Dragon Gate Restaurant

bandtz

Im helping my cousin to enquire abt the decor abt DG, would like to noe do u ladies do anyting abt the stage decor? May i know wat colour will they be using as well? Many thanks!

sasa_xie

Hi all, my hubby and I popped by dragon gate last sunday coz we were feeling quite bored, hehe ;p

dragon gate changed their deco. the stage looks so much nicer now.. hehe. but den again, seems like the color tone would be the same as my EG (purple). sighz....

purelyz

Dragon gate change management from Nagasakiya to Starling group. No wonder they have the $$ to redo the deco. Last time the uncle uncle manager also left le... He is quite nice le...

purelyz

I forgot his name, something like Mr. Liew. My AD last yr, he help a lot in the coordinating... cos i bring in a decorator. but i heard he left Dragon gate le...

aacz

Seen conflicting views on DG... Any recent feedback abt the food and service?

time to source for place for banquet lo Jenn
Congrats!

aacz
Thumb up for the food in DG lah (Big portion, but no much of food deco presentation)

As for svs, so so only...cant hv high expectation.

sasa_xie

seems like it's getting very quiet in here lately.

hmm... was just thinking, can i send out invitation cards during the chinese 7th month? this yr got 2 7th mths. but if I wait till chinese 8th mth, den it would only be 2 weeks b4 my AD... sighz... how???

azure13

Went down to DG today to test my slideshow and songs before my dinner tmr. Saw the changed decor. Looks load better to me. hehe Table numbers look ok as well. Initially was suppose to make my own heart shape fur laced table number but i gave up in the end as it was hell a lot of work for 50 tables. Looking forward to see the place done by the decorator tmr. Quite comforted when my sis said its not the typical cheena type restaurant that she imagined to be.

twinkling

Hi Azure,

I saw your deco yday as we went down to take a peep at DG (but we were there quite early, 4+). Heehee.. It's very nice. Can share your deco contact?

Hi Jenn and Levynn,

Would you please share with me your AD photos? My email add is: [email protected]
Thanks~

Hi brides,

What do you all think about the food presentation? Is it 100% the same as what was seen in the pictures shown to the couples before they book? Cos' i think the plate is too big so the portion of food appears to be small.. How?? Did any of your guest say anything or it was ok?

Dilemma.. Cos' i do like DG's mini foyer.. which other restaurants don't have..

Oh i saw the tealights (unlit of cos) at the smaller ballroom. thought that's nice too..

Lots of thanks~

sasa_xie

Tealights??? Does DG provide tealights? Checked with one of the staff before, but they said they dun provide, we have to get it ourselves...

twinkling

Hi Melisa,

Ya they don't provide. The couple got someone to do it but he didn't bring his name card that day so I don't know which company he is from.

I used to read in this thread that DG provides tealight candle holders but apparently things might have changed..

azure13

Hi Melisa, DG does not provide tealights, you have to bring it yourself. As we did not want the bicycle lights for the 1st dish presentation, we requested they change it to tealights and we provided them with it. Its v cheap, just get a pack from ikea will do. Twinkling: I will send you my decorator's contact shortly and also let you see our photos online once its ready.

azure13

Melisa, I just read your post about sending the invites. I am not too into chinese traditions and I will advice you to send out @ least 4 if not 3 weeks before your wedding date. Sending it 2 weeks prior may be cutting it a bit too close and you dun want to stress yourself out by having a mad rush with RSVPs and Drop outs. Trust me, there will be many that say yes they will come but in the end do not turn up after many rounds of reminders.

sasa_xie

thanks for all the comments. tried asking my coordinator too, and they say they dun provide, sigh. prob will take up Azure's idea of buying it from Ikea, hehe.

thanks Azure oso, for ur comments on sending out the invites. my FH also say wana send it out earlier but like can't leh, coz if we were to send it out earlier, den it would seem like giving others the invitation during the chinese 7th month. like so inauspicious ;p

purelyz

Melisa,
My AD last yr July, DG provide me the tealight candles. I ask my decorator to provide me the candle holders. Maybe now policy change. The candle u can get from Watson too.
For the invite, i'll recommend u to call up ur frens and relatives to inform them abt the date. They can apply leave or reserve the date for ur big day. And ask whether they mind recieve the invite in the 7th mth. I think they wouldn't mind la... A bit troublesome la... but at least u can do ur RSVP earlier. Cos 2 wks before AD is the most most busy period (based on my experience)

kellyfanny

hi purelyz,

i intending to hold my banquet in DG, but it will be in 2008. but would like to have the decorator number or email.

hi all brides,

any 1 can share which co-ordinator u enage in?? coz my hubby receive a call frm a female co-ordinator but i cannot remember the name. he say the way she talk a bit cheena. or do they only have 1 co-ordinator.?

thanks alot!

