Grand Shanghai Restaurant

hi flowerygal,
i haven't view yr ps photos yet...just came back from one week leave. my ps pics not really yet cos just did the selection yesterday. thks for sharing with me your pics.

Hi dteng - Ok i fwd e link 2 ur email. U took 1 wk lve 2 go travelling?

Hi Stefanie - i m sure u hv engaged ur photographer & videographer for AD? hw much u paying?

My BS hvent call me in rgds 2 e layout of my PS album, 2wks alredi.

hi flowergal,
i didn't go anywhere just clearing balance leave from last year. check yr mail, i have sent the sample wording to u.

Hi Stefanie,

I feel that the colour of ur EG is nice too.

Hi Flowerygal,
I tot tea ceremony shlould be at my parents place? cn held in my new hse meh? my reno abt 30-40k including furniture and other electrical appliances.

Hi ingsq - i meant e tea ceremony 1st to be conducted at the groom's place (either at ur new hse or his parents' hse)? My MIL wana hold it at our new flat so rushing e reno nw. My colleague did e same too.

Hi Stefanie - its abt e same price as e photographer i juz engaged. i also dun need videographer as reckon i wun watch the dvd. i prefer pics.

ingsq,
i downloaded the emcee speech from the forum. If u want, i can email u.

flowerygal,
why the MIL wanna do at your new hse? my MIL also want do at my new hse but I thot should do at MIL house mah.. hmm...
yah.. seldom will take DVD out to see.. not worth paying for videography.. pic will be enuff

Hi Stefanie,

Can send me the emcee speech. mani mani thanks

I get both photographer and videographer. Both come in a package. personally feel that, we may not watch the dvd veri often but it will be a veri sweet memory if we take it out n watch it again maybe in 10 to 20 year down the road.

hi flowerygal,
my hubby prefer to have it at his mother place. so we just stick to the traditional way. haha~

All GS brides or BTB,
Understand GS will not provide dry ice for march in? Always feel that dry ice effect will make the whole march in veri grand. did anyone of u insist in getting dry ice from GS?

Did any GS managers mention to anyone that CD for march-in need to be orginal. cannot use burnt CD?

Hi Stephanie - My MIL tot ur new hse is more suitable lor so she will be e 1st 1 to use e kitchen liao..Actuali i wun mind lor.

Hi ingsq - i din noe they wun provide dry ice?? oh no.... did u try 2 request?

Hi stefanie,

Thanks you. mail received.

Hi flowerygal,
I asked them twice and they told me they dun provide. sally even told me that it is ok to march in without dry ice... i just find that something is missing if they dont provide. wat do ur gals think?

It is indeed very unromantic march-in w/o dry ice liao.. if i m goin dwn next mth 2 discuss abt e wedding, i will try 2 negotiate.

actually dry ice is quite cheap. if they dont provide, u can try asking haagen daaz or swensens. Ask them nicely, they may sell you or even give you. They usually have stock as they used them to pack for take away ice creams.

hi Ladies,

I went to GS the other day for dinner and met up with Shirley, the manager for details of their wedding package. Hmmm.. she don't seem to be very friendly leh. Asked her a few questions and she reply: " Is your date set? You like the place? If yes, place deposit. The rest we can discuss later." A bit ya ya leh. Is there anyone else I can talk to other than her? Pls advise. Thanks!

Hi Colynn - i usuali liaise w Shirley, but i tot she is quite a nice lady? She asked her staff to serve us drinks when we went dwn twice n gave us carpark tickets. Was patient w us even though our AD not fixed n we wana check e available date. i tink u can contact Sally?

Hi Colynn,

I liase with sally. She is friendly n always put on a smile on her face. They are veri busy at time so they tend to speak abit faster. maybe is better to look for them at their non peak hour so that they can serve you better. ^_^

Hi Colynn,

I liaise with Sally too. Very nice and friendly lady. Its true that she is very busy. Although we have an appt with her, we still waited for more than 30 mins for her to attend to us when i went down to view the place. Stomach growling, in the end we ate there while waiting for her. But overall, i think she is a nice person to liaise with.

Hi flowerygal, ingsq and lollie,

Thanks so much for your advice! Maybe I went at the wrong time.. she din offer us carpark coupon oso.. hmmmm.. Will try to meet up with her at a less busy time or liase with sally.. will keep you gals updated!!

