Grand Park City Hall

rara11

Just some updates....The food tasting that i had on sat was great.

The dessert "Sweetened Walnut Cream with Glutinous Rice balls" is nice. Not so sweet.

Choose the Softshell crabs it is nice too.

No worries about the food..Theirs is really gd...

hdbanger

flora:

confirm w your coord when's the lastest you have to finalise your no of tables. but try to settle it 2 wks before wedding. so less things to sort out by the last day or 2.

i'd talk about the dinner aspects, since this thread's on GPPH. try and finalise solemnisation room (if you're doin ROM before the dinner) as well. firm up number of pax, so they'd know which room to allocate to you.

have a team of people to settle things for you that day, from ROM proceedings, until dinner (at least til the table photos are done). pass this team of people to the banquet manager, after you and them check into the hotel. banquet manager will sure chase you for a briefing at around 4-5pm.

as for the things, eg, attendance, by 8pm, every 10 or 15 mins have to update and decide if the dinner will start. banquet manager will brief you on everythin you need to do to go in and up stage, and other little details. also someone to control liquor. you need a recept crew to take attendance, and most imptly, to settle your red packets. let them have access to your room, so they can dump all the stuff into the safe on your behalf as you do your entrance. set a safe number code as well, for them and you. if you need, someone to help you change gowns during the pre-dinner and 2nd change.

prepare the seating list beforehand. and make enough copies (4-5 sets) so that both groom and bride sides of recept crew each have a set. also one set for yourself if you wanna record AP takings. show them (esp OIC) the outline of friends/relatives/spare tables. so OIC know how to adjust when half table situations arise.

then have one OIC to oversea the entire ROM/Dinner event. someone whom you can trust to make all the decisions correctly at one moment's notice. all recept crew, hotel staff, table photo crew, MC etc report to this OIC.

don't forget your PG and VG (find seats for them to eat). the rest? just follow instructions thrown by banquet manager and OIC.

hope the above is enough to ease the headaches...

cheys28

Thks HdBanger!! It's so detailed!

btw, just to chk with you....do u settle your bill on that night OR can we settle the bill on the following day after we have sort out the ang-pow that night?

fibi

Flora,

I spent 1.5k on half day video express highlight and animations with stefine (package booked in wedding show in early 07).

No did not have time for the jacuzzi. But my younger bros came over to use it. Em ya.. it was not working and we had to get the engineer to start it and the water is not warm as their's no heater.

Cheys 28, bills are settled the next day when we check out. Can pay by credit card first.

floralim

hi HdBanger & fibi.

did you manage to Utilise the Helper Room, isit really necessary, i guess most helper would prefer to go home & change & rest after end of tea ceremony rite?

btw, duno isit correct to ask here, i have a fren who 2 kids, one still in primary school & the other one only 2yrs old.

She asking me to reserve 4seats for them, i jus wonder if i arrange a baby seat for her 2yrs old kid, what is your opinion?

twinkyangel

Wow... glad to see all these GPPH alumni members singing praises of the hotel.. My AD is at GPPH on the 7th Dec 08!

I was intially quite affected when I told others abt the Hotel and many of them gave me the "huh? where is it" kind of look. I even have ppl telling me the hotel looks kind of old and not so outstanding (lock-kok). Me too, felt the same way when i saw the exterior of the building. But when I went into the hotel for the 1st time, I was very impressed with the interior, esp the Lobby area. After looking at the Ballroom, I was even more impressed cuz it's really nice and cosy with high ceilings, no pillars and an exclusive reception area.

In the past, I always thought that weddings should be Grand & Classy. But after attending weddings at Shangri-La, Hyatt etc., I find those Big-name Hotels just lack the Human touch and Cosiness. The 'Brands' of the hotel usually over-powered the subjects of the wedding (which should be the wedded couple and not the Hotel).
Thinking back, most of the time i can only remember the hotels that i have attended wedding dinners at, but only have a vague idea of who got married there.

After reading all these postings, Im really happy and feel assured that I will have a nice wedding this Dec.

Dearest Fibi, pls do not forget to send us pics of ur AD!!

cheys28

ya agreed....i tink so far none of my friends know where is GPPH..so i will always add a liner "It's beside Funan Centre". Anyway many times they will still give me the "where is it" look...haha...but anyway it's ok, cox it's so near to City Hall MRT..(tink they will appreciate us for selecting that hotel on the day cox they need not squeeze through the crowd along Orchard Road). Esp for mine which is on a Friday, alot of them will be coming straight after work by train.

so far guess that the only thing that bother me is the 8 dishes course...duno whether is it enough for them to eat cox usually it's 9 course. Unless i got to top up more for additional dish.

twinkyangel

hi cheys28, no worries there.. normally by the end of the 6th dish they will be quite full. Not to mention the 7th dish is a "noodle" dish.. after that bowl of noodle, i think they might be already full. So Dessert serves as a "last-treat". For me, 8 dishes will be just nice, but as I'm taking Holiday Eve menu, there will 9 dishes. Will be so "heart-pain" if there are many left-overs.

who's ur co-ordinator?

cheys28

my coordinator is Henry. He is the Senior Banquet Manager. A very experienced and nice guy. He was previously from another 5 star hotel i think

i'm worried abt the food portion because most of my guest are "big eater" guys from uniformed group..haha... hopefully the food portion is big enough to stuff them... i read from other thread that some hotel even gave 2 servings of sharks fins each...dun know how true...or maybe their bowl is quite small lah...haha

twinkyangel

haha.. big eaters ar? Then maybe you should seperate them on different tables. Or if u have a "sisters" table, can ask them to pass the "unfinished food" to the "big eater" table! hehehe.. since gals always dun dare to eat much when they are dressed up.

