Grand Shanghai Restaurant

Any ideas hw much angpow to give to bridesmaid, jiemeis, bestman, dixiongs, young siblings, driver, mua, photographer n etc?? Can advise both sides of family plus the couple mus give an angpow to each helper for good luck meaning (each pax gets a total of 3 packets)?

Hi Witty monkey,
GS will charge $23 (after tax) for red wine. Think Stefanie got hers from outside. U may wan to get from outside on consignment basis.

Hi Flowergal,

usually bridesmaid, jiemeis, bestman, xiongdi, driver and photographer will get ang pao from both sides of family. (ie 2 angpaos each) MUA will get one from the bride's family coz mua came to the bride's house in the morning and din follow to the groom's place.(ie 1 ang pao) Some couples will also give ang paos to their helpers in the reception and emcee. It depends on individual. Except Jiemeis who will get at least 3 ang paos coz they get kai men ang paos too.

Hope I'm rite

If I resting at the hotel room, means I can still park the bridal car at the hotel entrance?How about the xiongdis' cars. Can park outside also?
BTW,I've just placed an order on the red wine. On consignment basis as well. Can return up to 30% on the no. of bottles you have bought.I got mine $100 for 6 bottles.Ordered 3 crates. so total 36 bottles. From BOTTLES & BOTTLES at parkway parade. Go chk them out.
Anyone doing a change of hairdo for 2nd march-in? I'm doing mine .

Hi Evon Lee,
Tks 4 advice..i heard it doesnt matter hw much is e angpow bt its juz for good luck purpose. Bt nt to be too stingy too.

Hi Lizzy,
i tink u can park e bridal car at e entrance beco its complimentary. Xiongdis' cars gota park at basement n u may give em e complimentary carpark coupon.
Who will be doing the change of hairdo for u?

ingsq,
I thinking of going Spain or Greece in jan.. but not confirmed yet.. have to send proposal to hubby to approve.. hehe

GS offer individual serving so i went for that. Sum pple feel individual serving not good coz guests cannot eat 2nd serving but i thk every1 can eat at same time better, if not always mus wait for the plate to your turn and if sit with people u dunno, even more paiseh to take food. But, yes, sum guests did mention the food abit cold. But overall, everyone felt the food very good!

flowerygal,
AD pix will be ready early Dec but my PG rushed out a slideshow CD for me last week coz my fren leaving for work in japan. The fotos turned out GREAT!!! me is happie
will post here when I get the photos.

angpow - I thk up to you/hubby to see how much u wanna give. The parents will know they are supposed to give angpow to the jiemeis/brothers. All for good luck & good fun

Lizzy,
only bridal car can park at hotel & GS entrance. Most likely, grand corpthone hotel will have 1 or 2 weddings also. So, many bridal cars!

wah. U changing hairdo for 2nd march-in? will have time? hmm.. i only change the hair accessories for 2nd march-in. No time!!! maybe coz I greedy, wanna eat lah.. hahaa... i managed to eat 4 dishes - cold dish, shark fin, fish... then dessert! hahahha

hi stephanie

what songs u used for your 1st and 2nd march-in?
u used your original CD or burnt CD? or u let the singer sing for your march-in. then how abt your 1st dish song?

btw my wedding is on 23rd december, 1 week after insiq's.

Hi Stefanie,
Europe is great destination for couples if u like romantic scenary n restaurants. U like fine dining? Since my late teens i often like 2 jio frens 2 go bt lately seldom got such chance 2 go liao. Even hubby also dun like unless i reali insist. Does ur PG will do up a online hosting for ur ADpics?

Hi flowergal,
My MUA will be doing the change of hairdo for me for my 2nd march in. Cos I wan to letdown my hair when i in my wedding gown ,and have to tie up afterthat cos I will be wearing cheongsam for my 3rd outfit .Of course, hav to pay extra lah.

fanny,
My 1st march-in song was Chris Botti and 2nd march-in was Jolin Tsai & David Tao new song. I use burnt cd coz we edited the songs alittle. Their cd player is quite sensitive, sumtimes may not read your cd so it's best if u have the original for standby. Quite stress if march-in then the cd dun work!! No ask singer sing coz the songs she sing, not wat i want so use cd in the end. I dun have a 1st dish song. Dinner start immediately after 1st march-in. I sit down then cold dish served liao. How's your wedding preparation? everything ok?

flowerygal,
we went paris, london & holland last year. We like europe.. except the flight there.. urghh.. so long.. thot go Spain or Greece coz honeymoon is a special vacation
My PG said he will feature our AD pic on his website. But my hubby is doing web, so I guess we will do our own website as well

lizzy,
how many outfits u wearing? So nice to change hairdo for 2nd march-in. But i guess no diff for me coz I have short hair .. hehee...