Jus 2 ask all of u here... how much did u topup for upgrading your PS album? Did u pay extra more to get back All of the soft copy photos? One of my frens paid $1.5K only for such. My BS quoted $1.8K.

flowerygal,
i topped up 2.6k for additional photos. and manage to get back all soft and hardcopy of photos. my heartache and pocket burned after i stepped out of the BS after selection.

Ingsq
is ur album 15R magazine style w abt 70-100pics compiled within 30pages?? Did u pay it with ur own $$?

Stefanie
urs quite worth it for jus 1k inclusive 4R prints. las time my fren paid $900 for CDR onli.

i am so impatient w my BS tat i called em to rush e photographer for my album artwork layout draft. He said have to give him a further 2wks time. More than a mth after PS since 1st Oct. Are they too slow? Imagine if i m not pleased w e draft then he still need time to edit then develop e pics for album.. can make it in time by end next mth? He even said he was too busy w other couples too.

Did anyone of u have your photo printed on the invitation?I'm thinking of doing that but dun know wat's the cost.Anybody can advise?

Hi flowerygal,
mine is a mag style with 85 photos. i forgot the size of the album. my hubby paying for everything. ^_^
mine is even slower and maybe the slowest in the BS industry. i have yet to confirm my layout as well. I took my PS in May and now i still have not view my final layout. Can you imaging my wedding date is in mid Dce and i am still chasing them for it. now i am really pissed with them.

Hi lizzy,
i dun really like the idea in printing our photo on the invitiation. cos we dun want our guest to throw away our photo after our wedding.

flowerygal,
I no top-up at all coz I spent 1.5K for my taiwan fotos oredy then spore fotos. Moreover, dun really like the spore fotos so no top-up.

lizzy,
if u getting invites from hotel then printing inserts only, doing the text printing or hot stamping will be cheaper. When u print foto, it considered as full color printing already. Actually I thk printing foto on invite is quite nice. Especially if u put your PS foto

ingsq,
wow! yours is rally slow! I did my PS late Sept then I jus collected my album. But it's also very rush coz my wedding is this sat! ahhaa...

btw: what march-in songs are u girls using???

hi Stefanie,
thats y i said maybe they are the slowest in BS industry to process album. u must be veri excited by now rite?

I will be using "for the first time" for my 1st march in and "forever love" for 2nd march in. how abt you?

Hi Ingsq
Wah..din noe tat ur case is more serious..hw cme they can delay so long? Did u ask em to edit alot? Its closer to ur wedding date next mth, u better be more demanding. i would hv blow my top.

Hi Lizzy
I tink its up to ur preference whether u wana add photo or nt..i would luv to.

Hi Stephanie
Cant imagine e excitement u mux be feeling now! its countdwn to 4 days to ur AD! btw, hw many days of wedding leave u r entitled? Hey, share ur PS edited pics w us leh...
My march-in song will be classical newage song i heard fr my sibling's cd. unique i tink.

Did all of u make ur own angbao box?

Hi Stephanie,
Me and my husband is still considering between these two songs for our 1st march in. One is Jacky Cheung "Ai shi yong heng" and the other is Cao Ge"s "Shu dao wu da yin wo". As for our 2nd march in, we are asking one of our fren who's a saxophonist to perform Kenny G's "wedding song"
By the way gals, are you all doing your makeup and changing of Wg at the reataurant itself, or you all would do at the hotel room then go down restaurant ?

Hi flowerygal,
i have already blow up on mon and demand they give me a gd explanation in dragging so long. I only got to see my 1 draft of layout in mid oct. only get to see this 1st draft after many chasing. Keep remind them i wan my album early even if i need to pay full. I onli change 3 pages and all changes is simple. so fedup with them right now.

Will GS provide us with angbao box? if not i will make my own.

Hi Lizzy,
I will be havin my makeup in the hotel as the lighting will be better than GS. den will change my EG at the GS...

believe that the band at GS wont perform throughout the dinner. so do u gals prepare any songs to play during the banquet when the band stop playing?

Hi Lizzy
I tink i be doing my makeup in the hotel rm (more confortable). Chngin of EG at GS.

Hi Ingsq
Can understand ur anguish..but hope they can make it by end of this mth? They shd give u discount for your patience! Try talking to management level. I duno whether GS provide e angbao box? perhaps u can ask? Saw in wedding mag tat a couple used traditional biscuit glass container. Bt i juz finished making my own box liao.

