Grand Shanghai Restaurant

bluesand

Calling all ex-Grand Shanghai Restaurant brides !!!

Can you all please share your experiance holding wedding banquet at Grand Shanghai ?

I was about to sign up with them but was quite concern about some other peoples' comments about the lousy service and food so so etc....

I personally like the ambience very much and since cost per table after tax is even higher than some hotels, I want to make sure my money was well spend not only on ambience but the food too....

Please spare your thought !

jacko_wacko

Hi Bluesand,
i'm not an ex-GS bride but my dinner is on mid Nov. i haven't heard any bad reviews about GS and when i was there to eat, the svc i got was very good.
like you, i like the ambience and the whole layout and decor of the place.well, it's your wedding and your call, go to a place you'll like and never forget. plus, it's different from other ballrooms!

bluesand

Yes,Jacqueline...I will rate the ambience 10 out of 10, food wise, can't comment yet cos have not eat there before. The only worry that I have is that people might give smaller "ang pow" thinking it as another ordinary restaurant ! Do you worry abt this too?

I do see the certificate stating Grand Shanghai as one of the Best Restorant 2004 at the table near entrance so wonder why people critisize their food and service a lot over the "Ye Shanghai" thread .

The restorant manager, Sherly told me that they just engage new florist for wedding decor, so all table will have flower centre pierce unlike before only VIP table have. And they will have 4 flower stand at the entrance and flower at reception table too. I guess nothing much have to done up since this place itself alr look so interesting with the chinese oriental decor.

MAy I know if you manage toget extra perk from them other than the standard perks ? Since we are almost paying (or more) than hotel price, I would like to see if they can throw in more perks

bluesand

I am about to sign up with them, but will go down to Park Royal hotel at beach road this week to see their ballroom before I pay deposit at Grand Shanghai.

My first choice was Trader hotel but my AD is super hot date so most hotel are alr fully booked ! Then me n hubby try to look for restaurant and Grand Shanghai was the first one we see and we like it.

Wonder how other restaurants eg 88 restaurant look like as compare to this ?

bluesand

Dear Jac,

Regarding your question : "anyone hold their wedding dinner at Grand Shanghai? me having prob with choosing the walk in song and whether the rest. has projector and screen that sought of thing to show my video. any ideas?" at another thread...

Me thinking to choose a walk in song which is more cheena one... cos suit the atmosphere of the place, will probably get the live band to do it insteed play from CD...

I also have concern over the projector... where did you rent it from ? People did comment that their sound system very laosy... have you test it before ?

jacko_wacko

Hi Bluesand,
i so totally agree with you on the hong pao part and i really, we are paying hotel ballroom price. never mind lah, at least i'll make my IL happy and the place is nicer than a hotel's.
i've ate there b4 and the food is really not bad. last time, it was called Ye Shanghai and it was really bad. they just changed management and changed the name to Grand Shanghai so you don't worry lah. that's what the manager told me. they got such a bad reputation last time that they changed management.
i managed to neg a food tasting session above what was offered so you may want to try that

roo

hi bluesand

Im shopping for restaurants to host my banquet. Ye Shanghai definitely stands out with its decor.
Will like to hear about your pkg if you are comfortable with sharing. Pls contact via private msg. Cheers!

bluesand

Here I list down Grand Shanghai package for reference :-

1. 9 course chinese dinner menu
2. Invitation cards based on 70% confirmed attendance
3. Free Guest Signature book
4. Free flow soft drinks and chinese tea till 11pm
5. Complimentary 1 barrel beer (20L)
6. Waive cockage charge for duty paid hard liquor
7. Waive cockage charge for wine (up to 30 btls)
8. 3 tier dummy wedding cake
9. Champagne fountain with 1 complimentary btl of champagne
10. Fresh floral arrangement: centre pierce for all table and fresh flower aisle stands for march in
11. VIP parking lot for bridal car
12. complimentary parking for 20% of guaranteed number of guest (can be increase if not enough)
13. one night stay at deluxeroom with fruit basket and american breakfast at Grant Copthone Waterfront
14. Min 20 tables and max 25 table (restaurant willb eclose forwedding function only)
15. pre-dinner cocktail at riverside
16. 2 choice of menu :- 588+++ or 688+++
17. 50% discount for food testing up to 6 person only

