Grand Shanghai Restaurant

fanny,
So far, ur MIL din reveal e total angpows collected? It seems like the dessert is e highlight of e dinner so I muz reali try it too! Hw cme GS din reserve e food for u? Did u bring hard liquor for guests? My PIL insisted hard liquor for his frens n wan us 2 buy. Walau, i dun care, coz its costly.

ingsq,
I tink i will bun up my hair in e morning too since i be walking ard alot. Dun wana sweat too much. Bt nwadays, my frens chose to let dwn their hair n said more trendy. Btw, did u go 2 e JW shop 2 buy ur jiazhuang? I heard tat Beautyworld is much better?

stefanie,
due 2 e taiwan earthquake thus cant access ur AD pics links...hopefully e internet connection will resume soon.

btw, r e invitation cards given by GS adequate for ur guests? For me nt enu....can i request fr GS for more?

hi everyone.. i'm new to the thread, having my dinner at Grand Shanghai in Jan 07... very happy to know everyone's excited about their prep work and to hear positive comments about the venue..

just had food tasting (so full now...), and I must say the food is very good! just be weary of the portion, all my family members were full after 4-5 dishes, so we replaced a couple of dishes to lighter ones.. I would say food tasting is a good and worthwhile experience ^^ but personal choice really!

i'm stil trying to figure out how to put up a photo slide show in GS... i'll call Shirley to see if they have the facilities..

all the best to everyone for their prep!!

Stephanie, I checked out your slideshow at GS.. it's very nice and reassuring to know your guests had a good time! I can't wait for mine to come (and be over).. hee hee...

fanny,
who paid for the dinner? why the MIL keep the angpow? hmm.. GS no pack the food u missed for u to bring home?

flowerygal,
- I have leftover GS invites. U chk with GS if they can spare you? If not, i can pass u my leftovers.. how many u need?
- most pple bun up hair for the day, easier to move ard and hair wont messy.. then have hair down for the night coz more elegant. I had hair up for both day & night coz I my hair not long enuff.. haha..

yippie,
You will have a wonderful AD at GS!

From wat i know, GS dun have the slide show facilities. You can rent projector n show your slide show. But I feel the layout of GS makes it hard to do slide show.

hi stefanie, yah... i think the slide show is hard to do.. there doesn't seem like a good place to do it unless we block the stage with a make-shift projector screen... hee.. will need to rethink on that..

Hi Yippie..welcome here...ya i dun think there's suitable place for the slide show. Cos of the layout some guests might not see it. So far my friends' wedding i attended at GS do not have slide show.

Overall I guess GS food is very good cos i been to 2 weddings there and their service is very consistent.

THe package they offered is 20L of beer. I hope can try to negotiate for 30L.

Hi Flowergal, thanks for the advice... ya i gueses weather is important for outdoor wedding..have consider ROschester too but too exp..secret garden too small leh..

So defintely GS is the best hee hee...i think i might not go for the food tasting same like u. cos been there to eat before and food is def. good. can save money hee hee cos not cheap to have food tasting too

I just hope i can hit the min. 20 tables for GS.

stephanie,

my in-laws paid for the banquet so she keeps her side. I dare not ask the amount, scared that she thinks that i am money-minded.

GS only pack the empty table's food for us which is 10 pax share.

Hi Yippie,
Welcme..glad tat theres another Jan 07 bride here. When's ur AD? My dinner is 13Jan. I m glad tat u said e dishes GS served u are quite filling, which means tat e guests wun complain. Care 2 share ur PS pics w all of us here?

Hi ice cosy,
Ya, sme nice plcs like Rochester or Indochine can be so exp bt unless reali rich, its a gd plc 2 chill out yet hv a nice westernised wedding if alot of ur guests r very westernised. For old folks its definitely a no no. Have u ROMed?

Hi fanny,
My MIL also be payin 4 e banquet bt i will simply repay her e amt tat we owe her. We shd be e one counting all e angpows we be receiving n keep e excess $$. Imagine u dun even noe hw much ur best fren gave u?? Moreovr u shd keep track hw much ur guests gave u so tat next time u noe hw much 2 "repay".

Hi stefanie,
i reali in need of cards as many as possible. At least 10? i try 2 negotiate w shirley next wk 1st. Tks 4 ur offer...tats nice of u. So did u ever keep long hair b4? Actuali i always switch between long n short hair, bt beco of wedding i keep hair long.

Hi Stefanie,

Thanks for sharing your nice AD pics. U both look great and guess your guests and u had fun at GS.

Hi Yippie and ice cosy,

welcome to GS thread! U gals can always talk to Sally regards to beer and wine corkage waiver. GS is quite flexible. I got mine waive and beer upgrade to 30L coz I have more than 23 tables.

Hi Evon

Any idea wats Sally's designation? Is it better to talk to her or Shirley (res. manager)?

Hi Flowergal - yap, i had ROM at Marina Country CLub (its outdoor facing the jetty and yachts). So i tot since i already had an outdoor ROM maybe i will go ahead with GS instead

I'm targeting September 2007 for the AD.
Any idea the Hotel room given in the wedding package is a suite or normal room? DO we need to upgrade it to a suite and how much?

