CCK Crescent

wiseharmony

May we find happiness & courage during down times. . . .
and after all "Tough times never last but Tough people do."

A carrot, an egg and a cup of coffee
A young woman went to her mother and told her about her life and how things were so hard for her. She did not know how she was going to make it and wanted to give up. She was tired of fighting and struggling. It seemed as one problem was solved, a new one arose.

Her mother took her to the kitchen. She filled three pots with water and placed each on a high fire. Soon the pots came to boil. In the first she placed carrots, in the second she placed eggs, and in the last she placed ground coffee beans. She let them sit and boil, without saying a word.

In about twenty minutes she turned off the burners. She fished the carrots out and placed them in a bowl. She pulled the eggs out and placed them in a bowl. Then she ladled the coffee out and placed it in a bowl.

Turning to her daughter, she asked, "Tell me, what do you see?" "Carrots, eggs, and coffee," she replied. Her mother brought her closer and asked her to feel the carrots. She did and noted that they were soft. The mother then asked the daughter to take an egg and break it.

After pulling off the shell, she observed the hard boiled egg. Finally, the mother asked the daughter to sip the coffee. The daughter smiled as she tasted its rich aroma. The daughter then asked, "What does it mean, mother?" Her mother explained that each of these objects had faced the same adversity ... boiling water. Each reacted differently.

The carrot went in strong, hard, and unrelenting. However, after being subjected to the boiling water, it softened and became weak.

The egg had been fragile. Its thin outer shell had protected its liquid interior, but after sitting through the boiling water, its inside became hardened.

The ground coffee beans were unique, however. After they were in the boiling water, they had changed the water. "Which are you?" she asked her daughter. "When adversity knocks on your door, how do you respond?

Are you a carrot, an egg or a coffee bean?" Think of this: Which am I? Am I the carrot that seems strong, but with pain and adversity do I wilt and become soft and lose my strength?

Am I the egg that starts with a malleable heart, but changes with the heat? Did I have a fluid spirit, but after a death, a breakup, a financial hardship or some other trial, have I become hardened and stiff? Does my shell look the same, but on the inside am I bitter and tough with a stiff spirit and hardened heart?

Or am I like the coffee bean? The bean actually changes the hot water, the very circumstance that brings the pain. When the water gets hot, it releases the fragrance and flavor. If you are like the bean, when things are at their worst, you get better and change the situation around you.

When the hour is the darkest and trials are their greatest, do you elevate yourself to another level? How do you handle adversity? Are you a carrot, an egg or a coffee bean?

May you have enough happiness to make you sweet, enough trials to make you strong, enough sorrow to keep you human and enough hope to make you happy.

The happiest of people don't necessarily have the best of everything;
they just make the most of everything that comes along their way.

waterbibi

Meow,

Don't think I will consider anything from the Novena group.My mom bought a small item from them 5 years ago and their after sales service is poor.Reading from this forum, 5 years later they're still the same!
I am old liao..cannot deal with this kind of stress
even though I am VERY keen on Castilla Premium and Modern Living from Novena.

Blursotong,

I think I may incorporate something like that.Have all my toys there..my fat cat can also sleep there...leave more room on the bed for husband and I.

Wise,

Yah I really love this idea!Hope I can find something like this!

I did the astrological reading..mine is good

waterbibi

In summation, they said I have luck, prosperity, success and my lucky stars will help me attain all my wishes.

Do you know where I can get that convertible vanity table you saw in that magazine?I should be down IMM tonight.

coolman

Hi wise,

The ID firm is called Promax Homemakers.
1 Queesnsway Shopping Centre
ID: Jasmine Koh
HP: 9026 8186

If u r interested in getting this ID, jus tell her is recommended by Jacky n Serene from Choa Chu Kang Cres.

coolman

hello gals,

mi now @ my new flat. reno is progressing veri good. now waiting for the air-con man to lay my air-con cable. It seems like my down stair neighbour not veri friendly. they came up n complained us. Saying Sat shouldn't hav any reno going on. But Sat is half day work mah. Tis is the 2nd time they complained already. So sian...

meowie

Serene,
Don't be upset lor. I guess they dun work on sat and wish to sleep longer. Like for me, i dun work on sat and sun mah. But if weekday then bo bian lah. My hubby also complain to me too.When he's back off shift in the morning and tries to get some sleep. He can't fall asleep cos of the works at the construction site as well as some reno works here. Guess it should be Wise's house doing hacking lor. But all he did was close all windows and turn on the air-con. Haha...

Dun be too upset about the matter lah. Soon it'll be over liao.

wiseharmony

Hi Meow,
mi innoncent. not mi! not mi!... mi hv not get keys yet leh.... ke keeee

Tks for the info. Wow... yr ID really fast hand fast leg hor... Oh dear, neighbour complaint. may b can tell yr ID to do lights works on Sat.

waterbibi

Serene,

Yah saturday should be able to work till 12pm or so...agree with Wise on doing light work.

You have a lot of hacking?

apostles

all contractors are allowed to work till 12pm. Your neighbour is just being picky. No upset. Your contractor super chop chop man. My house have yet to lay aircon cables. doing it today!

Hi Dubdub,
Nice meeting you on Sat. You've got a nice home. Very spacious after you hacked down the study and the balcony:)

waterbibi

Hello everyone!

blursotong,

Thanks for smsing me regarding Scanteak sale.
You got anything over the weekend?Wihardja?I am looking forward to visiting your new home
..haha I am inviting myself over
..very curious how you coordinate different balinese furniture together.

