CHeapest Place for Electircal GOODS!!

tingshen

well, banks do not charge admin fee for installment plan, only the merchants will

rihhana_taylor

bought quite a few items from the audio house moving up sale..

sharp washer for $300, wine cooler for $199 n toshiba fridge for $400. was quite a significant discount from the usual price.

anise

hi rihhana.. u mean they having this moving out sale huh... it's till when? i interested in getting wine cooler =p

TS.. oh well.. maybe i m wrong and got mix up.. bank charges adm fee for loans.

tingshen

rihhana, you really got a very good deal from the ahbengz shop! Are they running out of business and decided to pull out from the giant store concept?

anise, what kind of loan? I thought we are talking about 0% interest free installment from the credit card? Why would one need to take up loan and pay high interest to buy home appliances? Can't afford dun buy mah.....but I do know that some big stores like Courts, or even neighborhood stores like everjoint has the largest customers base from a particular race that falls under this trap.....

If you have no stretching power with your cash on hand, or rather the cash could depreciate faster compared to you paying by installments, by all mean! If one can make the cash work harder so installment plans without interest at the cheapest cash rate in town will be the best deal. Unfortunately most of the time, 0% installment plans are not really interest/fee free. They either charge you an admin fee upfront or sell you at a higher price.

It's same as buying house lor, paying cash is never the wisest option, especially if you do have some form of insurance coverage. Same goes to why companies still prefer to do hire purchase for their MFPs etc. Cash on hand is always better if you know how to make full use of it, doesn't matter if it's your own money or other people's money :D

glad12

TS, quote "Unfortunately most of the time, 0% installment plans are not really interest/fee free. They either charge you an admin fee upfront or sell you at a higher price." this is precisely wat im referring to and then you are now sharing wif us here huh... admin fee is juz the term used which is wat i say "dunno wat admin fee etc" which was somehow they will add on like say if 2% or so if you wan installment plan etc or even like wat you mention as jackin up the selling price.. which is y precisely some ppl like us do not like to incure the additional cost which could be better used else where.. dun you agree?

rihhanan, happy for you tt you got a good deal for your electrical stuff guess this is wat we consumers wan which is good deal, good buys =)

tingshen

glad, I am surprised that big stores are charging admin fee. Coz they can't do that with their listed price. It's been quite a while since I last purchase my home appliance, perhaps they are more flexible to cheong volume in order to cover a lower profit. Me and my friends weren't that lucky last year, probably because they can't go below certain price.

anise

TS... stop doubting pple on the deals they get.. Everyone is just trying to share their good deals they got..

BTW i dun tink i drift from topic (unlike you talking abt wat ampl etc previously..).. I did mention i stated wrongly abt the adm fee on installment.. it's applicable for loan... and as in what kind of loan, do i need to state out clearly for u? common sense can tell right... & for sure not refering to take loan for home appliances.. And just to share, 0% installement plan=no additional cost required... unless u late payment etc.. den there will be additional cost...

tingshen

i got doubt people meh? I accepted the fact that you guys do get great deals from HN and Audio House etc. But I'm surprised they charge "admin fee" coz they are supposed to absorb it, with their higher listed price. As I said earlier, they seem to be more flexible compared to months/years ago.....

there are all sorts of loan nowadays, if you want to see 0% installment fee as "loan" coz you see it as "owe people money" facility, then using credit card is also a "loan" too, regardless of interest incurred.

0% installment plan usually have hidden cost incurred. If you can bargain until very low with cash term, yet they can still accept you to pay by credit card/0% installment via CC, then it's really considered no additional cost. I have yet to find any merchant that offer the lowest deal in town and still accepting credit card payment/0% installment via CC without charging you any "admin fee", unless they are the exclusive agent that control their price(Cottage Crafts for furnitures in my case) or the fees are insignificant to absorb. Even NETS transaction incur "admin fee" for most merchants.