And Happy New Year to all!!!

Hi all, Im new to this thread. Also a GS bride! Just booked the venue for next Nov...so excited. Worked with Sally - she's the assistant mgr. Very gd service! Prefer her over Shirley...spoke to Shirley once and she was like in a hurry. Came across as quite rude.

Hi Elis

Nice to meet u here too! Glad that we are sharing info here

wonder if its ok to talk with Sally now cos i actually book my date with Shirley. Had not put down deposit yet.

Had u placed deposit already? GS told me that i need to place the deposit before signing confirmation. but then how could we negotiate further if deposit already place? or we want to change certain things in the contract?

Any idea that negotation still possible after placing deposit?

fanny,
if ur MIL paid for the dinner, then u dun nd think abt the ang pow lah.. so good.. no need worry if break-even or not.. hehe.. u have 1 extra table arh? so tabao the food home? Mine no extra table unopened.. they tabao my hubby and my share of food that we missed during the night.

flowerygal,
10 invites? sure! can spare u. How shd i pass it to you? I used to keep long hair then cut short then long again. But eversince I know my hubby, alwasy short hair coz he like me in short hair. I kept it slightly longer for the wedding but stil short.. haha.. coz i started real late.. makeup artist was scolding me after i cut hair 6mths b4 wedding! ahha..

ice cosy,
i thk they will give suite. We all got suite from hotel. I thk better to nego b4 placing deposit,more bargaining power. But i thk their freebies quite standard so cant bargain for things out of their range.

ice cosy,
the food is yummy!
can change dishes after food tasting.. i changed 2 of the dishes also.. u can discuss with Shirely/Sally and they will suggest wat to replace with.

Hi ice cosy,
I've alrdy placed my deposit. I went down to meet Sally twice. 1st time we just talked abt what I can change and what I cannot...then I negotiate there. She will note the changes down on the paper. Then 2nd time I brought the paper down to remind her so when I placed the deposit, she transferred the information on the paper to the contract (eg. waived corkage for wine) then we signed. Can change dishes during food tasting. Sally is very flexible. Food is definitely better than what you get in most hotels. Very good. And I like that their staff are full-timers so you won't have temp staff who dunno how to serve properly.

Stefanie,
Wow, ur AD pics r nice..especially e section on ur banquet at GS! I m gettin excited for my wedding liao...duno hw it will turn out. Ur laogong looked so handsme in his white suit. I luv ur WG n EG so much, gd taste. Actuali even w short hair, u looked great coz nt many ppl can look nice w short hair. More lively...had a fren who had short hair for her wedding too, suited her style.

ice cosy,
Since u had a westernised outdoor ROM alredi, then all e more u shd chose GS for wedding banquet. Durin e day u go dwn 2 GS 2 plc deposit, try 2 negotiate as much as possible then sign e contract. Ask for dry-ice (if u wan)...increase beer quantity..e rest of e package quite standard liao.

Gals, btw, i heard tat both Shirley & Sally r formerly fr Goodwood Park hotel's Min Jiang. My MIL's manager noe em. Duno true or nt

hi flowergal,

i do keep the angpows from my own relative's side and my own friends. My MIL only keeps her relative's side. I keep track of my colleagues and friends so that i can "repay" the same amt back. Do u still need the GS invitation cards, i have a lot, can give out to anyone who needs it.

Stephanie

GS never pack my hubby and my share, only pack the empty table's food.

Hi stefanie,
ur AD photos looks veri ncie... thanks for sharing.

hi flowerygal,
i went to jurong west shop to buy my jiazhuan. is cheaper than wat beauty world is selling. if u wan invitaion cards, i have leftover as well. can get from me also.

hi evon,
The jiazhuan shop is called Cheok Keuw Company at Blk 506 Jurong West St. 52 #01-180 Tel: 65660311. They open after 11am and smetimes they dun open on certain days. Better give em a call b4 u decide to go dwn.

hi fanny & ingsq,
hw many cards did GS give u? They only gave mi 140pcs. Tks 4 e offer, will try 2 request fr GS on wed. Actuali most of my guests r individuals tats y we dun hv enu? We dun hv alot of relatives.

I managed 2 get e original cd fr my brother. The march-in song i chosen is Elysia - Celtic music (irish). Unique coz e music is those type of fantasy feel. Example: Harry Potter/lord of e ring.

hi flowergal,

We didnt count the cards, we only went back to GS to get extra envelopes. Some of my bosses commented that the place looks like a nightclub.

hi fanny,
Indeed e plc is designed to look like the old shanghai tang (nightclub). Previously i heard it was called Ye Shanghai bt new management changed the name to Grand Shanghai.

My FH dun like the 'ang bao' kind of packaging for the cookies GS gives as favours. We were wondering if GS can repack the cookies into our own favour boxes? Anyone done this before?

Happy New Year to all!

Hi Elis..wow u already placed ur deposit..thats fast..i think i better act fast then...thanks....