Hi Stefanie,
Do u hv ur PG website address?
i m wondering hw did u manage 2 hv Yum Seng? The stage is small so hw was it being conducted?

Hi Lizzy,
So ur MUA will need 2 wait 4 u after ur 1st march-in (few hrs)..hw much extra cost? Actuali cheongsam can let dwn hair also if u dun mind.

perhaps u wana share hw u gota noe ur hubby...heee. to recall gd memories.

hi stephanie

we dun have the original CD for the 1st and 2nd march in songs. all are downloaded from the internet and going to combine the songs in a CD.

for preparation wise, dun have much things to do. i alreadi collected my album in early this mth and had sent out all my invitation cards.

now still headache over the guest list as many of my colleagues are going on holiday.

so u mean while we are doing the 1st march in, the waitress are bringing the 1st dish in @ the same time? so roughly how long is the march-in song is enough to cover? i scared b4 we finish marching, the music stops and jumped to a second song.

flowerygal,
my PG website is www.kalyedoscope.com Our fotos not up yet..think he still adjusting the colors for us..

We wanted do Cheers but last minute did the yum seng coz my dad wanted it. But so glad we did it coz it was so fun and so got mood!
Surprisingly, every1 managed to squeeze onto the stage! Parents.. jiemeis.. brothers.. If you dun wan so squeezy, u can get the jiemeis/brothers and frens to stand below the stage while only the parents and couple stand on stage.

our story - we met at work. He was our website guy and then we work together on 1 project then started going out
we know ecah other 1 year then ROM then 4 yrs later, which is this year, jus held our customary wedding

fanny,
you can use burnt CD. It's jus that the CD player is abit sensitive so if sway-sway, on the AD, it doesnt read the CD then no song, you mus have a plan B. If not, very paiseh if march-in then no song!

The march-in is quite fast.. thk less than half the song.. but maybe coz i was walking quite fast.. haha.. if u r afraid your song not long enuff, you can do a loop.. meaning if song finish, it will repeat again..

after the 1st march-in, you sit down oredy then the waitress brg in the 1st dish.. thk the singer will sing Ye Shanghai during the 1st dish..

We also headache over the guest list till the AD. Very hard to plan.. esp those booth seats.. coz only sit 5 pple.. Make sure your colleagues give u ang pow b4 they go holiday!! ehhee

can i join in the thread? hehe. we are also holding our banquet at GS but that is dec'07.
may i know if there can be big plate servings where ppl pick their own food rather than serving them individually?

cecilia,
welcome to the GS forum

wahh.. u book ur dinner for Dec 07? wow! 1 year more to go! My wedding was Nov 06 and I only booked GS sumwhere in Feb 06.
You can choose to have the center big plate or individual serving. Up to you. I chose individual serving coz I feel more special coz most places dun offer this.

Hi Cecilia,
Welcme here.. luckily u booked early for Dec 07 otherwise u may nt get a slot. i tink its up to u whether u wan a big plate serving for all or individual type. I tink u also shld try 2 source for ur PG on AD too. Better 2 take ur PS early too. Dec indeed a peak season.

Hi Stefanie,
Wah, i cant believe all of u can go up on e stage.. all of u muz be veri slim! On ur PG website i saw e rates so ex..? For my case, i din meet up w my PG, bt after viewin his wrks online & asked 4 his rate, i jus quickly booked him liao.
So u gota noe him at wrk n was it love at 1st sight? i guess he often ask u out 4 a date n thus love blossom?

Hi fanny, do u hv PS pics 2 share w all of us?

ya, going back to my love nest this weekend to create the yahoo album 1st. after creating then post the site address for u all.

aiya, my wedding date is getting nearer and nearer. i sill keep on eating non-stop, scared cant fit into my wedding gown, then siao liao

hi flowergal, when is your wedding?

thanks for the info, flowerygal. yeah, we are concerned about not getting a slot for Dec since it is like a super peak. we intend to have our PS in june. we booked our AD PG and VG already. in fact when we started enquiring, some were already having tentative bookings/meeting with couples sharing the same wedding date as us.

flowerygal,
I also cannot believe they all went up stage.. no one want stand infront of stage, paiseh so they just kept on going on stage..hmm.. only had abt 5 girls then about 10 guys + the parents.. not alot.. but luckily stage no collapse! haha

So which PG did u book?

no! it was not love at first sight! ahha.. i no like him beginning..thot he very proud.. but after do project together, feel he quite cute! ahahha... actually I asked him out first!

