"Guo Da Li (过大礼)" ??

vivien_lim

cheryl, 1st time i heard can sleep on bed after an chuan leh... normally after an chuan , no ppl can sleep on the bed at all..only childrren...so now yr hubby sleep with a little boy everynight??

ebride

Ocean: my ROM is 15 sept..actually wana 14sept mooncake festival but its a hot popular date. So kenna postponed lor. Yap 3 mths bfe. So r u going to stay in sg or follow hubby bk to his country after wedding?

Vivien: Saw yr PM..hey yr AD also 5 Oct 08? Same here..hi5 gal. Check yr multiply
No lah bed havent come yet, will come in early sept few days bfe ann chuan. Anyway we have nt stay together yet. By right lah, nt advisable to sleep or sit aftr ann chuan. But if really want 2, must be accompany by kids lor.

Hey gals, Im having my PS tmw..blessed me good fine weather. Im so excited Aarrrhhh!!

vivien_lim

wow yr ad also 5 oct08.. which hotel u held yr dinner? so hows yr planning? Enjoy yr ps.. i had mine liao.. going to view the editied photo next monday

ebride

no hotel too exp liao..mine at hilltop garden simple wedding with 40+ tables. Hey saw yr pics at Multiply, so tats yr ROM pics? U look great! So far so gd done with my Ann Chuan & GDL list liao. Stil have few items to buy at chinatown..for my DIY ang pow box & wrist corsages..hmm maybe will go nxt mth.
Any1 wanna join me?? hheheh

shilo

hi Cheryl

pls email me the AD helpers..thanks

I shd be going back austria to enjoy their country's social welfare...

ebride

Halow Ocean & Vivien, Im back fr PS. Tiring but have great fun siah. Will get to see my pics on nxt Tue. Ok will email to u gals but Ocean: I dun rembr hving yr email.

shilo

hi cheryl

u can click and see my profile

odie24

Hi Cheryl,

Can send me your helper's list? Btw can share your photo with me? Still considering which BS to choose.

ebride

Ocean: I try to paste my excel spreadsheet in the message & all the words jumbled up..gosh! Well I dun see yr email address? Wanna PM me yr email?

Same for u..Jajah..so when yr AD?

ebride

Ocean: I think they PM u & is linked to yr email. Check out yr mail.

Berry: hi great u r also Oct BTB..dun need stress still gt time coz GDL will be ard in Sept. u gt multiply? My GDL items r posted there. U gt a mail also.

Monday blue tmw..have a gd week! Im goin to select my pic this tues, hope the pics will turn out mei mei wor.

ebride

Ocean: Cool u going Austria, can be tai tai liao over there. So u staying there for gd? Wish sg also have country's social welfare, then we dun need to wk so hard.

shilo

hi cheryl,

thanks and received yr mail what is multiply abt?
yes will be staying there for good.
but if enjoy too much, one will laze off and hard to get up. so it is good to have moderate...

ebride

berry: But i email u the AD helper checklist liao yestrday. its in my sent folder.

Ocean: Oohhrr then yr parents will be missing u alot. Multiply is like creating own website which allows to post pics, links, write blog & add frds in yr contacts. Mind asking hw old is yr FH? I can imagine yr kid will look outstanding with both ang mo & chinese blood.

shilo

hello cheryl

im 35 and he is 37. is ok we are open with our age. off course first marriage for me...hahha
younger days i enjoy so much of my singlehood and build up my career

have u add me to yr multiple?

fly05

I'm also an Oct Bride. Now big-head over GDL things.

Cheryl, can you email me the An Chuan and GDL list? Thanks!!

vivien_lim

hi brides:
1- any one of you having both can pig trotters n roasted meat for gdl?
2-for those who unable to find can pig trotters, what is use to replace huh??

vernwyen

vivien:
same as happiness&Bliss, my mum told my MIL to juz give a small token to represent the pig trotters. Roasted pig, IIRC, is for the cantonese tradition.

