Grand Shanghai Restaurant

joyz

hi flowerygal,
i guess it is up to individual. both sets of parents reside in the west and i am so used to the west like ingsq, hence the decision. in fact, it's not even a decision. we just think it is a good place to be in.

hi ingsq,
you are staying in JW too? looks like we will be breathing in the west side air for a long long time. haha.

stefanie20

ingsq,
at least ur hubby got propose, sum guys only apply flat then no more liao! I also surprised that my hubby gave me that proposal..at first thot it was a birthday greeting or sumthing coz he sent to me on my birthday mah.. haha...

wow! u know ur hubby since sec school??? wow!

stefanie20

flowerygal,
we only celebrate our ROM day coz cannot rem the 1st day dating liao! ahha.. my ROM is 6 Nov then my AD is 11 Nov coz 6 Nov was a weekday. So we still celebrate 6 Nov

My walk-in wardrobe also small area in my bedrm coz we cant hack any of the walls. Actually now I feel walk-in not so good, very dusty.. the clothes that seldom wear gets quite dusty..

My mum stay AMK and my frens all ard that area. Now me staying in the east. I ok with staying alone but very xian to meet frens coz me stay so far! they dun wan come over coz 1 hr to travel to the east.

stefanie20

fanny,
i think for 12K, u got quite alot leh

wearing tiara for wedding is very common coz every girl wan be princess.. hehe.. I wore flowers for the day time. No wear tiara at all coz my makeup artist say very boring.. hehe..

ingsq

Hi flowerygal,

i am actually coping veri well in staying alone.
My GDL just over. is actually a veri fast process. mei po and hubby came to our place with 2 big baskets that containt all GDL items. alot of exchanging items here and there. the funny part is hubby forgot to bring the pig leg can over... so he rushed back home and take... haha... blur sotong...
no an chuang for us as we already move in so in law said dun need liao... hehee

Hi cecilia,
been breathing the west side air since i'm a baby and i neber tot of moving to other area... i prefer to near near parents too.

Hi stefanie,
at least he did something lor... haha...
I have a small WIW in my tidy MBR. will take a pic to show after i tidy up.. haha..

fanny,
i am not feeling excited at all.. am i weird? just feel veri tire as need to do alot of cleaning up in my house. and after this fri, everyday also got thing need to do.. like final fitting, facial, dentist, collect gown medi and pedicure....

feel that 12k is a good bargain for so mani work done.
maybe we cn share the pic of our hse here... hehee...i go back take pic already den send ur the link.

stefanie20

ingsq,
I was not excited abt my AD as well.. infact, me n hubby so tired that we wished it faster over! there is jus so much things to prepare and do.. we were so glad when it was over! So funnie coz after the AD, at night b4 sleeping, we look at each other and say "hooray! it's finally over!!" hahahha

ingsq

stefanie,
yah... i cant wait for it to be over... now worry i miss out anything for the wedding. so stressful.. small pimples start to pop out...

ingsq

Hi Nicholas,
They have 2 package, 588+++ and 688+++. there is no price different for weekend and weekday. u cn visit their website for some pic.

flowerygal

ingsq,
i can understand hw u r feelin nw coz its veri stressful 2 tink wat r e things 2 take note of for a successful wedding. Women tend 2 worie alot i guess. i nw still waiting 4 invitation inserts, wedding album, GDL, AD event. At least ur hse is done up since las yr. Will be excited 2 view ur hse pixs.
i guess other than e pig leg cans, at least u hv received quite alot of GDL items lar. When hv my GDL, i may jus receive angpow? Is ur sidianjin white or yellow gold?

stefanie,
Actuali we hacked the wall between the MBR n e 2nd bedrm to get abit of space n conceal the remaining area so 2ndbedrm is smaller liao. Y is ur wardrobe is dusty? If u hv a sliding door, wun tat prevent dust? Actuali east area also nt bad, especially tampines or Pasir ris. shopping or relaxing at Fisherman village. i fell in luv w fisherman village evrsince 1999..n intro my frens there 2 makan.

flowerygal

fanny,
wow, ur romance started thru irc..las time made alot of frens fr irc bt nw din keep contact w em anymre. Las time abit paisey 2 meet up ppl.
ur hse reno is veri value for $$$.
2dy my colleague even suggested tat i shd buy gown fr expensive boutiques.....siao! nt worth it. She said she splunged $$ on gown and famous MUA...

