CHeapest Place for Electircal GOODS!!

java_guru

Hey Obaesom (obaesom), great to hear of the great price u got for the LG Plasma.

I have been overseas for a while and yesterday just went to Parkway to have a look at latest prices. The toshiba is throwing in a 29"tv FOC at the moment.

I was going down to megadiscount this morning to have a look see.

Do tell on the delivery of your set and how it goes.

java_guru

From my regular shop, I have confirmed that the LG Plasma PX10 is for $4000. Don't know if I should buy.

I ran the Gladiator DVD at it and during the Hell UNleashed scene, there was quite bad grain on it. The philips on the otherhand handled it much better.

obaesom

Hi Guru,

Actually did not think of buying the TV while at Ming Sheng but suddenly he offer me @ $4K, so agreed to the price lor. Furthermore last month pricing is around $4.5K.

Also I'm not so enthusiastic into Audio/Video as long it is Value for Money, it's OK.

Since price are dropping like avalanche, perhaps U can aim for Japanese made Plasma?

obaesom

Hi sharon,

I ordered the LG Hurricane 42" Plasma TV Model : RT-42PX10 with wall mount bracket.

If interested can try calling few shops as adviced in this thread so as to get the lowest price.

java_guru

yeah...I like the LG but the gladiator played crap on it...it looked like a VCD output. I need to find out why. But $4000 is the benchmark to beat.

Alternatively the Philips is $4300.

If anyone is wondering, these prices can be obtain from HDB shops.

obaesom

Hi Sharon,

Depending on the timing of purchased, the price is bound to drop further, but can't keep on waiting. I'm sure next month U see the price below $4K.

Can call the popular shops ( Goh Ah Bee, Ming Sheng, Etronin, Sweetson , Hong Liang etc ) to find out the lowest price of the model U like.

sharon__joseph

thanks obaesom!

java_guru

Obaseom,

can u give a reivew of our PX10? I would really like to see some details on viewing on SCV and also DVDs. Highlight any bad points/experiences.

Thx.

obaesom

Hi Guru,

Sorry but only can feedback on Mid Nov as the delivery is on 6 Nov and I have yet to sign for the New SCV too.

Any info from Mega on the bad output for Px10? Have U try "LOTR" , "iRobot" where fast movement scene involves?

kentan

Hi XYZ,

Actually you can enhance the performance of LG PX10 . What you can do is buy the samsung dvd player DVD-HD938 (cost about 399) . This is only DVD player with DVI output. Then you use the DVI output connected to the DVI input of the PX10. You can see the difference . I did not try out on PX10 , but i ask the Courts ppl to try on Samsung Plasma TV PS42D4 . You can see the difference . I think this Samsung Plasma will cost about 4K too. Have not checked with Min Sheng yet.

java_guru

Ken/rest,

the samsung isn't the only one with DVI or vga. I believe some of the china brands like enzer and shinco also have such models.

Even if they use component in for the DVD, it should be sufficient. Imagine what will happen with SCV (even if digital) input? It will be terrible. I will re-run the test at other places.

tigerjes

Anyone know about 26" LCD TV, which brand n model is cheaper? May I know what is so called "Digital Input"? Is it PC connectivity?

tulip94

anyone purchased mitshibitshi fridges from minsheng lately? are u aware that mit is giving $50 robinson vouchers? vincent hasnt got back to me for my vouchers..have u gotten urs? thanks..

tyikkim

Tulip,

I read that you had actually wanted to purchase the 7KG Samsung washer and Mitsubishi MR-CU46P fridge from Min Sheng.

Mind sharing me what he quoted you on both these items?

obaesom

Hi XYZ,

Mine coming tomorrow to fixup the TV, Curtain measurement, furniture delivery all in one day.

So bear with me not able to update you soonest.

By the way, I am thinking of what should I write in the report? Me not AV Technical!

How's your research?

java_guru

Just run your DVDs (give the names) and SCV through it. THen give an opinion on the picture quality esp wrt to grainy picture/double images/artifacts etc..

That should be enough. Thx.

kok

tulip

so hav u got yr voucher fr vincent..becareful of him..these pple always try to conn customers of this(vouchers n free gifts)

obaesom

Hi XYZ,

Sorry just back from my leave oding packing. The TV is up on 6 Nov, however only able to watch local TV prog as my old SCV box is not able to view SCV anything except local TV channels.

All my equips are in boxes, yet to transfer to new house.

