CCK Crescent

am uploading my floorplan.... just wanna to know if someone got similar layout as mine... may not be the same but mirror image etc.

259744.jpg

hi wise,
thanks for updating oh!
my floor plan different from yours... notice tt all ur bedrooms seems big hor..

hi serene, so envy of u... starting reno soon... we still liase wi our ID on the reno details... hope can start soon too... we set aside budget of $27k for the reno (excluding lightings & aircons)... hope that minimal "hidden cost" incur during the course of reno...

Wise,
Made a mistake in my window panels. I only have 2 not three. MBR then got 3 panels and 1 more at the side. As for the floorplan, mine quite similar to yours. Except for the kitchen and bomb shelter. Your one facing school is it? I see till i blur liao

Hi dodo,
big mah??? may b tat y the living area is small... u notice mi kitchen... super long & narrow right... was hoping to do up a island kitchen... now no hope loh....

Hi Meow,
so meaning u got 2 half windows. any smaller panel window liked blursotong & dodo?
mi WIW will be infront of the toilet. the whole area will be box up.

Hi blursotong,
mi olso blur liao. where u stay huh? so that mi can updated... :p

Hi dubdub,
Oh, yr is exec flat? mi floor area is 110. btw, as for the feng shui master... looked for a traditional one which can advise u on An chuan & guo da li stuff.... just mi view.

Questions again... :P

Q1: Pipes provided by HDB. copper or PVC. will u be changing them? if PVC? what e mkt rate?

Q2: Haulage? by contractor or town council? 1 ID we spoke to chrg us @ 650$. cheap? or ex?

Hi dubdub,

OIC. tks. so at least one major ting off yr to-do list. so how is yr wedd prep? selected gowns? banquet etc?

actually we were deciding b/w exec or 5 room. but those left over exec r not so interesting to us... so choose 5 rm.

how much did u spend on yr reno?

Hi Wise,

my wedding preparation will be starting soon, as I didnt take up any bridal package, everything will be source on our own and my hubby'a bro is my wedding planner. currently still taking my degree so not much time to do my planning. my renovation is 23k, plus furnishing 8k.

Me at 690B. My kitchen also super long. Idea of long island table like wise is gone. hehehe..

hi dub dub...your AD is quite some time huh.so are u doing any prep right now.

Updated list @ 15 Mar

659 - wilest
683C- Meow, keiki, wise
684C- amelia
686B- Serene
690B- dudbub, blursotong
690C- dodo

(pls help me to correct/ add the list) tks.

Hi dubdub,

Wow, tat great man. if let me do mi wedding again. wont take up bridal package too. OIC, u got a FOC wedding planner, so yr wedding gg to be a smooth & Njoyable one. Have Fun.

Hi blursotong,
Wahh!! envy lah. got long island kitchen. if i put an island in the kitchen no walking space liao.

blursotong,

my banquet is ard 70 tables, plus need to mtm my parents and parents in laws cheongsum and suite, oversea photo shooting, mtm designer gown and so on so need to start preparing now

My layout is the same as Wise.

Blursotong,

I wanted to have a small island but my kitchen is narrow and not that long either.

Wise,
My flat is with PVC, change to copper pipings. Can't remember the price liao.

Haulage fees should pay to town council through contractor if i'm not wrong. Last time got a contact nunber pasted in lift. Now i think dun have liao. Think the price not cheap lor.

Hi Amelia,
Hi-5!!! same design. @ last. ke keee

Hi Meow,
tks for the info. so at least can get them to quote me the price. tks so much. will find some BB foto for u to view.... (^_^)

Wise,
Thanks for the photo.
Hee...got slight mistake. Check with hubby, he say got to pay both town council and contractor. Town council one is cheaper which supplies the big bin to us for those debris. Then for the contractor is the sand and some other materials to lay the tiles and such. The contractor one should be higher. He said he can't remember the price. But he commented $600plus is cheap. You better check with your contractor if the price he quote is paid to who lor.

One more thing which i forget to answer your question. My kitchen is jus 2 half windows. No eatra panel liao. Only my MBR got many panels. In fact there's 4 half panels. My wardrobe also jus outside toilet like yours since the floor plan is more or less the same.

Hi Wise & Amelia,

I do not have an island table as i have a long kitchen. If the layout is squarish, will have one.

Wow Dub dub, you definitely have a grand evening ball for your wedding. That is many many tables. mind if i check with you which floor are u staying at?