Cecilia,
actuali my PIL stay in bishan & my family stay in jurong, thus i tink sembawang is located between these two areas so noside can complain unfair. Coincidently i wrk in novena so north is a preferred plc.
U r fortunate tat ur both sides r residing in west area so its more convenient shd u need 2 visit them.

mrs_choy

flowergal,

diff pple have diff way of preparing their wedding. i think u shd follow your own heart to prepare for your own wedding. in my opinion, i will not buy my wedding gown, i know is my big day but i scared that eventually i will threw it away if it turns yellowish or sell it away.

insiq,

saw the pics of your lovenest. i love your cosy corner, so romantic can sit there every morning eating breakfast togather. how much u spend for your reno, excluding those furniture?

so have u choose the songs for your march-in? u went for your rehersal?

ingsq

Hi flowerygal,
my MIL dun like the idea of white gold. in chinese reading is bai jin... not so nice. so she bought yellow gold for me lor. haiz... i dun wan si dian ji. yellow gold i dun wear, so waste $$ if i buy full set. so she onli got me necklace and 2 bracelets for tea ceremony.
personally, i dun think buying gown is necessary... waste of $$. i rather use the $$ on elsewere.. haha

Hi fanny,
i like that corner as well.. but neber have our breakfast there. I have 1 breakfast top beside the bomb shelter corner. now i use it to put things. I spend around 40k for the whole house. excluding furniture.
1st march in will be "for the 1st time". 2nd march-in will be "forever love". how abt u? have u selected urs? rehersal shld be tomorrow but still waiting for sally to confirm with us.

stefanie20

ingsq,
ur ang pow box is ok! If u feel to empty on the top, jus add more flowers or put a pair of bears on top then will be more complete!
BTW: the slot for the ang pow - is it big enuff? coz that time I did 1 for my cousin wedding then my slot abit small then the ang pow keep getting jammed there.. hehe..

flowerygal,
We couldnt get the permit from HDB to hack the walls so no hacking. Dunno why the clothes gets dusty.. hmm..maybe coz window beside the WIW. But we might be renovating again coz the WIW too small, not enuff space for our clothes..

witty monkey,
the rehearsal is just running thru the AD schedule and the march-in songs, the march-in walk, the table arrangement..
will u be going for food tasting for lunch or dinner?

witty_monkey

Hi Stefanie,

i will b gng for dinner, i ask liao, the singer start singing at 7.15pm so my dinner start at 7pm... wonder how is the atmostphere... =)

stefanie20

witty-monkey,
have u been to GS b4? the ambience is fanstatic! I've been there for both lunch n dinner.. and during dinner time, with the lighting n live band, it is really very nice place
your parents will love the place, coz sing all old songs..

ingsq

Hi witty-monkey,
i'm sure u will enjoy the food, the ambience and the singing.

Hi Stefanie,
the opening too small ah? den i better cut abit bigger.... thanks.
how to put a pair of bears? wont the bers fall off?

anyone connect the WIW with the MBR toilet?

flowerygal

ingsq,
Oh, u r correct, white gold mean Baijin..2dy i juz contributed baijin to a colleague whose granny jus passed away. Also almost went 2 visit an acquaintance who juz passed away due to complications after getting fever. I din go beco my hubby strongly object. Later my fren then told mi tat his case was reported in the lianhewanbao. So young n his wife is pregnant w his child (expected delivery in feb).
i agreed w stefanie tat u can add more big flowers 2 enhance e look of e top for angpow box.
i like ur hse, veri neat mah. Best corner is e raised platform area. Alot of features in ur hm, including floor granite..$$$ but nice! Do u hv any wall feature in MBR?

stefanie,
Hw cme din hdb din approve permit? Alot of walls in my flat also need approval for hacking n we panicked when we waited so long..still din hear any news. Then contractor kept pressuring hdb 2 cme n inspect thus in e end we got e approval. U shd share ur hse pics w us...
Any1 hv open-concept kitchen?

flowerygal

Fanny,
Ya, agreed. wat for buy the gown since u only be wearing for 1 time?
No space to keep it as well.
So did u request dry ice for march-in for AD?

