JP - Chan Kai Yau

benbenfish

Hi Hitsubi,

Haha... by right his time for our ROM was 2:45pm...but he arrived at 2:30pm while we still in the mess of inviting guests to walk in the ballroom and sit down. I was still in the hotel room for the last check b4 being brought down by my daddy...haha... wat time he attend ur function? mind to discuss how much u given to him as Ang bao? We gave $88... Some of my frenzs said too much, so of my frenzs say should give $100... but nvm ya..already given..and not gave the wrong ang bao..haha... one more, did u have time to take any photos with him? We dont even catch his 5 min for the photograph..Hai..wasted...
U have any friendser? mine is ([email protected]), you may add me if u have...

hitsubi

Hi Fish

Oh, ours he arrived like 10mins earlier... then I was still so gancheong that he will 4get to come. Haha! When I saw him I was so relieved. Hee!

Oh you march-in with ur daddy as well? I know of another bride on the same day who also marched-in with her daddy.

Oh we also bao the same amt to Mr. Chan. =)
Initially we wanted to bao $100, then we changed to $88. Nicer number. Actually $88 is quite a lot already, enuff liao la. And see, some said too much right? Haha. Actually, it doesn't matter as long as within our means and we think that it's a decent amount.

Oh yes, we had taken photo with him, but still waiting for my PG to settle the photos. Photos not done yet. =)

Oh I will add you to my friendster. =)
Mine's under [email protected]

I hv just added you! =)

bearyblur

i personally had a bad experience with Mr Chan.

My wedding is end of this year 2007. Being a kiasu couple and after reading about good comments of Mr Chan in this forum, my bf actually call him last year(2006) dec to pre-book him to be our JP.

Of cos, he agree and according to him he has already noted down our solmenization date in his book. He in fact ask us to call him ard July 2007 to confirm again. We felt so lucky that time.. smiling away.

We did. We call back ard july 2007. His response was... 'Oh, why u call now, is very early. Call me ard Oct period'. Of cos, we know we a bit kiasu la. But we just wan to make sure he got our 'bookings' and everything is on schedule.

Just early this week. We called him again. Guess what, first he ask us why we call him for, later he told my bf that he did not note down our date of solmenization and ask we all to look for other JP to conduct our solmenzation! During the whole conversation, his tone was kinda of rude.

Imagine you were in my position, how will you all react?? Now, i have to start to look for other JP again..haiz...

hitsubi

Hi Bearyblur

O dear... actually my experience with you when I called him is the same, it was only when we met up with him then things were different.

But how come he note down then later say he nvr note down. Poor u hv to go find another JP now. Jia you & good luck!

Over the phone he is indeed very stern... every single time we call him we scared.

bearyblur

hi hitsubi,

you are much luckier then me... haiz..

ya, he did told my bf that he noted down our date in his book. we did not call just once, but at least a few times lor..

guess we are very unlucky to have experience this..

benbenfish

Hi BearyBlur,

Hai..seems quit alot of us did experienced some uphappy things from him... he noted down wrong date for us even after we meet up with him and confirmed with him again. Only left two days then he realised he mistake our date...Hai... How u guys think of him as JP? wonder should consider him as a good JP or an 'attitude' JP or ....

karine82

consider as a 'attitude' JP but i never meet problem like he forgotten my date or wat... maybe is a misunderstanding ba

bearyblur

hey Fish,

I suppose he is a good JP initially, if not there wont be so many good comments about him.

But then after this incident i would not think so. Really felt very disappointed..

hitsubi

Hi Bearyblur

yup i guess i am lucky...
i wld think tt he is both an attitude plus a gd JP.
A good JP coz he knows his stuff when he talks, and when he solemnizes can see that he is very 'lao1 lian4' as well.

aii... hope that he'll get better in not forgetting or like changing dates for coup[les anymore.

icyger82

Im also getting mr chan as my solemniser. already met up with him. just have to confirm with him when we go to collect our ceft next week.
our rom on 16 nov..hope everything goes smoothly

yenming

wow.. i'm getting worried... i tot mr. chan is a nice guy.. i'm inviting him to be my JP as well on 2PM on 8Dec07. We have already efile.. hope everything will be fine... kinda worried aft reading all ur posts.

karine82

Yenming & all BTB, dun worry, Mr chan is very professional,

Just dun late and every time will goes fine.
eg: ur thing start @ 1400hrs, ask everyone to reach 1330 is the best!

