Dragon Gate Restaurant

levynn

hi ladies...

i had my dinner at DG too. that was Dec 2005. for my case, everything was fine, except that the waitress broke a bowl at our VIP table. as for the deco... ok la... it's a bit cheena. but we didn't do anything abt it. juz left it as it is. for me, as long as my guests enjoy the food, enjoy themselves, it's all rite.

at that time when i was putting on my make-up in the bridal room at their place, a waitress came in to ask me if i wan to eat anything. so i ordered fried rice n then she came back wif those kind of big oval plate full of rice... heh. but it was good.

branlene

Got to know from DG tat they will give us the bridal room key on tat day rite & we can put our bag & things there. I was wondering issit safe to put the ang pao box in the room when the dinner start?? Coz everyone would be too bz to take care of the box. Ex-bride of DG how/wat did u all do on ur wedding dinner?

iamme

Hi Oink Oink thanks for your re-assurance! Heard one too many bad comment *sobz* your words bring back a ray of hope
kao_shy.gif
at least the food is okay..

iamme

Hi BJ, my co-ordinator is Jess.. A very professional but super inflexible person sigh..
The bridal room is a very tiny space for you to change and make up only and it's near the kitchen.. super not safe to put anything there unattended
with staff walking in and out.. but then again, mine is in the big ballroom I dunno about the situation of small ballroom.

iamme

so happy to know that ex-DG bride are still here
so glad that all your wedding turn well.. another ray of hope... *Smilez*

I am oso a super ex-bride from DG, i held my wedding in dec 2005 too.. As for the bridal room in the small room, is not tt good to put your AP Box there, but others belonging should be all right cos waitress would walk to there... Will be better if you engage another person to safe- guard ur AP Box..

branlene

Thanks & appreciate everyone's advice. Tink i'll hav to assign someone close to look after the AP box.
iamme, mine coordinator is Anna, not very flexible too maybe becos not enough "power" to neg as she always hav to check with the boss 1st. How many tables r u taking for the bigger ballroom?

levynn

i also had the smaller ballroom so not sure of the situation in the big one. for my AP, my SIL helped me to transfer the out fr the box when the dinner starts, the she guarded the bag wif her life. haha. if u wan to do that, need to find someone who is alert n trustworthy.

iamme n BJ... dun worry too much. everything will b alrite. maybe i'm more of those bo chup kind... as long as all r well, then ok for me.

ok... put it this way... if there service used to b bad, i'm sure there'll b complaints, so by now, they shld have been better liao, rite?

iamme

Hi BJ,

Need to warn you about something. I was at my friend's wedding at DG last sun. The dinner started on time at about 8.30pm and the desert at about 10.10am. Soon after, the bowls were taken away and all of the sudden the waitress just pour a cup of chinese tea across the lazy susan while we were still sitted! We've got a rude shock and all of us turned to look at her. She then impatiently asked: bu yao le dui ma? And picked up another cup of water to splashed across the lazy susan again! My god! lucky the tablecloth is thick enough to absorbed the water. I am sure there're better ways to ask your customer to leave and it was not even 10.30pm!

I do not know if it's DG normal practise or we are just unlucy to have met a rude waitress. One thing for sure I will bring it up to my co-ordinator when I go for food tasting. Not going to subject my guests to these rude behavior.

Except for this I'm actually quite happy with the overall service and food of DG. The 2 cups of drinks she poured really dampen my mood.
kao_cry.gif

branlene

Hi iamme,
Thanks for your reminder. Its really very rude for a waitress to pour the hot tea when the guests r still sitted. Will highlight to the manager when i go for my food tasting. Btw when is ur AD?

purelyz

jamme, BJ,

I still think the tea pourng is rudeness 7/10. For AD, my guests have waitress rudeness 10/10!

Allow me to tell you my unhappiness that happen in 2005, so angry that i still rememeber.

My hubby have 11 friends coming all the way from HK to attend our wedding. But due to some last min seating arrangement, my co-ordinator forgot to inform DG earlier to add in 1 more seat. He only inform the waitress before the dinner start. But no one add in the extra chair till all my guests have arrived and have to stand to wait. The waitress still make a comment in front of them, saying "it's so squeeze, cannot open the reserved table mah?" My co-ordoinator is quite piss off, cos it's only 1 more person.

The rudeness didn't end here. It continue throughout the dinner. SHe say it's too squeezing to get around the table. So when she need to change plate or refill drinks, she'll just stand at one corner and ask MY GUESTS to pass her the dirty plates, empty glasses! And my guests say when she put down the food, she do it loud and didn't cut the fish and clear plate without asking!