Witty-monkey,
Do tell us frankly abt e foodtasting session coz i hv few ppl gave me comments tat e food is terrible.
Hope they r wrong..

ingsq

hi flowerygal,
sorry abt wat happen to your fren. ur wedding near so better dun involve in hong bai shi 1 month b4 ur wedding.
the onli wall feature in my MBR will be the exterior of my WIW lor. for the whole bedroom set, i customise it. will take pic if i got time. ^_^
i like open concept kitchen... but my hse not suitable to have 1. anyway, open concept kitchen is more suitable for those who dun cook so frequently...

hi witty-monkey,
the fruit tart cost $8.80. is veri tasty. i got gd feedback from relatives.

witty_monkey

flowerygal, no prob, will update you all regarding the food tasting... stay tuned...

ingsq, oh.. not cheap lay... i saw not many tarts hor.. my mum need 50 boxes, so it will come up to $440... nvm, consider lor.. hehe

stefanie20

ingsq,
my experience is that better to have the slot abit bigger, or else all the ang pow kena stuck at the slot.. hehe.. i make the bears sit down then stick them with double sided tape. If u scared they fall off, can use the pin to pin it down to the box.

Here is the box I made for my cousin wedding
434323.gif

stefanie20

flowerygal,
I stay in Simei, according to HDB, the walls r reinforced walls so cannot hack. My WIW is between my bathroom and the master bedrm. I'll try take sum fotos show you girls

Open concept kitchen have to depend on the layout of your house as well. My kitchen is so far from the living rm, cannot do open concept. I like open concept coz can cook and entertain guests at same time

ingsq

Hi witty-monkey,
They will free 1 box for every 10 boxes u order. if amount more than $500, they will give 10% discount. go to their website for more details. http://www.chozconfectionery.com/2005/wedding.html

Hi stefanie,
the angbao box u made is veri veri nice... not like mine... my hubby already make a bigger slot... hope no angbao will get stuck... hehee

i went down GS today. they cnnt play song in mp3 format. better to bring orginal cd. will go down this sat again to test out.

mrs_choy

Hi insiq

u record your songs into a CD as mp3 format or u play from mp3 player?

my 1st march in will be aine ( u watch the channel u 10pm HK show " Chong Shang Yun Xiao", that humming song whenever the couple met in rome)

my 2nd march in will be "canon", these 2 are all instrumental songs. According to stephanie, once after march-in, then immediately sit down, the singer will sing "Ye Shanghai". If they never sing, then we will put the main theme of "Goong"

hi flowergal,

i never request dry ice for my wedding, heard that the lights will be dim so dun want to walk in misty, coz never wear specs and contact lenses, so that night will be half-blind.

witty_monkey

Hi ingsq, thanks, i will check it out... =) btw, sally from GS will pass me the invitation card this sunday as next year i will not be in sg for almost half a year.. so alot of things i need to finish it before feb 07... so may i know where u all print the inserts? I live in woodlands so i did got city square in JB to ask the price, the amt is abt Sing $36 for 200 inserts? cheap? i plan to print there as i live quite near to JB... what you all think? =)

stefanie20

ingsq,
You just need to add afew more things to your ang pow box then it will be prefect liao! Maybe you add a bear or more flowers or sum ribbons then OK! Actually no1 really care abt the ang pow box so dun have to waste too much time on it

The CD player at GS very sensitive so sumtimes it cannot play burnt CD or MP3 songs.. so best if u have original cd. But if dun have then take a risk, 50% chance it will play on AD.

stefanie20

fanny,
u can discuss with GS how u wan the arrangements to be. They suggested straight away serve dinner after 1st march-in coz oredy 830pm, guests hungry. Then 2nd march-in, continued with cake-cutting, champagne pouring and yum seng. I think u can re-arrange the sequence to your prference.

I also no request dry ice. The lights will be dim during march-in and I thk dry ice dun really match GS ambience. Dry ice is more romantic angmo feel, while GS is more oriental mood. No wear specs/lens? Walk slowly and take small steps. Rem to smile

witty monkey,
I printed my inserts at T-dragon coz I won vouchers from the wedding show. I cant rem how much my printing was but i'm quite sure JB is much cheaper!! I think mine was more than $100 with gold stamping and the gold strings. The GS card is very nice! I love it too!

ingsq

Hi fanny,
yup. i recorded the songs in cd under mp3 format.
GS player cnnt read mp3 format song. sally said burnt cd in audio may have problem also... better get orginal as this is once in a life time moment where everyone focus will be on us.... hehee

u no wear contact lense how to see clearly?