Stefanie,
My PG is Tommy Leong.. www.tommyleong.com
Bt onli can book him for my dinner coz hes nt free on my customary date so he asked another PG to take ovr.

Hw did u manage 2 take e initiative 2 ask him out? Fr e pics i can see tat he's actuali quite cute too! Too bad i hardly noe cute guys so chose my hubby instead...haa. As 4 mi, sme1 gave a list of gals'tel nos to my hubby 2 chose fr and i was e chosen one..then he asked mi out n i was so naive 2 agreed!

Fanny,
Cant wait 2 see ur PS pics. My customary on 7Jan 07 & dinner on 13Jan. To console myself at least i can get alot of rest by nt rushing evrythin on 1 single day.

I tink u shdnt worrie abt eating non-stop beco i m also like u..I got constant hunger thus i spend alot of $$ on food. My mum & my MIL are both on diets whereas i heckcare. When r u goin for ur las fitting? Once u done w tat, then u try to control ur diet lor. Not too late. Where's ur lovenest?

Cecilia,
U r indeed veri fast sia...mi booked my PG early tis mth only. All of e other PGs i wan alredi bked. Even my PG nt available on my customary date. Advice for e rest, no las min preparations.

Hv u got your own place alredi?

hi flowerygal,
yeah I realized that some ppl work so fast and I got a little concerned about not having the PG we want. so booked them while they are still available.
I got the keys to my new place not too long ago. =)

flowerygal,
I dunno.. i jus sms him and ask him if he wanna watch movie? He say ok so we go loh.. haha.. During my wedding, his frens sabo us go stage.. then they asked me my 1st impression of my hubby then i also said "he very haolian" .. haha

so cute! give a list of numbers to your hubby to call? i guess that's called FATE! How long u know him? How did he propose to you?

Cecilia,
Where's ur lovenest? U still hv ample time 2 do ur reno b4 ur AD. Its best 2 start nw so tat u can slowly decorate ur hse w/o rushin so much like mi.

Care 2 share w us hw u n FH got 2gether?

Stefanie,
Heee, ur hubby's frens sure noe hw 2 sabotage sia. U had ur own frens to be emcee? I hope no1 will tekan us or else i paisey!

My hubby then asked his fren 2 recommend which gal 2 call up. We onli chatted once n din hear fr him until 3mths later he paged me again 2 go out. Tat was 7+yrs ago. Actuali my 1st impression of him also "haolian". He onli "proposed" to go book for a flat leh. So unromantic. hw abt u?

hi flowergal

i think my last fitting is on 21th december, which is 2 days before my AD, then if everything is ok. then i will bring home all the gowns

my love-nest is at Farrer Park, those high blocks opp KK hospital. i think must start diet tmr, at least still got ard 2 weeks to slim down.

actually i wanted to split the customary and dinner into 2 days but my MIL says very tiring, she dun want. then bo bian loh.

hi flowerygal,
our new place is at JW. yeah we don't want to rush through things.
oh? we got to know each other through a friend. =)

flowerygal,
We only had 1 emcee. My hubby's best fren. It was quite casual, he only need do the 1st & 2nd march-in intro then the sabo part loh.. The sabo part was abit paiseh but ok lah.. very fun.. every1 had so much fun.. very memorable..

My hubby proposed to me on my birthday so it was a total surprise. As he is in the website biz, he sent me a link then I had to click n click for his proposal.. hehe..

Hi fanny,
Rem nt to diet too much, bad 4 health. Best is to exercise.
Wow, your plc can fetch quite gd price for tat venue.

Of coz it be best 2 rush evrythin in 1day..so tat it be easier 4 evry1 although its tiring. Hv u GDL and "an chuang"?

Cecilia,
i stayin in jurong area too.. which blk u stay? y u chose there?? for me i been stayin in jurong for so long, i wana stay elsewhere.