Hi Flowergal, you mentioned dry ice for entrance? GS provided that? I suppose it comes with extra costs?

elis.. i think its might be easier to buy another favour for the guests? cos my friend's wedding got 2 favours. One is the cookies and they got another one themselves.
but u could check with GS to see which method wil be cheaper i suppose.

hi elis

i think GS wont change the packaging for the almond cookies, its quite oriental. For me, i DIY some coasters for my colleagues and friends.

hi flowergal, wow your actual day is so soon!!! all the best and enjoy yourself!! mine's on 21 Jan..
I didn't do a photoshoot, so i'm banking the actual day pictures turn out well.. hee hee

ice cosy.. yup you could change the menu most definitely! I made quite a lot of changes, seems they are very accomodating.. there could be some adjustments in prices depending on what changes i guess... but go ahead and do it if you have some strong preferences! I liase with Shirley and she has been very versatile on the menu. I even have some dishes not on their food menu. all the best

Happy new year everyone... ^_^

hi evon... yup we managed to get wine corkage waiver... but the ironical thing is we could be serving the restaurant's housepour.. should have negotiated for more beer instead...hahaha...

hi everyone...

in case you need to rent a "kua", i think this shop in Peopls's Park Centre has a few traditional ones at a quite a reasonable price (in my opinion, though i haven't scouted ard to compare prices). I rented mine for 180 dollars, for 1 day/night... it's Venus Gown, 02-80. 65333319. It is very small shop renting out gowns for singers... ^^

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

flowerygal,
the WG was so mafun to walk.. ahha.. I prefer if I did my march-in in the short gown.. coz sum pple late then no see me mingling in short gown.. many pple ask me why I no leave long hair for wedding..er.. wedding mus long hair meh? I thk short hair suits me..
when is ur AD? everything done?

thanks...will call Sally and ask if can change the box.

icecosy:
not fast alrdy. thot i was kiasu for booking a year ahead but almost cldnt get my date which is in nov 07! sally showed me her schedule and they alrdy have bookings for feb 08!!!

Yuppie,

that's good. In fact GS is quite flexible. Well, how many tables do u hv? If u hv more, think u can request for more beer.

hi Evon..

i signed the contract for 20 tables (the minimum to get the place booked)... but i don't think i can fill all, prob only 18 tables

i think even if there is more beer, we won't be able to finish it! hee hee..

hi yippie

me too dun know can hit the 20 tables or not. cos seems only can hit 18. not to forget not all may turn up haha... hope wont be too empty..
at least GS seems cosy with the sofa ..so at least if not all tables filled...wont look so bad.
my AD on sept 07...only tentative book first haha

Hi Stefanie,
I've got very positive comments about them. Cos I'm the type that can't stand those super hardsell BS.We just feel very comfortable with them .However if you want those pkg that comes with car. Then ,it will not be a good choice cos their package comes without it.They also do mostly OTR. Their service is overall very good except that they are not very flexible for PS, eg. if raining, and you wan to postpone the outdoor PS to another day, you will hav to pay extra $.

hi ice-cosy,
i tried 2 ask for dry-ice bt cldnt get it. Nm lor. Jus march-in in e dim light w e music tat we chosen. At least ppl can see me more clearly w/o e ice-smoke..since i m e highlight of e nite.(heehe)

hi yippie,
Ya, my banquet finally arriving tis sat..my customary ceremony was las sun and so glad tat e weather was sooo gd! God has been blessing us w gd weather and even e sighting of shooting star. Was worried tat it will rain. Bt was tiring coz many nights din sleep enu beco of hse reno. U better nw try prepare as much as possible for ur wedding, no las min like mine. Clean up ur hse and sleep enu. Drink mre chicken of essence.

hi stefanie,
My BS is Popular bridal studio..nt Precious moments. I tink i will be quite energetic on my banquet day coz i can get enu rest (can wake up very late and go straight to hotel to check-in). i agreed tat e WG is difficult to walk ard coz las sun i had a hard time walking in my WG. Surprisingly i wasnt nervous on tat day. Ppl asked hw cme i seemed so relax. I nt sure too.

hi lizzy,
hw much was ur BS pkg n consist of? My pkg is $2688.

First of all, Happy 2007!

I've jus signed up with GS for my banquet in Oct 07. Hope to get more tips frm u during the preparations!

Cheers, Colynn

flowerygal,
Congrats!! Hope u have lots of fun tomorrow at GS for your dinner!

No need dry ice lah.. GS very nice oredy.. jus walk carefully in your WG.. rem walk slower!

Hi flowergal, congrats... enjoy ur dinner tomolo, remember to update us here...

Hi Colynn, mine is also in Oct'07, we can exchange ideas liao... when is your AD? mine is on 27 Oct... =)

hi evon, stefanie, witty monkey,
tks, hopefully e rain will stop tml. i hope 2 take outdoor pics at e hotel. Shirley hvent tell me where 2 walk when i march-in.

Its late nw and i jus finished planning my guestlist.