Club Chinois

dancewei

Hi Brides of CC,

I'm considering holding my wedding dinner there in 2008. Are your weddings held at the ballroom or the CC restaurant?
Anyone can share some photos with me so that I can have an overview of the theme concept of CC. My email is [email protected]
Thanks a million

sas

hi there
i thinking of sourcing for my own red wine because i find their wine too expensive at $21.50 and subjected to GST. anyone knows how much is the corkage?

as for Eric, i think we must respect his weekends. how many of u enjoy working on weekends when u are paid only monday to friday? how many of u enjoy bargaining with customers on weekends? i personally work monday to friday but i get pissed when i received phone calls on work at night and on weekends. therefore i can understand how he feel when he refused to work on weekends... imagine him bargaining with couples who demand freebies etc ... that will ruin his weekends as much as it will ruin yours if u were him

fifimax

I'm considering of holding my wedding dinner at OPH in 2008.

Wonder if I should hold it at the ballroom or the CC restaurant?

Can anyone some photos with me?

Thanks a lot in advance
Deeply appreciate your help ;p

bridezilla_not

I'm also holding my wedding dinner at OPH in 2008, about 90% confirmed, just considering whether to have it at CC or the Antica ballroom. Can anyone share photos of the places?? Greatly appreciated!!

my email: [email protected]

thanks!!!!

shi40lin

Is there a different at CC or Antica ballroom?
What is the max. no. of tables can both hold?

Can anyone help....

tesoro

I am thinking of holding my wedding at CC. Can anyone email me the pics of the ballroom and restaurant? I went to the website..but couldn't really see it that well. and also there is no pic of the ballroom
My email : [email protected]
Many Thanks

simply_jean

If possible, it would be great that anyone could also send mi some pictures of the Antica ballroom & e restaurant itself.

Read so many positive comment on CC so is quite keen to see some pics of the 2 places and see e diff. Is having thought of having my dinner ther etoo, but not so soon though, maybe in 2009 :p (very kiasu i noe, hee)

Thanks so much!

kjustina81

Signed with CC & my AD will be in June 2008. The ambience won't be comparable with hotel ballrooms but I wanted good food rather than nice surroundings ... So best is u go down have a look at their ballroom cos its quite low ceiling.

parmida

Hi folks,

Im a newbie to this thread. I am thinking of signing up with CC. Had anyone liaise with Cornelius, the co-ordinator before? He seems to be a pretty nice fellow

I am thinking of holding my AD in May or June 08.

parmida

Hi Justina,

Ur AD is in June 08? Which package did u take? I preferred the restaurant more than the ballroom cos it doesnt look grand enuf..and I felt that it feels kinda cramp.. But then ballroom is much more spacious compared to the rest..Im having 2 minds about which location to choose

rislee

Hi Parmida,

I felt the same way too.. I actually preferred the restaurant deco and its ambience much more than the ballroom.

The ballroom's small n looks kinda stingy lor..compared to some other ballrooms. Feels very cramped and small. However, i chose the place becos of the food so i guess i shouldn't complain about it..

Cos i finally decided dat since food's my main concern, den juz haf to bear wif it lor..

shyannelyn

Hi Parmida & Rislee,

Yup I agree too! Although ballroom is not as grand, we choose Orchard Parade mainly for the food. Overall the place gives us a comfy & nice feeling too..not too grand to feel out of place..We felt it was more important to satisfy our guest's tummy..hee..

I've attended quite a few weddings. Most of them I can't recall. But I remembered attending a wedding at a 5 star hotel and the food served was the worst..Didn't want the same thing to happen in my wedding..hee..

parmida

Hi Rislee & Shyannelyn,

Ya, Im still deciding between the 2 places.. My parents prefer food over ambience, and tats the main reason i choose CC. Have u gals done ur food tasting?

shyannelyn

Hi Parmida,

I have not had my food tasting, but I guess the food should be of a certain standard, since its by Tung Lok..nothing much to worry about.

Which other venue are you looking it?

We were initally torn between HIPV & OPH. I love the chandliers at HIPV, but we were quite worried about the food. After much consideration, we're glad we choose OPH !

rislee

Hi Parmida,

I haven't done my food tasting yet. Still wondering how long b4 the wedding shd i go for it. Not really sure abt it though...

However, heard good reviews abt the food there so i tink shouldn't be too big a problem.

I know that for elders and relatives, usually food is more important and it's the thing most of them will remember about your wedding.

It's the younger generation, our frens and colleagues who're younger who pride more on ambience.

rislee

Hi Shannelyn,

Yup yup! I decided after gathering feedback from frens and relatives.

Most would only remember abt the food cos heard comments abt very very nice looking 'grand' "5-stars" hotels and horrible food. And thing is all those guests remembered were the horrible food and nothing else. Not the bride's gowns nor the ambience and deco but the FOOD!

So.. i have decided that an average ambience coupled wif good food shd be great! hehe.. ;)

tesoro

after reading all these comments on Club CHINOIS..I m quite interested in holding my banquet there also.
Does anyone have the price list?

shyannelyn

Hi Rislee,

Yup! Same sentiments.. Agree that no one really remembers the gown/deco/ambiance..but if food is not up to standard, they remembers it forever and ever !! Because I feel the same way too..hee..When is your AD? Mine's Jan 2008! Actually the venue gives us a comfy feel
I can't wait for my big day!

Hi Tesoro, you may find the packages under tung lok website.

rislee

Hi Shanelynn,

Yupz! Yeah~ cozy and close feeling.. I tink a wedding's supposed to be an intimate affair and the place does give a cozy feel.
Mine's in Nov.

parmida

Hi Shanelynn,

Tats what I tot so too, since its by Tung Lok. I went to see GCW, OCC, FRF.. places not bad..but its the food thingy that made me take CC.