Stefanie,
My hubby also askin his male fren 2 be emcee. tot of gettin another one bt i tink area too small.
Wow...ur hubby soo romantic. unique idea of proposing by usin his webskill. Nvr heard of such. After ur ROM, did e both of u celebrate ur anniversary?

flowergal

too lazy to exercise, them around my ofc had very nice food, so can resist loh.

we pay quite high price for a 3-rm flat.

stephanie,

your hubby is so talented and romantic, he can think of this idea to propose to u.

fanny,
mi no motivation 2 exercise too..so my method is to eat low-fat food and stop eating when i feel quite full alredi.

Actuali my ideal hm is 3rm flat. Easy 2 maintain bt hubby dun wan. Did u do a major reno?

flowergal,

ya, i think i will eat 2 weeks of you tau fu soup wilth no mee or bee hoon, juz the yong tau fu. that way can slim faster. i also eating the reductil (15mg).

my hubby prefer a 3 rm flat, so we ballot for the farrer park. did not get the tanah merah and the fernvale flat previously.

my total reno costs 12K for a 3rm flat, duno is cheap or expensive lah.

fanny,
Gals usuali like 2 eat yongtaufu..beco its healthier. Does taking reductil hv any side effects?

I seen ur PS pics liao..wow, u can get 2 wear tiara...so nice! I wore flower accessories for PS only. guess i be wearing tiara on AD.

flowerygal,
i thk 2 emcees is ok.. got space.. I only had 1 emcee coz every1 shy, dun wan go stage.. hehe.. then I feel the 2 emcee should have chemistry or else very awkward..

yah.. the web proposal was very special.. i never expected it.. I got it when i was in office then i was in shock and kept smiling after that, my colleagues all thot I crazy liao.. hahah.. yup..we celebrate our anniversary every year after the ROM coz officially married liao mah

fanny,
12K for reno? thk mus see wat reno u did. For me, I spent 20K for my 4rm flat but we only redo kitchen + 2 bathrooms + walk-in wardrobe + living rm platform. Ours was resale flat. We only had $ to do the neccessary reno, no $ do whole hse. Didnt want take reno loan. So, nxt time save more $ then do the bedroom one by one lah

hi flowerygal,
i stayed in jurong for the past 20+yrs or so and my new place will be at JW. i am ok and happy with the place, don't feel like shifting elsewhere. hehe.

hihi..
this thread is so active now..

cecilia, i'm like u. so used to west side so choose JW as my lovenest too.

Stefanie, ur hubby so nice and creative to do such a special proposal. my hubby onli bought me to KL for shopping and he just proposed in time sq hotel room. the proposal came after we applied our flat so i didnt expect it. initially, i tot there will not be any proposal for me as he is not a lomatic person. but somehow he make some effort to give me a surprise. ^_^

me n hubby get to know each other on our sec sch ECA. so we started 1/2 yr after my "O' level.

stefanie,
nw tat u hv a few anniversary dates to rem (1st day dating, rom, AD) do u celebrate all or juz rom date? i so envious of u coz my hubby reali veri unromantic. las time when we were younger, he would gave me surprises. nw like so boring?
My new plc also will hv walk-in-wardrobe (WIW) bt is a small area only within our MBR. Did u use the whole of 1 rm for ur WIW?

cecilia,
las time most of my frens r stay in jurong bt nwadays they nw scattered all ovr spore after married. mi nw goin 2 shift 2 a new area n will try 2 adapt. Abit scared nw beco i will feel lonely staying independently on my own.

Do all of u feel tis way too? hw do u manage 2 cope?

ingsq,
hw was ur GDL? An chuan also e same day?
Wow...both of u reali steady to hv noe each other for so long, very devoted!

flowergal,

the side effect for me is i will be thirsty and constipation, need to eat a lot of fruits and drink a lot of water, some of my friend cant sleep at night. so different pple have diff side effects.

u may request 10mg reductil from the doctor.

stephanie,

12k is for my whole flat. homgenous tile for living room, ceramic tile for bomb shelter, laminated fooring for bedrooms, a built in wardrobe, a kitchen cabinet w marble top, painting, those capentry, tv console, and granite flooring @ the step in. like that 12k loh.

i will not be wearing tiara for my AD, think will be using flowers. heard that tiara is not in trend now.

i knew my hubby thru mirc, i think now is in trend. last time we we to go under wraps for 2 years plus before our r/ship is exposed by my mum.

insiq,

are u excited over your wedding? the days are getting nearer and nearer.