Did you ask for the Governor's suite? I requested, but they say subject to availability only.

cheys28

ya..subjected to availability also...i requested to have my solemenisation at the Level 1 waterfall...also subject to availability...thought it would be a much nicer environment as compared to their small function room

yew

I am now here. Getting Marry Aug 09'. Talked to Zack few days ago and try to get free flow of beer for 25 tables but he say No. Can anyone teach me how to go about getting extra "things" from them? My friend all told me to get many as possible. Anyone can help?

hdbanger

flora:

you will settle before checking out. i bought an extra day stay, and settled my AP in peace on the 2nd night. then sign bill on credit card during check out the 3rd day.

but you need to tie in with your credit card company for an extension on credit limit. do the paperwork/liaison 1 mth in advance. mine's under UOB, and they require the contact of the wedding coord, so that they can verify it's legitimate. so let your coord know the bank may contact them to verify.

also, the credit limit i think is valid for 1 week. so have to quickly deposit the AP cash to cover the dinner bill.

as for helper room, i took it. my in-laws wanted to stay overnight. but during the day, all the dinner crew (eg MC, wedding bro/sis) will need a place to change clothes, do makeup etc. unless you don't mind the whole gang cramping up your bridal suite. some may not go home in time to shower, and prefer to do straight in hotel.

as for kids, the table can accom max 11 adults. so my guess is that the pri 2 kid is considered an adult, and the 2 year old can put into baby seat and sit as 11th person. the food is standard amount, which will share among the 11 pple.

as for the food, don't worry. if it's good food, all will sit down and eat and finish the plate clean. my guests stayed back til the last dish was completed even though i had my wedding on a wednesday night.

hope it helps.

twink:

you are right about the ambience. got class, but no standard for many of the ballrooms. the worst thing is you gotta pay a huge bill, and then not letting the guest leave with a satisfied meal and experience.

so i just ignored the plain-looking facade of the hotel, and think about the ballroom and hotel room inside. regular dinner attenders know GPPH, they are assured. it's those who are used to places like Hyatt and Swissotel Stamford, that will revalue their views.

janet:
from what i know, GPPH is not a keen party in giving perks. the only way you can get some 'freebies' is perhaps, during their wedding shows. i can only assure you that for what you pay, you'd be fairly rewarded in the execution and standard.

floralim

hi HdBanger, thank u so much for guidance

its sure help alot to clear my doubts

baby_whyme

i'm not wanting to have alcohol for my dinner banquet, so how do you think i can use that to negotiate for better prices?

any ideas when is the next wedding show? my AD is jan 09; worried that by the time wedding show, no more slot for me..

floralim

hi whyme, maybe u can exchange for Better dishes, like lobster salad

think one bottle of wine = s$22.

BTW, any body now how much the Free Beer usually cost? can i use tat for one nite extend stay :p

twinkyangel

yah.. agree! Prices are getting higher and higher, and thats one reason why I wana have my banquet in Dec 08. Was planning for early 09, but was worried about the annual "increment" by then.. can expect to pay ard $900-$1000/table for a 4-star and $1100-$1200/table for a 5-star Hotel.

Whyme, you can either ask for lobster salad or maybe an extra night's stay? Think one barrel of beer will cost ard $600 and wine is $22 per table, then again.. GPPH might have their own reservations exchanging these items too.

Thinking about it, maybe those who are getting married in 2010 onwards can consider Restaurants instead. I checked thru restaurants list, not cheap either.. one table at a more reputable restaurants can go up to $800/table (Teochew City Restaurant).

baby_whyme

argh!
GPPH is taken oredi.. for the very day i wanted.
sigh.. now gotta see what else the hotel can offer.. cos im not gonna change the date.

sobz.

twinkyangel

Hi Fibi,

Thanks for the posting! Your hubby (Bifi) is very tall! hehe.. i love ur gown, makes u look very cutie! The photos u took at the reception area looks good too!

sunny_bear

hi fibi,

tks for sharing with us your lovely photos!

can ask what songs you used for your march-ins also?

as it be a very short march-in, would appreciate if anyone can share information on the songs which they have used for march-ins at this hotel. tks!!!

fibi

Thanks! Twink, my hubby is normal ht, 174m, think cos i'm short, 150m, even with 4 inch heels, the ht difference is still there. The songs i used are 'If you're not the one' and 'I do, cherish you'

jna

Hi fibi,

Thanks for sharing the lovely photos
I like the evening dress...can i know which bridal shop u signed up?

