"Guo Da Li (过大礼)" ??

blurblur25

1 of office auntie is helping me to act as my HTB 'mei ren' on the GDL. Can I know how much ang pow should we give her (any market rate).

pinpong

Hi Jeslyn

nappy angbao = 奶 "pian" ...
dun know which pian
if u r getting GDL stuff, d store-keeper will explain to u what is nappy angbao.
What i know is nappy angbao is a show of appreciation to d bride's parents for bring up thier daugthers.

ice
nappy angpow is 尿片.
that is to thank your mother for washing your diapers when you are a baby. now people use disposable diapers so no ned wash..last time people use re-usable one so need to wash.

goldiepooh

hi gals, need your help. Anyone vegetarian here? Where can i find mock pork for the purpose of GDL? or made with peanut one also can.

rosewhite

I understand that the pingjin is supposed to be placed on a tray with 2 oranges.. what abt nappy angbao? Do my hubby give that to my mum directly or also place on the tray together with the pingjin angbao? Hubby need to write anything on both the angbaos for auspicious purposes or for identification for the bride's side?

Anything else that are to be placed on the tray as well?
Thx

tssr

I will be having my guo da li soon. Just to check on pin jing. my bride's family is having 5 tables for banquet, so how much would be appropriate for pinjing. i understand different people have different amount etc.. but just like to have a rough gauge, do not want to appear to give too little... hee... thanks.

cactus_79

hi rosewhite,

I don't know how the APs are to be placed but I know the pinjing AP has the words "pin jing zhi li" on it and it is a BIG red packet... the nappy AP is smaller. Like usual red packet size. On the tray, sometimes it is placed some green leaves. It is from a particular plant and symbolizes many children and grandchildren. These leaves are also used to tie together with the Guo Da Li gifts.

cactus_79

Hi piggypig, you can just buy a normal straw basket (can buy from hamper/florist shop??) and decorate with red ribbons. that's what my ILs did.

cactus_79

I heard from my hb that one of his aunts know a florist... and bought it from her. Or else, you may want to check out goodwood or far east flora or prince's or katong florist. These whole salers who conduct flower arrangement classes should sell those straw baskets.

rasa

hihi cactus_79

the green leaves on the APs are casurina pines and pomelo leaves. My MIL insisted on having them even tho' it's not easily available.

In the end, she had to get it for us (the bride's side) by asking her neigbours. So wierd, the groom side tekan themselves.... why cannot just skip the tradition of the leaves.

Pines are meant to indicate many children and the pomelo leaves are meant for good luck.

cactus_79

I didn't have pomelo leaves. I think we only had casurina pines. But for my case, it was our side who asked it from the guy's side. When they sent the gifts over, every gift had a bit of casurina pines.... the APs that they sent over also had some casurina pines too. My ILs bought it from florist. - whole saler.

rosewhite

Hi cactus,
thanks alot!

Hmm.. My side is asking for wines to be exchanged to angbao, but did not state how many bottles. As such, normally how much to prepare for this angbao? Is it going to be based on the number bottles of wines? If it is, may I know usually how many bottles & how much to put into angbao? My hubby & I are preparing all the angbaos & stuffs for GDL on our own.. are these angbao( those exchanged from items one) to be placed on the tray with pingjin & the nappy angbao too?

hapimint

For me, my mother has asked for 5 tables, pin jin 4888, and some oranges, 20+ boxes of cakes, few cans of pig trotters and nappy hongbao....

But she told us that she will not take all of the pinjin and will return to us after she had taken....

So, I do not need to buy anything else... but well, to bring the oranges in a basket seems like normal practise... shall have to remember to do that.... hehe

cactus_79

Hi princessxiaomei,

my ILs went to JB to buy the stuff. My parents went to Chinatown to buy the stuff. Quite expensive for the Chinatown stuff.... The bedside lamps (we wanted a less traditional design) cost my parents $38/pair.

Hi rosewhite,
Actually I dun know how it's to be placed... cos my ILs settled the GDL stuff for my parents. My parents also asked my ILs what they had to buy. So the parents settled it themselves. My parents did ask for wines and did specify the number of bottles. My parents asked enough to "return a small amount" and to distribute to my immediate uncles & aunts.

ppiggypig

may i know what other ang pows should the groom side prepare beside the Pin Jing on GDL day??

Is nappy angpow to be given on GDL also on AD?

cactus_79

My hb gave my grandma an ap too. nappy ap was given to my mom on GDL. Both given only on GDL. But this is according to my Hb's tradition. My parents didn't ask for it.

jueline

GDL next Sun and I just need to get this fact right. Bride supposed to bao ang bao for Groom's parents right? How much to go into it?

Haiz...$28 enough? or does it have to be a 3 digit one?

I be shopping for GDL items at the Chinatown Market soon. Hopefully they can enlighten me too!

cactus_79

Hi Jue,

I think it could be a dialect thing about the AP cos we didn't do it. Netiehr did my parents have it during their time.We are hockien, hakka, hainanese. Hope this info helps.
Instead, groom had to give AP to my grandparents (in addition to pinjing and nappy AP to my parents).

cactus_79

Oh.. but I did buy a pair of shoes for each of my PILs.. and I also bought towals for all my hb's siblings, uncles and aunts, grandparents and their spouses.

jueline

Thank u so much Cactus. I wouldn't give ang baos then. What if I invite unnecessary trouble? Me is Hokkien and my HTB is Cantonese.

