Club Chinois

Hi PinkyDy,

thanks for your advice. really apreciate it. do u know which shop in bras basah does it? maybe u can pm me? hehe.. thanks a lot!

Dun feel bad abt ur cards tho.. am sure everything shd turn out fine.

Hey Rislee, Sori i dont noe which shop in bras basah, but they have a few shops tat does printing. U may want to start to ask around. I believe there r other places tat does printing of cards as well. So U can start looking around and comparing prices and services.

Lucky the cards r still the right colour and size, if they had given me the red one, which is completely different from wat I originally wanted, I think I would have demanded for them to reprint right away for me.

JESL... yup dats me.. WL bride as well =) still got alot undone...gosh.. getting worried.. will call up OPH by this week... I thot the cards we get directly from the hotels?? how come got to search?? i onli know dat we got to print the inserts.. so before sourcing for printing, we got to get the card sample first for the size right.. correct me if i m wrong... confuse =x

rislee.. thanks.. guess i have to start arranging.. if not no much time left liao

anise...relax, dun stress up. the cards can get from the appointed printer and choose from the designs CC shows u. unless u wish to use another printer for inserts then need sourcing and go through more to get the right things done. i didnt encounter much problem with them that time.

PinkDY... so u manage to view the hotel bridal room?? BTW did you get additional day room for your helper? i m tinking of getting one.. shall see how =p.. ur big day coming.. enjoy!!

I will call them on monday to ask abt the foodtasting and cards... they will provide us with the cards den i will start printing my inserts.. BTW pinkDy, ur colleagues done theirs in Bras Basah.. izzit ex? you got any idead?

me also wanted an additional room but was recommended to book their room cos its more worth it..maybe can try to get coporate rate?

PinkDy, after reading wat u've wrote really worries mi. i juz went to focal-ad last sat n we decided to print the invites directly fm them.. haf received the draft yesterday n there are a no. of mistakes. our hotstamping for 250pcs of cards comes up to $240+

Heys all, will be heading to CC for my viewing later, gotta make sure that they show me the bridal suite this time. Cornelius is the one whom I talk to usually, he works till 8pm everyday so i can just pop by after work. Gotta say they are pretty flexible with their minimum table requirement.
Some additional info for those who are planning to have CC for their AD.
The minimum number of tables required is 20 for all days. However, only 17 tables will be in the restaurant main hall (unblocked view of the stage), which means 3 tables will be put in the private rooms (will have partial view only).
CC offered me 3 options:
1)Tapao the food of the remaining 3 tables
2)Consume it after the AD, but all 3 must be consumed at the same day.
* Note: You can only have up to 3 tables being consumed on another day.

On top of so, Cornelius explained to me why they are rather sticky about their complimentary items, its due to them not implementing service charge on top of their cost, which sounds pretty reasonable to me.

Anyways, will try to take some pics of CC for those who are keen

Congrats Rislee!!! After today's meeting with Cornelius, further affirmed my decision to have CC host my AD. A pity i did not get to view the bridal suite as it is taken up already.

Some items which was offered by Cornelius before i started my 'wish-list':
1) A complimentary 10 pax food tasting instead of the usual 6 pax as advertised
2) I am taking the Romance package, so in addition to the free flow of beer, there is corkage waiver
3) Complimentary usage of the LCD projector
4) Rose petals for march-in in addition to the canon confetti and bubble machine

Some items to note:
1) If you have muslim / veg guests, it will be $63.80+ per pax, unless you have a table of 10, then it will follow the usual table cost of $638+.
2) The flowers available are in white, pink and red, in whichever combination (I cant make up my mind on that)
3) From my opinion, I feel the ivory table cloth for the guests table looks the best, where you will have 5 colors to choose from.
4) For the VIP tables, its either red or gold.
5) For the wedding favors, its either chocolates or personalised stamps (I will be taking the stamps)
6) In OPH, only the bridal suite can be segregated into living room and bed room area, there are larger suites like the executive suites which is one big room space.

That's my update for all the prospective BTBs in CC

Hi mawie,

me booked wif CC too...just made a deposit last week...when is ur AD??