He angry/ dun like ppl late becoz he have 3-4 solemnisation to do per day. so sometime will confuse. but he will mark down every detail one.

blurblur25

Im super gan jiong, having my wedding lunch cum solemnisation on the same day. Is the vows read by Mr Chan easy to follow??

ryanon123

actually i wanted to consider mr. chan but i had a very bad experience with him the first time i spoke to him. I call him up @ about 10pm a few days back and the first word he says is "why did you call me so late, do you know what time is it?" in a quite sarcastic and stern voice. I told him that i didn't think it was late so i called and that i'm sorry that he feels so. then he just said "please call me tomorrow" and hang up the phone. well at least he said please... but in a wrong tone.

i thought 90% of old people watches those 9pm drama show on tv? So i thought call him only at 10pm. Well apparently he is a early sleeper and he don't watch tv.

We decided not going to call him again or use him. He may be professional but this bad experience shuts down our door for him.

journey

Hi Ryan, When is the date of your rom?
i did read in some thread about some of the bad experience ppl, therefore i actually wan to engage him but end up i didn't.

bethany

just to share some experience here..

so far i called Mr Chan for 3 times..
1st time to check if he is available on my ROM date which is Dec 30th. I called in early June and he said it is still too early. And ask me to call him on Oct 2nd again.
So i called him for the second time, he was not at home. And his wife answer the call, she is a very very nice lady and really make an effort to take down all my details even though I have given it to Mr Chan during my first call.. So she said Mr Chan will call me on the next day.

But I waited for 2 days and did not hear anything from him. So I called again. This time he said, you don't have to wait for my call, just go and efile your ROM.. to me this is the only time I felt a bit uneasy cuz i thought I cannot do that without getting a confirmation from him that he will be able to make it on my big day..

anyway i just followed his instruction and done my efiling on Nov 3rd..

Then I just wait for his call.. Which based on my research should be somewhere late next week. But to be honest, i really cant wait for it after reading a lot of comments here. So I decided to call him today..

so i called about 10 minutes ago. He sounded quite nice and after I briefly explained that my ROM will be on this date and I have done my efiling, I know I supposed to wait for you call but just to check when should we have an appt to meetup.. he said..since you are on the call, i am wondering if you can meet me on 5th at 730pm.. wah i was so happy and totally forgot about asking him for any details, what are the things to bring, maybe also because I have read through alot of details here so I assume I should have known it.. haha.. maybe he was also surprised that why this girl never ask for my hp or something.. hahaha..

wondering if i need to re-confirm with him again on 5th itself, or just keep my fingers cross and happily wait for him at borders.. hahaha..

will update again after the meetup..

bethany

met Mr Chan on 5th finally, and everything went through smoothly.. funny thing is there a quite a lot of couples there and we formed a queue even, haha..

Mr Chan is quite nice and it is really a 2 minutes process for us, because we have prepared our form and filled it up, he just signed on it and ask me to write down our name in chinese and our occupation, on his small piece of paper, that's it...

quite a good experience and we were super happy about it as we finally cleared this milestone..

raragal

How do you contact Mr Chan?

There's only home number available on the ROM website...

Please advise..

graciie23

Does anyone know if Mr Chan Kai Yau stays near Bukit Timah? Coz I need to find a good JP that's staying there which is more convenient for the JP to travel to my dinner venue for solemnisation.

happimay

hi gracie, Mr. Chan do not stay near bt timah. if u like to find a solemnizer who stays near ur place, u can go to the ROM site to search by location.

graciie23

Thanks May. I saw on the ROM website that Mr Chan is under the postal 24 which is near to Bukit Timah, that's why I thought he stays near there...

yenming

Hi Felicia,..... i can understand your feelings... For me, i also contacted him several times before getting all the confirmation. We even called earlier than you.. My ROM is on ,8Dec. We called him ard Beg.Jun... But he replied us OK... Then later in Sep, before we efile, we called again to get his license number. Finally, then met up wif him on 22ndNov..

raragal

Yeah... booked him for 10 May 2008 as well..
He was rather nice, said okay... just sounded a little weird regarding my venue.. but I'm changing venue anyway.. so i'll keep him informed when its finalised..

He said nothing to be done till Feb 10, so call him again then..

bubbleluv

i tried book a date for him this year, but he tell me that he's oni free after 7.30pm for SUNDAY!
did u guys faces such problem? mine is a banquet dinner... was thinking of having solominsation at 6.30pm initially...

annping

Hi Dear all,

Felicia and Yenming,

I just called up Mr Chan as my ROM in on Apr 08. He given me his license number and told me to do efile. However, i asked him whether do we need to meet up to sign the consent form. He replied No Need.

He told me that the process is automated and I don't need to meet him to do that. He will be sending in the form on our behalf and will contact me.