My HTB's sister is married. Is she eligible for a towel? I think he has a few aunties but I am not too sure. So one towel for each of his parents, sister and aunties? I will probably tie red ribbons around each of them. I read somewhere that I have to give towels for my ah yees...maybe I have to prepare a few more towels as well.

Buying shoes for them...I don't think my parents will agree to that because they've instructed me not to buy shoes for anyone...ever...

Quite a headache getting the stuffs ready. I was telling my HTB about nappy AP and he has never heard of it but I read it here that it will make my mother happy...oh well...

cactus_79

Hi Jue,

It's a hokkien tradition to buy towals and shoes for ILs. This is expected of a hokkien bride. I'm not sure why your parents instructed you not to ever to that though...

As for the AP, I think you may want to find out if your ILs expect you to give them... cos they are cantonese. I'm not familiar with cantonese traditions.

All these traditions are quite dialect based.

As for the nappy AP, my parents didn't ask for it. My ILs said they had to give to my parents and also an additional AP for my grandma. I think it could be a hainanese custom? I dun know.

Just to clarify, in my situation, it was my parents who said hokkien gals give towals and shoes to ILs. It was my ILs who said APs will be given to my mom and grandma. If it helps, my mom is hakka, dad is hokkien. My MIL is teochew, my FIL is hainanese.

jueline

Thanks again, cactus.

Neither side made request for either side. My mom said just the norm...cakes, cans of pigs trotter and oranges.

The Xi Sticker, bedsheets, tea sets...all those I only found out here in the forum. Bride side give what and Groom side give what. Thats why I am rather frustrated.

I think I just stick to the safe list of the necessities. Gonna shop for the GDL items later. Thanks again for your advise!

cactus_79

Hey Jue,

to simplify matters, unless you or your htb are pantang, you guys just need to follow what your parents say. Dun need to follow everything everyone on this forum say. It's going to be very very tiring if you try to do that.

jueline

Hi Cactus!

I saw your posts on other threads as well and i really really appreciate your advices around here. I just came back from my visit to the Outram shop.

The very nice auntie helped me pack for the basic set. No hard-selling...no pressure...I just kept asking her if its necessary or not..can do without or not...she said can do more lah but since I want the basic, just take basic will do lor.

HAPPY to get it over and done with! Many thanks for all your help here!

mspinky333

aiyoh..i din know can get those baskets from florists or wat, i just bought one(not the traditional straw type - red and black)yest at the shop at china town (hong lim). cost me 60 plus bucks..
.....cos their straw baskets look horrible..

hey jue, can i have the add of the outram shop?
still need to get more stuffs for my GDL too.

guy_77

i have a few questions to assk for my GDL:

1) i am intending to order wedding cakes instead of biscuits for my IL's distributiion to thier relatives. Is $8 per box containing abt 8 cakes expensive?

2) For the sweets, is it ok just to get 2 packets of normal sweets from NTUC, as long as they are of the same packaging?

3) If i really cannot find pork leg canned food in the supermart, can i replace it with red packet indicating "pork legs"?

4) any good shops in town to buy GDL items?

thank you.
pls enlighten...

hi boon
1) $8 per box is not expensive nor cheap..its average.
i get mine for $6.50 from sweet secrets..perhaps you like to check it out.

2) not too sure what kind of sweets you refer to? I did not have sweet but rock sugar.

3) yes... red packet will do

4) can try china town or you can try bukit timah plaza.

guy_77

1) where is sweet secrets? if buy from there, do they have basket for rental?

2) my sweets are those like hacks type...not rock sugar

3) but inside these red packets, must put $? if yes, how much?

wendily

I heard that there are shops who sell all these wedding stuffs for GDL.

Anyone knows where to go, and can get everything there?

qingzi

Hey Wendily, like Cynthia said try Chinatown (jus walk around and ask) or Bt Timah Plaza. Chinatown more choices but more expensive than Bt Timah Plaza I think.

boon,
you can find sweet secrets at International Plaza and Great world city.
you can always visit their website for more info.

i do not recommnd hacks type cos that is mainly for ppl with cough..i suggest you can get any indvidually wrap sweets from shopping centre.

red packet put how much... well just subsitute the number of pig throtters you are supposed to give with money.
example, i can cost $2, and you supposed to give 20 cans, so AP will be $40.

haywiregirl

yup. GDL is a very leceh but fun ! I will definitely help out if my siblings were to get married. V stress to do it ALONE. I had a "perfect" GDL..hahaha..Can PM for me more pictures.

sharene

gals,

when the groom send the GDL over to the bride hse, what are the things bride side have to give back to the groom??

both our dialect is hokkien

pls advice..i'm so blurr on it

cactus_79

Usually on the same day.

In my case, the GDL and AC on the same day. So groom send over GDL stuff. then we return with AC and other traditional stuff to IL's place. Then we all go over for AC.