Grand Shanghai Restaurant

ingsq

fanny,
went down last sat to try out my orginal cd and result is satisfying. their player is at the side of the stage. to play safe, better use orginal lah....
u added how mani photos for the price of 2 to 3k?

flowerygal,
i have ask them. they dun provide flower petal for march-in. u gotta prepare it urself.

ingsq

witty-monkey,
glad all of u like the place. I find that the pork knuckles is quite unique for a wedding dish. we dun get to see or eat in wedding banquet.
u are so details. i will get sally to take note for me. thanks.

any gal find that their sound system is not that clear when talking using their mic?

witty_monkey

hi ingsq, i find it unique to have pork knuckles but parents dun like so bo bian, for me i'm ok 1, actually tat day i dun get to eat too.. hehe..

dun think their sound system not good la, think the singer talk too soft liao. yest we also trying to figure out wat they say using mic... need to get them speak louder... another thing to feedback too... =)

ingsq

hi witty-monkey,
haha~ i think food wise is up to individual preferance... i must eat their shark fin.... it taste really gd... hehee...
i already plan to get the staff to serve me in the changing room so that i get to eat after phtoto taking... hehee.. i scare i go out pple will force me n hubby to drink...haha...

the sound system is better in the toilet. I can hear wat the singer said when i was in the toilet but cnt hear wat she said when i'm in the hall. so i guess is the sound system problem.
pls correct me if i'm wrong.

witty_monkey

yes, i can hear clearly in toilet but not in the hall... haha... mayb is their sound system problem or mayb the hall is abit noisy wif ppl talking...

btw, how long you gng for your honeymoon ah? i planning for 3 weeks, but all my colleague say its so long... isn't it normal?

ingsq

witty-monkey,
my honeymood trip was cancelled due to not enought pple. so disappointing. I have postpone my honeymood to Jan. but is still upon confirmation... sian. i will be goin for a 9 days trip. 7 days hokkaido and 2 days tokyo.

where u plan to go?

stefanie20

witty monkey,
The pork knuckle is special but not yummie leh.. when I ate it for food tasting, it's very porky smell..hmm.. I took the egg white souffle with red bean & banana filling dessert. It was sooo good! I highly recommend! All my guests loved that dish coz very yummie and special!

Most wedding invites use gold string to tie. Lace string might not work with GS card. I thk double side tape will be less work then tying the string.

GS will recommend you to use the live band for at least 1 march-in. It's special to have live band as march-in song. But will depends on your selection of songs.

stefanie20

ingsq,
- the sound system is ok. I thk the singer talk too soft. When my emcee talk, very clear.
- GS staff very considerate. They help pack those food that me n hubby didnt get to eat in boxes for us to tabao back hotel room eat

ingsq

stefanie,
glad to hear tat. i gotta get my emcee to talk louder liao...

they also recommend me using their singer for our march. but i cnt think of any song for them to sing for us. as all thier song are oldies and we find it weird to march-in with tian mi mi... haha~ we have to take the risk that the cd may get jam half way. this do happen even when couple brought orginal cd...

witty_monkey

ingsq, huh... cancelled ah? very disappointed lay, i'm gng japan too.. but toward to the other part, i'm getting free n easy so my plan won't get affected like yours lor... tis year i join chan brother gng japan also cancelled due to not enough ppl so in the end we go free n easy also.. not difficult to navigate also.. more freedom..

Stefanie, i tot of getting the red bean & banana filling dessert 1, but my mum want dessert to b in soupy type lor... so we change... ok, mayb u r right, the lace may not work out nice... mayb i can use glue or double side tape.. as for the march in, think i will use live band for the two march in... save my trouble... i want hassle free... =)

flowerygal

Stefanie,
i was tinkin whether 2 hv pork knuckle too beco on my AD alredi got roasted pigmeat so pork knuckle will seemed abit too much for guests 2 eat. Is it possible 2 chng 2 roast duck instead? i tink fish also chng to red garoupa fish? I bought a white suit for my pageboy, at least color more unique than black. Actuali i also wan flowergal bt no suitable gal..

