Dragon Gate Restaurant

happysunny

surf the forum and see mix comment about Dragon gate. Wish to know more of the food, ambience and service of the rest. If I were to have my dinner there, I will be only be using the smaller hall.

wedding02

Hi happysunny,

I am also using the smaller ballroom for my dinner next Jan. Initially I have hesitation about the room cause I feel the bigger room looks more grand. But I need onli 34 tbles, so the smaller room is more suitable. Anyway the bigger room was booked also on the same day, but the couple has only 40 tables so the rest of the tables are open to diners. So the smaller ballroom will be our dinner onli. Not Bad afterall. We even hired a wedding planner to decorate the room to look more cosy. Tried the dinner buffet not bad.

shirley

I am considering to hold my wedding dinner at Dragon Gate. However, i wonder where can i keep my personal belongings especially the angbaos. I know that the restaurant has a changing room for the brides, but it seems unsafe. The room is just located next to the staff lockers room and the kitchen.

What is the best way then? Pls advise? Thanx.

islandpub

hi Shirley,

I will be having my dinner at DG as well. I think I will be asking either my brother or one of my close friend to help me take care of the ang paos throughout the dinner coz it's not safe to leave the ang paos in the bridal room coz no lock mah....

btw, when is ur dinner?

shirley

Hi islandpub,

According to DG, you can lock the room and get the key from the manager. But I think it's unsafe. I think I better get my sister to help me.

My dinner will be 11 Aug this year. How about you? There are 2 ballrooms A & B. Which is yours?I will take ballroom B since I got more than 40 tables. Did you get a good deal? Who did you liase with at DG?

islandpub

hi Shirley,

Mine will be 27 May 2002. I will be taking Ballroom A coz i only ve 25 tables. i would say my deal quite gd lah considering they got free flow beer n somemore my hubby in the police force they got tie up with the police welfare scheme so we got additional 5% discount off the banquet. so my per table was originally $423 nett but now becomes $401.85 nett per table, can save over $500 so not bad lor..... but i got to pay 50% for food tasting coz dun ve 30 tables.....

initially i liaise with Margaret but now I am liaising with the manager there... he is call Wai Mun.

so how's ur package like? which menu did u take? urs on weekend so slightly more expensive rt? did u ve free flow beer as well?

shirley

hi islandpub,

that's a gd deal! my package is $418 nett, comes with free flow of beer and free food tasting for 10.

if i'm not wrong, the other two menus have suckling pig. I got Muslim friends coming to my dinner...it's not so nice if they see it.

so have you booked your wedding package?

islandpub

hi Shirley,

actually i took the same package as u but at $398 coz mine is on weekday but we changed 2 dishes and swopped another two so we topped up $25 so end up with $423 nett. We actually changed to include the suckling pig in the first dish n change the fish from sea bass to garoupa (coz my dad said sea bass not nice...) then we swopped the lotus rice to ee-fu noodles n the dessert to lotus red bean paste (these 2 swoppings no extra charge coz they said got 4 choice for us to choose mah).....

i got muslim friends too but we will be having a muslim table for them so shldnt be a prob coz anyway my muslim friends quite "open minded" one... :p

i booked my wedding package with French Bridal Studio at Funan IT Mall.... ve u heard abt them before? Any comments? Wat abt u? who did u booked with since ur wedding is this august? ur photos all done up already?

shirley

ya, only come across on the site. are they expensive?

i've booked mine in JB. just finished our photo-shooting last month only. it will be ready by end of this month. they are great! as a result, i took 10 additional photos on top of 25pcs.

islandpub

wow! great to hear that ur photos turn out well!

my package is $3388 with OTR WG n EG. i wld consider their package quite reasonable lah.... quite comprehensive at this price n i wil be getting 10" x 15" photos (22 pcs) with portrait n table top n 3Rs photos for giveaways as well as a 2R super mini album..... plus actual day photography service (no extra charge but pay for per roll of film at $35 each) plus car lor....

how much does ur package cost? does it include everything?

shirley

hi islandpub

sorry for my late reply. so tied up with my wedding preparation lately.

i've paid about S$1500 for my package. It includes

1)MTM wedding gown and
2)OTR evening gown for actual day
3)MTM suit to keep
4)OTR Jacket for my father
5)25pcs 12"x15" photos
6)21pcs 3R
7)portrait 24"x30"
8)table top 11"x14"
9)60pcs for relatives and friends
10)and others except photographer, make-up artist and bridal car for actual day.

everything in, i will probably spend about $2500.

i think it's still reasonable compared to S'pore rates. what do you think?

i am going for my food tasting at DG this friday. hope it meet my standard!

ciao

islandpub

hi Shirley,

Wow! ur package is really a gd deal and so much cheaper than the singapore ones... glad for u... :p

u must be getting excited since it's only 1 mth away to ur wedding.... :p

pls update me on ur food tasting... thanks....

jh

Nice to hear abt pp preparing for the big day. Mine was almost 1/2 year ago. Dragon Gate is definitely a good choice. The atmosphere, food... indeed was memorable, even till today, we never regret. I don't know if they still have the guy starting off the dinner with the song " MAMBO 5" and he danced along with the music, it was funny and the impact is great.

