Dragon Gate Restaurant

Hi wilfrey chng
This is the first time i had heard abt mosquito and flies... i guess it is truth as eric had reported, the flies grow as there are muds around at the construction of VIVO city.

wilfrey chng
BTW, have you went to test your laptop and your march in songs ??? U can compile your mp3 songs, as DG can play mp3 songs as well...

Happy preparation !!!!

wilfrey

Hi Jenn,

Not yet test but going in a few week time, btw providing those tea candle are ur idea to prepare for each table rite??

Thanks ! I just hope thing go smooth that day and I dun expect some flies flying on my face while I march in otherwise I going to tear the restaurant down. hehe!

wilfrey chng,
Hmm providing tea candle was not my idea. actually another bride had requested before, so i requested the same. Her AD was 1 mth before mine...

sasa_xie

hi wlfrey, are u gonna request for the tealight candle holders too? if u do, pls let me noe coz the last time i spoke to Tony, he say dun have

Melisa
U can opt you read from the forum, the previous couple requested and eric had fulfilled , how come now dun have, and this is not fair.....

Well, they will be quite surprised that couples reveal certains request online.... so DG have to treat all couples equally.

wilfrey

hi melisa,

I might not request for it, but are they being remove when the dish are serve?? WHat type of candle holder they provide same design from Ikea?

I discuss with my wife first.

sasa_xie

hi jenn,

have read from the forum that's y asked DG abt it. now i'm having half a mind to go ikea to buy the candles but can't cfm if DG would be able to provide the holders. sighz....

i'm only left with 3 weeks to my AD.... aaarrgghhh... so stressed

Melisa
Actually, i just bot the candles and just ask for the holders when i reach DG on my AD..

Wilfrey,
They wouldnt remove the candle holder then the dishes are serve. The candle will remain lighted up throughout the dinner.

gettinmarried

mine AD is drawin veri near on oct4...but now i m still confused ofz the songz...i juz dunnoo how mani songz should i prepared..and one thin tatz time i happened to wentz down to jeffrey AD..their photo are shown wenz the lightz are on n guest are still walkin in yetz..i would suggest tatz the wen everybody arrive and turn offz the lightz to view the photoz..ya..i would alsoo prepare the candles too for the holder...

sasa_xie

oh yah, the songs are a headache too. so far, i chose 2 songs, 1 for first march n the other for 2nd march in. also selected a few other love songs to b compiled into the CD so that DG can just play throughout the dinner. hhmm... any other songs i have to specially choose? champagne toasting? cake cutting? first dish? bye bye time? aarrrgghh.....

purelyz

A small advice on song selection: Prepare different songs for 1st march-in, Food march, 2nd march-in. Optional: Cake cutting song and champagne pouring song. Find meaningful songs.

As for me, i've a cantonese song by Jacky for 1st march-in. Very meaningful song for both of us, cos he sing this song to propose to me. Hee...
Then i've one of the bond song for food march, i think the song name is Victory.
For my 2nd march-in, i've 98 degree, I do cherish you (my fav song).
Actually i've another song for my champagne pouring, jus piano music (forgot the song name).

Throughout the dinner, i've prepare two (burned) CD with all our fav songs, from cantonese, chinese, japanese, korean and english songs.

Hi melissa,
For cake cutting, usually the music is extended from your 1st march in.

For 1st dish - I use allegeto by THE BOND (Oso instrumental).

For champagne toasting, the music played was oso extended from second march in lor....

As for me, i only prepare one CD with all the songs, abt 30 songs, and the songs repeated ....

sasa_xie

haha,i just realised i need to rearrange all the songs again. coz my father will march me in for the 1st march. den it would be followed by my solemnisation before the cake cutting. hhmm... lots of considerations..

Melisa ,
U same as me, my daddy oso march in with me ...then give my hand to my hb, and we march up the stage for the cake-cutting...kee kee

berry_tay

Please help......

Anyone has the same scenario like me, I have many many dissatified problems encounter with the DG restaurant.

I am having my wedding on mid oct, there are always lots of queries, i guess everyone the same, is the food nice, environment, blah blah blah.