As mentioned earlier,if compare this with other restaurant, Grand Shanghai's package is more expensive and other restaurants throw in more perks (eg: free flow of beer, free food testing for 10 persons and more night stay and bridal suite)

Good thing about Grand Shanghai is the ambient really grand and different, also can used the place for photo shot (otherwise have to pay SGD200), big changing room, 3 storey basement carpark only cater for restaurant itself, therefore parking for guest is definately not a problem.

I think that's all I can remembered. I have not go down to put deposit yet as I was not in town due to work commitment. I will go with Grand Shanghai since I have not much choice (due to hot date)and also likes the ambience, but before that i would like to know from ex or current or going to be Grand Shangai bride any other perks you manage to negotiade with them a part from the standard package.

bluesand

Oops ! almost forgot the most important thing, there will be a live band performing through out the whole wedding (singing jazz and chinese song and few english song)

This is their selling point too !

princess_wong

PW to Bluesand,

Have u went down to see how the set up being decor on the wedding dinner? I went there last sat, cos there is a wed dinner on that nite. The design that the couple chose is rather simple.

What impress me most is the Live band. The singer voice is as good as the CD version. = u can either march in w the Ye Shanghai tune....hee hee

>>Invitation cards based on 70% confirmed attendance.

FYI, they only gave us a blank card n we need to print it ourself. = extra cost incurred

roo

roo to PW

I think its standard for restaurants/hotels to give *blank* wedding invites & for the couple to print the insets themselves or have the invites *hot-stamped*. There is a recommendation somewhere in the forum for inset printing @ AMK, ~$90 for 230pcs. I dont have it with me, but if you're keen, I'll find it in my pc & post it for you.

roo

Thanks Bluesand....
for graciously sharing your package. Did you strike the above package before signing any contract & had time to consider it? I am worried that if I start talking about a package, then I might be compelled to sign on the dotted line on the very day?

I visited GS on a normal day & a wedding day. I love the place even without any wedding decor! Im in love with GS!
However like you & Jac, I'm biting my nails out over the potential run-away costs because, although a restaurant, GS is charging hotel rates. Nonetheless I think I will push ahead for this once-in-a-lifetime event

roo

Sorry to bother u again, Bluesand.
I just realized your package is fantastic! I'll just highlight the differences between yours & what was offered to me...

7. $15 cockage charge for wine
10. Fresh floral arrangement: centre pierce for 2 VIPS tables ONLY

NO mention of these....
15. A pre-dinner cocktail at riverside
17. 50% discount for food testing up to 6 person only

Actually I feel a little dumb now, I could have signed on the package without realizing that the restaurant can do so much more! Can you share how you worked your magic in securing the extra items off their standard package?

Btw when is your AD? I am looking at June 2005

And Jac, best of luck on your AD. Hoping to hear from you on your GS experience.

Goodnight ladies

bluesand

Dear Roo,

I have not discuss things in details yet.

My first visit to GS, Sherly sat me down on a table and show me through the package just like what I have listed above. Soem of the thing is not standard and she just add it in while she explain to me.... didn't ask for thing from her though. Did she explain everything to you? the flower centre pierce is new because they just change the florist... think it is standard for all package now...

We went back to GS for 2nd viewing with PIL (to make sure that they like the place as we does) and the 3rd time is to see the wedding decor. I was there 1 week earlier than Princess for viewing, and agreed with Princess that it is quite plain. But the place itself was alr Grand so i think simple also very nice.

I have not go back to pay deposit yet... think will do it soon....

My AD is on Sept 05. Hope to hear from Jac about her experience with GS.....

Blue Sand

roo

I've booked my dinner at GS too. We grew lazy & were too comfortable to hunt any more

Im now selecting gowns. Which do you think would go better with the chinois decor of GS? A gold beaded gown with vintage lace or a modernized angpow red cheongsam? Both are slim-fitting with mermaid bottoms.

