Dragon Gate Restaurant

purelyz

Elaine,
Congrat! So happy for u. Me? Not so soon... still wan to enjoy a bit more. Hee... Ya, I still hang ard here to see how i can help BTB by giving my comments lo...

paulnelaine

oh... in my 33+wk(8months) liao.... is a boy. finally he is coming out soon cos i have been vomiting since e 1st trimester till now..
hi purelyz,
me n my hubby always wanted 3 children but this terrible pregnancy really put me off for thinking of e next one...

morekisses512

Wow wow..8months liao!!! So happy for u...baby coming out soon

elaine
Wa...is a boy..congrats..at least, 1st baby is a bb boy,then no pressure fm in-laws lao..so everything prepared to welcome ur new born???

paulnelaine

hi jenn,
i only buy those very neccessary thgs which baby need for e 1st few month cos i have not been feeling very well to go shopping..
for me i actually prefers a girl cos nowadays girls r more filial to their own parents whereas boys usually listen to their wife more

how's all ur preparation for ur BIG day... i find tat those days preparating for our AD is e most busy days especially with e guest list n guest sitting arrangement... but ladies out there pls dont quarrel over small things during this preparation period although we always want e best for our BIG day but nothing is prefect in this world.... and also in e end e relationship with ur hubby n his family after this BIG day is more impt than anythg else.
*Dont expect everythg to be perfect, ur guests will understand n forget those small little hipcups.... even if they dont forget... just dont care abt them........ enjoy ur big day!!!

purelyz

Elaine,
U and hubby "quick quick settle thing" le... Aft ur AD then Europe HM, now so soon welcome new member... Signz... for me, nd to save $$. Wow! u and hubby must love children a lot... i jus wan to 've 2 bb only. More i cannot take care lo... I think aft u see ur boy, u cfm wan to 've more bb! Take great care of urself. I think now u shd more used to ur condition already compared to 1st Tri. So any plan to go studio to take pics? Cos i wan! Hee... Can keep for memory mah...

Hi elaine,
Me oso same as purelyz..now save $$$ first before planning for a bb... so right, still enjoying er-ren-shi-jie... kee kee

Ya.i agreed that girl better cos more filial to parents just like me towards my parents... and now my hb listen to me more too ... kee kee

paulnelaine

hi purelyz,
heehee we actually planned to have a honeymoon baby but it didnt turn out to be... tis baby is after honeymoon then conceive one...

but e europe trip is very nice but a bit too cold for me although is autumn but is end of autumn, everywhere e shops closed very early as early as 5pm.... but i really love Switzerland, anyone planning to go europe must go switzerland more more days..... Paris n london got nothing much to see except for shopping but thgs super ex.
i didnt even take much photos during this period cos too tired to walk n go out... now last trimester liao even worst... tummy so so heavy. saw some Mother to be take studio photo then suggest to hubby but guess wat he ask me change clothes then he take for me...*faint*...

sasa_xie

Me going for food tasting at DG tonite... sighz, time to settle the big headache of guests list and seating arrangements ;p

elaine,
ha ha, ur hb really funnie... but maybe he is trying to save more milk powder money mah... kee kee
Me should be going to switzerland for HM cos i hope to conceive one HM bb....ha ha ha

Melisa,
Good luck for ur good tasting.... remember to take note of the steam fish...that time when i went for my food tasting, the fish was overcooked... so in the end, we requested the fish to be cut into half to steam...

Headache ? Ur guests list keep increasing ?

purelyz

Elaine,
I wan a girl 1st then boy. Girl can help take care of bb, maybe?! Hee... Aiya... u and hubby to tired for bb on HM. Tot u got the "eurporean" bb. Haha... Ur hubby very "pro" wan to take pics. But it's nice too...

gettinmarried

i have to forfeit the 200voucher...soorie ok never made clearli...mine mother in law is realli gettin on mine nerve..aniwai jenn i m alsoo in mine preggi state..i cantz imagine wearin the weddin gown wenz mine bb s six month full in mine stomach...haiz. i goot noo choice mine mother in law have to choose everithin from weddin too birth..aniway i might hadvin mine food tastin next month...

gettinmarried

first mine MIL s the type ofz person whom wantz to poke her nose towards everithin...she wantz to choose the date...everithin...even mine doctor and where should i given birth...soo i m sure she wantz to goo 4 food tastin for sure...but itz turns out she dontz wantz...she said she has tried the food there before..soo i innsist mine husband to bring mine parents to food tastin..but turned out mine husband arguin x me for not askin his mum to goo...

gettinmarried

whoo...veri confused state to explained...keep itz pretti simple short...after marriage we might stayed x his father Or we would stayed at the rental flat his grandma had rent while she stayed x her other children which currentli we are stayin..veri hard too explained here as itz s veri complex..