Hi Stefanie,

I am new in this thread and read that u did yr PS in Taiwan thru recommendation. I will be going there in Dec and was hoping to source for a BS for my PS in mid-2007. Could u provide details of the address or contact ? Thanks !
My email [email protected]

424652.jpg

Hi Ingsq
Heres a pic of hw my angbao box looked like but i tink will add some decor to it (feather). I felt abit regretful coz it seemed so tiresme 2 make one. Better 2 purchase one?
U definitely will get discount coz they gota make it up to u.

flowerygal,

ur angbao box look simple and nice. is it really so tiresome to make 1? Hmn.... i think i will try to make one 1st. if not nice den i will buy 1 lor... u know where got sell angbao box?

Hi Ingsq
Yes, veri simple indeed tats y i tink may hv 2 add sme decor to the borders. Actuali it can be quite satisfying after completion. U shld try it out then... Although tiring, its onli once in a lifetime tat u r making it urself?

Hi girls!

Finally it's over!! Done with the AD on 11 Nov. It was awesome and everyone had a great time

Share with you girls on my AD stuff:
1. My 1st march-in song was Chris Botti and 2nd march-in was Jolin Tsai & David Tao new song.
2. Ang pow box - i borrowed a glass jar from GS for the ang pows. It has a XI on it. Very nice. But sum pple might not like coz it's glass so transparent. Parents say not nice let pple see the ang pow (money).. so up to you..
3. I makeup and 1st gown in hotel. 2nd march-in gown change in GS private room.
4. The singer will not sing the whole night. When she no sing, they will play sum songs in backgrd. I used their cd, it's ok, unless u have special songs that u prefer.

OK! If you girls have any questions, jus shout! I will try to help

Here is the link to my PS : http://www.screenplay.com.sg/jm/

Hi Stephanie
Congrats! So holding ur wedding at GS was a great choice lar
Is it the same biscuit jar that Darryl David used for his wedding at GS featured in Stylewedding mag? It is indeed transparent ..i almost wanted 2 use it then i scared my PIL will object.
So did the angbaos $ enu to cover all e expenses?

Hi stepanie,
Congrats, You huys muz hav alot of fun that nite at GS.so how did the guests comment about the food?BTW, the some songs they play while the band didn't perform, is it very oldies kind?Also, on my AD, mine is the acrylic long kind of frame leh, any idea GS hav that kind of stand to let us display our long frame there?

nikki,
My BS is JnM and used their in-house photographer. My AD fotos not ready yet. You shd consider GS, a very nice venue with great ambience

flowerygal,
1. Yes! GS was my 1st choice n only choice coz i jus love the ambience and I thk it's very special holding wedding there, very got "mood". 2. I thk the biscuit jar is same one that darryl david used. My parents didnt like using it coz say ang pow shd not be seen.. but I liked the jar so went ahead with it.
3. Luckily, the ang pow managed to cover the dinner. Caution, do tell ur relatives n frens that it's is NOT a restaurant, it's hotel price. Coz we have some guests who gave restaurant price ang pow coz they thot it's those normal restaurant. The only realized they give too little when they arrived and too late to swop ang pow.

lizzy,
Yes! Super fun! It was a blast!

1. Most guests say they food yummie but coz I did individual serving, sum felt the food abit cold when reach their table.
2. The songs they play on CD is mostly old songs like Ye Shanghai, complement the venue. Bring ur own CD is you prefer your own songs.
3. I not sure if they have the stand. You gotta check with Shirley. If dun have, maybe u can lean the acrylic stand against the flower vase on the table where u display your foto albums. Or buy an easel stand from art shops. Or ask your BS if they have stand to lend you?

Hi Stefanie,
It is hotel priced restaurant..hopefully my parents & PIL will inform relatives. I chose GS beco of e ambience too n luckily MIL liked it too or else gota change venue. Ppl tot i more westernised so i guess if they knew i chose tis plc sure quite shocked.

So GS reali din provide dryice for march-in? Wat time did u start e dinner?

flowerygal,
Yes! Ask ur parents to inform relatives that it's HOTEL price!! or else u will end up with $50 ang pow. Hey! I am also very "potato".. hehe.. pple dun expect me to choose GS too. But I thot the ambience is awesome & special for a wedding

There was no dry-ice and I also didnt request for it. 1st march-in & dinner will start 830pm. Shirley is very good n experienced. She will prompt you thru the night so dun worry.

The march-in was abit mafun coz gotta go up n down stairs and slopes in the big wedding down with puffy can can! ahaha.. *sweat* ;)

Hi Stefanie,
Dinner start at 8.30pm is quite ok...but since wat time did u make ur appearance to miggle w e guests? At least some of ur guests can pose w u in ur WG.