"Guo Da Li (过大礼)" ??

how soon you conduct an chuang depends on whether the couple is staying in the new house / sleeping on the bed.

if the couple is not sleeping on the bed, then an chuang can take place anytime like one month before.

because the couple cannot sleep on the bed after an chuang, so if they are sleeping on the bed, then maybe need to take place a day before wedding.

rongrong

hi can anyone state down the exact location of the GDL shop in chinatown? chinatown very big, i'm in a tight rush to do my GDL things... i need to minimize my scope...

pinpong

Hi Veronica
got my stuff from d shop in Chinatown, here goes:
Tiao Xiang Department Store
No. 131 - 132 Outram Park
(Next to Outram Park MRT Station)
Tel: 62222572 ,62248848
It is d temp site.

There r no of shops in Chinatown selling GDL stuff, there r a few located at Hong Leong Complex too, but me dun hav d address.

Hope it will helps in some way...

sweetheavens

dunno... my parents nv asked for pinjin. my in-laws told my FH to give an angpow of $800 (and my parents to return a nominal amt back, on GDL which is coming sunday) æ„æ€ æ„æ€...

haywiregirl

unica, it really depends how much you can afford. My hubby prepared $8k in the ap. some will put $10k just to make it looks nice la, some parents will be very proud to marry your daughter, so show sincerity, they give high but if brides' parents didnt take much, also looks nice on them(for not selling their daughter)

cheekybee

Wah ladies...the pin jin market rates seem to be getting higher...hehe.

I have posted some pictures of my GDL last year...feel free to take a look!

http://myfortunekitty.com/?p=71

baabaa

anyone staying in west can go to jurong west market..

blk 506 if im nt wrong.. along e shophouses..

i went today to get ALL my GDL stuff.. apparently these folks appeared on tv n in newspapers before. And they're really very helpful and friendly. price wise i guess it's market price la.. bt it's their service and advise that's really gd.. =)

baabaa

oh n is canned pork trotters for ALL relatives who's receiving cakes too? or only direct family like my parents' siblings? need to gif to my grand folks' siblings???

hi sheep
i got part of my GDL stuffs there and some in malaysia.
the lady owner is not only famous for her knowledge in wedding business but for her bravery to fought over cancer.

the pig trotters should give to relatives i.e your parents siblings. grand folk siblings are too far fetch.

vivien_lim

pig trotters already no longer available. already ban in spore.. already not producing any more.

cactus 79 > i also hokkien bride..btw, u mention need to buy things for groom side parents and sibling?? i wanna know more details and also e g-d-l stuff... can mail me? thanks in advance.

simplejer

Can i check with u all huh...is it a norm for bride side parents to keep the whole pin jin and not return part of the pin jin??cos my mum say she will not return the pin jing and the GDL that the groom bought over...

is it a Must or Optional? Example when GDL, groom send all the pin jin n stuff tt my parents wants...my parents will not return anything to them..is it up to us or must tell my hubby family first?

than the groom side..but they got order extra cakes for themselve...

i blur here...can anyone enlighten mi?

honeybunny

hello simplejer, I have not done my GDL yet, but from what I understand, the norm is to keep some & return some...

I think if your parents intend to keep all the stuff, it is better to pre ampt your in laws first, at least they will not have the expectation that your parents will return some stuff.

simplejer

Hi Jiaple

My parents wan it to be very simple and basic..jus the cakes,long feng candles and pin jin and the 5tables...the rest they don wan le...they jus told me but i haven communicate to my in laws yet..

ok thanks...i will tell mt in laws again...hee

ebride

Yap indeed must keep & return some of the Pin Jin & other GDL stuff. Abit like 1-for-1 exchange haha.. Btw im using ang pow to replc the roast pig on my GDL.
Hey gals, nt forgetting theres another CH customary called ANN CHUAN also..gosh

PS me if u need any shops contact that sells GDL stuffs.

simplejer

Hi Jiaple

Thanks..but my hubby to be will be back onli a week b4 the wedding lo...i think when GDL his parents will come n give the items lo..no choice cos he overseas working lo..

i now alone doing all the stuff lo..hee..but its fun n stress too..

Cherly : can pm mi the link for GDL stuffs..Thanks..

jastea

Anybody here need recommandation for "Xi Bian"???

I know of an company who is giving discount like buy 5 get 1 free. Just receive an email from them. If needed, just email me and I forward the detail to you. [email protected]

happy_ting

hi any cantonese brides here?

I am totally clueless about this GDL thing. my hubby is hokkien. This GDL should follow cantonese tradition or Hokkien tradition then?