Ingsq,
If i prepare e rose petals myself, it is ok w GS tat i "litter" e plc? Did u chng any of ur dishes?
i m surprised tat ur trip is postponed..so u be spending xmas in sg then. Dun be too disappointed, perhaps u can throw a xmas eve party at ur hse?

flowerygal

Witty-monkey,
E invitation card looks better if tie gold strings beco gold is nice (classy). Abit of chore bt its only less than 200 cards so not so bad.
I jus got my photo album & all my photos in cdrom back. Abit disappointed coz sme pics nt so nice (PG chose for us). Nm lar, will print out those better pics and place em in another album for guests 2 view on my banquet nite. Are u looking forward 2 ur PS? Better sleep well e nite b4 beco PS is veri tiring.

witty_monkey

flowergal, for the invitation card, i will try 1 wif a string and 1 without string to see 1st... =)

Eh, i dun look forward lay, i got to pack up my luggage, pack tis n pack tat, do those wedding stuff in advance... go for aerobics classes... dun really have time to kan cheong PS... =)

btw, did you go GS to take your PS?

stefanie20

ingsq,
I know wat u mean..coz Shirley highly recommend us to do live band for march-in. But can't find a suitable song as well. "Tian-mi-mi" and "moon represent my heart" jus not us loh.. so in the end, did 2 march-in with CD songs. Jus be kiasu and brg afew CDs or incase 1 dun work, have another few backup! haha

witty monkey,
- u try out the invite card and see which is the best. I wont suggest glue coz always end up very messy.
- I think most of the GS brides took PS at GS. U must do your PS there! The pic turns out very good! and so special to be able to do PS at your AD venue

flowerygal,
- roast pork + pork knuckle? hmm.. might be abit too much pork.. roast duck? I think shd be can change but dunno mus pay extra or not. I can't rem wat species was my fish.. haha.. we never change much to the menu. Only pork knuckle to mala roast chicken and the egg white dish to scallop in yam ring. The rest no change.
- why your fotos are chosen by your PG and not by you? Yah.. u can print out sum and display on AD for your guests to see..

stefanie20

violet,
not all tables can see the stage clearly coz there are pillars. The layout at GS not very good coz it's not a ballroom. But the ambience makes up for it. Go down to GS and have a look

ingsq

hi witty monkey,
i'm with chan brothers too. Is really hard to believe that my trip is cancelled and this trip fall on christmas day. haiz... somemore i booked with them on their chan brother fair. so suai.
but my Jan trip is confirmed. extend 2 more day in tokyo. so not too bad as well.

flowerygal,
i change the fish and 1 of the item on the cold dish. shld be thatz all. nothing much... i didnt know the egg white scallop can change lei... cos i dun really like that 1. haha! but now shld be too late to chnage liao...

y ur photo is chosen by ur photographer? how come not chosen by you?

flowerygal

witty_monkey,
Nope, i dun go GS 2 take PS coz AD definitely i be takin alot of pics there..mi chose clarke quay & boat quay area for outdoor. U may consider GS coz e ambience is gd!
U go aerobics class alone or w frens? hw i wish i hv such motivation like u 2 go exercising..then i can slim dwn more.

flowerygal

stefanie,
hopefully can chng 2 duck meat w/o additional cost. Many ppl asked mi hw cme i din go 4 food-tasting bt i too stingy leh..dun wana fork out $$ 2 pay for foodtasting. Anyway, we also cant find time 2 go coz my MIL wrk at nite. She onli be free durin my AD.
For ur banquet did all of ur guests receive handmade cookies? Nice or nt? Any comments?

ingsq,
ur AD is drawing soooo near..when r u takin leave? U be e shining star tis wk liao! Any hen party 2 celebrate?
I wanted 2 select my own pics bt PG said i could trust him 2 do e selection coz easier 4 him 2 design my layout...haizz. nm lar, alredi too late. i juz went 2 photoshop 2 develop some of my other pics, tml can get liao. Shall compile em into another album..cheap n gd.

mrs_choy

ingsq,

so what should i bring for my rehersal? did u pass your guest list to shirley/sally? i only know need to bring the CD down.

