Club Chinois

jazzyjas

hi fanyong,

rec'd! thx.

The table cloth for VIP looks nicer than i thot.
Thk i wd chose gold oso.

jazzyjas

hi fanyong,

juz wanna ask.... did u mit up wif Eric b4 the AD banquet?
as in we dun have a banquet coord mah, so when u mit up wif eric if u have Qns all those?

Thanx.

fanyong

Hi jazzyjas,

U can call Eric and arrange to meet him... but usu the meeting wif him is v late just one wk before ur AD as u can only confirm the no. of tables nearer the AD. U need to confirm th eno. of tables, no of muslim/ vegetarian, the colour of table cloth, the floral arrangement type, the guest scroll, ang bao box if any, any requirements to borrow the audio cable to connect to ur laptop and ur projector for slideshow.., the songs for march in, first dish.

On ur AD around 6pm, he will arrange his co-ordinator to meet up wif ur hb for briefing.... It is better if u can appoint a friend to be ur overall in charge (OIC). Ur OIC can then liaise wif their co-ordinator on the details and timing...

jazzyjas

hi fanyong,

thx for your fast response.

Oic.. no nid 2 mit like 1 mth b4?
how come my frd wd go n mit their banquet mgr ard this time?
1 of them getting married in Early Jan, u c.

Do they have the audio stuff for the photo montage?

If mit him 1 week b4, wun it be too late of he dun have all the thgs u nid?

1 more thg, the flower stands, only 1 week b4 then cfm oso?

fanyong

Hi jazz,

U can call him to ask abt the availablity of tose things before u meet him....
Actually the floral part i use standard one.... no special requests....

But they do not provide the projector so u may wan to test ur projector and notebook wif his cable to see if the connection works.... I did that exactly one wk before my AD... but one thing.. eric likes to tell u he cant guarantee that the cable can work....and things like that cos the cable is v old liao... but still I took the risk and luckily everthing went fine.. Actually he v experienced one... just that he doesnt wan to be held liable if things dun work so he tell u things like he cannot make sure it works, etc..

jazzyjas

hi fanyong,

thx.

Tat means i goto go & look for a projector or do away wif it loh..

Thot they have it when we went 2 view a couple's wedding there.

Ya.. i agree.. actually its best he b honest & says it loh.

Thanx a lot.

fanyong

Hi jazz,

He doesnt have projector... he can help u source one for rental think is around 100+ bucks...or u can source urself... other couples too.

Dun worry too much, I that next also quite worried cos near the date and many things not confirmed wif him yet.. but things turn out alright...

One thing v impt... u have to ask him for the invitation cards one mth plus before ur AD... but then u have to print the insert urself...

jazzyjas

hi fanyong,

oic.. din know they dun have, sd have asked b4 signing. haiz..

Coz worried things not said & cfm, tat's y wanna mit him early loh.

Ok.. i hv send the inserts for printing.
Thk when the inserts delivered to him, we wd go n collect & ask for the cards at the same time oso.

Thanks a lot for your advice.. lucky i asked u, if not prep everything then realise on the day dun have then i really dunno wat 2 do.
thx.

jazzyjas

hi fanyong,

may i know where u got ur projector from?

Called eric & tol us tat he can find for us ard $250 ~ 300.. not $100++..

fanyong

Hi jazz,

U r welcome... In fact I had gone through my wedding prep and I know how stressful it can be.... So it is my pleasure to help CC BTBs... Let me know if you need any advice. U can feel free to call Eric too on the details. He will inform u the name and contact of the Operations manager who will be in charge of ur AD cos he wont be around usu.

jean05

hi fanyong,

i'm also considering CC. AD is july 05. can share your pic? can email me at [email protected]

would like to check with you whether will they provide different theme for selection? do you have any idea if they have the options to upgrade the deluxe room to a suite? i find their room is rather small compare to others who offer bridal suite.

may i ask did your dinner manager to recover from ang pao? what is the average amout? just wondering if there are people who will give restaurant rate coz CC is a restaurant. sorry that ask this question coz i'm on budget wedding.

fanyong

Hi jean,

They dun have many themes... in fact only two... either all white or white and green as table cloth....VIP table only two colours to choose from either red or gold... I find their theme (gold for VIP and white and green for the rest) nice...

Though the food of CC is from restuarant but ur wedding is held at the ballroom in the hotel hence their rate is hotel rate. (in fact u get the best of both worlds as some hotel ambience nice but food sucks... for CC food is good cos Tung Lok and u get the ballroom setting, isnt that good?)... unless u wan to hav ur wedding in Tung Lok other restuarants which may be cheaper as they do not have ballroom. Whether recover depend on the pple coming to ur wedding whether relatives and friends are generous or not... Another factor is whether u need to give ur mother some tables i.e. the ang bao money will be given to her instead of for u to cover the cost.. so it depends on individuals... For my case as my hubby relatives v generous so I have no prob covering the cost.