Fanny

hailstorm

Just booked DG yesterday. AD will be in July 07. anyone can perhaps post the decorator's contacts? Am thinking of how to do up the place more. Also didnt really like the bicycle lights which i saw while attending a wedding 2 years ago and saw it yesterday when i was there to discuss the package. Am thinking of getting other wedding favours myself besides the chocolates. Believe the food is good though. fingers crossed!

Hi twinkling & Mavis Ng
I had email you my AD fotos...and yes, DG do provide candle tealight holder.. During my AD in Dec 05, Eric (The manager) had provide me for 30 tables.

purelyz

hailstorm,
can u leave ur email so that i can send you my decorator contact? So u got the big or small ballroom? U can request to change the bicycle lights to tealights

morekisses512

Hi Jenn,
Thanks for the Photos. I have booked with DG, however I feel that Ballroom A is too small.. Will it be too cramp?? No. of tables are now 32, still counting....

purelyz

morekisses512,

I've 28 tables + 2 reserve in ballroom A. I find it cramped, as i'm wearing a bulky grown. It's difficult to take pics. Have to cramp ard one corner.

morekisses
For my AD. I booked 30 tables with 0 reserve..but in the end, i only open 27 tables... due to many last-min many ppl cant make it.

But frankly, up to 33 tables are still oki.. is only the corners might be abit cramped lor.

morekisses512

Hi Jenn and Purelyz,
How about the seating plan? Saw the thread that table 1-8 are so called the "not good" seats. Coz on actual day, I have a photo montage and slideshow for my guests. Sigh...

Hi morekisses
Yes, table 1 - 8 are not so good seats...so u can choose to arrange those "Not so close" guest to sit on those 8 tables lor...

For my case, i had arranged in that way . kee kee

purelyz

The only disadvantages are the pillars! I hate them! If u read all previous postings, u can see a lot of complains on the pillars.

Tables on the sides, include next to the stage can't see the screen. So many of my mom frens that are sitting there have to stand up to see my video... so arrange pp that are not so close to sit the "not so good" seats lo...

If by any chance u've 35 tables, it'll be super super cramped, the march-in path will be small... not so grand lo...

Honestly speaking, i did regret (a bit) to go DG for my AD. My MIL choose location cos she like the food and know the manager. signz... We start off with 23+2, then increase till 28+2.

My complains for DG include service by auntie waiteress, so unpro! food is cold (due to dinner at Ballroom B start 1st), place is cramped, deco is poor, got water dripping at the photo table (wet one corner of my framed pic, so disappointed), poor free hotel stay. (sorry la... a bit complaint queen... Haha...) But all things go smoothly...

Good points: good parking, good table price, good manager (i heard that he've left)

morekisses512

Arhhhh...
Purelyz,After seeing your comment Im so scared!!!
Perhaps I will change to the bigger Ballroom...Anyone had AD in Ballroom B? Is there any bad comments also??

morekisses512
Think u can only change to Ballroom B if you had more than 40 tables lei...if not, i dun think DG will allow u to take that ballroom !

purelyz

morekisses512,
Sorry to make u worry. But my comments can be the list of items u nd to take note. Maybe u can try ask them whether they have another wedding dinner in Ballroom B? If it's empty, maybe u can try to bargain to allow u to use it. Also depend on ur final table no, e.g. 36+2 or 38+2 (higher chance)...

Morekiss,
Ya... u hv to confirm the number of tables before u decide to take Ballroom B...cos u still need to pay for the minimum of 40 tables.

morekisses512

So far, nobody took Ballroom B.

I have checked with DragonGate on the day I paid the deposit, they told me 40tables to have Ballroom B...

Qs: If I paid for the 40tables, however on AD, 2-3tables are unopened, they will allow us to go back and eat?

morekiss
Yes. DG will allow u to go back to eat for the 2-3 unopened table.
However, the deadline is within 1 month, and does not apply for weekend. No festival occassion and u have to eat back the same wedding dinner package u signed for ur AD.