Most importantly, perhaps u can break-even, without much "lu-gi"at least.

On the part of handling your red-packets, it's definitely good to keep it with your family members- bring a bigger hand-bag.

Shirley: remember to give your comments on the food, so that they can take note and improve, that's what i did and luckily it turned out well that nite, esp the fish. And personally i love the ee-fu noodles. Still go back for that sometimes.

angelia

I also attended a dragon gate resturant wedding last year.

We found the food not bad. Most of us on the table agreed to the guy dancing was unusual. But mambo number 5 is not a appropriate music for a wedding. If you listen closely to the lyrics of that song. It is about this guy with his many many girls. It is a song about a flirt. 8P. And the music at the wedding we went to was so loud, that it was deafening,some of us had to hold our hands to the ears. And those with babies had to quickly walk out with the babies. I witness at least 1 case of this happening.

Do they still have tat MC who tried to prolong the yam seng? He could hold the yam seng for at least 2 mins. 8P

jh

Hi Eli,

Perhaps all of the guest were too engrossed with the performance of that guy that they did not noticed the lyrics

Yap, that MC u mentioned is still there.As i have a cousin who can yam seng so well, so in the end, the 2 of them had prolonged the whole session.

pearlite

I'm holding my wedding dinner at Dragon gate this Nov. Would like to hear comment from anyone who have their wedding there before or attended the wedding dinner there.

Hi Pearlite,

i have got a friend's friend who had their wedding dinner last sat at Dragon Gate. The aircon broke down.Can you imagine how terrible it was. Apparently WTC is undergoing renov so it affected the central aircon.
the worst thing was the restaurant tried to deny that this is their responsibility.
i advise you to stress this incident to manager and make sure that they check with the building management that they will not repeat this mistake again. But then may be WTC will finish their reno by nov.

pearlite

Hi kpo,

Thanks for your infro. Me getting worried but no choice already book with them.I just hope that by nov the reno will be finished.

islandpub

hi Pearlite n kpo,

i wil be having my dinner at DG this coming Monday leh... oh dear! the air-con broke down???!!! jia lat lah like that... now i cant help worrying abt wat will happen on my wedding nite liao...

kpo, so how do u find the food n service there besides the air-con broke down? which ballroom was ur frn's wedding at?

Pearlite,

i will update u on the food n svc after my wedding ok?

yan

i am planning for my wedding next year... actually there are some resturant to choose dragon gate in WTC or noble house ... any comment ladies or gents if there is any...., and any thing to take note if we are going to book a resturant for dinner.... how much deposit..

flowee

yan

get ur date oredi ah???
then can start 2 book ur banquet venue liao...

mine is with noble hse...
booked it durin their bridal show hv a 15% discount on wkdaz package...
tunglok hvin another bridal show @ orchard parade hotel on 20th oct...
u might wana 2 check them out...
deposit will b $1030 if u booked durin their show n $2060 durin 'normal' times...

as 4 dragon gate, my gf she juz been there 4 weddin dinner...
commented the food nt bad...
u can call ask them if ur date is available???
if yes can drop by take a look b4 a weddin dinner...
able 2 hv a feel of the place b4 commitin urself in ur banquet venue...
hv fun...

yan

flowee,
yes tenderitively is last week of dec if there is no space then it will be in early jan... actualy have a few date to choose so it ok for me.... me now very confused everything oso dun know how to do ... stress man

flowee

yan

u can check ard oredi since u oredi hv ur dates...
think u hv ur reno, weddin venue n actual daz photographer 2 worry over rite???
take ur time dun rush in2 anythin...

estee

Hi yan,

Just attend my friend's wedding at Dragon Gate last month. Found out their decor quite nice and the food is good. I like their sharks fin soup
very nice! My friend was using their emcee, his "yam-seng" is super long. It was the funniest part & the ambience was very high, I laugh until stomachache
cannot stop!