Cheers! & Happy New Year

bluesand

Dear Roo & Princess Wong,

I feel much better now to know that I am not a lonely G.S. Bride-to-be.....Can you gals :)share your package that you got in the end? Very keen to share.......FYI, DO you gals know that during the fist esp. of Channel 8's 9pm show ( My lucky Charm).....G.S was featured in the show? I was ver excited when I saw it on TV.......FYI I was served by Shirley(manager) who was very nice. She oso mentioned that there will be a brand new dish menu and implementing new ideas into G.S from this year on.....Sounds good!

roo

HI bluesand

yeap, you're definitely not alone

I printed out your post above when I went to finalize the details. Basically Shirley was very patient but very firm. She extended the same packge to us except that we have corkage waiver on unlimited bottles of wine

We didnt mind that she didnt give us a better deal because we were pretty fixed on the location. She did mention that we can use the restaurant for our photoshoot, but only on weekends during their rest time ~3-5pm

Your AD is in Sept. I assume you are a CONFIRMED GS bride too?

bluesand

Dear Roo,

I have booked the dinner late last Nov. As for the photoshoot, she mentioned the same thing to us.....Just hope everything will turn out nicely....Cheers!

My hubby and I are planning to do DIY wedding photos by a photography friend of ours....But we have a problem finding a make-up beautican.....DO you have any lobang to share?

i am thinkin of doing a dinner function for about 50 people here. does anyone know if they cater to such requests? and if there are special rooms for added privacy for these smaller events?

roo

Hi Elin,

Im jukeboxcranberry from the SB thread. Grand Shanghai has a function room that seats 40 comfortably. Its rather exclusive & I've seen business men entertaining in there. This room has a good view of the front stage, where they have nightly singer/band performances.

You can ask their manager Shirley Neow @ 68366866 if the function room can seat 50 comfortably. You may want to consider 4 tables of 12 each. You would want to avoid the rest of the restaurant where its very open and they would be serving walk-in customers besides your function. Pls email me if you need their floor plan.

All the best

roo

bluesand, U've got mail (since last week). Sorry for the late reply.

Daphne, if you can wait, I'll give my comments after food sampling next month. My intuition
tells me that it'll be on the savory & heavier side since its Shanghai-ness cuisine?

bluesand

Dear Jukeboxcranberry,

when is your food esting ? My Ad on 18 Sept but I have not finallize the menu with GS yet. My last conversation with them is their new chef will be on board and menu might change a bit.

Which package do you take ? the 5++ one or 6++ one ?

roo

hi bluesand, i took the 5++ package but exchanged 1 or 2 dishes that my FH didnt like to that of the 6++ package. We havent been able to go down for the sampling yet. Very busy. But we have been told to go down at least AD-2months.

sushibella

I am also thinking of choosing GS, partly cos i m keepin my invites low cos i might not meet the min. 25 tables for hotels. Also have heard abt the ambience there & great tasting food. (Have heard bad comments though)

Ex-GS brides, if you dun mind sharing..since it's a restaurant, & the place is quite costly, do you guys manage to break even for the ANG BAOs? do u get miserable somes u get in cheena restn for $20?

Tks!

sushibella

I am thinking of choosing Grand Shanghai for my AD banquet.

Ex-GS brides, if you dun mind sharing..since it's a restaurant, & the place is quite costly, do you guys manage to break even for the ANG BAOs?

Tks!

sammi_goh

Hi Belle,

In fact, I've that question in mind too. But nevertheless, I just hope everything will turn out well n can cover back our cost. Don't think the guests will give such miserable amount $20? Maybe $60 or $80 at least ...

Have you been to see the place yet? Did you manage to squeeze out more perks from the standard packge? ...

sushibella

Hi Sammi,

Nice to 'meet' u, i m thinking of goin down wkend to check out with my bf.

Been doing my homework n thinking how to SQUEEZE but of cos i must ask for reasonable stuff lah haha.