They take note of the name and inform us. The manager later explain to us saying it's a popular date for wedding, so they got part time waitress. He say they fired her after my AD. Dunno real a not. Just so angry, as it leave a bad memories to my hubby friends...

branlene

Hi purelyz,
This is really very rude... Left a bad impression for your hongkong guests.. imagine in future when they r being asked about the dinner in Sg, how will they say?? Hope DG really fired tat waitress. Now i jus pray hard nothing unpleasant will happen on my wedding dinner.

levynn

BJ... dun worry... i'm sure everything will b fine.
dun stress yourself too much. can't help it if the waitress is rude... it's also not your fault.

anyway, another trivia... i heard that the turnover rate at DG is quite high when i was preparing for my banquet. i had a female co-ordinator at 1st. then when we went back to decide on the number of tables n sign the contract, it was another lady. then after that, it changed to a guy when it came to our food tasting. but only the 1st lady left. i think we used to talked abt it b4 in here abt DG keep changing co-ordinators... also dunno y...

branlene

Hi levynn,
I tink not jus DG, most hospitality industry their turnover rate r quite high. Maybe becos many of them r not local.

iamme

Oh purelyz, the rudness i recieved is so trival compared to yours.. you and your hubby must be so pai sei..
kao_angry.gif

But levynn is right.. we can't possibly keep their service in check the whole night.. sigh.. guess all we can do is to warn them before hand..

Btw BJ, I forgot to tell you that I heard from one of the managers that they are going to renovate the place sometime mid this year
she's not very sure about the details though.. I have 40 tables.

michelletan

Thks purelyz.
Sorry for late reply as busy at work.

Will keep my finger cross as my wedding date is in dec. Hope the waitress will not do that to my guests

branlene

Hi iamme,
Checked with dragongate management regarding the renovation & they answered they are not doing any reno tis year thus our wedding would not be affected.

Dear all esp Jenn,

just came into this forum cos I'm thinking of DG as my bnaqut venue (traditional and suit Hubby budget) but when i hear the comments, I almost freak out.. The comments seem to get worse except the food is good part.. How? Cos budget is pretty important to us and the elders like the place.. but then the youngsters might not.. I'm so confused! Oh Dear!

Jenn, plese kindly share your pics with me as well? Thanks a million!

hello Jenn!

Hey I made a big discovery through your AD pics!
Are you cousins with either Summer or Francis? what a coincidence! They're my friends!

Met them through Francis (Hubby's colleague) The world is really small! =D

Sunshine_nightsky
My view regards DG, their food portion is big, nice and delicious...

As for service, is just like normal restaurant, nothing fantastic...

Stage deco - with the flame of heart is nice

Yap, i am looking forward for her son - issac's in June.. and my son in end July... ha ha, we got pregnant abt the same time... my bb is late than hers by 7 - 8 weeks.

Glad to know that that you're expecting as well! =) Few more months to delivery.. an eye blink away yeah! Congratulations!! =D

As for DG, i was thinking the stage a bit plain.. maybe i want to add more floral deco. Possible?

I'm gonna go down in 2/3 moths time to check out the place.. Or is it possible I just pop in without appointment? (More realsitic for me to observe on the spot, behaviors of the staff =P)

Hi Sunshine_nightsky
Of coz, u can pop in without appointment, or u can go and try their dim sum buffet, quite reasonable and nice ya....

While u are eating, then observe their stage, their managers and their staff svs...

As for floral deco on the stage, of cos can, but u have to pay additional for outside floral to do it for u, DG dun provide such service.

Hope my information helps.

Thank you very much, it really helped! Most prob, i'll get my BS to do the coordinating for me.. Cos they're one stop shop. Else I'll get my jie mei to sprinkle petals and tie fresh floras around the place. =)

Yeah will go down to try the buffet.. can't wait for the weekend! =)

tsyvonne

Hi Jenn,

Seems like there's a lot of criticism here and there at DG. I am also interested or rather had decided to hold my AD there.

Eh .. Can you share your pictures with me at [email protected]?

Thanks my dear ;)

hailstorm

Am holding my AD there on 7 July. Hot date also. Now getting worried that service is going to be substandard as well. Sigh...

Did my ROM lunch there last year also. Food was surprisingly not up to par for most dishes. Not sure why. Hope actual day will turn out fine.

will be great if anyone is willing to send their AD pics link. email is [email protected]

witch

Hubby and I went to DG this afternoon for the buffet dim sum and also to meet Anna, the co-ordinator to enquire abt DG's wedding package.

In view of our budget, it is very likely that we will go for DG and we prefer the ballroom (lobby D) to the main hall (lobby C).

Anyone had their banquet in the other ballroom? Please share your experience. I noticed the ceiling is lower and the march in is shorter.

Oh btw, I noticed the dummy wedding cake is mouldy.....kinda disappointed that i'm going to have a mouldy wedding cake if we really sign up with DG.

Hi Ashley,

I've booked my banquet with them too. Am using the small ballroom cos i only have 25 tables at the moment.

Yes the march-in is relatively shorter but I guess you can arrange the pathway with Anna or make sure its one of those special sweet and short march ins.

As for the cake.. I haven't seen it yet but well, maybe i'll DIY one myself. =)