My contractor included all the haulage fees in the renovations or rather he waived it for me (i think)

Good day, ladies.

This article was taken from Sunday Times dated 13 March 2005.

Sweat the small stuff

Taken from Sunday Times dated 13 March 2005.
By Chua Mui Hoong

I never understood the meaning of that hackneyed phase “count your blessings” until I had cancer.

Life was life, full of boon and bane. Why count the blessings?

Then, when going through chemotherapy three years ago, I understood what it meant.

Literally counting your blessings – thinking of something good that happened that, naming the blessing – sets off its own chemistry of well-being.

You don’t have to count many blessings. Just one a day.

That’s what I did during chermo. I created a separate category for blessings in my journal. Each day, I wrote down what had given me pleasure.

It could be a meal I enjoyed despite the onslaught of chemo drugs which is well-known to cause appetite loss. Or the fact that I could eat all the ice-cream (only Ben & Jerry’s, please) I wanted during chemo and still lose weight.

Or a visit from a friend.

The joy of flowers blooming in spring. An email from someone who cared about me. July 4 fireworks over the Charles River in Boston. A day at a summer cottage of a newfound friend made at the hospital.

I could go on. I remember those blessing – but only because I recorded them. When I look back on the months of chemo, I don’t see only darkness of fear and pain. I see the glow of grace and joy, the many blessing I received, and the shining light of the web of friendship and love that my generous friends surround me with.

I always managed to find something to be thankful for each day.

Just writing down the blessing put me in a more positive frame of mind.

I marveled at the wisdom behind the old saying: Count your blessings.

I discovered recently that my instinct to start a blessing journal was the right thing to do.

Recent research on what makes people happy suggests that there are some happiness boosters that work.

University of California psychologist Sonia Lyubomirsky says that those who consciously set time aside to count their blessings are happier, more satisfied people.

The <font color="ff0000">top three happiness boosters:</font>
1) Count your blessings for example by keeping a weekly “gratitude journal”, writing down a few things that cheer you.
2) Do something kind for someone, whether a friend, stranger or relative
3) Smell the flowers

Take time to savor the little pleasures of life: <font color="ff0000">the scent of flowers, a good joke, the feel of the sea breeze in your hair.</font>

A fascinating feature in the Feb 28 issue of Time magazine looks at “the science of happiness”, quoting several psychologists who did research on what made people happy.

Genes play a part. But factors liked one’s life circumstances liked one’s life circumstances (income, marital status, religion, education) contribute only minimally to one’s feeling of happiness.

A 1978 study of lottery winners apparently found that the winners did not end up happier than ordinary folks.

How many of us often think: I would be happy, if only <font color="119911">I had more money, a more fulfilling job, some other lover, a bigger house, more friends and the list goes on.</font>

But may be we forget the things we do have. Maybe we have the full range of our physical and mental faculties. We may have a job. We have a family to love and to love us. We have a network of friends who care. But we take our blessings completely for granted.

One study found that even after a terrible accident, people bounce back and resume normal life and happy activities.

The quote that struck me most in the Time article: “Everyone is surprised by how happy paraplegics can be. The reason is that they are not paraplegic full-time. They do other things, They enjoy their meals, their friends. They read the news. It has to do with the allocation of attention,” said psychologist Daniel Kahneman, a Nobel-prize winner.

So, now you know the secret of happiness. Count your blessings. Start today.

My blessing today? A prata breakfast with a friend, a great to a workday.

~The End~

HI dubdub,

I am going to my sis house this Sunday evening for dinner. CAn i drop by your house if you are in pls to say hi for the first time?

Hi Wise, it is a nice article. Sets one to appreciate the little things in life.

Wise,

^5 heheheheh!!I love ur articles..post more!

dubdub,

Your reno is quite cheap leh for an EA.Husband and I estimated ours to be about 30k.

blursotong,

Will let you know if i am going down on sunday.Your sis staying the same block?

I went down jalan besar to purchase my lightings on monday.Prices are very reasonable.The shop is called "Elite Illumination" and it's located at New World Centre.You guys can go take a look.The lightings i chose are pretty and simple(no startrek types)
.Husband has yellow lights phobia
so we ordered daylight bulbs as opposed to warm white and cool white bulbs.

Anyone has a similar phobia?
Are daylight bulbs popular?

Yah and my kitchen wall tiles seems to look peach sometimes, light pink sometimes and beige other times.My contractor told me it's beige.I wish it's biege too so I can chose grey blue cabinets or turquoise blue cabinets with a speckled grey top.