paulnelaine

hi gettingmarried,
may i know how old u r? r u getting married cos of pregnancy? *sorri if it is to private to ans.
anyway if she wanna make decision abt wedding stuff just let her be lor...but which hospital u shld give birth then u just take it as a suggestion...if it isa good hospital then just listen to her... but dont be too obedient if not life will be very miserable for u next time especially if u r staying with her after ur wedding. some MIL just wanna control their DIL b4 they married into e family just to make themselves worthwhile n so tat their DIL will listen to them after marrying their son...

gettinmarried

elaine...i m 23 tiz year..and how should i putz..i m notz gettin married coz of preggy as we had alreadi planned our marriage ahead but soundz lame tatz mine husband ever said tatz onli wenz i have his child then he would married me<tatz>noo i cantz take itz as a suggestion...wenz she said tiz we need too doo tiz..not onli she choose the hospital she alsoo choose which doctor should i see andz the places she choose to doo the followed up itz a private clinic at LUCKYPLAZA.....where to followed up..as for me..i juz think tatz due to enviorement and goverment subsides...i should goo to kk hospital which have more facilites...i juz feel she is causin alotz ofz troubled..awhile she said tatz we could freeli choose the rom date as itz not imporatntz as she choosen the chinese date(wenz she choose the chinese date..she have changed the date twice while mine mother has to keep tellin people we changed date again till mine mother feel embarrssed..>todai me and mine husband wentz to the rom and choose the date..she poke in again..we actalli wantz to choose the date 23<which> while she called up and said cannotz...and she wantz her son to tell her over the phone wad date itz avail..so in the end she choose the rom date againz... and now comes the time slot and tiz time i get realli annoyed and said mine husband as mine husband choose one time slot and i said him..:itz not for us to choose againz..ur mother sureli said noo..tiz time mine husband choose to ignore to tell mine MIL the time slot and we can freeli choose wad time slot we actualli wantz...haiz...relieved...

morekisses512

Hi gettingmarried,
I agreed with you, KK hospital is much better in terms of cost and facilities.
Sometimes you need to have ur own opinion. Try to talk with ur FH. Ask him to compromise at least in choosing ur own Gynae and hospital?
It will be tough for u to travel so far just to see the doctor at Luckyplaza...and worse is you dont like the clinic... : (

morekisses512

I have changed my wedding day...pushed forward to October instead of December 2007...advise from Master Jing ZiLong. : )
Luckily, Dragongate allow me to do so!! Phew! What a relief!

Hi morekisses
So ur wedding day in oct07 is a weekend too ??? I tot DG slot for weekend are full lao...but feel lucky for u ya....

morekisses512

Yup, It is saturday too! Phew...lucky for me!!
Coz the Fengshui Master gave me 2dates, 27th oct and 9th december 07. I dont want 9th Dec as it is a Sunday, people might not want to attend as the next day they need to work. So I quickly called DG to check...both dates are still available. So I wrote in to the Management and they approved.
Heng Heng..

morekisses512
Ya, really heng heng for u......
Still hv to wait in to the management huh... u meant still subject to approval rather than availability ????

morekisses512

Hi Jenn,
Yup. Still have to seek the Management approval though ballroom still available.
DG Management email me the confirmation letter, I gotta sign and refax back.
Quite troublesome. : ) But still worth it.

berry_tay

I would like to check, anyone knows when should I contact and confirm with the restaurant abt the hala food and vegetarian food to prepare for the wedding day.

As i try to call them and it seems that they are not sincere, and bad attitude. Whenever I want to find out who will be my co-ordinator, they (dragon gate) just give me vague answer and says u can call and check with anyone there. But WHO?? is the main concern as I dunno their names, their role etc.

Its so furious to talk to them and spend time asking. Furthermore, they did mention and say just call them when date is near. I am always being piss by the uncertain answer attitude.

Anyone can help me, please.

thank u

purelyz

taytbh,

i've the same prob when i've my AD. But for my case, it's better. Cos my MIL know the manager there. So usually i'll go back to the same manager. It's when he is busy or not ard, i've to talk to the bad attitude staffs. They often say "can talk to anyone" but who?! That's my qns too. I keep remainding them to write down in their book.

I'm very picky. A lot of things i nd them to take note. I also ask a decorator in. So i work closely with my decorator and the manager. My decorator commented on my AD that the manager is very helpful throughout. So i'm very happy with the manager service. Too bad, the manager 've retired.