Above just for your reference. cheers!

mira

Hi Islandpub,

I am getting married next year March & would like to hear your comment at DG restaurant. Btw, how is your wedding dinner going on? Hope so far so good.

justmythots

Hi Mira,

I went for dinner at Dragon Gate last sat and coincendently there's a wedding dinner going on. Overall the place is nice for a wedding and the food is not bad BUT i personally do not like it 'cos of the "old old" carpark and the entrance of DG happens to be ONLY at the carpark.

Just my personal views.

yan

thank you estee,
i am actually going there end of the month, i actually did heard from pp theat the place there not bad .... thinking of the place too... what about you , where is your dinner held in hotel or resturant?

hi flowee,
my reno will start next week sat the air con will be in frist then the electricla work and the wet work.... after reno i will start loking for bridal shop maybe thinking of going to jb to take photo....

flowee

yan

mind 2 disclose ur weddin date???
gd 4 u ur reno had started...
muz drop by on n off 2 check on them oredi lor...
last nite i went the lightin r up oredi...
currentli lookin @ bridal n actual daz photographer...

estee

hi yan,

u r most welcome! mine was 1 year ago, in M'sia & now a happy married woman ;) just kpo kpo in this forum hee..hee...

yan

hi flowee, and estee,

hopeless my wedding is at end of next year ... this sat my hse will start the reno very tried ma.

ryan

hi Flowee,

Looks like you appear all over the topics in this forum eh..!!
Glad to hear that you've secured a wedding package with NobleHouse.. Coz my FH and I were thinking of there too.. Basically heard that their food are pretty good and thats what we wanted our guests to enjoy. Anyway.. mind to share more of the details about your wedding din package with Noblehouse? price/table? Bet you been to the food tasting..? how was it?

Ryan

flowee

ryan

no lah i happened 2 b in those u read... :p

yes had secured my dinner @ noble hse durin their bridal fair @ imperium...
mine is a wkdaz prices ranges between $400+ 2 $600+ dependin on which menu u had selected...
had chosen the $500++ 1...
since we booked durin the fair, we r entitled a 15% disc 4 wkdaz packages...

they r able 2 take up 2 55 tables...
we secured 30 tables 4 the time bein...
will inform them of the actual number of tables when our dinner is near...
hvnt gone 4 our food tastin coz its still 2 earli...

when is ur weddin???

chiart

i am also planning to have my wedding dinner at dragon gate cos too many tables
think only there can accommodate.
any other suggestions please?

ohno

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">hi chiart</FONT>

u can also try Yunnan Garden at IMM, their restaurant can hold up to max. of 55 tables and their ballroom require min. of 60 tables.

rainy

Hi.. are there anyone who is going to hold a banquet with Dragon Gate in 2003?

Just wanna to know if anyone has tried to negotiate if we can bring down the no. of tables.

I have booked BRM A but it seems that 450pax soungs alot.And so many of my friends have adivsed me to reduce to 40tables to protect my budget.

how..what should i do now? If I cant reduce, then should i forgo the $1k deposit ($700 cos i have taken the $300 voucher)? Do u all think is better to forgo the $700 and find another restaurant?

On the other hand, some pp told me that guest may only pay $50 for restaurant banquets and I may have to top up at the end of the day.Is kinda of taking a risk.

pls help me..

A worried bride

dragongal

Dear worried bride,

I'll be holding my banquet in Dragon Gate in 2003 &amp; like u, have also booked Ballrm A. The minimum tables u need to confirmed is 45 tables if u wanna have it in Ballrm A. But think u can asked for fewer tables. I've only confirmed 42 tables &amp; they let me use Ball rm A liao.

Don't worry too much. Juz have a gd talk with ur coordinators &amp; I'm sure things will be juz fine. Muz be a cheerful &amp; happy bride mah...

Dragongal

bubbletea

Dragongal,
Yours is on weekday or weekend? Cos I know they only requires 40 table on weekday, but weekend they want 45.
I think you meant ballroom B, that is the bigger one, A is the smaller one. I also like ballroom B, and thinking whether they can willing to let me have less table for it.

Bubbletea

dragongal

Dear Bubbletea,

So sorry but I cannot remember which ballroom it is. But I'm sure I'm having my wedding @ the bigger ballroom. My wedding will be held on a weekend, 1 of the Sat in the Lunar 8th mth. Hm... think if u have ard 40-44 tables, it shld be alright. Juz have a gd talk with ur coordinator... For ur info. I'm having 42 tables including 2 spares 1s. Hence I'm actually having 40 tables if these 2 r not used.