Hi witty-monkey,
i printed fom t-drangon as well. $100 for 100 inserts, $20 for map printed on insert. an $5 for string. JB will be a much better deal.

hi stefanie,
i will shop for small bears for angbao box and middle size bears for bridal car this evening.. hope cn find it.

sally suggested the same thing on the arrangement. after 1st march in, singer will sing yeh shanghai and 1st dish will be serve.

i will get my sisters to use 2 bubble guns to create more ambience. so when we march in there will be bubbles around us... shld be nice ba..

witty_monkey

ingsq, ur insert so ex? $100 for 100 inserts, think i will consider gng JB to print.. anyway ppl will throw away after wedding... so no point wasting so much $ on tat... better to save the $ to go honeymoon... heehee...

stefanie20

ingsq,
- u had to pay extra for the map? hmm.. i cant rem if I paid for the map or not..
- I not sure where to find those bears.. mabbe can try craft shops like Spotlight or toy shops? I'm sure Kalms have Forever Friends bears but they r so costly!
- so ur sisters will be infront of you blowing the bubbles or they are at the entrance? Rem to tell ur frens that can dedicate songs during the dinner!

witty monkey,
the only thing good abt printing in spore is that T dragon got all the hotels invite cards so they know exactly the size and all the specs.. they got the "template" ..

ingsq

hi witty-monkey,
is it x? i'm not too sure as well.. but doin insert is already much cheaper than hot-stamp printing. me lazy to source also... so just use the 1 GS recommend... haha... gotta pay a price for being lazy...

stefanie,
yah... gotta pay $20 for printing map. if wanna print icon, need to pay another $10. I didnt do the icon thing.
where is spotlight?
my sisters will be standing at the entrance to blow bubbles... i think when the music start they can start creating the bubble liao...
did any of ur sisters throw flower pedal when ur march-in?
wat type of song they cn dedicate? all old songs?

stefanie20

ingsq,
- I know the icon need pay so I no do icon. I did gold stamping coz I had the voucher so no need pay $$.. hehe.. think I top up $20+ in the end.
- Spotlight at Plaza Singapura & Tampines.
- My march in no flower petals, no nuthing... hehe.. jus walk straight in

- I thk the singer can sing sum modern songs. Can try dedicating lah.. u chk with Sally/Shirley. Are your frens very young? If too young, they wont appreciate the old songs.

ingsq

hi stefanie,
so gd to have voucher to cover the cost.. ^_^
i know wat is the shop liao.. been there alot of times. but just dunno wat is their name... haha~

my guests belong to all age group. so cnnt please all. just hope that they like the place like i do.

flowerygal

ingsq,
I wana consider rose petals for march-in as i saw my fren's 2nd march-in was impressive. Do GS provide or nt?
i got my card inserts few days ago n its reali tiring to tie the gold strings. My hubby's fren did it 4 us n it was quite gd. Heng..its so much cheaper (tink less than $30).
Actuali my drykitchen is openconcept and my service balcony has been converted to wetkitchen. There is a door/glass panel separating e cooking area thus it shd be ok.

Stefanie,
Tks 4 telling us abt GS's cdplayer..i find it veri inconvenient tat we hv 2 use original cd. i had 2 beg my bro 2 lend us liao. Did u have any flowergirls/pageboys for ur wedding? My fren's son will be opening e cardoor for us so tml buying pageboy suit 4 him. My $$$ flying away!

flowerygal

Fanny,
i tink u shd wear contact lens, or else hw 2 see things properly? I will get headache if i dun wear lens coz of blur vision (brain confused).
Hw much was ur bridal package n did u topup for PS album pics? i was impatient alredi n called up my PSphotographer in e evening 2 chk abt my album n luckily he said its ready! cant wait 2 see!