But I have a problem here, both me and hubby got muslim and vegetarian friends to attend our wedding.

The restaurant staff once said no additional charge to malay and veggie customer, to reconfirm again, they said have to charge 40 plus per customer if there are muslim or veggie friends.

Now they change again, the management will need us to fill 1 table for muslim friends, total both add together we only have 6 muslim friends, the management says we got to pay 1 full table muslim friends if we only have some little of them. Alternatively, they suggest we buy pack food for muslim friends if we dun want to pay full table price. Is this the case they treat everybody. Is the the real case they manage this kind of situation. Vegetarian they can provide by ordering but if i have less than a table friend i have to pay 40 plus each. Money is not a big issue but how can they treat us like this whereby in the first place they din let us know got this rule.

Isn't it gullible to us if we are 1st timer to do banquet. The funny thing is they say their restaurant is runned like that. WHo the hell will know that we know how they run.

They don even bother to explain to us in the 1st place. I think it is also our fault to mislook this as I always thot they provide all religion food without informing.

Have anyone has this problem. Also I have signed the dotted line with 30 plus 3 tables, now I have more tables do i need to inform them early, or will they ask me. I really afraid that they will say I only sign 30 tables, moreover, they says can accomodate 37 tables, will they just prepare 33 tables food or less. So frustrating I am, it is now left 3 weeks, what can I do now.

I need some advise

purelyz

berry,

For me, i've muslim and vegetarian friends to attend my wedding. Yes, they charge additional. Let me explain my sitition. i only have 1 muslim and 1 veggie frens.

The 1 veggie frens sit in a table of 10, meaning that table have 11 pax. We need to pay 40 plus extra for that table for him.

That time the management told me we need to fill up 1 table for muslim friends. And me and my hubby total add together we have less than 1 full table. So my hubby "date" his muslim friends before AD for a dinner.

As for my muslim friens, she is not strict muslim, so she just eat chinese food without taking the pork. Shh...

Buy pack food for muslim friends is so stupid. It make them feel inferior... i wouldn't do so...

It's the same thing, they didn't explain this thing to us when we bk. It's also bcos we dun foresee this in the beginning as it's the 1st time mah... They a bit unpro la...

If u nd to add tables, u need to inform them early. How many more u need? If u've 30 + 3 tables, they will confirm prepare 30 tables foods, then the other 3 tables, they'll get all "raw" food ready. Then u inform them abt 1-2 days in advance. So if u've 330 guests, I'll advise u dun nd to add.

BUT IF u've abt 350 guests, i'll advice u add 2 more tables. So to 32 + 3.

As to safeguard from losses, U noe once u cfm, u nd to pay for the cfm tables, no matter got pp come a not. The other 3 spare is only chargeable when u "open" them.

Just my advises...

Taytbh
For my case, i dun have any muslim frenz but i had to pay extra for vegetarian for $40.00 per pax.

As i had located the seats probably, so DG oleidi know which table to serve the vegetarian food respectively, and need not hv one full table (10 pax) for vegetarian ppl.

gettinmarried

I Called up DG and i told them i wanted to have the candle holder too...You guess wad they said...They said they dun have candle holder and asked me to put the Candle on A PLATE...hohoho...
i asked her to checked again the candle holder thin az i know they doo have holder through tiz forum...hmmm...aniwae wad dooo u all think ofz puttin the candle on the PLATE instead on the holder...i guezz i need to arrange the song again..i got itz all mezzed up...

daystar

hi gals..nice to see all of ur comments..
my dinner is at Dragon Gate too, on 25th Nov.. =)

So can we request for candle holder? hmm...anyone decorated the restaurant on your AD?

gettinmarried
U have to tell them that there are some brides who had requested for candle holder before and the wish was fulfilled..so cannot say dun have...

bluey

it is a veri long time since the last time i came to this forum.

Congratulations to all.