Stephanie,

so did u get one of your jiemei to follow u when u are doing your march-in? then did ur jiemei open up your grown "train" before u march in? did GS prepare any food for u before the banquet or u eat bread in the room?

flowergal,

i like their black noodles, very shanghai style. never eat b4. i agree w ingsq their sharkfins beri nice, u should try that dish. share your beautiful pics with us here.

i did not choose the clothes for my mother-in-law, i got a evening grown from my BS for my mum. It was one of the perks offered by my BS. I choose additional 30 pieces of pics so have to top up another 2 to 3k.

witty_monkey

flowergal,

ya, me also think that during AD we will take alot of pix there... so mayb i choose botanical garden and sentosa for PS ba... i love scenery than building... oh, i sign up amore classes with my sis, but sometimes i go alone bcos she can't make it... =)

stefanie20

flowerygal,
u didn't go for food tasting? Then how did u decide on your menu? I didnt get to eat the cookie but heard from sum guests that it's quite yummie. Got almond or sumthing in the middle.

fanny,
- rehearsel: bring the march in CDS and your table sitting. No need give her guest list, jus need tell her how many tables and the numbering of the tables.
- no food b4 the banquet leh. Anyway, I think u will be too excited to eat.. hehe.. cannot eat! later will have tummy! haha..
- my 1st march in was from the car go into GS. So 1 jiemei helped with the train when i came out of the car. Besides that, I managed on my own.

ingsq

witty-monkey,
i love mos burger.. will try when i go there. thanks for ur recommendation. ^_^

flowerygal,
4 more days to my AD. i am quite excited now cos been waiting for this day to come... haha... yesterday i cnt sleep as my mind is too active over wedding stuff. but i dunno wat i'm thinking also... i think i will get crazy if this thing drag on... haha~

u shld choose with ur photographer and he must be there to guide u wat to choose... u with which BS? i think i asked b4 but forgot wat is the name liao... how much u spend for another album? cn share ur layout with us?

fanny,
u topped up so much for onli 30 photos? did u get dicount from them? is around 100 per photo lei.... x....

stefanie20

witty monkey,
no problem
Glad that I can help.. and hope u all dun think I am kaypoh.. hehe.. That time b4 my AD, i got so many questions but no1 to help answer me so I am just happy that I can be here to help out in watever way I can

ingsq,
4 days more!? wahhh... Relax and have fun!

witty_monkey

hi stefanie, no la no la, no kaypo... haha... btw, i'm working in 3M, u noe la, hooks from 3M very ex... if u all wan me to get for new hse and the quantity is alot then i can get for u all also.. cos got staff discount ma.. =) juz wanna help u all save some $..

ingsq

hi stefanie,
we appreciate ur help. at least we dun feel so lost. thanks

finally is coming and this sat will be my big day. ^_^ i find it hard to relax now...

witty_monkey

ingsq, i suggest u go for a spa treatment or at least a massage to loosen up ur tense... you can really relax when sleep at nite... =)

flowerygal

Fanny,
hw cme u paid so much for onli additional 30pixs? guess its abit too late 2 bargain bt as long it turned out ok. i topup $1.8k for additional 40pixs in 15R album (total abt 70pics in 30pgs album) n get bac all e soft copies. btw, hw many jiemeis u will hv? Its ur turn next wk liao..xmas mood for evryone!

Stefanie,
Actuali i m takin a risk by nt hvin foodtasting. i roughly guess whether e menu nice or nt. Example: Soonhock fish nt quite gd so MIL asked mi 2 chng. Tks 4 so much advice 2 us..if nt we be so lost n blur, duno wat 2 expect. Did u hv any guests las min tell u tat they cant attend ur dinner?

