CHeapest Place for Electircal GOODS!!

Hi, here is another good lobang. Jus called and tell him the best price you have seen so far and he should be able to match or lower. He has direct contacts of electrical goods too. Thumbs up for the service!

Here is the contact of Ray from Asia Excel Marketing. 91052286/97621938. I have just bought my fav franke sink from him yesterday at the lowest price compared so far. His service is wonderful.
The location is at Jurong east st 22 IMM building #03-10B. Shop tel number: 66650107. Think he is the boss..

Has anybody bought Sharp microwave oven R888F from one of the electrical shops mentioned here? How much did you pay for it?

bought R888F (silver) from Sweetson in January 2005. I got it for $350, the cheapest of the shops I got quotes from then.
Wonderful oven. Can allow us to bake stuff as it is also a convection oven.
Think the price is lower now.

Hi smurf

i am interested in getting this hsarp oven as well. But just to check, do we need a gap or space if we are going to instal in onto the cabinet. not too sure if u get what i mean.

I have already done up my kitchen and i left just the right size for this oven, but then i reliased that we need to leave quite a gap for the oven?

Hi bookworm,
I know what you mean.
you definitely need to leave a gap of at least 10 cm each side. Else it will be very difficult for you to shift the oven in and out. In addition, if your powerpoint is at the back of the oven, you need the additional space even more. Hope this helps!
if your cabinet has those metal hinges, take care while shifting the oven else the sides will be scratched.

oh gosh, isn't it aweful looking then? I have an in built oven and this conventional oven is meant to place above. The cabinet is not to keep this oven but more to put there permanently. 10cm , is it for the hot air to flow?

Aesthetics wise, the scratches are not obvious, but they will affect its selling price should you decide to sell it away next time.

The 10cm is indeed for the hotair to flow. But it is also for you or whoever is installing it to have enough room, to shift the entire oven into the cabinet space. You cannot just push it in cos it will scratch the cabinet surface.

Hi Smurf, tks a lot for your reply.

Hi bookworm, according to Sharp's website, you'd need at least 40cm from top of the oven for ventilation.

huh...now i am going to have problem. sigh, how?
any oven need not leave gap. Those i saw on the mag, they did not leave any space as well?
Oh no

actually the 40 cm top gap is something new to me as well.
I only have at most 8 - 10 cm gap above my sharp oven. I still use it without any problems so far. However I am also a little concerned that it will not last very long leh.
Bookworm, the designs in the mag emphasise form over functionality. The ovens may not work very well nor last long too. I suggest you get another model.
If you still want to stick with this model is still okay. If your cabinets are enclosed, just make sure you leave the cabinet and oven doors open even after using for at least 10 minutes for the oven to cool down and for the hotair to dissapate.

Smurf,
I'm interested in the Sharp R888F oven too but my concern is whether it can be used for baking cakes. How high the temp can go for baking? Any limitation in terms of baking? Thank you.

hi daisy,

dun really know details abt ovens, but wat my frens did was to go to best denki or harvey norman to get the details then go elsewhere to buy. cos much cheaper. try asia excel at imm. juz give them your best quote, heard that they can do better. juz say frens from the forum reccommended.

hi guys & gals

anyone got new list of 2005 cheapest dealers or best service dealers?

i looking for plasma & LCD dont really mind the price if difference abit but must have good service.

Announcement !!!

As of today,
DAV electronics is the cheapest shop in Singapore as far as i know.

Too bad i cant review their price, anyone interested have to go down themself hor.

here's the add, 21 lorong kilat tel:64677767

My method of getting the cheapest price is to first decide on what brand/model I want. Then call up the official retailers (most websites list all their retailers eg www.benq.com.sg) and ask about their prices, and go for shop selling the cheapest. I think this is better than sticking to just one shop.

lol LKM... i have tried all the methods already... i called to ask for quote... but at current no one has quoted me as cheap as Dav.

hi tequilaneat,
have u tried asia excel @ imm? we checked around n found that ray can match the prices we got from dav. however we have not bought the electrical items yet cos ray says that prices would definately drop. very honest, thus we bought all other things from them.

hi richmond,
WOW!! CAN MATCH PRICE WIF @DAV, sure??!... do u have their no? u bought what from Asia Excel, this company name seem to be very familiar leh.

hi richmond,
WOW!! CAN MATCH PRICE WIF @DAV, sure??!... do u have their no? u bought what from Asia Excel, this company name seem to be very familiar leh.

hi joyful,
i thought u bought ur stuff from Dav already?? want to test market sibo...haha. but indeed suprised leh, nowadays seem to be have alot new electrical shops hor.

