Club Chinois

Hello everyone! Can i ask if we were to hold the banquet in Antica ballroom, do we need to pay extra charges for the ballroom on top of the banquet costs?

hi nattie, as i din c the previous decor before, afraid cant comment on tat. But if i compare to the pics i saw in the bridal magazines, now the decor seems more modern.

i have the previous decor at my blog....... hehehhee. anyone has the current one to share with me?!?

for people who wants to see/ask qn on PILLARS, floor plan etc, u shld go to the website provided in the earlier post. there's floor plan @ the website. so u know where's the pillar & how's the march in like.

Hi Hwee Pheng,

To what i know, whether using Antica Ballroom or the restaurant both are using the same price list (packages provided are Taipan, Regal or Royal) It is just depends on the number of tables that you require and their availability.

You can write to Eric and check with him. His e-mail address is [email protected] or visit their web site @ http://www.tunglok.com/index1.html

hi nattie, it was brightly lit when i went in so it looks pretty much like those usual ballrooms. keke.... pity i forget to bring my camera along, if not can show u some pics. at the reception area, there were 3 round glass tables where they place rose petals and tea candles. looks romantic.

anyone know after the reno, do they install any projector instead of the original portable type ?

I dun wish to have to portable projevtor on stage woh... but if i need two projector at two sides of the stage instead, I think i got to find my own contacts to fix up the whole things

can check with u how long in adv did u plc ur booking with CC? usually how long wld eric be able to hold the date for us? becoz we are still unable to cfm the date yet.

hi nebear, the arrangement between Eric & I was like this... we told him I'll probably haf my banquet in May/Jun07 but I dun haf the dates until I've seen the fengshui shifu. So he say he'll look out for us, if there r other couples taking dates in these months too, he'll let me know. Probably before the 2007 Tong Shu. He told me by then mayb too late. 2007 Tong Shu is released after Lunar 7th month. So its abt 4 months from now.
365311.gif

Dear gals,

I went to a geomancer name Pentagon Geomancer and he published tong shu himself.. thus he has the tong shu already....

I saw u gals waiting for tong shu to get dates but Im afraid that by the time u gals got the dates, but no more hotels to booked

hey gals

Do i have to give ang bao to the waitress and waiter in my wedding banquet??

hey mitzi
i will be having mine at the end of this mnth.. will keep u inform again on the new ballroom...when is ur AD??

Hi gerchea

Thanks ah!! Keep us updated. Mine in dec.. hehe.. btw, why do u have to give angbao to waiter/waitress ah?

if generous and rich enough to give, then by all means. but IMO, there's no need. I worked in banquet @ hotel thats much higher grade than Orchard Parade Hotel and never receive any angbao from couples. Even when u give angbao, most prob is to be shared among the banquet manager, assistant manager and maybe, the head captain and the permanent staff. However, i do not see any need. They earn a lot also lah.

If u want to give, how much is okay? $100? $200? looks v little also. so might as well keep it.

hi gerchae, do share with us ur AD photos at Club Chinos okie? So excited to know how is the ballroom after the reno. Thanks in adv!!! HoHoHo
I dun tink got to give the service crew ang bao. Can use the money on something else.
367680.gif

hey ladies

cos my colleag have hers last yr in a chinese restaurant and was told by the banquet manager..

hi natti/ mitzi

No prob.. will share with u when mine is over .. Good things is to be share mah hehehe

ah gal

think no need to give ap to the waiting staff. Cos most times they must share among themselves, and like crabtree says, the captains, etc will take some amount away also.

Haiz.. so sad... I told my gfs tat I'm going to haf my banquet at OPH. One of them commented tat the food is not nice & place is poorly furnished. I agree tat the place doesnt look like those of a 5 stars hotel ballroom but y she say the food is nt nice lor? Although I've only been to the wedding show, but so far I haven heard of anyone saying tat the food is bad lor. So lose face becos she said right in front of other frens... haiz.. probably she dun mean to ma-lu me lah.
369880.gif

Hi Nattie,
Need not to be concern with these kinds of comments. I had friend comment OPH is not readily accessible and suggest I should cater Shuttle Bus for guests..hahahahaha... of course I dun buy the idea. I know pple whom hold their weddings in Shangri La or Orchard Hotel dun even provide shuttle service. I dun feel OPH is really so way out.
You can tell that friend of yrs that food is serve from Tunglok and will be very good!

Hi Nattie,

Dun worry too much. I will be holding my dinner at cc in Nov 06. So far, I had heard quite a few gd comment from my frd and colleague on the food. Since they are from tunglok. It should be of standard. Dun let a comment spoilt your mood. cheers

Hi Molicha,
Hi... how many mths before you had booked CC for Nov 06? had booked mine for next year 24th March in March 06 this year.

Actually not every Tunglok restaurant food is nice. The one Paramount HOtel? the food there is just so so. So it really depends. But for myself, because i've attend wedding dinner there before at Club Chinos, thats why i decided to hold banquet dinner there.

i've a qn to those brides who are going for the banquet dinner soon. need to rehearsal? or discuss anything with the banquet manager? not sure if CC has any banquet manager...... hmn not sure if they have pc or wat equipment for us to use besides projector.

hi Jewelmelody, thanks. Although I haven attended any banquets at OPH, but I've got many good feedback on their food. Probably my fren is comparing to Four Season where she vowed she must haf her wedding there.
370206.gif

hi Crabtree, isnt Eric Tan ur banquet maneger at OPH?

they only have projector and it is those portable kind and they provide only one, if you want a second projector, u got to find yourself one and you have to do the connection yourself if you are getting the 2nd projector yourself...
my fren bro recently held his wedding at CC, he only gave 6 out of 10 on their service, he didnt tell me much but heard that some coordination is not properly done. I keep my finger cross....

oh i checked with Eric, almost all the things is to be discussed with him. he mentioned testing of cds on the day itself but i think its way too risky. must be few days in advance.