Ingsq,
Its countdwn to juz abt a few days closer liao, guess ur heart is beating slightly faster than evr. Mine is next mth bt these days i stayed up til 12am coz time seemed limited for preparations. When r u goin bac 2 ur parents plc? My BS is Popular Studio..my PG insisted tat he wana chose 4 mi so i let him. i went to photoshop to develop selected pics(4R - 30cents ea) fr my 500+ shoots and 2dy after collection i quickly bought an adhesive album to place my pics in it. Quite satisfying. Less than $50.

Witty_monkey,
Gd idea 2 go botanical garden coz scenery reali nice. U be wearing Kua rite?
I din wear Kua for PS so duno hw do i look if i wear, nw i cant imagine. Ur gowns selection is OTR or MTM?
btw, hv u ROMed?

mrs_choy

flowergal,

i have 4 jiemeis, one of them is my younger sister cum the emcee for the night. Hai~ nobody wants to be the emcee. My hubby has 2 xiong di only. i provide the dress and the wrist crosages for the jiemei. Will be using poppies for my wedding bouquet, hope that this is the season for the poppies or i have to use roses liao.

stephanie,

so they waiters packed the food for u and ur hubby after the dinner? by the time, so hungry already!

witty_monkey

Hi flowerygal, i have ROM in Oct 2005 bcos we bought a house... =) actually we tot of honeymoon wedding but my mum need us to customary and have wedding dinner... so bo bian.. i will not b wearing kua although i'm a cantonese... think i will wear tea dress lor... dun really like kua lor... my gown will be MTM, now searching magazine for gown to let my BS see... =)

stefanie20

witty monkey,
Thanks for the kind offer for the 3M hooks. Will keep u in mind

ingsq,
It was very strange. Days b4 my AD, i was very relax. My frens say I was the most bochap and relax bride they know.. haha.. but I got nervous only the night b4. Can't sleep at my mum hse, kept tossing n turning.. hehe..

flowerygal,
- Overall, the menu is good so you dun have to worry. It's just personal taste and preferences. And also mus see if the parents are particular or not.. If not, no big problem

- All my frens turned up, no1 called last minute to cancel BUT had 1 friend, super blur! coz she mix-up the date! ahah.. after 1st march-in, I no see her then got feeling she forgot coz she die die will come, so called her and true enuff! She mix up the date! ahhaha.. so sotongz! She was so paiseh.. but nbermind lah.. old frens so I know she didnt mean it

- I had 4 jiemeis then hubby had 5 brothers. I provided all the corsages but clothes supplied by themselves, they helped me save alot of money

fanny,
GS packed food for me n hubby to tabao back hotel eat. By the time went back room oredy 12plus.. ate abit then headed for zouk! haha..

ingsq

flowerygal,
i started to get tenese up after i collected my gowns. me goin for a massage on tomorrow to relax myself. hope it will help. but i dun think cn sleep as mani relatives coming over to my mum place to stay over until wedding day.
i will be goin back to my parents plae today. hope cn get some sleep when i'm home. haha~

i have 6 jie mei and hubby has 8 xiong di. so big gang hor... haha... i nego with my BS to provide teadresses for my jiemei so help them to save $$... and i make hand corsages for them as well. save cost... haha~

u mean u will bring all 4R photos for ur guests to see? i'm tinking whether to bring mine there...

stefanie,
ur fren really blur. i better send sms to remind my frens... haha~
my frens also said i bo chap... cos when they ask me whether i am busy preparing wedding not. my reply to them is nothing much to prepared... haha~ i am still working now n will onli take 1 day leave b4 my AD.
but since tue, i am getting more n more tense up... even my hubby said i crazy... worry for nothing... haha~

stefanie20

flowerygal,
nice pix! Thanks for sharing!