How did you all handle yours? Would be worried if I lost my JP on my AD.

bethany

hi Ann,

That's rather strange, i thought he needs to sign the consent form during meet up.. If i were you, I will either ask him again, or just do my efile and call him again after efiling..

for my case I did my efile, and he supposed to call me 2-3 weeks before my wedding.. but you know lah I was too kancheong, in the end I called him first about 4 weeks before my wedding.. And luckily he supposed to meet a few couples on the next day so he said why not i just go down together.. so we met up and get the form signed.. then i just waited for my big day to come.. It is already over and all my guests like him.. haha.. so quite a good experience, not to worry, I think as long as he noted down your details and asked you to efile ROM, you should be fine..

annping

Hi Felicia,

Thank you so much.
Yap, he had noted down my details and asked me to efile.
I am kancheong too. Well, I shall call him up again after efiling.
Hmm... how was Mr Chan? Good? He prepared the vows for you? Before your ROM day, did he brief you?

bethany

He is good Ann, don't worry too much.
The vow is the standard one, there was no briefing, but everything went through smoothly. He used his usual tricks on our big day, i've viewed his video clips before but he still managed to make me laugh with the same jokes.. haha.. and all my guests like him...

raragal

Felicia> Thanks!
That was funny..

Hope he has really secured my date & time for me...

Anyone getting solemnized on 10 May 2008 here??

nlimm

Hi all brides-to-be

Im holding my solemnisation on 28Mar2008 and have chosen Mr Chan as my solemiser, feel so lucky to be able to get him for my day.
Was recommended by my frd who had him as her solemiser, as mentioned he sounds stern when during our 1st conversation, and he asked me to efile, and he mentioned he will call me to meet up once before my rom day as whats mentioned by my frd.

Sound professional!

annping

Hi Annatte and all brides-to-be,

I also holding my soleminisation on 8 Apr 08 and also have choosen Mr Chan as my solemiser.
Yap, he sound stern too when during our 1st conversation through phone.

Annette, Have you meet Mr Chan up?

nlimm

Ann: not yet. he asked me to efile 1st but my FH wan to wait till21st feb to efie. Then i think he will receive notification from rom and he will contact me to meet up once b4 my solemnisation day
Where will u be holeing ur solemnisation?

raragal

Annette> Yeah... i called him that day to get his license no. too... He said he'll call me up when it gets nearer.. i guess we are supposed to meet him to sign consent form and he'll talk to us a while 1-2 weeks before our ROM..

annping

Hi Annette and Rach,

I called Mr Chan on 8 Jan 08. He asked me to efile first and he will contact me when it gets nearer to sign the consent form.

Annette, My solemnisation will be holding at Sentosa. How about yours?

nlimm

Ann & rach: My solemnisation will be at equinox, where my htb proposed to me hehe. I will be holding mine on 28mar2008,how abt u

raragal

Annette> wah.. so nice... hehee.. i almost had my ROM at the place he proposed - My Secret Garden.. but a little ex.. min $3000 budget.. and feels that paying for deco more than food... so in the end we changed to SMC's Poolside Terrace..

Nice place also.. mine is 10th May 2008.. Hehehe.. later than u all...
have u all found PG?
Can recommend mine - $250 for half day + editing + slideshow. No printouts.. all images returned in DVD..

nlimm

rach: wats then rate at SMC poolside? Mine is solemnisation and hi-tea 3-5pm there, ard 22adults n 4 kids= 1500++
Had yet arrange for PG, thinking of getting my bro-in laws to take pic n video for me...shd i get a professional PG n VG? usually how much will it be actually i havent check out yet.
Coz my weddin package comes iwth rom package which consist of a gown off rack,suit off rack,hand bouquet, makeup n hair styling and studio photo taking most likely only give6to12 pics(cant rem) in a mini album

raragal

Annette> ah?? ur ROM package got include pic one meh? so nice.. most ROM package dun include that.. hehe..

SMC poolside - $500++ for rental of venue
High Tea Buffet $22.90++
Min 30 pax, max 40 pax seating...but can have more people around, standing if they dont mind.
For yours, it'll be $585.50 + $808.60 = $1394.10
I think okay leh.. hehe..

Thats cheap..

I'm taking 30 pax to calculate ur buffet cost.. I think u can have lesser people at the cafe.. coz u pay the cafe directly when u going in to eat.. High tea starts at 3.30pm - 5.30pm.
i think urs should be cheaper if u having only 22 adults.. much cheaper..

You can always book 30 seats for the pavilion... sometimes guests dun turn up also ma... hehehe.. :p So shouldnt be a problem..

your brother-in-law cant take both PG & VG at the same time la...
If you want.. get him to take VG...
I can recommend u my PG...

$250 for half day + editing into slideshow + all images returned in DVD.. no printouts.. but u can just print urself if u want to la..

i think ROM no need to get professional professional if u can trust ur relatives loh... reasonable can liaoz... my PG has done a good job for my cousin.. so i'm getting him for both my ROM and AD..