Dragongal

blur_like_sotong

Hi Dragongal,

i am also having my wedding in Dragon Gate too. my wedding is on one of the Sat in Lunar 8th mth too. which date ur wedding is?? i have booked the small room b'cos i only need 30 tables. Have u gone for ur food testing??

okeanosmao

blur,
me too, hv only ard 30 tables so choose the smaller rm..which date is yrs? mine is in nov.
heard the fd not bad..quite gd except for the service staff.hv to take note of that.

okeanosmao

hi blur,

me too also hv ard 30 tables so choose the smaller rm. when is yr date? mine is in nov.
heard that the food not bad except for the service staff which hv to take extra care of..they tend to rush guests to finish their food quickly. n dun get their staffs to be your emcee.

bubbletea

Dragongal,
Thanks for the info.
I am planning for Nov. But the bigger ballroom is booked for both sat and sun of the weekend I want. May have to cut down guests and go with the smaller ballroom.

Okeasnosmao,
From what I see, the staff is ok, cos when I was there that day to check out, they are generally warm towards me. Not sure about actual day tho.

batty

I am planning to use Dragon Gate for my wedding dinner. Have not booked it yet. But would really appreciate any feedback from anyone who has used this restaurant for your wedding.
My FW and I went to see the restaurant a few days ago and liked it alot. We're planning to use the bigger ballroom. But we have one nagging concern. If there're two weddings going on at the same time, will it be very ugly and will the noise from one ballroom be heard from the other?
Also, will guests lose their way and turn up at the wrong entrance and have to be pointed to the correct one? It would not be very nice, won't it?
Do share how you find the food and the service if you can? We really appreciate your input. Our wedding is next year, during the 'popular' period, so would like to book it early.

okeanosmao

hi batty,

i've booked also this coming nov.
i've asked abt the sound if there's 2 dinner going on but they told me tat it cannot be heard as walls is sound proof. well, not so sure abt tat.
as for the entrance, frens told me tat alot of their guests mistaken for the room. cos once out frm the lift, bigger ballrm will b more obvious so most guests tot its the bigger ballrm i/o of the small one although the invitation card did shows the correct entrance to enter.
food wise is okie, according to my frens but servie is not up to standard. well, it can't be help as service is not like hotels.

batty

Hi Okeanosmao!

Thanks for your input.

Just out of curiosity, will there be another wedding banquet held at the resturant on your wedding day as well?

What made you decide on DG?

okeanosmao

batty,

there will be another banquet in the bigger ballrm. i chose the smaller one.

the first feeling that my hubby n i stepped is great, comfortable &amp; soothing..(duno how to describe the feeling) that's y we decided to book the restaurant.
moreover, the dates that i've chosen are fully booked so i found this n booked immediately.
so far, price is quite reasonable and i hv budget to maintain.
only the service tat i'm worried abt.

batty

hi again!

you're right about it being a very nice and comfy place. My FW and I liked the place immediately after we walked in. It looked like a ballroom and seems pretty grand. Plus the food is cheaper than most hotel banquets.

Still waiting for the confirmed date of our wedding. Our parents have not given us the date they want. Hope that by then, the bigger ballroom will still be available.

Anyway, did you go and source around before choosing DG? What were your criteria, if any?

We made sure that the place could take more than 40 tables. And where possible, the prices be around $450max per table. Also, we want it to be near an MRT if possible.

We went to many many places. Quite exhausting actually. Do share your experiences if any.

bonbon

I am also going to take up DG for my banquet in Dec 03. Will be putting my deposit soon. Just want to check if anyone had tried to upgrade/exchange your hotel room? Understand that the existing one provided by the package is with Hotel Miramar. Appreciate your comments.

okeanosmao

hi batty,

before i went to DG, i also went to teochew city @ centrepoint, restaurant @ taka (can't remember the name), gim tim restaurant @ chevrons, grand plaza parkroyal @ city hall, plaza parkroyal @ beach rd.

actually wanted to choose plaza parkroyal @ beach rd cos they have my 1st date but $618/table. menu is average, ambience is gd. hubby think not wise to spend so much on the dinner for average fd.

then recommended by my fren, chevrons. there not bad, restaurant fd is gd but selection of fd is average - $380/table and abv. can get to use chevrons ballrm if u hv more than 30 tables. ballrm ambience doesnt lose out to hotel ballrm. but one thing is tat, no rm provided after dinner for bride &amp; groom. can bk chalets which they hv 6 chalets but must book 6 months (if i'm not wrong) in advance subject to availability. safra members hv more advantages. so we drop chevrons.

tat's y we finally choose DG despite alot of negative comments frm alot of ppl. but no matter what we choose, do yr best lor..