But, I wonder why your PG no choose variety of fotos for your album.. there are many nice fotos that he never choose. The fotos he chose, all look abt the same.. But nbermind coz u will brg the 4R fotos to GS to show also

ingsq,
hey! my reply to fren also the same! "nuthing much to prepare" .. haha.. how many marriage leave u have? I had 3 days then i took 2 days b4 and 1 day after the AD

flowerygal

Fanny,
Luckily ur sis is willing 2 be emcee. Las time my fren's wedding cldnt find ppl thus asked mi 2 be emcee n i agreed. Nt tat tough coz luckily she din expect mi 2 do any entertainment. Juz read straight fr e emcee speech. Wow, poppies r nice! Roses too common, maybe u try 2 negotiate smethin unique. Do show us ur AD pics after ur wedding hor.

Witty-monkey,
hw i wish i can be like u...coz i dun like kua too. Initially i alredi chose teadress liao bt kena criticised by alot of ppl sayin hw cme i din chose kua coz next time no chance 2 wear liao. i suggest u 2 buy australia or usa bridal magazines since e concepts all cme fr there.

flowerygal

Stefanie,
u r so lucky tat all ur frens able 2 turn up, luckily u called ur blur fren or else she will miss ur wedding completely. Ur AD u had 2 albums to show ur guests also rite? Did u get any feedback which album is best? Ya..my PG reali jialat..hate him bt no choice. Most imptly is he was able 2 finish my album in time or else i strangle him. U onli took 1 day marriage leave after AD n went bac 2 wrk? Dun u feel reluctant 2 go bac....heee.
Since my wedding is splitting into 2 days, i got longer wedding mood. Nt too gd coz its 1 wk in between, and extra costs incurred. i be takin few days annual leave b4 AD then 5days wedding leave after AD.

Ingsq,
Where r u goin 4 massaging? i tink i also shd arrange appmt too! at least wun be so nervous. U got 6 jiemeis n ur BS can provide teadresses for em? Got extra costs? Well, i only select 80 4R best pics fr my softcopies to place in adhesive album. i tink u shd also do e same so tat ur guests wun fight for onli 1 album 2 view. So tml u wun get 2 see ur Laogong til he cme n fetch u on Sat? My hse reno still seemed 2 be 70% done up...duno can finish in time b4 wedding. i asked my cousin 2 buy fruit tarts fr msia for GDL..RM15.

mrs_choy

flowergal,

sure will show u all the pics after my wedding. i let go my wedding photographer whom is included in my package and pay for another photographer to take AD photos for me. Issit very foolish? I have to pay $700 for his service, by the way he is my ex-boss.

So if u like my photos, maybe u would like to ask him to take for u all.

ingsq,

hope you enjoy your massage!!! Remember to request for a couple room to enjoy massage w ur hubby. Have u purchase your red wines?

stephanie

did GS provide a stand to put your wedding photo? Now then i realise that we have to bring our the big photo to put there. I think i am not bringing that 1. I juz bring the album will do.

stefanie20

flowerygal,
wear kua is nice
I wore kua for my tea ceremony and it's very nice. But do find one that is more fitting then it will be nice.

Yup. I had the Spore album & Taiwan album. Most pple like the Taiwan album coz of the scenery and the style was more natural & lively. The Spore album was more posey. 2 totally diff styles, 2 diff looks

My AD was a Saturday so I took thur/fri off then I took monday off. So technically, I had 2 days off after AD... hhee.. But I ROM 4 yrs ago liao so no diff lah.. moreover, my fren flew down to Spore for my wedding so had to bring her ard on Sun/Mon..

most of your relatives will see the albums at ur mum house liao! the rest will see at GS. Good to have few albums to see.. no need fight.. hehe... but sum pple will brg whole album back to their table to see!

stefanie20

fanny,
why did u let go of the photographer in ur pacakge? Did u get any $ back?

