, then i think they are not that close friends also... hahaha... :p

footprint

Well, if cant make it, of course, cant be helped lor.
Well, usually whether he or she close or not to you, u urself will know.

annping

Annette > Yap, maybe Mr Chan will arrange us to meet up together... Once he call u to meet up, let me know ok... see whether we got a chance to see other other a not... heehee.

Rach, Poohise > same same loh... just invite immediate family and some close friend. It is a weekday, some relative or friends might unable to take leave...

Best part is, my wedding is on the weekday too... lots of people i working or studying... worry that they might unable to attend my wedding dinner or they might need to leave the ballroom early.... sad sad...

raragal

ann> haha.. my ROM is Sat.. not a problem... my AD is Monday. 兄弟 and å§å¦¹ already supposed to be on leave liaoz... hehehe...

Guests should be okay la... see how loh.. just pray hard they'll all be on time... hehehe.. :p

nlimm

ann/rach: so gd u gers. mine cant be on wkday, inlaw want wkend. end up have to change date coz 5stars hotel grandballroom dinner n even lunch banquet taken.wanted 28dec,now need to change to 20dec

rach: urs is on 28dec right?

ann: will let u know once Mr Chan calls me

nlimm

rach: ahha i mixed up u with another dec bride,jac.hers is on 28dec hehe.y not choose 20aug2008=20082008 hehe.mine cant coz need 4mths away fr my sis haha

nlimm

ann: has mr chan contacted u? i be meetign him on 17mar,mon ,630pm at wheelock border cafe fountain.he wanted yest with other btb but i cant coz too last min notice.

fishylim

Hi Rach, I would want my solemnization before after the 1st march in. Just before the banquet. heehehee... It itizzz weird? My friends actuali ask me to put it before the banquet. Like wat you have said solemnization ard 6pm

raragal

fishy> Mine is just before Banquet. Not exactly Solemnization. My Solemnization is in May. But my Holy Matrimony will be just before Banquet.
I'll have a short Praise & Worship, followed by my march in, then a short message by my Pastor, then exchange vows, then Holy Communion, lighting of Unity candles, then a short prayer for us then we march out as we are pronnounced man & wife.. then the Banquet starts once we march out. Hehehe..

If yours is just pure solemnization, it'll be less than 15min. U can start at 8pm sharp.. by the time u are done, its about 8.15pm where most of your guests should have arrived..

nlimm

ann: ger i thought u disappear fr this forum aldy hehe.r u the 'pingping' whom added me for msn?
Ya Mr Chan contacted me 2 wks ago,maybe u can call him and check. I be meeting him beside the wheelock fountain as requested by him at 630pm on 17march,mon. Heard he stays at the terrace/bungalow opp wheelock plc.

annping

Anntte> i didn't disappear... just no time to go online.
Yap, I m pingping whom added u for msm.
Mr Chan hasn't contact me. Will wait for few days...
will let u know if we meeting up on the same day.

linksie

erm i was wondering if someone could give me mr chan's license number. he agreed to be my solemnizer and gave me the license number but i misplaced.. pls pm me - thanks very much!

footprint

Annette, had meet up with him on 20 Feb lor.

He asked me to call him again after i had declared and got my cert from ROM. To confirm the ROM date is fixed.

2 weeks more! Very fast. scary sia... :p

annping

Hi Annette>, contacted Mr Chan on 10 Mar... will meet up with me on 18 Feb at wheelock fountain, 7.30pm. Too bad, unable to meet up with you on the same day...

Hi Poohise>, How u meet up Mr chan? at wheelock fountain too? He did not give any hp no..How to contact him when reach? worry that we will lost him.

nlimm

ann: oh ya badbad.I cnat make it on18mar coz work till late. I was told usually he meets us there coz he stays somewhere at those terrace houses opp wheelock plc. Was told by my frd Mr Chan does not carry hp .

footprint

ann, from wat i know, Mr Chan dun have hp no. So everytime call his hse.
Well, as long as he know where and how to go to the place, he will be there on time, no worries.

Yup, meet him at the fountain.

annping

Annette> yap yap... badbad... unable to meet up with u...
Well, 17 and 18 Mar is coming... finally is our turn to meet up Mr Chan...

Poohise> Thank you so much...finally can meet up with Mr Chan.. heehee

nlimm

pooshie/ann: Ya i heard Mr Chan heard ppl to be late. I better make sure i recah there by 6pm though meeting him 630pm haha, peak hr dun later traffic jam n late

nlimm

ann: we met up with him yest....i heard he dun like ppl to be late so me n htb reach there at 6pm though appt time is 630pm, but he was late(slight late la)....and rush off straight to Border magazine section after he signed the form so unlike wat my frd told me tt he will talk to us etc but he does look stern n nvr smile at all.

bethany

dear gals, just to share a few thoughts here so hopefully you will find that getting Mr Chan is a wise choice..

At first we also felt scared as he really sounds and looks stern to us. I decided to get him for our wedding and i was really afraid my hubby will not like my decision cuz to him, JP is JP what, why make so much efforts to find someone who is popular when other JP can also do the job. But surprisingly, he really likes Mr Chan so much and keep telling me that I've made a great choice.

On our big day, a group of our friends were a bit late for the solemnization, that time I was waiting outside the function room so I got no idea what happened inside, after that my hubby told me, since we all know Mr Chan doesn't like people to be late, he was really scared and couldn't decide if we should just start the solemnization without those people around. And he wanted to make phone calls to that group of friends even, but Mr Chan came to him and said "Relax, don't worry I can wait, we can make it right on time", although he has been waiting for more than 5 minutes already at that time.. so that really made my hubby a lot more comfortable...

and during the solemnization, I must say Mr Chan was really really good, he got no hickups at all and his tricks really worked great for our guests.. Recently I have been to a few weddings, and now we finally understand why Mr Chan is so popular, cuz diff JP has diff style one, Mr Chan can really make your wedding a holy event, that's really impt to us.. And his voice is just so powerful that you can never forget..

I am sure those who chose him as your JP will definitely enjoy your event with him around...all the best gals!