Late payment has nothing to do with merchants during point of sales, that's subject to individual financial management already....

anyway, I am glad to see the possibility in doing real shopping in HN
Thanks for the tips.

glad12

TS, im surprise to see that it seems like you dun understand wat im tryin to share here... as wat i said earlier merchants will tell you to add on 2% or so depending on the commission that bank charges them for the credit card payment as tis will mean havin to eat into their commission after matching the price we get elsewhere...

folks out there, it all boils down to whether you guys get to meet ppl who are willin to match or not and very much also to do with luck... i cant get HN millenia which previously ppl fm tis tread mention to give good buys to match but end up gettin fm another Head of Electronics fm HN at parkway.. it also very much depends on whether they can do it anot like in the F&B industry if you insist on havin someting not in the menu, if they can do it they will do it if they cant they will not lo...

good luck sourcing for electronics and setting up your lovenest ya..

oxygen_bar

I agree with glad. I got a good deal from this guy at HN central but when the other forumers tried, they don't seem to be able to get as good a deal from him.

But it's good for us to share and for the others on this thread to have a few more options for comparisons. Saves a lot of time on searching. What I did was to decide on the models of the items I want, I call up those that can offer a good deal and head down when i find one.

Recently, I was looking for SLR cameras and managed to find this guy at HN novena who offered me a great deal. Though this thread is about appliances and not cameras, the guy said he can give good deals for appliances should any forumers need his contact number to try their luck, just let me know, I'll be glad to share his contact.

I've not encountered admin charges on my purchases with HN using CC, though there would be a difference in pricing using cash and card. They'll normally be able to lower the price by maybe about $20(eg for item that cost about $1K) if you are paying cash upfront. But ultimately, it's up to individual to choose to pay by instalments or hard cash. All of us just want to get as good a bargain as we can that's all.

glad12

hi breathe, thats exactly wat i meant.... =) and i also did the same way you did which is to check on the price and make comparisons then call up the guy and ask if they can match to the price and once he agree i juz go down n make the purchase lo.. anyway the guy is now at millenia walk so if any of you are keen on the contacts do email mi at [email protected] and i can let you noe the guy whom you can contact..

rihhana_taylor

hi anise, sorry i didnt reply earlier! the audio house sale ends tmr! there were a few other models left. in fact, they've slashed all their small household appliances to $10.

TS, seems like you're a detractor of audio house? haha they're not pulling out, rather, i heard that they're moving to a new bigger unit upstairs. so they've certainly not ran out of biz.

breathe, have you bought the cam alr? bestdenki is having an olympus sale and the prices are very attractive for both DSLRs and point and shoots!

junasinhj

If you've done your homework & the price offered can be extended to 0% interest instalment plan (merchants are being charged 6%), then why not? I've just got myself a good deal from HN at MW (there's another thread) & only asked about payment mode, GST & delivery charges when it seems a good enough bargain. Convince the salesperson to waive any additional amount that you have to fork out. good luck!

rihhana_taylor

hey anise, in case you've not bought yet, now audio house is having their grand opening sale of the new unit, offers are even better now and not display set.

courts megastore is also having a warehouse sale, prices are greatly slashed. but it could be ending soon.

gracey54

I had a look at various electronicy things in singapore. I wasn't overly impressed with the prices. I had a look in the airport for camera memory and they weren't different from the prices I had seen in Oz.

I stayed there for 4 days a couple of years ago. I suppose if you really wanted something then you may be able to get it slightly cheaper than somewhere else - but none of the prices were so incredibly cheap that it was worth buying without really looking into the price.

I bought a canon digital SLR earlier this year. Out of the UK, Singapore airport and Oz it was actually cheaper to buy in the UK!

Another thing you might want to check is whether something bought in Singapore and taken to Oz would still keep it's warranty. My Canon camera doesn't as it's only an EU wide guarantee. Suppose if something went wrong with it I would have to send to someone back in the UK and have them sort it.

tingshen

What? Two yr old thread got dug up????

Time changes everything. It's no longer cheaper to buy from neighbourhood shops with Cash. Nowadays big stores tie up with distributors with bulk and can offer incredible pricing!