My wedding foto came in a table frame so I never ask GS for any stand. The albums will be placed on the round table on the left side when u enter GS. Got a big vase on the table..

jinglebel

Hi Stefanie

I was also thinking of getting sth oriental as my EG. My BS does not have cheongsam so the best would be an oriental one. I would assume the PS to be taken at GS would be best with sth oriental right? What is CS?

stefanie20

hi jinglebel,
a more oriental EG will suit GS very well

CS - cheongsum
Is your EG a MTM or OTR? is MTM then can make sumthing more oriental.

437049.gif

flowerygal

Stefanie,
Wow, ur EG so sexy! gorgeous. Ur wedding seemed so perfect. Cant wait 2 see ur AD pics. So after e wedding, any diff in ur marriage life or nt? 4 mi, i still cant visualise hw my future will be. To move into a completely new estate n live independently? Hope can adjust well. i hate loneliness. During ur AD customary ceremony, did u bring ur album fr home to both PIL & parents' house? 2dy GS called mi 2 ask for hubby n my name for booking of bridal suite.

Fanny,
Did ur BS refund u $$ for excluding e AD photography? Too bad i alredi booked my PG early or else maybe can consider ur exboss. i tink nwadays ppl dun bring the big photo frame liao 2 banquet venue...juz e album will do. btw, do all of u wear ur engagement diamond ring evryday or only during certain functions?

jinglebel

Your EG is special! I have the option to MTM either EG or WG. If i cannot find anything suitable i will MTM. My gown selection will be after CNY. Can't wait for that day to come...

stefanie20

flowerygal,
- The EG is not very sexy lah.. the silver gown i wore for my PS was even more sexy! Low neckline and low back! Don't worry.. ur wedding will be just as perfect too!

- I saw sum of the AD fotos oredy, very nice! My fren was leaving for overseas job so my PG rushed out a VCD for us to view first. Shd be getting all the AD fotos next week..
- I ROM 4 yrs ago so been staying with hubby in own hse for 4 yrs already. Frankly, not much diff after wedding.. good to have ur own hse with hubby but have to do hsework.. hehe.. sumtimes very xianz loh.. laundry.. dishes.. mopping.. wkends all dedicated to hsework

- I brought my albums to my mum hse. All the relatives there coz got buffet luncheon after the tea ceremony. Then brg everything to hotel after that, straight from mum hse.
- i only wear the diamond ring on special occasions. I wear my wedding ring on my chain necklace everyday.
- the hotel suite is not bad
enjoy!

stefanie20

jinglebel,
which BS are u with? I think try take OTR. Unless really cannot find wat u like then MTM. Use the $ saved to top-up more fotos, more worth
coz the gown.. esp WG, all look the same

mrs_choy

flowergal and stephanie,

The BS never refund anything as this is one of the free perks stated in the contract. I only need to pay the roll of film ($40 per roll) when i engage their service, sumore not digital.

2 bad i dun have any marriage leave, so die die muz get the 3 mths maternity leave. my marriage leave is 14 workings days (free from my company), no need to fork out from our own annual leave.

jinglebel

stefanie,

My BS is Fame Bridal. I dun think they will use it for top up of photos. But of cos i will first try to get OTR ones too. will try to negotiate for more photos if i take both OTR.

flowerygal

Stefanie,
Wah, tot ur EG alredi quite stunning alredi..veri unique. hw i wish i hv chosen ur BS! i went 2 chose another EG yest n gosh, it was hard beco sme reali nice bt nt suitable for mi. In e end i decided 2 chose dark blue EG. Not much choices. Actuali it was a mistake 2 use tis BS.
Did ur inlaws get 2 see ur albums?
U did all e chores urself? Din hubby help out in other areas? My hubby veri untidy person, always hv 2 clean up after him. He's lazy.
So u onli wear diamond ring once in awhile then, bt i heard sme ppl wear evryday, nt sure whether advisable?

Fanny,
Guess e AD photography by BS is nt reali a gd deal then. Its better u outsource.
I dun quite understand, so u hv 14days of marriage leave??? Tats alot leh!!!!! u muz make full use of tis benefit.
So hws preparation for big day?