But how is your findings so far?

tulip94

Went to Harvey Norman today and found out that Sharp is giving away either free Home Theatre or microwave oven (choose one only) for the Sharp 32" LCD. Wondering if Minsheng is giving this too? Any experience to shaRE? Thanks..

bing

tulip,
you might want to check with hong liang electrical for the above mentioned items as my friend just bought the sharp 32" LCD with all the free gifts.The person who sold her was Vincent.

sspike

Checked with Mitsubishi that Min Sheng is not their authorised dealer..Maybe thats why got problems with the vouchers.Anyone can share where can i get mitsu fridge at the lowest price besides MS?

tulip94

thanks christina! may i know where is hong liang electrical? Can i have their address and contact no please? BTW, how much did ur friend pay for the Sharp 32" LCD? I paid for $4310 from Vincent, havent paid the full amount coz i purchased quite a no. of stuff from him. Will negotiate for lower price if other place is selling cheaper..thanks a lot..

coolqoo

Hi sebastian,

Oh.. the mitsubishi promo for that voucher redemtion is over liao..last day of redemption for the voucher is on the 15 nov(tomolo)...

Anyway, try Tai Sin at Blk 183 toa payoh central... I got just got my Mitsubishi fridge MR-F30P for $460 (inclusive GST)

sspike

Arlow Joanne,
Checked with hong liang elec. today,and was told that the last day of purchase is tomorrow as you mentioned..But the last day of redemtion is on the 15th of Dec..(Don't know if its true)..
Anyway will go down tomorrow to try as i bought my 42" plasma from them..
Oh... their price also attractive and they are the authorised dealer..
Will update the result..Thanks for your reply Joanne.

bing

tulip,
Heres the address you requested,
Hong Liang Electrical
Blk 123,Bukit Merah Lane1
#01-70 (don't know the postal)
Tel-62783331
Think she did mentioned somthing like $4300 with the free gift.
Can try calling vincent @ HL to get a better princing..
But don't quote me... Hehehe..

tulip94

Thanks Christina...i think your friend got a cheaper deal..

joanne, thanks for the info. i havent got my voucher coz my delivery is not so soon, home still under initial reno stage..if the last day of redemption is today, 15 nov, then i lugi lor..
but if it's what sebastian mentioned, redemption by 15 dec, then not so bad..appreciate it if you could share with me if there are any confirmation/updates. thanks. in the interim, will check out with minsheng...

sspike

Hey all..
Just to comfirm as i was at hong liang today..
Mitsu fridge promotion extended till end nov.
last day of redemtion comfirmed at 15th Dec.
Also found out that we are suppose to redeem the vouchers directly from Mitsubishi.(Service centre)Need to bring stamped warrenty card with proof of purchase from authorised dealers.
As i wont need my fridge till after christmas..
What i did was to pay half the amount of the fridge,go down hong liang on wed to collect my warranty card and proceed to Mitsubishi to collect my vouchers$$$.Will also enjoy the extra year of warranty free.
Theres a guy there also called vincent too..(shocked! haha)
Patient guy,took the effort to explain to me.
Makiyo..About the 0% instalments thiggy..might wanna check with hong liang(62783331).
Thats all the info i've got.

blessed

hi sebastian

i went to hong liang too. talked to Ong. the prices he quote is abt $10-20 more ex then other shop, but he mention if we deciced wat we wan to get, he will give a package disc again. which brand plamas u got? n how much? thanks!

Anyone deal with Ong b4? a nice uncle who patiently explain wat i shld look for when deciding on appliances.

he mentioned for washer, never look at brand, juz look at function, coz he said the "used to" reputable brands r now not made in europe anymore. so no need pay for brand.

sspike

Hey blessed,
Ong served me before too..but vincent's product knowledge is far better..think you should speak to vincent before you commit to anything..
The plasma i bought is the samsung 42D4 @ $3800 Think deal with younger people better..can get more discount,older people tends to look at profit more.Hahaha..

makiyo

Hi Sebastian,

I agree with u...my hubby was looking for a Pioneer head unit in Sim Lim Tower...the old uncle quoted $60 more than his young colleague!?

blessed

hi Sebastian,

Thanks! will talk to vincent instead
...oh we saw the Samsung Plasma too, @ $3800. My hb is definitely tempted!

haha u very funny. i still tot uncles will be nicer to "xiao mei" like me (thick skinned!!!), so seems not!

Anyone bought a Panasonic Plasma from them? Cos I bought fr Best Denki and afraid that Min Sheng stuff is not from Japan... Panasonic Plasma stated behind "Made In Japan". Thinking of buying LG fridge from Min Sheng and other appliances

Anyone can verify with me?

Thanx

sspike

Er.... Seems like its getting a bit confusing here..now there's two vincents.One from min sheng and another from hong liang.Hahaha..
Better hope there won't be a third!?

blessed

hi Sebastian,

Since u gotten ur Samsung Plasma from Hong Liang, means you do not hv extended warranty? I am juz thinking if extended warranty is very impt?

sspike

Was quoted $4450 with the agent's extended warranty.. but i chose not to have it.
To me price is a most important factor.I don't belive in insurance too..Hahaha...That's only me.