Club Chinois

Hi Anise, Mawie is right. $150 nett is for the corkage charge. For example if you have 40 bottles of wine, per bottle would be $3.75 nett per bottle which is not expensive when compared to $15+7%GST per bottle.

Mawie, of course i don't mind

thanks alot for all these clarification =)... unless ur guests are heavy drinker for wine, den guess it's betta to get outside at a cheaper rate right...

Hi Anise, well there are some post-wedding sales for wine which could be as low as $10 per bottle. Can check those out

I had the corkage waivered option and now thinking of changing it for the complimentary table thingy..wonder if its a good choice cos im having abt 20 tables..Hmm...

Hi Parmida, it really depends on your guests drinking preference in that case, maybe seek some inputs from your parents and PILs

Hi Mawie,

Me got a bunch of drunkard friends..hahaha...just kidding..Think i will stick to my current arrangnment...quite lazi to change..hehe..

Good question abt the wine. I'm still considering to pay corkage fee of $15+ to bring in my own wine or pay $25+ for their red wine. Sigh...anyone can share? Thanks!

The price plus corkage charge to bring in own wine probably higher than paying for their in-house bottles, unless they can waive the fee. I took their wine and had no worries of consumption (vs supply) and the transportation factors.

Hi Alvin,

I guess it will be cheaper for u to get their housewine cos it isnt possible to get red wine less than $10. Hope this helps

Check with Cornelius, the house wine is SANTA HELENA from Chile. It is priced specially at $25.00+ per bottle. Ya, me also thinking of taking housewine will be cheaper.
As my wedding will be on sunday, i wonder will the consumption of beer & wine be lesser? Since next day will be working & also due to driving.
If taking a complimentary bottle of wine for every confirmed table for Romance & Valentine packageone, no free flow of beer. Do you think is worth it?
Anyone can advise?

Hi Apple,

Just signed up with CC on Monday. I am taking Romance package with free flow beer and corkage waiver option.
Each glass of beer is sold at $8.00+, and I guess red wine can be purchased at less than $20 per bottle. If per table, two or more glass of beer is consumed, then getting the free flow beer will be more worthwhile.
Just my analysis when I was deciding which option to to ahead with

Hi Mavie, thanks for sharing. Just curious, why didn't you wait for the wedding show perks which has 1 free table for every 15 tables confirmed? Of cos no free corkage in this case then.

Hi Alvin,

Cos my AD is on 14 Feb 2009, Cornelius clarified that there isnt the 1 foc table for every 15 confirmed tables if AD falls on 'special dates' or public holidays.

Hi Mawie,

U took the Romance pkg? Me had corkage waiver option and am thinking if shd buy their hse wine..save the hassle of ordering too!

Hi Apple,

Yup Valentine's Day is regarded as a special date..

Hi Parmida,
Ya... I agree it saves a fair bit of hassle like order and transporting it.. but since my dad said he will provide so I guess it works out fine for me

Hi Parmida,

cos i guess he is the one drinking most of it... thats why he 'volunteered'... So Parmida, which BS are you taking? I am caught in a big big dilemma... ala carte or all-in-one package...

Hi Apple,

Yeah i guess after marriage, we probably wun celebrate Valentine's Day le.. so tot wedding anniversary will be sweet as well

Hi Apple,

Where's Fame bridal located at? Can share your package with me? mawby84@hotmaillcom

Hi Parmida,

Tucky does tie up with Flamingo, the rates provided by Flamingo for Tucky's was about 300 dollars cheaper.
The two I am considering is 20 pics with the mid size album for $1,200 and 30 pics wif a bigger album for $1,500. More inclined to take up the $1,500 package. Will email you Tucky's package.

Hi.. any brides who had there banquet at club chinois still chatting in here?

i've got a question. did any couple give angbao to the banquet staff at club chinois? or experienced banquet staff asking for angbaos?

i'll be having my banquet at club chinois (using antica ballroom) on 22dec.

my fren who had their banquet at yishun safra had the experience of the banquet manager asking for angbao on behalf of their staff, saying dat it's for heng heng purpose. the worst thing was dat they asked for $288, my fren was not able to decide the amount they wanted to give.

hi agnes,

I dunno abt the couple giving angbao to the banquet staff, i think it may be up to the couple bah...

Hmm..im surprised tat the banquet manager asking for $288 angbao..so ur fren gave $288?

Hi agnes,

I find it rather unethical of them to ask for the angbao. I think maybe they're doing it on the side.. means secretly fish for extra perks lor.. That couple might wana feedback to the in charge.

It's expecially suspicious since there's a stipulated amount and it's a rather large amount i tink since they've already paid for the banquet.

Hi agnes, rislee,

I agree its unethical... Shd it happen to CC, i will tell them to ask my friends and let them deal wif these ppl.. :p

Parmida,

i told my hubby if it happens, i'll complain to their head office at tiong bahru. we are already paying a big sum to haf our banquet there, the last time we want is to have the staff asking for angbao. i

agnes: nv heard of such b4 from all my frens. I tink ur frens were duped.. shd report them to teh relevant authorities after the wedding to prevent them from conning and scamming more ppl.

agnes,

I agree wif u! tats very rude of them, tapping on ppl's wedding to earn extra money..outrageous!

rislee,

Yeah, reporting them is a good way to disgrace their reputation...but then how to report? there's no evidence...afterall its verbal...these ppl are too much!

rislee, i dunno y they would pay the angbao to the staff and y they nv complain abt it.

Parmida, i also dunno... tink of a way ba.. but i tink tis shd nt happen at club chinois ba..

Parmida: Even though it's verbal, they can still report it and at least keep the management in the know so they might at least work on it or investigate if such a thing happens again. Cos nobody else I know have ever heard of such a thing..really very very bad..

BTW, dat's pertaining to another venue.. pls dun link it to club chinois.. i trust and believe that such will nv happen to CC cos they're very reputable and professional.

Agnes: if i were them, i'd nv pay them a single cent and they seriously should have complained to the management. They're letting those unethical crooks get away with it and allowing them to pounce on other unsuspecting couples..

Hi agnes,

I also dun think this will happen at CC...

Hi rislee,

yup, tats true, inform them to prevent it from happening again.. I didnt link it to CC, i dun think it will happen at CC...and i agree tat they are ethical, professional ppl

Heys Agnes,

Had checked with CC already. They only charge us based on the menu price (based on contract) multipied by the number of tables. If there are other misc, it will depend greatly on the other items being consumed only. There are no other surcharges.

Personally, if I have a good wedding co-ordinator, I will probably give him/her a red packet but that will be at my discretion

Mawie,

thanks for checking it out with CC.

i agreed dat if the co-ordinator is gd, we might also give a red packet at our own discretion..

counting down.. 55days till my banquet liao.

mawie... yup.. am doing the up the invitations now liao.. i booked since last year june. :p

i juz realised dat now CC charges 10% service charge for wedding liao.. i tot used to be oni GST and Cess.