Another suggestion is that you can hold ur wedding on a weekday instead of weekend then it is cheaper...I think u shld quickly decide where to book ur banquet liao since ur AD is Jul next yr as most pple usu book one yr in advance... Just my two cents worth....

Will e-mail u the photos later..

jean05

hi fanyong,

tks for your photos... they are lovely. may i know did you engage a prof photographer or your friend? they r well taken.

i think i will most likely making my decision by this week. just want to make sure i did not make a wrong decision... so i guess most of your duest are happy with overall dinner? hope it will turn out well for me....

fanyong

Hi jean,

tks.... I engage prof photographer....

Overall, CC is quite good.... my only bad comments are as stated above.... I didnt have to worry much abt the setting etc cos I leave it to CC.... only thing is that their waiter service not good at the tables at the corner.... VIP service v good though... think most hotels are like that one... ambience wise quite good... but CC can only take max 32 tables cos ballroom not big...

Food is good, esp the fish.... Overall comments from guest is good...

mezzan

Hi gals, i better advise u all not to rent projector from the hotels. My hotel actually quoted me for $350!!!. Luckily i managed to get it at $280.00 total for 2 projectors which includes setup, delivery and cables. U can msg me if u wan the contact or email me at [email protected] and i will be glad to share!!

jean05

hi fanyong,

i've just signed up with CC.... very happy now coz i've finally settle the banquet... maybe i can speak to Eric or Kelvin about service at those corner table when the date is near... hope they will take note...anything is that are u taking the superior package? did you stick to sea bass? i'm in the dilemma of whether to chane to other type of fish????

fanyong

Hi jean,

I think i took the superior package... I didnt change the sea bass cos the fish tastes nice... u can wait till the food tasting session to decide what u wan to change... cos ur family will also be there to judge their food.. But do note that some changes will incur additional charges..eg the type of fish, changing first dish to suckling pig, etc.. But if the change is on the way it is cooked then there shouldnt be more charges.. eg changing steamed fish to fried fish etc..

i_panda77

just some personal comments to share...i just had my banquet in oct at CC using the hotel ballroom. Not very satisfied with their service. Maybe its becos there's 2 wedding on the same nite (1 sat ballroom & 1 at restaurant), friend feedback to me that like not enough waiter/waitress...have to wait v long to refill drink. One waiter even spill drink on one of my relative....sign! Their mic no good also...sometimes can hear sometimes cannot, very irritating!!

Then 1 more thing, dummy wedding cake normally have a hole where u can put your knife in (to pretend that we r cutting the cake)...but their cake don't have. Then the bears ontop the cake in very ackward position...very funny leh.

Their bridal suite is big & lighting is ok. If u want to book extra room, u can arrange with eric to hv the extra room on the same floor as the bridal suite.

One week before my AD, i am suppose to call eric to confirm the no of tables. But he is on 1 wk leave & the hotel staff told me that i can only confirm with him. Just imagine how panic i was.

jazzyjas

everyone like having diff opinions on their services.

Btw, juz wanna chk this, is a real wedding cake given?
According 2 a frd, most hotels used dummy cake but after tat a real cake wd be send 2 the bridal suite.

i_panda77

hi jazzyjas,

sorry to scare u (if i did). Just want to share so that u gals may take note of some of the things.
228985.gif

The hotel does not provide real wedding cake..theirs is a dummy cake. They also don't give any cake after the event. Will try to post a pic of the dummy cake here.

jazzyjas

hi panda77!

Its ok.. best 2 know now then later.
like the projector which i dunno not provided till fanyong tol me.

so no real cake huh? hmm.....
this din came into mind til a frd reminded me.

wat else not included??

fanyong

Hi Siu Man,

Yes.... I have 6 muslim guests during my wedding. They will cater for muslim food and the muslim guests will be served individually. The price will be base on per table price divide by ten for each muslim guest.

eiggam

Hi! I'm interested in having my wedding at Club Chinois next year. Anyone has any comments about the food or the ambience?

yu_beng_soon

I just booked my banquet at CC in Sep next year, and was pleasantly surprised that they are charging weekday price for wedding on Friday. Paid deposit of $2,100 for minimum 25 tables, either Deluxe or Prestige package.

Some concessions given are:

• Free flow of beer;
• Corkage waived for both hard liquor and wine;
• For ‘Deluxe’, 1 night stay at so-called suite with breakfast;
• For ‘Prestige’, 2 night stay at so-called suite with breakfast (note – upgrade to executive suite at S$100++ per night);
• Complimentary parking for 20% of confirmed attendance (+10 extra pieces);
• Complimentary food tasting for 10 (weekday, and 3-day advance notice);
• 100% invitation card;
• All seats with cover (white);
• Chocolate for all guests;
• Muslim food (6-course) at $54++ per head (regardless of package taken, price remains); and
• Waiter to guest ratio at about 2:3 (i.e. 2 service personnel covering 3 tables).