The items cornelius, who is also my coordinator, offered u, is the same for me..
I guess this is the standard offerings they can have esp if the num of tables we take are not alot...

I've seen the bridal suite, in comparison to other hotel bridal suite, theirs isnt tat big, so dun expect big big room...I personally feel tat is like a bigger standard hotel room... but then i guess its still ok for me..

Rislee & nec, no worries gals..

Parmida, ya i guess they would offer all these to make us sign on the spot.. hehe.. i haven paid my deposit though, think sometime next week will do so. my AD is on 14 Feb 09. What I heard from others was the same as u mentioned, the bridal suite arent big but good enough. So when's ur AD?

Hi Mawie,

Dun sign first. I saw on the tong luk wedsite that there is a wedding show on 4 Nov, you will get a complimentary table for every 15 tables confirmed when you pay with a UOB card. Go check it out....

Hi Candice, Thanks for the alert. The date i chose wun be eligible for the complimentary table. So guess I will give the wedding show a miss. CC mentioned that if your AD falls on public holidays or any 'special' dates, this is their usual practice. Btw, heard that White L**k rather pushy, and CC and WL is co-ordinating this wedding show.

Haiz..wish i'd signed up during promotions..too bad i nv got the luxury.
signed up for the more exp and not much stuffs kind..

Hi Mawie,

Very good reviews so far. You can go look at the BC thread and judge for urself.

I went to flamingo b4.. nice gowns. U haf to go look at those boutiques u wana consider and decide for urself.

Hi mawie,

My AD is on 25 May 08. Yup, I guess I wun be spending much time in the bridal suite, so I guess its still alright...
Have u seen other BS?? Mine is Jawn Happy Ever After.

Hi Parmida,

I agree wif ya, and also alot of my gfs asked me why didn't I get an extra day's stay at the bridal suite cos the first night its gonna be a knock-out. I guess nothing beats sleeping on our own bed

Din shop around yet. Flamingo is my first stop for now cos a little hard to take leave to view BS

Mawie: you don't have to take leave to view BS. Most of them operate till late. You can always go after work. Dat was wat i did when i was sourcing also. It's tiring but no choice..

Hi Rislee, cox my office is not in town area and I usually have to OT so I guess I can only drop by when I am on leave
Anywayz thanks for the sweet note.

Hi, just to check with those who have recently signed up with Club Chinos. Which option did you choose when sign up and which is more worth it?

1. One complimentary table for 10 persons for every confirmed 15 tables. OR give up 1 free table for every 15 table and instead no wine corkage (corkage is at $15+ per bottle)?

2. Free flow beer OR a complimentary bottle of wine for every confirmed table for Romance & Valentine package?

Seems like their perks are quite standard after talking to Cornelius on Sat. Anyone any advise? Thanks.

Hi Alvin, I was not given the complimentary table for every 15 confirmed tables due to my AD date (14 Feb 09). I took the romance package with free flow beer and corkage waiver. It depends greatly on your guest as to what kinda drinkers are they. As wine is pretty affordable even if you get them off the rack in bulk purchases, I took the free flow beer instead. I agree with you that their perks are quite standard

Alvin,

One complimentary table is more worth. You can neg with them on $150 nett corkage charge on all wine.

Their wine is $40 per bottle. So do your maths... It depends on your guests drinking habit.

actually wat does wine corkage at 15++ per bottle open means?? izzit dat we use their wine and they charge by 15 each?? confused...

candice.. so which means we can nego with them straight at 150nett and get free flow of wines?? most likely i will be taking the free flow of beers.. den was wondering if i can take red wine from outside..

H anise, it means if you buy wine from outside and use it at club chinos, they charge you corkage fee of $15+ 7%GST per bottle. Effectivly $16.05 per bottle. Unless you buy wine from them, then no charge.

Hi Anise, the 150nett which Candice mentioned is not for free flow of wine. It is just the corkage charge. You will still have to purchase your own wine and bring it down.

P.S. Candice, hope you don't mind me replying on your behalf