Nett, I engage my own florist for my AD. Coz i dun like those flower stand the only thing i keep is the heart shaped with our names on it.

bluey

hi nett,

the decoration of flowers are all done up with roses. 8 flower stands, candles for all the tables, centre piece for vip tables n a bit of stage deco, reception and the big round table at the entrance. I need to go n find those pixs.

it cost $800

daystar

Hi BLuey.. thanks for the info.. if you got the pic, can send me to me [email protected]

tks lots!

btw, i went down to dragon gate to confirm some details, at the same time, asked Eric about the candle light holders, he said one couple has left it some mths back and has not collected, thus we can still use it as long as they didnt collect back. But he said no promise...

What if the couple collect back on the day before my wedding??

Hmm...

purelyz

Nett,
I've deco my AD. Mine is the smaller ballrm, it cost me less than $400, cos i ask for less fresh flowers. I also jus keep the heart shaped with names. I didn't use their flower stands. I've done up the recept, album table, 2 VIP, wedding cake, stage deco. My decorator rent me (FOC) abt 60 candle holders (She sugg to put 2 per table). Highly recomm... i think a lot brides in this thread also use her.

wilfrey

Hi purelyz,
I am using the ball rm A as well.

Possible to give the the contact for the deco, cos I think to do up the reception area, the flower stand and reception area look a bit rundown there at DG .

purelyz

wilfrey,
Haha... "Rundown" that's wat i think abt DG too. But too bad, my MIL like the food there... So have to spend a bit on deco. can i've ur email?

dan_fel

hihi... im new here... jus wanna check out hows the service at dragongate..... anyone heard of the coordinator name.... anna?? pls comment ... thanks

daystar

just went for food tasting and it didnt turn out to my expectations.

First dish-- spring roll was burnt and the fish was overcooked,very chewy meat.. tasted a bit like chewy gum... =(

I chose the eternity menu -- anyone with the same?

Hope the AD will turn out fine. keeping my fingers crossed..

wilfrey

Hi Nett,

Mine is over, but the experience was the same too but AD turn out good no relatives or friends comments about it. (read my earlier comment)

Congrat and all the best.

Hi Purelyn,

Thanks for your help also although didn't use the decorator u recommended as it was kind of last minute. thx!

Halo wilfrey chng
Congrats that ur AD is over lao...so ur cordinator is Tony ????

BTW, able to share any AD fotos as i know that they had just undergo some minor renovation !!!!

branlene

I've booked dragon gate as my wedding banquet for dec 07. Taking 30 tables & would like to have some comments from any ex-dragon gate bride or BTB here... Thks

iamme

Hi BJ me booked DG too.. Heard some bad comments about it when I told my friends it'll be there.. mostly are bad service, cheena deco and lousy food..

Very sian after hearing those but I only got 1 date by the fortune teller and all the places i shortlisted has been booked already..
kao_cry.gif
Now thinking of re-designing the ballroom to make it nicer cos I can't do much about food and service.. Sigh..

I'll be attending a friend's wedding on 21st Jan there.. Will keep you updated!

yukikodawasan

Hi Iamme,

Personally I attended my friend's wedding last year Dec. I think the interior decoration is a abit cheena, but the food is excellent and no problem at all. I think their pace of serving is just right, not too rush. Even we have not finish the food, they will ask or just leave it on the table until we finish it. But the fish is fishy, perhaps you can take note of this. Hee. As for the rest, I believe you will need more decoration and all should be fine. Don't worry... cheers :D

purelyz

BJ,
I'm the super-ex bride. I've my dinner on July 2005. Sighz... It've been so long...

My little feedback after my AD
http://www.singaporebrides.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/discus.cgi?pg=next&topic=6&page=302768

I agree that DG have the most troublesome deco. Super cheena! i've to get a decorator to "freshen" up the location. I use the small ballroom for 27 tables plus 2 reserve. A bit squeezing to put so many tables.

If u read my feedback, i did complain abt their service. Food is ok.

branlene

Hi iamme, when is ur AD? Who is ur coordinator?

For the fish part, the coordinator ask me to send someone to take a look @ those fishes jus b4 the banquet to ensure tat the fishes r fresh. For this part my parents will do the job. Hee

I'll be taking the smaller ballroom too cos the big ballroom needs @ least 40 tables, problem now is the small ballroom would be quite squeeze to hold 30 tables... haiz