I'll suggest you to go down to the restaurant personally, although it's troublesome. But settle it once and for all. Talk to the current manager. If u nd to follow up later, look back to the same manager. Avoid calling during meal hours. That's my tips lo...

morekisses512

Hi Taytbh,

Call at 3pm-4pm. Weekend Manager is Eric.
Weekdays Im not so sure... You can call the Management, look for Charis. She is the one who help me to solve my date changing issue, keychain issue...

berry_tay

Thanks for the info, if i not wrong the manager in charge for the dinner is Tony. Heard he always not prepare, everything he says always yes yes yes, dunno what he doing....

I will go down some day to solve my problem...

Thanks again for the help

taytbh,
Is is quite true that Tony is not a good manager, his attitude sucks lor..but eric is good.. He was the one who offer to help me to find 30 tealight candles holders on my AD at last min...

However, at times, they cant answer who will be the cordinator of your AD was due to their time shift are not out and they wouldn know who is on duty on ur AD night..... usually they will only their shift time prior to one month.

Initally i oso want maraget to be my AD cordinator and i even begged her to be my cordinator but she always reject me cos of the their time shift matter.

Unfortunately on my AD, she was available on my AD and Eric become my cordinator and he is really good lor.

For any T&amp;C u had negotatite with DG, must make sure that they write down black and white.

gettinmarried

I had fiona...she was rather friendli and helpful to everi needs...she was the one whom been kept callin mine MIL and FH about the weddin cards..she alsoo asked me to looked out for other staff ifz she is off on particular daY..mine AD is on 4OCT...now i wantz to know how mani songz should i choose...each for wad...plz let me knowz aboutz itz..

berry_tay

Wow, it seems eric really helpful though, so as fiona, at least she will call up to check the wedding card. Not like my case, none bother to call me, its me who called them to check this and that. I think if i dun call them, think they will really wait till my AD then they call me. I really miss Ronnie, who he left already. He was really very helpful towards my friend preparation. Last year my friend got married and becos of his positive attitude, i sign my package with him.

And that's why nobody bother to ask or call me abt the preparation cos Ronnie left the office early this year

taytbh
Although Ronnie had left, perharps u can consider Eric..cos his attitude is really good and he will do his best to help the couple.

Just try to avoid Tony to be ur AD Cordinator...cos he dun seem to know anything except asking for tips after the dinner settlement.

berry_tay

Hi jenn,

I also wish that I can have Eric to be my co-ordinator. But it seems that whenever I got problem, the gal call Diane says that I can look for Tony, as he will be in charge. So do u think is there a way to change the co-ordinator if I dun want tony har.

Also another question, do dragon gate helps to provide flower petals, i din ask them as i assume they sure say no. Cos I ask them abt the carpark coupon, straight they gave me an answer, carpark is charge by cashcard. Full stop, nothing more nothing less. Sian ah, talking to them

Hi taytbh
U cant change co-ordinator if on ur AD, happen that Tony is on duty...

Nope, DG dun provide flower petals, u need to buy on ur own. Rgds carpark coupon, no, customers hv to pay on their own...

Gettinmarried,
Actually i didnt told them i need the tealight..i bought the candles pack fm Ikea and bring to DG on my AD, then i asked Eric if they have any tealight candles holder , then he said have, and help me to find the 30 holders.... kee kee

gettinmarried
After that, DG keep all the candle holders.....
The candles were fully light up throughout the dinner.

wilfrey

I am wilfrey here, newbie to this forum. just to check anyone go for food tasting or having AD at dragon gate. any comment as my AD is next month.

wilfrey

I went from my food tasting already, the menu I going for should be eternity. What worry me now is the food and the place. I went for my food tasting which I suppose they should do their best in their skill and food but however the first cold dish of the popiah turn out to be over cook, "chao da" and the worse thing is there lot of mosquito and flies flying around. I tell the manager off saying I don't expect such thing happen in a restaurant I dun even see it in a food court. I super worried now just hope thing go smooth on actual day otherwise I super pai seh to the guest and even they give me discount also cannot pay back as it once in a life time.

sasa_xie

omg, mosquitoes and flies? now i'm scared... my AD is exactly 1 mth away. but the food and presentation were very nice when we went down for food tasting 2 mths ago... hhmmm.... their standard has definitely fallen if that's the case.. sighz..

wilfrey

I am taking the smaller one cos I only had about 27 tables not many big family. We were having our food tasting in the bigger ballrm. Eric explain to me that the mosquito and flies are due to the construction of vivocity, he say by the AD in Oct 22 the thing should not be affected.

I might have to go down a few time to check out the situation otherwise.... Super annoying and pai seh if you can imagine while having food tasting my in-laws and parents are busying chasing the flies away from the food. I thought for the moment am I having dinner in old tiong bahru mkt or hawker centre in chinatown?? maybe the situation is not so bad than there either.