I got all my electrical stuff from Goh Ah Bee. Very reliable and they have been in business for a long long time....

everything cash on delivery.

hi cheery,
so far all the comments from Dav seem good, what i can review to u is their service is very gd and the price very attractive, go down n take a look lor.

as mentioned before, I bought all my electrical stuff from sweetson in January this year.
In July, I found that my Philips DVD player (HT-520) was not multi-coded as promised by them (much to my disappointment).
I brought my player to them and they helped me fix it after a week. Not too happy that they did not set the player to multi-code as promised but as least they offered to do this the 2nd time round with no fuss even though it was 6 months since I last bought from them.

HI hello,

I got my things at GAB as well. But one thing is, their pricing is higher than others by few $ and they claim theirs is fixed pricing, cannot be reduced, which I wasnt happy about though since i bought so many things.

Delivery wise prompt.

I still think Min Sheng's the cheapest, short of checking with Dav cos Dav needs us to go down to their shop to check the price. So far I've got quotation from Min Sheng and they can match the lowest price you've got. Delivery was ok and so far no problem with them.

Hi Ryes,

ya,...think a few dollars more ex than elsewhere is acceptable to me as long as they are decently in the biz. Have heard of others thats not so honest and deliver some 'display' sets to customers. Overall I felt its ok and since its cheaper than courts, best denki and harvey norman etc than me fine with it

Good afternoon hello88,

Found this forum through search engine, it seems like all cheap shops don't provide good service & even gave customers repaired or displayed goods. you are right, me too don't mind paying abit more for service, but i noticed that department store prices & shop dealer prices can be a difference of up to few thousand $$$ & i feel that's too much.

And Is Dave electronics a new shop?
I haven't heard of their name yet.

And is Asia Excel a new shop too? didn't saw them in IMM

Hi Ang,

yup those department store prices are more ex and also need to pay for delivery charges as one cant simply lung back a refridgerator. BUT bear in mind that they have 3 or 5 years extended warranty and these department stores are throwing in this extended warranty FOC. Anyway, i still didnt buy from these department stores

Dave electronics? Never heard before, As for Asia Excel, is a very very small shop and seems like they sell almost everything though items are not on display. Only saw some wc, sinks, basins in the shop. Dont worry, u're not the only one that miss the shop if u dun have the unit number.

I got my stuff from a neighbourhood shop in existence for many donkey years.

Hi guys, would just like to share some of my experience here. I got most of my big electrical stuff from harvey norman. There is a couple of reasons to it.

1. Buying those expensive and bulkly items, I think getting getting from more reputable stores is safer.
2. Service is much better.
3. Extended warrany is one major draw point. They got one of the most hassle free extended warranty around, with no hidden cost.
4. You think harvey norman cannot bargain? Think again. What I did was ask around the neighbourhood store, get the cheapest price, I bargain with them. Before that, ask them the difference you must pay for the extended warranty 1st. Then just bargain the price till the cheapest price you manage to get at neighbourhood store plus the insurance lor.

I bought my Plasma, LCD, Fridge, Washing Machine and mircowave oven, dect phone, all at very good price there.

Ang,

I've juz got my TV from Dave electronics. Vince, tt guy who attended to me is very friendly and helpful. In fact, i went ard looking for the cheapest price for this Samsung Projection tv and the cheapest i can find was at mustafa which is at 1588 but then still have to add 30 for delivery. And then, i learnt abt Dav fr this forum and went there to take a look. They gave me a very good price and i had confirm my order from there. In fact i got my Samsung fridge fr Harvey Norman (which was on promo) and its cost $1299 which is after discount and its bundled with one x-box or 200 tangs voucher. So when i was at Dav the other day, i saw my fridge and ask Vinc for the price, without any hesitation, he said $960 and can nego a bit. Piangz...

wah so many people give good comments on Dave, think have to go down & check it out.

Hi ivan & amanda, mind sharing the prices you bought from harvy norman? just wanna see the difference.

Adel, If you buy at Harvey Norman. Must really bargain one. Plus, did your $1299 is inclusive of 5 years warranty right compare to dav $960 one year warranty.