Agree with previous postings seen, Eric is quite an expressionless person but nevertheless very experienced. He is actually quite helpful, brought us to view the suite and offered us drinks.

Did not manage to get much extra concessions, guess the package offered (weekday price, free flow beer, etc) is quite attractive by itself. Not to be deterred, I will make getting extra concession a ‘continuous struggle’. Ha ha.

Was taken aback when told by Eric that he would mail us the contract, instead of signing on the spot. Also, was told that he would only contact us 7 days before the wedding. Guess have to be more proactive on our part.

Will provide a review / preview nearer to my AD (or after).

Btw, am quite concerned with the possible parking space constraints. Anyone has any feedback on this?

Cheers and best regards.

yu_beng_soon

Hi Suelynn,

Prices and details of the various packages are available at Tunglok group’s website (www.tunglok.com). Please see the followings which are extracted from the said website:

WEDDING HI TEA — $33.00 per person/- per table

Superior Wedding Dinner Menu — WEEKDAY $540.00 / WEEKEND $600/- per table

Prestige Wedding Dinner Menu — WEEKDAY $675 / WEEKEND $750/- per table

Deluxe Wedding Dinner Menu — WEEKDAY $612 / WEEKEND $680/- per table

The net price is obtained by multiplying the above by 1.06. For instance, the “Prestige” wedding menu for a weekday would cost about S$720 (i.e. 675 * 1.06 = S$715.50, no service charge). I’ve yet decided between Prestige and Deluxe. For prestige, it comes with red garoupa and sliced abalone (among other items), which are not included in the deluxe package. These are items that my parents apparently are keen on.

One of my friends commented that these prices are considered relatively high for a restaurant package (he is also holding his wedding next year, thus, quite in the know about these things). However, this is quite a good deal considering that we will be getting a ballroom (albeit a small and pretty aged one) and good food (from tunglok, plus the good reviews seen so far). The weekday charge for a Friday and the absence of service charge are pretty strong reasons that this is a value for money package.

Anyway, do get the package details from Eric, as he stated more details (and concessions) than those reflected at the Tunglok’s website.

unseenangel9

Am very interested in CC as well. So hey, do u guys mean to say no projectors avail for use? Is the ballroom inside CC? Heard the lighting is quite dim though.

fanyong: did ur takings cover the cost of the dinner since the price is quite high for a resto.

Oh, another thing is, do u think they can hold solemnization in CC? Are there any extra charges for this?

fanyong

Hi karen,

For my case, we manage to cover the costs as my hubby relatives quite generous... Actually it deps on whether relatives are generous or not cos friends usu know how to "zuo ren".... It is more of the relatives...

Their ballroom is not inside CC.... though restuarant and ballroom are on the same level. Regarding the solemnisation, I think it shouldnt be a prob... U can tok to Eric abt this.

maiden78

halo everyone!

i've recently confirmed my wedding banquet which wil b on 12 nov tis year, wif CC..

hi karen,
as confirm wif eric, e banquet manager, there is no projector provided as they do not hav space to safekeep it! hehe..

hav u met up wif eric yet?

hi fangyong!

so u had ur wedding in CC yah? how was it? i think e oni minus point of e antartic ballroom is tat e ceiling is too low... u agree? btw, did u stick to their wedding favors or did u get ur own?

fanyong

Hi maiden,

Yap I had my wedding at CC... The ceiling is quite low and the ballroom is rectangular shaped with the stage a the middle of the length.... so some guests at the sides cannot see the slideshow at the stage.. Overall comment is food is good.... ambience wise may not be so grand due to the low ceiling but then i think food is a v impt factor as most guests r there to eat.

If u wan I can send u my pics..... Let me know ur e-mail addy.

unseenangel9

Hi maiden n fanyong,
actually me no date yet lah, juz lookin arnd for curiousity sake. besides, mine still long long way to go-which is next yr! haha.

but im puzzled tho'- CC is a restaurant rite? but if u hold a wedding banquet, then they have a ballroom for u? in CC itself? coz i went to tunglok website, and found CC ambience quite good, well at least not so typically chinese style.

i also feel that food is impt. Err, slideshow cannot be raised further so tat back cn see? mm..preferably aisle is long lah.

hi fanyong: cn see pix as well? my email is [email protected]

fanyong

Hi unseenangel,

The ballroom is outside CC on the same floor in Orchard Parade Hotel... The food is from CC but the banquet is held in the ballroom.

Will send u after this posting...

unseenangel9

hi fanyong,
thanks for e pix! they were lovely! wow, ur ROM to actual day interval was pretty short...must be busy eh?

there weren't many photos of the ballroom tho... hw many tables did u engage?

fanyong

This is a pic of the stage:

240633.jpg

As for the cake, u can see it in the earlier thread...

Hi Unseenangel9,

I have 29 tables...