Grand Park City Hall

fish88

well i think dun waste e money...cos most guests dun stay too late even though it's weekend...by the time they serve e 8th course quite late liao...n u wont know wether all tables will be full.. until e actual day u will still have some guests not turning up. but so far i find their servinga lot...esp when i see the shrimps each table when photo taking wow it was so much(i find worth it as e fish & shrimp are both live seafood deliver on tt day according to my coordinator...u have canapes during reception too...

as for change of coordinator not very sure...but if u toking abt finalisation i thnk still early...mine in may, i meet her in march(she called me...think they also need to order e wedding favours, flowers etc)...so no hurry...cos they might have new themes or wedding favours for u...so better to finalise when near...by tt time watever now maybe outdated liao ah haha

fish88

oh ya...cheys28 have u go for food tasting? if not yet... u will understand it's enough after tt...cos we eat halfway very full liao haha

smartkel

hi all, care to recommend a good coordinator in terms of follow up and commitment? i am intending to sign up with GPPH for my banquet dinner in 0ct 09.

kikibear

HI Vivien

Thanks for sharing your good experiences. I will be having my banquet at GPPH in Aug.

Mind sharing with us what are the dishes that you have chosen?

Also, how many tables did you have? I am quite concerned if the ballroom will be too cramp.

Can share your photos? My email add is [email protected]

THANKS!

cheys28

havent went food tasting cox mine is in early Jan 09 =)

agree with Vivien, they will contact you abt 2 mths before your AD...so now still early

Virgo, u can consider Henry..he's Good & attentive!...(tink he going to "scold" me liao...introduce so many couples to him & make him so busy...haha)

Anyway Kiki, personally i find that about 28-30 tables will be just right for the ballroom. Even 30 tablse, the guest will be sitting back to back already with not much allowance to move around.

jna

Anson,

My AD on 16/9, when u go for yr food testing?

Vivien,

Happy to hear that u have a wonderful night...
Hope mine will go smooth same as u hehe...

anglicious

Hi jna(jna),i've oredi went dwn to had my food tasting. i had very gd review during food tasting..keep my fingers cross for my AD..hahaa..

Hi cheekrene,u mean the contract stating how many tables u book n other stuff? i got it on the spot after signing..we did'nt make any changes thereafter..He got back to me today though he was on leave
he will meet up with me next week..if i have to go dwn by this week he oredi inform his colleague to attend to me. Mayb u can give him a call or drop an email to 'remind' him? sometimes he's abit forgetful..
Cheers!!

Hi Vivien,btw can u share ur photos on ur AD with me?my email is [email protected]

cheekrene

hi anson,

he did not change the menus for us since we are firm on changing some dishes. do we need to remind him if we are going for food tasting?

shilo

yes i did, but i like the ballroom on GPPH, i can forfeit the deposit no problem or sell to another person..

so if GPPH has attractive perks i dun mind siwtching

anglicious

Hi cheekrene,I've told him that we want to change some dishes frm the menu before my husband n i sign on the line. He got back to us with rgrds to the changes of the dishes via email then we went down to sign the contract. I was the one who liaise with Zack abt the date of the food tasting coz i have to settle other matters. So normally he'll advice u to haf food tasting b4 the finalisation. If you have some dates for food tasting in mind u can let him noe so that he can make arrangement. For me i have to arrange earli coz haf to accomodate my family members' timing and schedule.
Hope my info does helps you in making arrangement for ur food tasting
Congrats to U!
Have you gone dwn to c the ballroom?

cheekrene

hi anson,

thanks for the info.

before we signed contract, we realised he typed wrongly on my husband's name so at the same time, we told him we want to change 2 dishes. however, he had amended the names but not the dishes. well, think i got to ask him again before we go for food tasting.

i and my husband had gone down to see the ballroom. i like it when we attended the wedding show last year. unfortunately, we did not sign to enjoy more perks. how about u?

cheys28

the changing of dishes need not state in the contract cox it's very common for the couple to switch some dishes after food tasting. As long as you are switching to dishes which is equal to the dish you had. For mine, i did not state but i told Henry before hand & he says not an issue cox can still be settled after we have our food tasting.

twinkly1004

Hi Anson and cheekrene,

My co-ordinator is also zack and had signed up during the wedding show. My AD is on Next Yr Dec but he already arranged us down to signed the contract with him.. As for the dishes, he mentioned we can change during the food tasting even though we had signed the contract..

fish88

I have finally downloaded my photos online..& email to those who requested...hope it can help u guys...

things to note when viewing..1) VIP table flower setting 2) i realise thru photo there's bubbles behind us durin champagne pouring beside e march-in dry ice effect.. so a surprise to us...3)i find reception area very nice, photos there very pretty...4) stage area...ok very sturdy dun worry, not shaky or anything at all... 5) think u can try to glimpse the dishes during our table photoshoot...fish mostly finished...even bones, head little left haha, same as my food tasting, u wont wan to waste a single bit..very fresh, e shrimps alot..