Sammi, hv u booked ur pkg yet?

sushibella

Oh btw i am not sure if this thread has a prompt that notifies me in my email should there be any new postings...some thread i get prompts but some i dun..hmmmm

sammi_goh

hi belle,

nope have not, only tentative booking. probably be going down next week to put deposit if we have decided on GS.

ok i recommend u to go down on fri night to get a feel of the night atmosphere. btw, the manager is shirley, so u can try to ask as much as possible.

good luck

sammi_goh

Hi belle,

Have you went down to GS yet? Think is up to you whether you wanna make appointment with her, as most of the time she'll be at GS.

Actual day on 25th Feb 2006. Is a Saturday

In fact we wanted on 18th March but has been taken. She told me that all Saturdays in March have been taken so we decided in Feb (after CNY).

sushibella

Hi Sammi,

Yep! i went down yest n saw another couple having their dinner there too. Didnt book appt though..she (i assume she is shirley) cos she didnt intro herself, handed us the brochures & we asked some basic ques.

Not cfm yet but we have took a tentative booking too March 12, which is one of our in-case dates.
It's a sunday.

I think ur date is one of our dates too :p cos we only wanted sat or sun. & the other wkend still avail in feb one is during CNY period, so it's out.

So u cfm yr booking oredi? Hmm do u know how much is the deposit? i forgot to ask her on that. Also notice the 5oo+ menu not to our liking so we most prob might take the 600+++ one.

sushibella

hi sammi,

Have u cfm your wedding at GS yet? If so can share with me wat is in your package?

Hi Dumpling,
I am not very sure abt your que, but i think they might still allow the public to come in for dinner if you dun meet their min 20 tables requirement. Hope this helps.

roo

Hi Dumpling

The center portion fits exactly 100 guests at 7 of those 6-feet round tables (incl 2 VIP tables) and 6 of those red-cushion booths (5 pax/booth). GS will still open the remainder of the restaurant to the public.

I once saw a wedding like this. Personally I find it acceptable, as the crowd at GS is not the fast turn-over type. They are the more mature group who come in for the singing and will stay till pretty late. So you wont get different groups of diners walking in & out all the time. You just have to be comfortable with seeing some unfamiliar faces.

sammi_goh

hi belle,

Sorry for late reply as i was real busy with work. Finally we hv confirmed with GS on 17th March 2006 (friday), after getting a few good dates with the geomancer.

GS packages come with the $588+++ (abt $700) and $688+++ (abt $800). The items listed in the packages are quite standard.

How's your decision so far? May I know when's your big day?

sushibella

hi sammi,

Your date is 5 days after us hehe. Mine is on 12 March. We met up with shirley last wk, & most prob will go down place the deposit this wkend.

Wanted 18 & 19 march but was taken, i didnt seek a geomancer's advise. But since we have 12 march in mind & GS has the date we just booked it

So which BS are u with? I am also rounding up the BS i m goin for & the photographers.

sammi_goh

hi belle,

we're also left with the BS selection. wedding dinner venue has firmed up finally. same goes to our ROM date & venue too

i'm still at a loss which BS to go to, as i've heard so many bad comments on those BS along tanjong pagar. but personally i heard a lot of compliments on ted-wu.

still on the look out ... hv to decide by august i assume ...

sushibella

hi sammi,

u can just pop into any threads u see here in sg brides. I follow some of the threads esp on topics i m keen on OR salons i have visited.

I round up my search based on gut feeling, budget, service
of cos if u are very particular abt workmanship, type of gown a particular salon is good at, it's always good to go check them out urself

Yeah the approx time for MTM gown is abt 3 mths. i am abit KS, will hope to finalise the salon soon so more time for photoshoot & gown completion

sushibella

hi sammi,

yes i have just signed up on thursday.
will also go down to meet shirley tomorrow for the deposit & well as 2nd meeting with photographer

sushibella

hi shuzuka,

when is ur AD? hmm do u know GS is having a promo? If u are a UOB credit card holder, sign up for their coming bridal show on 28 Aug (it's a sunday if i m not wrong)

The show is held at the Copthorne waterfront hotel.

U can go to : www.millenniumhotels.com/weddings to register.

Shirley (banquet manager) will be there so u can get a copy of the menu.

Sorry my fax is out of order so i cant fax it to u.