This website gives quite detailed description of what to buy: www.worldoffortune.com

weddingplans

Can anyone explain what's the meaning/purpose of Guo Da Li? I know it's the gifts given to the bride's side. But the meaning/purpose is? What are the usual stuff needed? And usually when to do it before the AD? And since it's given by the guy to girl's side, if the girl's side say no need to buy all this ma fun stuff, just use a ang bao to substitute, what will the guy's side think or feel? As my side don't really know what's Guo Da Li purpose, so we're thinking of simply using a ang bao to substitute, and yet worry that the guy's side might mind, esp if the purpose is for luck or anything? How much did you all spend on the stuff for Guo Da Li? Also if in the end, really use ang bao to substitute, roughly how much should it be? And must my mum also return a bit back like for the pin jin? Anyone can share w me? Thanks a lot!

foodietravel

his stressbride,
i got married earlier this yr. when's yours?
Guo Da Li i think means betrothal. Chinese way of saying engagement. Not sure though. But it's pretty interesting. Funny though, I was told that most of the stuff (not all) are paid by the bride. You can also refer to this thread
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/36737/510742.html?1220693995

Anyway, my family (me lah) on GDL day, gave my hubby toothbrush, toothpaste, mug, sewing kit, spittoon (having figured what to do with that yet), baby bath tub, bundles of red dates/dried longans etc.... It's to symbolise that i'll be able to take care of my hubby, have children, take gd care of them too.. In olden days, without certain items, a groom going back to his home without such stuff, would result in friends & relatives thinking he's marrying a bride who's not 'capable'. These are only hearsay. But since my hubby and I just wanted to follow tradition and have a gd start, we just did the basics. I certainly didn't buy everything available!
On the groom's part, he brought along stacks of cakes (looks more festive than cake vouchers; and cakes are cheaper too at less than $10/box) with 2 bottles of hard liquor which we traded with 2 bottles of rose syrup (use it for making bandung drink ;)) and some other stuff... Oh yes, oranges etc.

The girl's side spends more for GDL in material stuff.. The guy's side spends more for GDL in terms of monetary stuff (Pin Jin)

If you use red pkt to substitute everything, it doesn't "show" to everyone (including passerbys or neighbours) how 'grand' the wedding is. The idea for the groom to walk around with stacks of food etc!! Not kidding! Imagine watching a Period Drama on TV where eg, an emperor goes to fetch his bride with just a red pkt and goes back also with a red pkt... Sorry, exaggerate but i think u get the picture?
Pinjin: Eg, Groom give $6,888. Your mom takes out $4,888 and returns him $2k in the red pkt. Your mom must give back a nice number.. and can't take too much, if not, give your FIL the impression that your family is greedy.

BTW, when the GDL takes place, you're not supposed to see your hubby or even come out to see what's going on (eavesdrop can). If not, it seems to your hubby (and kakis) that you're a greedy bride ;)

Stressbride, I'm not saying that any bride, including you, is greedy. Just saying that that's the general impression lah.

eve21

I would like to check if anyone of u hv "Mei Po" who will go with Groom on GDL Day and AD.How much to Ang bao to give her? Any market price to meet? Pls advise!! Are we giving her Ang bao 2 times as in GDL Day n AD?

jewelnjack

just like to check with all the brides to be here, during GDL need to exchange oranges right? what is the correct procedure in doing it?

destinygemini

Wondering if anybody got the checklist and guidelines for GDL?
I am quite confused... hope somebody can help me..
Who is supposed to be coming to the bride's house? From groom side that is,... how many people will be coming? eg: just the good fortune person and the groom, or are there a few good fortune helper to carry the stuff etc?
Can the bride be there?
Must it be a good fortune person or anybody will do?
What are they supposed to do in the bride's house?
Is there any eating session etc ?

Thank you for your help!

Hi destiny and shirlz: tried to send PM to you gals but can't get through.. I have just passed my GDL last sat... keen to know more, PM me ba...

shazpezzazz

Honestly, the best person I've met who gave me advice on all this was this guy called Alvin. Found his shop through some random article and visited the shop tonight. His items are very affordable ($20 for a nice tea set!) and he gave me lots of advice on how to do Guo Da Li.

The shop is called Cheok Keuw and it's at Blk 506 Jurong West Street 52. The number is 6566 0311. It's a family run business for 50 over years and amazingly they don't have a website. =S