Witty-monkey,
i tink its ok 2 go jb 2 do ur inserts coz they shd be able 2 do according to ur instructions. So much cheaper! When r u intending 2 do ur PS? Muz chose cheongsam style for EG coz its reali most suitable 4 GS theme. My BS said their cheongsam too bigsized 4 mi..bt i alredi got alot of frens kept sayin i shd try 2 get one no matter wat.

jinglebel

I have booked my banquet with GS for SEp 2007. Now deciding on the BS. Do you gals wear cheongsams or oriental WG for the night? My BS has no cheongsams and I am afraid it will look weird not wearing sth oriental in GS. Please advise.

mrs_choy

flowergal,

i never wear contact lense before, all along, i only wear specs, so if i were to wear contact lense on the actual day, i will feel quite uncomfortable. luckily i can still see w/o my specs.

my wedding package is $3388, i top up another 2 to 3k. i exceed the limit of choosing of the PS pics, but luckily i got back all the negatives and the pics i never choose.

insiq,

did u went into their room to see the CD player, my hubby say if they have extra cables, we can connect to our portable CD player.

flowerygal

Fanny,
Wow..u topup so much? bt to be frank, wedding is once in a lifetime, as long u r hapi its worth it. My hubby objected mi 2 topup bt i dun care lor. Hws ur preparations since ur wedding also drawing near? Did u help 2 chose clothings for ur two mothers?

Jinglebel,
Congrats 4 e gd choice for wedding banquet..Actuali if nvr wear cheongsam bt wear oriental style EG shd be ok too. Which BS u have decided?

witty_monkey

Hi Gal,

We had a wonderful nite yest at GS, the band and singers was very good, my parent and mother in law can't bear to leave the place, we stay till the end of the closing.. as for the food, we change some of the item in the cold plate and the pork kunkles to roast chicken cos parent and mil dun really like the dish... =) Sally served us as Shirely was on leave.. she is so friendly and nice...

flowergal,

think i will do my PS ard Feb b4 i leave singapore.. ehhh, as for cheong sum, i will have to think it over 1st... must slim down 1st ma, else fat fat wear not nice 1... haha... btw, i have get the invitation and insert samples liao... so mayb this weekend i can go jb to see whether they can do it anot... =)

u gals print insert or directly print on to the card??? bcos print insert u will need to tie string to it... if print directly, the background is maroon color, dun noe can write anot.. any ideas?

stefanie20

ingsq,
everyone will love GS! My guests all love GS! It is such a special & unique place to hold a wedding.. the food..live band.. everything

flowerygal,
I didnt have flower boys/girls at GS. Dun think I can instruct the kids to follow instructions.. haha... My nephew opened the car door in the morning but I no buy outfit for him. He came in his own clothes.. hehe..

stefanie20

jinglebel,
My WG was normal white gown kind. But I wore a cheongsum collared EG. Oriental EG or cheongsum look very good at GS but it's not a must to wear. Which CS did u sign with? They shd have sum cheongsum style EG. You discuss with your BS about your venue and ask them to suggest wat kind of gowns suitable for that venue

stefanie20

fanny,
the CD player is on the left side of the stage. We tried to figure out if we could plug into our ipod or sumthing.. but in the end, give up coz too many cables n wires there and also scared later make spoil GS sound system. So we jus brg CD to play.

witty monkey,
- glad the parents liked GS!
I also changed the pork knuckles to roast chicken! the pork knuckles got a porky smell.. haha.. we took the mala roast chicken. which dessert did u choose?
- Most people print inserts. I dun think it's possible to print direct onto the card. The color too dark and I think the printer might jam. You double-check with your printers. Instead of using string to tie, maybe you can use double-sided tape to stick the insert onto the card?

witty_monkey

Stefanie, my parent find the pork knuckles too oily... so we change lor.. as for dessert my parent change to the "tang yuan" lor... yuan yuan man man meaning... =)

hey, good idea ah.. can use double-side tape to tape it... tie wif gold string like not very nice lay... tie wif lace ribbon dun noe nice ma... got to check it out at jb liao... =)

if the sound system at GS is so troublesome, think we will march in wif live band liao... save our trouble to find song also.. me n my bf think if we march in wif oldies chinese song are more appropriate for the theme there, instead of english songs... =)

something to take note too.. the toilet in GS normally only have two rolls of toilet paper, i think mayb need to get shirely to take note of this, put more rolls on top of the toilet bowl incase they have run ou, cos yest i find that all cubicle run out of toilet paper ard 8.30pm... gals, u all may wanna take note of tis.. =)