Anyone got a night stay for helpers, but change to your anniversary night stay.

I have exchange my night stay helpers' room to our anniversary stay, den we request a day use room for our helpers, but Grand Plaza cant give us the day use room.

Hve anyone got to have the extra night stay and oso a day use helper room?

minimint

I am new here! And I am interested to know more about the wedding package 2008/2009 if anyone has it? Or 2007/2008! Heard good comments about this hotel. Can someone kindly send me the package if you have. Floor plan would also be appreciated! My email is [email protected]
Thank you!!

cheys28

hi Rachel,

the wedding deal which i've secured was:
- Day Use for Helpers from 2pm - 8pm
- Anniversary stay for couples who signed up using UOB card (can be converted to 2nd night stay at Superior Room also)

but this is the perk during the wedding fair last year.

Minimint:
My copy of the wedding package is in hardcopy which i obtained during the wedding show. Suggest that you can email to Henry (Senior Banquet Manager) at: [email protected]
He's a very nice person. So maybe he can give you more updated information.

As for floorplan...dun have leh...anyway suggest you to go down & have a look at the ballroom if you have not been before. But generally, the ballroom & it's reception area is more to long-ish type. Hope the info helps!

Hi Cheys,

I oso sign up during apr 07 wedding fair. But i have a helpers night stay. as my helpers will nt be staying for the night, so we change to anniversary night stay.

But would still prefer them giving us a day use room as i realise the suite room was quite small.

cheys28

the wedding fair i signed up was during Sept/Oct 07. I guess usually hotels will "play" around the perks package. Cox initially i asked if possible to given me an extra night stay instead of helpers room. Then they say i could utilise my UOB free 1 night stay so i can stay maintain my free helpers day room

shrekkybin

whyme, there's an upcoming wedding show in early march. it's usually easier to negotiate for more perks during the show (i booked mine during the Sept 07 show :p) Email henry. he's usually v fast/ efficient in his email responses.

kristle

i just email henry and he did not mention anything about the show yet. I wanna 21 Mar 09 but it had been taken up.

kikibear

To all who had their wedding at GPPH

How many tables did you all have? Will it be very cramped if I have 30 tables?

ruachgall

Hey cheys28

Thanks for the info. But i have already arranged to meet up with Henry on 1st Mar. U think he will offer me the perks slated for the wedding fair?

shrekkybin

Hi winnie, another way is, u can start to negotiate with him e perks. Then tentatively reserve the date/ dates that u've in mind, then go down to book on that day. hope this helps

cheys28

correct..since the date is only 1 month apart, try asking him whether is it possible to block the date you wanted and you will place your deposit on the day of the wedding fair. Most important, negotiate based on wedding fair perks package which they are offering on 29 March.

Kiki:
although they did indicated that their ballroom can accomodate up to 34-35 tables, i always tell my friends NOT to have tables which is stipulated as maximum by the hotel... 30 tables should be just nice....(including your 2 reserved tables?). Cox if plus 2 reserved tables will be 32 tables already.

kristle

hi winnie what dates are you looking at? i am looking at early mar 09. 21 mar 09 sat taken up already. most probably taking 11 mar 09. henry already chope the date for me. cross my fingers X

kikibear

Thanks cheys28.
Yes, I am looking at 30 tables (including 2 reserved)

What about the menu? I have booked for the sapphire package and realised that there is no veg dish. Any suggestion?

shrekkybin

hi, if i didn't recall wrongly, i think Henry mentioned to me max 32 tables (incl. 2 reserved). When i viewed the ballroom last year, my fiance and i thought that max 30 tables would leave v little space for walking ard. does anyone have e floor plan to share? =)

btw, cheys28, are u holding ur solemenisation on the same day as your AD ? i also think that the Level 1 waterfall area is quite nice, altho e main gate of the hotel leaves much to be desired. oh well. give some, take some la =)

hdbanger

shrekkybin:

32 is not the max. had seen someone did 34. the couple on the day after my dinner. was poppin by to thank lewis when i saw the layout. don't know how they (couple + guests) managed.

kiki:
mine's 28+2. you can try get the plan fr twink.

cheys28

Hi Shrekkybin,

Ya, i did told Henry that if possible, i would like to have my solemenisation at the waterfall or courtyerd (tink they have a small garden). But he says subject to availability also.. hopefully can get cox mine is a Friday so there may be some corporate events going on. If not will be at a small ballroom, which i believe is beside the Ballroom.

shrekkybin

Hi cheys28,
thanks for the info!! henry did pass me Indulge's contact: Eric but he's currently on leave this week.

so, u're also Jan09 bride =) same scenario la. no wonder both of us are like doing "free publicity" for Henry... hahaha.

btw, he's previously from a 5-star hotel (Ma**) =)

cheys28

haha...yeah...maybe should ask him whether did he became busier than his subordinates cox any brides who is reading this thread will be looking for "Henry" only...hahaha....but i must say that he is a very professional banquet Manager & makes you feel welcomed type...(till date lah...)