Is there anyone who skip this GDL thing? maybe just give an angbao to represent?

yar, you can use AP to solve everything provided both side parents ok.

for me, i am hakka but mother is cantonese so I follow cantonese custom.
ours very simple, my mum insist to have pig throtters as GDL item and roast pig deliver to us on AD.

vivien_lim

hi all, the "can pig trotters" already no longer in production since mar 08.
unless some store still have old stock. But i think by the time for our GDL,it should be all gone liao leh..
do u all know what should we use to replace it huh??

ebride

well $ is the most practical & dowry is also considered part of the GDL custom..as u mentioned GDL can be lechay if u follow the custom. Guess yr parents would nt mind also.

But I feel its better to communicate with yr parents 1st, better deciding whether 2 have GDL.

shilo

hi cheryl

my mum is alright. as for aunties, i dun really care even they tell me must do this or do that. im not a traditional person also. i think it is my wedding, i should decide. if $$ can solve and make it simple then is good. to me having a grand GDL is just a show, but important is the marriage ahead of my life...thanks for yr precious advice

ebride

u welcome ocean..well I agree with u. Its the marriage life that really matters. But yr aunts also meant well coz GDL also has some blessing purpose for marriage couples.

shilo

hi cheryl

well, we just want something simple and not so many things involed. moreover we both are christians so dun really believe in GDL.

btw., have u gotten the yr AD done? which hotel u chose??

vivien_lim

i think think think , dunno what to prepare for GDL.. then when my parents meet up with my in-laws to talk...
Both say simple simple can liao... End up, brides say no request for anything,
Just let the Groom side prepare and decide what they wanna bring over, then bride side just return an even amount.

ebride

I have come out with a checklist of GDL items (in which groom side has to give & bride has to return) after both parents metup. Bought nearly all the things..Abit KS althu my ann chuan+ GDL in Sept only. Coz I k foresee we be super busy with the invitation part when the date is nearer..gosh!!

shilo

hi cheryl

no i dun have multiply account

if my in law is angmo, i think i dun need GDL right? my mum is also v simple...think no need so much GDL

find it so stress to have all these....

ebride

Better check with yr mum..at least have sum bedside lamp or double joy stickers in yr bedroom..to have the newly wed ambience heheh :p
I just send u a private msg on a GDL website, so u can read for leisure.
Have a nice wkend..

shilo

hi Cheryl

thanks for the kind thought giving me the info. However after reading it, i decide to do none of it except tea ceremony. It is a real stress to go thru all these and moreover, i dun believe in these. i think since my husband to be is an angmo, he also wants to be simple and ultimately it is our wedding, not parents wedding.

i dun believe doing all these i will have a blessed marriage but if I do it, and if I miss any of it, i will feel more worst. So i would not even want to start, since I am a christian.

thank u for yr effort , i appreciate.
I think just give red packet is more practical and simple, right?

if i must do all these, then i rather dun get married.

vivien_lim

cheryl, can have have your multiply acct,would like to take a look at your list of GDL stuff.. my GDL also sep. Need to prepare all stuff liao.

ebride

Ocean: I didnt do anythin muz lah..glad u finally clear all yr doubts
yeah!!
Btw my cousin also christian but he also follw some of GDL stuffs..i guess its depds on individual's belief. Hey 2day its my ROM e-filling my FH just done with the efilling part. If nt, we becum illegal husband & wife bfe the banquet..haha

Vivien+ Melanine: welcome to the thread gals. I tried to send private messages to u gals but invalid. Why nt u PM me yr email address instd?

Vivien: R u Oct bride also? Have yr parents meet-up session yet?

ebride

Just to share with u all from my personal experience: I would strongly advise all BTBs to have both side's parents meetup 1st. This is to allow them to discuss about each others' expectations abt GDL. Beside these, this will create an opportunity for both parties to speak up their views & bring out issues like choosing the auspicious date, dowry, etc.
Not forgetting Ann Chuan also, it must be before GDL..U will realise theres quite a few preparation for all the stuffs. Have fun & u will be able to undstd more abt Chinese custom..cheers

shilo

hi Cheryl

thanks for advice. I think for my case, my mum in law will not be coming to SIN cos she is an european and due to leg problem cannot take long distane flight to attend wedding, so no need to discuss anything abt GDL and they dun know what is all those.

I also ask my friends today , whom they married 9 years ago and they are cantonese, they said they also didnt do anything and both side parents all ok.

so i decide will not do any GDL except give cash to mum.

is e filing easy?

vivien_lim

Cheryl, i thought the gdl is about 2-3 weeks before wedding, then an chuan is about few days before ad.
because after an chuan, the guy cannot sleep on e bed anymore. until the day of wedding.

ebride

Ocean: efilling is all online, my bf is the one doin it. Well it tells u straight away whether one application is successful a-nt. Mine is fixed liao..hurray!! Hw abt u?

Vivien: Not really. As for my case, An chuan 1st, follwed by ROM then GDL. All in the same mth..phew! Guy can sleep provided he sleep with tog with a little boy. As for bride, its nt advisable to sleep alone coz it may affect our health sumthin like that..