VM,
think u check with him whats wrong? so that we can all learn from it and make sure wont happen. Thanks!

hi Crabtree

Regarding the rehearsal, u better make arrangement with him .. personally i think is best to have a rehearsal be4 the wedding and remember to get ur MC or coordinators to come along when u meet up with Eric. As for the projectors, i did ever chk with them and they only have one projector and its best to do a trial run be4 the AD to play safe.. I have meet up Arthur the other day and he is kind enuff to brief me thru all the details and given me suggestions on how the things shld be run smoothly.. and if i do not have enuff helpers on the AD, he will get his team member and help me out thru out the events .... Will update more after my AD...

Gercha

when's yr AD? May or Jun? Any email add i can email u? Who is Arthur? How come u meet up with him? Did u request to meet up with him? pardon me for so many qn at a shot. hehee. Thanks!

hey ladies

i am bk ... got some hipups here and there on my AD... Some of the dishes is salty which i have already inform them during my food tasting.. Having another couple on the same day as me but she is using the rest. CC has forgotten to put my hubby and my name on the signature so my guests is abit blur as which rm to go.. arrg.. one of the waitress serving my colleag table is too much .. my colleag has already inform her tt they need tea but tt gal tends to ignore them so in the end my colleag went to get the tea by himself .. this is really too much, my guests got to get the tea by themself leh.....

Oh no.. seems like their service rather bad hor.. The names thingy is too much!! Then did you inform Eric about the poor service?

Hi gerchea,

There's another wedding on the same day as mine and I've consulted Eric regarding this issue but he assured me that they will place the signage so that the guest won't be confused...and said that unless the guest can so blur till drop angbao into wrong angbao box without even seeing any familiar faces. He also told me that they do not hire part-time waitresses and waiters coz they wanna have quality services. It does make me feel a little worried after hearing what you've encountered. Maybe you should feedback to Eric regarding their unsatisfactory services and hopefully he can give you a satisfy answer.

hey mitzi and Connie

Yah yah i already send inform eric liao, he said he will do investigation and get bk to me. Cos on the AD, Eric will not be around, there will be another asistant manager, Arthur to overseee everything on the AD. Hey ladies, how many table are u all throwing??

Me only 22tables but might increase. Mine still long way to go hehe

But see ur situation like this, a bit worry about the service staff attitude too

Happen to see this thread so tot of sharing my opinion...no offence though!!

I attended a dinner of a good fren at OPH late April 06 and was pretty diappointed with the food...as i always tot food from Tung lok will be good. The dishes were plain and my fren even commented tat they were a little cold.

I'm not sure how many tables there were tat evening but the ballroom was definitely small and cramp. Unlike other hotels, the lights were not dimmed but pretty bright thro out the nite and i was actually feeling very warm.

Nattie - your fren may be rite afterall. the standard may have dropped as compared to the dinner i attended 3 yrs back..

connie - i think the signage thing is clear, but the reception area will be quite cramp if there are two wedding dinners.

As for service... it was ok.

Gerchea, I’m having 17 tables…hopefully won’t increase…

Jimiee, thanks for sharing…I chose CC becoz of its reputation for serving good food…sighz…I guess I can only cross my fingers now.

hey mitzi and connie

i guess both of ur number of tables shld be quite alright cos i have 30 tables and is rather cramp and two table is being blocked by the pillar... i have to squeeze thru every table during the fotos taking , can u imagine tt and my EG is the ball gown style wow ....

hey connie

regarding the signature , feedback from my guests, cos most of them took the lift to level tw. Outside the lift, there's no indication, so the guests is abit confused as to which room to go, do take note on this.. maybe u wan to leave ur email here , once i took back my pics, i can email some of the pics to u ... hey remember to discuss with Eric on ur flora stand along ur aisle ..

Hi.. im new here. I just like to know how was banquet manager's service? I heard that he was not very attentive and he don't like to meet clients on Sundays tho...

Haven't been here for a while and I must say the comments are very worrying.

I'll be having my dinner in Dec and likewise, there will be 2 weddings that night.

Has the standard dropped so badly?? Very worrying... don't want my guests to 'suffer' that night on my big day...

Has anyone got any feedback from ERIC about his investigations??

i went for the food tasting. Overall, the dishes are very good IMO. just that some dishes are a slightly salty for our taste buds. esp the dish with a yam paste crust.

overall, the freshness of the food standard is there... but i find the prawns is not excellent. not that 100% fresh. it doesnt have those foul taste etc, but just feel that it can be more fresh. btw, i'm very sensitive to dishes like fish and prawns compared to a lot of people so what i tasted might not be same for the others.

Hi gerchea,

Thanks for photo! ^.^ You look gorgeous!! I notice the bridal suite...seems spacious. Did you request for a bigger suite? Would you mind elaborate on the flora stand thingy...it seems pretty okay based on the photo...prehaps I'm not so observant =p Yaa...i agree..it seems a little cramp but cosy as well...especially with the decor & yellow lights... ^.^ Oh ya which type of flower did you choose?

Hi Crabtree,

Glad to hear some positive comments...feeling slightly relieve now...^,^... hopefully the standard will maintain when the dishes are served during actual banquet... hmm worried that the standard might drop due to mass production.