U choose the ballroom or rest?

Hi Rislee,

i think food tasting can be done probably a couple of months b4 the AD??

And i totally agree on the part where ppl remembers food more than ambience. And my parents commented tat some "many-stars" hotel served terrible food on the AD. But then again, the chef gotta cook for so many ppl, i guess the taste would not be as good as the food tasting session...

bluberi

anyone has any idea on the theme we can choose for Antica Ballroom? my AD is on 22dec n during the time when i signed up in jun06, Eric told me there will be new themes tis yr.

haf CC changed the designs of their invitation cards, i'll be collecting them during mid sept.

parmida

Hi agnes,

I dunno if theres new themes for the ballroom this year..think they have a wedding show in nov, maybe u can go take a look at the themes if they have? The last time i saw their invitation cards(which was in may/june this yr) was still the same as last yr, tat was wat my coordinator told me...
If im not wrong, CC uses focal-ad

kaom80

Hi..i am interested with CC due to the Good Food reputation..however, any one has managed to get any addition room for helpers during the day or addition stay in Hotel or 1more room for overnite staying? thanks......

kaom80

HI Parmida

i have not signed up with CC yet...coz they have bridal show coming and i try to source for few more locations before i make any committement..i kind of scare to committe too fast....

also i don quite lik their wedding favour...quite boring...limited also...

eternalbliss

Dear all, I have a Club Chinois Wedding Package for transfer. The date can be changed, but is subjected to availability. If you are interested to know more details, please PM me or post your email address at the MarketPlace Banquet Thread under "Club Chinois Wedding Package for Transfer - March 2008". Thanks.

parmida

I think their bridal show this time is with white link..but i guess the main reason ppl choose them its becos of the food...

parmida

Hi rislee,

decided to take the restuarant..cos I dun think I can hit 25 tables for their min booking of the ballroom...so i guess restuarant gotta be it.

rislee

Hi Parmida,

So i see.. actually i preferred the ambience of the restaurant and liked it very much..but cos i need min 25-28 tables dat's y choose ballroom lor.. anyway..u've made a good choice..

meepley

Yay, I also just went to pay deposit...took the restaurant also. AD in March 2008

Thanks gals, for your recommendations of the place

dreamster

Im having my AD at CC too. My Coordinator is also Cornelius. Really excellent service from him. Even if u request something tat is against their policy, he will still make the effort to check and give u the service. Very patience and accommodating.

Met with Eric as well, he's the manager, so he makes all the decision. So everything still has to go through Eric.

My AD is 2 weeks away, haven't seen the bridal room as yet. But so far so good. A bit stringent on the flowers selection and the table cloth. So we'll see how it goes. Still haven't finalise those details yet.

anise

now got additional coordinator to serve us? cornelius? my wedding in nov and still haven fix a date with them for food tasting.. BTW will they call or we got to arrange with them?

dreamster

anise, yes u will probably need to call them to make arrangement for the food tasting. If you dont have much changes with the menu, then its probably juz to taste the food and have it to u preference. Like I had certain food tat was too saltish and some too oily, things like tat. So u have to let them noe so tat they can make the necessary changes to suit u.

rislee

Hi anise,

Mine's in Nov too! hehe.. btw, u'll haf to call to arrange it.

Btw, anybody knows when i haf to get the wedding invites and send for printing or watever? thx~

dreamster

Rislee, I suggest to start deciding soon and get them printed. Best to start sending about 2 months before the wedding. Mine was rather rush, so I onli manage to send my cards a month before, till now im still sending last min invites out.

If u r intending to use the printer tat Club Chinois have suggested, I would suggest not to. I used them to print my cards, I had onli 120 cards for 20 tables of guest. I was on budget and I didn't need to send cards to close frens and family, so tat's how I saved on the cards. The person who attended to us seemed rather impatient, and the printing prices seemed to be more ex after the discussion. The hotel will give u a list of the prices, but u r suppose to negotiate with the printer directly on the printing and all. So finally I decided to go with the hot stamping coz I onli needed eng text. Paid for the deposit which was I think 50% of the cost. (They even count cents, I had to pay like $59.23 or something, they will give me back 7 cents exact).

Ok Nvm. So they will send u draft copy of the print first for u to approve, once u approve the printing will proceed. On the day of collection, they got the card design wrong (I wanted the one with 2 hearts on the front cover, instead they printed on the 'xi' design instead) despite me sending and email to them reminding them on the card design. Due to the fact I was in the rush to send my cards, my fiance accepted the cards. They refuse to give me extra envelopes, which in the end after sending my cards out, I realised there was actually a shortage of envelopes. And their office is at Ubi, which is rather inconvenient to get there. Not delivery service or wateva. U will need to go twice, once to negotiate on the design and all, 2nd time to collect.

My fiance was off so he went to collect the cards. If I have knew on the spot they have screwed up my cards, I would have demanded for a refund or a compensation for making the most obvious mistake. The first thing they ask to confirm is the card design, which is 1 out of the 4 standard designs offered. And yet they can make tat mistake despite my reminder. So my advise, dont use them unless u realli feel comfortable with wat they can offer u. And if u have the time to allow any 'mistakes' to happen.

I had a colleague tat went to Bras Basah to get her cards printed. I believe they did a better job than the printed I got. No names mentioned, but Club Chinois uses them, so I believe u would noe which one by now.

Anyway good luck with the printing, start looking and printing.