Hi blursotong &amp; Amelia,

Glad that u liked the article.... was afraid that u ladies will find 'em boring ..... phew!!!

Hi dubdub,
must share the link for your ROM foto leh... mi wanna to see yr pretty face....

See you then Dubdub. quite nice pictures you have. :-)

Amelia,does Elite illumination has chinese style lights. I am looking around for one for my living room. Yep my sis and I stay in the same block.

Hi wise,

A veri meaningful piece of article. tks for sharing it wif us : )

Hi dubdub,

Nice pic.. Like the way the photos are taken.

Care to share your wedding photo, PS photo or ROM photo wif mi. I wanna to see see ur pretty faces. So tat can recognise u all when i go down to my place sometimes. My reno jus started yesterday. tis coming sat will b going down to see how the reno. Also will be going down to my bridal shop to select my WG n EG tis sun.

email addr: [email protected]

me and hubby wan romantic theme and wan that kind of paris lamp post, so my photographer have to go and search for it lor

Hi dubdub,

not sure if the clarks/ boat quay(s) or bontanic garden have those?

think the asian museum is olso a nice place. old english building.

Dubdub,
In fact you can get the magnet from me over the weekends too if you feel bored. But try to make it in the evening hor.

hi dub dub

thanks for sharing the lovely photos...

hi serene

wah... so envy of u tt ur reno starts already... im still finalising some details... think can only start work ard end mar...
getting impatient already... u going to select ur wedding gowns this weekend? i will select mine early april
may i know when's ur AD?

Hi Amelia,

Will check Elite Lumination this weekend if my hubby is free from work.

Wow Dubdub, so fun that you will be having ur photoshoot overseas. at least the scenery are more varied and different. which unit are u staying by? Drop me a mail at [email protected] to give me your contact if you do not mind so that i can contact you.

Hi Serene, you got mail.:-)

hi dodo,

When did u get ur key? I hav found my ID 1 mth b4 i get my key. My key collection is on 4th Mar and went for open hse ceremony on tat day itself. I also get my ID to come down to see my flat. Within 1 half week, my ID bring us around to choose our floor tiles and selection of carpentry work, materials, color. My ID is quite efficient. We actually took 2 days to finalise everything.

Have u select ur floor tiles, carpentry work, materials n color for ur hse already. I actually enjoy this part though my bf n i have different taste on some of the selection. But must know how to give n take.

Yah. I m going to my bridal shop to select my wedding gown. My AD is on 25 sept (customary), 26 sept (wedding diner). How abt urs?

Hi blursotong,

Hav not receive ur email yet. Maybe i will check again in e afternoon.

Wise,

I try to do it often..I am quite a neat freak..everything must be in order.At least once a week for both.What about u?

Blursotong,

My hub also working this weekend so I may go down Jalan Besar on Sunday to purchase my sinks, taps, heater etc etc.Think the shop is called Eng Soon Huat..wonder if they open on Sundays.

Haven't been down CCK Cres yet..will contact u if i do.

Serene,

Selected carpentry colours liao?That's quick!I haven't even settled my laminate flooring brand and colouring.

Together, through Warm and Cold

(Photographer: An Hejie. Market Place, Town of Chifeng, Inner Mongolia)
Beyond the northern (Inner Mongolia) frontier, spring has arrived but the
cold weather lingered on. Snow fell on this April morning. Flakes danced
in the sky. A middle-aged man tended to his cart, on which sat a little
boy, wrapped up with blanket used to keep the vegetables from freezing.
>From time to time, the father would tuck at the blanket to make sure that
his son was all right. These are the words from the photographer: "Set in
the dark and shadowy background and the dancing snow flakes, the pink
puffy face of the little boy stood out in great contrast to that of the
father which was apparently shaped by the caprices of life. And life was
indeed harsh. Father and son only have each other for support. When the
father yelled out a sales pitch on top of his voice, his facial expression
was shockingly touching. One cannot help but be moved."

261520.jpg

Caption on the photo: That day the English teacher arrived in our village.
She taught us our very first sentence in English: "I want go to school."

Did you hear it? It is a most heart-moving cry.

261547.jpg

Last foto.... sorry to flood this thread.. ;p

No rose, no diamond ring, but if this is not love, what is love?

With enthusiasm, love your life! Love the people around you!

261552.jpg