Last but not least ok one last tips to share....the march-in is nothing we can do...so let's make it memorable...so far i can still think back happily my march in. so hope for u guys too...it's my idea but i think so far no one did tt... is when u & hubby meet at e ctr for the 1st March in...Kiss! think guest will feel surprise & it's special! more time used this way too...after tt walk slowly to stage to cut cake lah

oh ya my menu, menu card insert, will have both yr names too...dishes: Deluxe lobster salad, Braised sharksfin with conpoy & crabmeat, stir-fried octupus with fresh scallops & brocoli, drunken live prawns with chinese herbs, steamed live garoupa in Hongkong style, roasted chicken with crackers, braised Ee fu noodles, yam paste with gingko nuts...

paisei i mention a lot of things.. hope dun find me long winded...

kikibear

Hi Vivien

Thanks! U r a happy bride.

Btw, I realised from ur photos tt there is no red carpet for the march in? Did you request not to have it?

cheekrene

hi vivien,

thanks. your photos are great.

GPPH had done the good job by putting the bubbles effect during champagne pouring. it's beautiful.

fish88

Hi Kiki bear...yes there's no red carpet...but can be arranged...i also ask for it..but coordinator mention as red carpet along doorway there narrow & guest or us might trip...so for safety reason i take her advise too...anyway it's a short one so ok with me...maybe u can see e photo my hubby stand alone during march in...den u understand...hi the rest i wll email u guys...

kikibear

Yup. I saw that photo. Understand what you mean.
How many tables did you have? I am also quite concerned with the space that is available.

fish88

Hi groombride i cant send thru to u...returned mail: mailbox unavail..let me know if u have any other email add...

fish88

Hi Kristle, actually when we sign up only mention dry ice effect when march in...so now viewing back e photos a bonus for us...there's bubbles behind us during champagne pouring...

maybe u can just check w them yrs during finalisation...shd have one la

anything u think of just try ask them, my coordinator will gv me good advise & do wat i wan..just like e red carpet i dun wan in e end ..cos i also think guest walk in & out...wait they trip, we also feel bad..but they can of cos do it for couples who wan..no trouble at all

Hi Kikibear how many tables u going for...mine 29 tables...but a lot of space on rite hand ballrm...dunno why they will squeeze more table on left side ballrm(bridal table is left side)...
so frens or those u know will play one put rite hand side...relatives sure quiet one put left side ...just take photo tt's it lor. dun have to mingle ard there...

supergal

hi vivien,

can i know how many tables you have? your hubby's march-in area looks abit cramped hor? guess you must have around 30 tables rite?

fish88

hi supergal...29 tables...i mention left hand side cramp rite... tt's my hubby march in area...as for we bride march in...ok...u see fr our 2nd march-in, e 2 of us can walk together. most impt we have space to walk...not our hubby hehe....guys dun care much abt march in anyway ah haha...like my hubby...

kristle

hi vivien, saw yr beautiful pics. seem that the portion of the food was big too.

i had booked for 25 tables and i think it should be just fine. i intend to march in both together. so i guess got to check with the coordinator for advise already.

Seem that the light was great for photo taking. able to warm the lights a little more or no control on the warmness?

sunny_bear

hi vivien,
can i view your photos also, can send to [email protected]? tks in advance!

i just heard that Zack, the coordinator I signed up with has left the hotel.......quite surprised to hear the news. they have assigned another coordinator to me. anyone with Zack as coordinator also and been informed of the change?

mrs_kan

Jus gotten the contract from GPPH, need some advices on the contract...

Under the terms n conditions, there are 2 points which my FH is not quite comfortable with.

Can't remember the actual wordings but in layman terms:

-if hotel has change in ownership and fail to carry out the service as per contracted, the hotel is not responsible for it

- hotel has the right to change the venue of the function

Are such points the norm for banquet contracts for all hotels?
Thou it's quite impossible that such things will happen, legally wise we are not protected.

anglicious

Hi sunny bear and cheekrene,
my coordinator was Zack but i've rec'd a call from my husband this AM and gotten the news that he had left GPPH. so sad..was informed that the other coordinator,Janice will contact me shortly..bt im not sure how things will go..will call them up soon...wat abt u?

Hi Viviene,
Thanks for sharing!! you're so beautiful!! @_@
btw,which photographer did u engage? can let me noe more in details? my email is [email protected]
Thanks so much!!

smartkel

can anyone share with me your wedding photos with GPPH? Please email to me at [email protected]. Me and my fw is interested to hold our wedding next Oct with this hotel. Your pic will help us make up our mind. Tks in advance

sunny_bear

hi anson/cheekrene,

my new coordinator will also be Janice, maybe all those under Zack previously will be transferred to her.

cheekrene, you should already have been informed about the change unless they prioritise the notification by informing those couples whose wedding dates are nearer.

my AD is in Oct 08, how about both of you?

i would think it is better to meet up with the new coordinator soon if your wedding date is nearing. hopefully, the change is for the better and those in the same situation as us can also share their comments with us.

cheekrene

hi anson,

thanks for informing us.
i have not received any news from the hotel yet. quite worried now. can you help me to ask Janice (if she happen to contact u) what other couples should do since this case happen?