Just to share some of the things I bought at Harvey Norman:
1. Pioneer 43"Plasma PDP 435 HDG $5299
2. Pioneer DVR 530 HS $849
3. Samsung 26" LCD LA 26R51 $2100
4. LG Fridge GR- B197 GLX (Inox Colour) $1100
5. Toshiba Washing Machine AW-9700SS $480

All the items above is inclusive of 5 years extended warranty.

Pls feel free to give me your comments.

I understand also that some of the items I might be paying maybe about $200 more. But think again, $200/4 yrs, you are only paying $50 more per year for a peace of mind for those high tech equipment. Imagine if 3 years later, something happend to you plasma or LCD, how much would it cost just to get someone done to check? I remember repairing my 21" CTV for around $100, which only lasted me for another 8 mths to a year before I cannot tahan and dump it away.

ermmm...OPEN your mouth and be frank lor. I know the saleman during COMEX sales...he say he will match the prices given. I am those very frank type, tell him straight that I can get this price, you can match or not. Can you sell, cannot you just tell me. So far they all lan lan and give me. Then just top up with the extra for extended warranty lor.

Hi hello,

I tried "bargaining" at HV b4, but I did not purposely try to bargain cos I din know they allow bargaining. I saw a plasma TV with glass TV console display, I asked for the price of the plasma and sounded v keen to buy oredi, then I changed my mind cos I tot it's so ex if I want to add on the price of the console. Then I merely briefly commented, and viola, the salesperson actually throw in that console worth 400 for me so I finally made my purch. Anyw, I backed out a few days later (and got back my dep in full) cos I found an even beta deal elsewhere.

Hi orsoalind,

wow....that's very interesting as i didnt know can bargain at such stores as the price tag already stated there. Btw, u asked about the TV but not the display set right?

hi ivan & amanda,
does your warranty inclusive plasma n lcd panel??
n anyway toshiba washing machine now come with 5 year warranty from their own so is the Lg fridge mah. Vince @Dav electronic told me tat. i bought a samsung frigde from Dav too, best deal so far, also asked abt the ext.warranty and Vince told me that all fridge comes with a 5 years compressor warranty( the most important parts ), and the most funniest part... if by law u need to get an insurance for vehicle to drive in singapore tat is 'lan lan', but if tat law doesnt exist, will u still annually 'guai guai' go to buy an insurance??? even your though ur car cost 10 to 20 times more ex than ur plasma or lcd tv?? unless u got no confidence at all. heehee ( sorry no offence ).

So far from what I know, all the places I ask only provide 1 year warranty.

As for the extended warranty, you are not doing a apple to apple comparison here. Just like I am asking you, do you have life insurance? Don't tell me you got no confidence you are not going to live through tomorrow. So it is totally a different thing.Further more, it is a LAW to get car insurance, so that's why insurance company is pushing up the price so high up, coz in the end, they know you lan lan have to get from any of them. But if it is not a LAW, the insurance might be low so that they can attract customer.

If Dav is really good in terms of service and products. I am not stopping anyone going there. But I am just sharing my experience with Harvey Norman so that people can understand better. So far Dav is a very new shop and I really cannot comment too much about it.

ivan & aman, that's a pretty good deal u got, where is COMEX? i also want to go down & bargain, maybe can get even cheaper then dealer shop.
And in future there will be no more despicable dealers liao. haha

Ha ha....COMEX is a Computer fair held about 2weeks ago at Suntec. No more liao.

But I did go the back to look for the harvey norman salesman to get the rest of my electrical stuff.

oic ivan&Aman,
so 'pai sey' i so 'sua ku' .
so which harvey outlet is that & look for who? Does the plasma LCD extended warranty cover panels?

hi ivan & amanda,
H.N doesnt seem to cover the tv panel in their extended warranty. it was written in their term and condition black pamplets. better double checked. i was once told and shown the pamplets by a Courts sales promoter

hello all,

anyone has an idea what the lowest price is for the following:

Toshiba GR-H45STV 450L fridge (3 door)
JVC THS8 or THS9 home theatre system

please advise, thanks!

Call Bedok Electrical Appliances,Contact:Ban Kim Chuan Tel:64435298 or Call Sweetson Electrical Trading Tel: 65632308/65668150. Give them the model number and they will check for you the price.If cheaper compare to outside,order from them and pay them during the free delivery.You don't have to travel there to order,order through phone. Give me your feedback