What's your kitchen cabinet and WIW colour?Walnut?

apostles

hi Amelia,

I got a wine table and a small cabinet with wihardja. Bought my bed and coffee table from the Home Merchant. tv console from the Rainforest. got my furniture from all over the Singapore. heheheh..

Sure u can swing by when it is ready. will only be ready in May. (i am hoping).

I forgot about the classic style exhibtion at expo. wanted to go and get ideas. It will be on till wednesday i think. Not sure.

My kitchen is in purple colour with dark walnut flooring.
To all: check out every Friday's paper. Usually have alot of furniture, lighting advertisement sales.

coolman

I only lay air-con on Sat. Only few mins of drilling holes. The air-con man only jus started drilling, my down-stair neigbour come to visit us. Saying we shldnt b doing reno on Sat. We explained to them tat we r doing air-con so wont hav any constant noise. They told us that they are going to complain to Town Council. True enough, the Town Council man came 1 hr later. As we r oni doing air-con, he jus informed us not to do noisy work on Sat. So misfoutune to hav such neigbour.

meowie

blursotong,
If you're still looking for woody furniture, you can try Colonial Antique. I bought my dining table and coffee table from there

waterbibi

Blursotong,

How much are Rainforest's consoles?Purple cabinets sounds very unique and pretty..i am sure it will look earthy and bright.

The exhibition sounds tempting but it's so far!Think I will give it a miss.

My living/dining area is not really big so we may ask our contractor to customise a simple console.

I have been scouting around for a square coffee table with glass top and metal legs.I know OM has something like this but I refuse to pay 450bucks or so for just a coffee table.Vhive has an oval-ish one..about 129 or 169 bucks..i will get that if nothing better pops up.

apostles

i got the console at $450 last weekend. I was at balestier to get my lights and i saw it. went in and got it. :)Think the sale is still on

try Red Apple as mentioned earlier by one of our ladies here. or the Star furniture. they got quite stylish coffee tables.

doraemon16

me too, just graduated from my 3.5yrs part-time study in NUS last dec... glad tt it's finally over.. it's really a great challenge to me, but a good opportunity to train my time management skill also... now looking forward to my convocation this july!

me too! fall in love wi those balinese n thai style furniture.. we got our bed, balcony table & chairs from natural living... really like their water hycinth sofa set but it's too exp loh... colonial antiques stuff are good also, if i remember correctly, it's located at 28 Lorong Ampas (off Balestier Rd)...

meowie

blursotong,
Yeah the address is what dodo gave.
Their furniture pretty solid leh.

Dodo,
My house also something like balinese too. Many wood around the house.

waterbibi

blursotong,

Yah i checked out Star over the weekend..nothing caught my eye... may visit Red Apple soon.

Round dining table is pretty difficult to find...will keep a lookout for you.

meowie

Amelia,
I also dunno leh. I guess it shuold be soon lor. So far no contractions yet.
Hope she can stay there longer.

apostles

Hi dodo, congratulations!!! Where is natural living?

hi Meow, i have been to colonial antique about 2 mths ago. Nothing caught my eye then. Will check it out again. Take care my dear mum to be.

Hi Amelia,
Thank you ah. Actually i liked one from the Lifeshop and another from Lorenzo. Both are quite expensive and hence am considering and reconsidering.

Hi dubdub, initially i wanted to hack fully the study area but in the end did not do so. Left it as it is.

waterbibi

dodo,

Welcome back!

Meow,

I heard C-sect can be sooner but yah no hurry

blursotong,

Saw a wooden walnut round table with white marble top at IMM last thurs... not sure if it's trendy enough for you tho'..it seems pretty traditional but in a vintagey antiquey way it can be very elegant and beautiful.

Lifeshop $$$$!

meowie

Bluesotong,
Since Colonial Antique got nothing to catch your eye, then dun really bother to go down again liao lor. In fact there's another company something like Colonial antique sells woody stuff. Think its call world something or first world. You should be able to see them in furniture fair too.

When i was at Lifeshop last thurs, they are having sales on their in-house items up to 30%, not sure if its applicable to the furniture as well.

apostles

Hi Amelia, yeah initially our idea is to get a marble table top table to fit my flooring. however that seems to change along the way. Now i am thinking about it again. hehehehe.. my husband likes that too. Lifeshop is 'chop head' one.

Hi Meow, IS IT???? did not see their sale ad in the papers thou. Will be checking it out this Sat.

This sat is packed for me.. got to go Raffles City to look at the Shanghai exhibition, got to meet photographer and then go to Lorenzo to check out the dining table again.

wiseharmony

Hi blursotong,

beli cute hor...
Wow, will be nice to have a real wedding cake... beli "ang mo" style. So wat type/layers u hv in mind?

Hi Amelia,
u saw the button "upload attachment" beside "preview/post message" button. it allow attachment not more then 50KB to be upload.

Hi dubdub,
So far only went to 1 wedding that served the real wedding cake. it was yummy!!

dubdub

wise,

I saw it the news that there is a fountain made of chocolate, the guests can go and have a dip of their bread or fruits with chocolate. wow is very nice, i wonder here got any hotel that know how to do such chocolate

waterbibi

ah i finally did it!!

blursotong and dubdub,

Chocolate cake is very delicious and your guests will enjoy it.

I haven't started planning my customary..

dubdub

wise,

i see until my eyes open very big, is very nice fountain, then the chocolate keep pouring down slowly, and u just dip with the bread and fruit offer at the side

apostles

Yoz gals,

I know Fullerton has the chocolate fountain. Their chocolate buffet uses the chocolate fountain. yummy .... tummy growling...dubdub you can go check it out. hehehe

I am not sure how many layers i want. Dependent on the qty that i have to cater for my guests. I am going for cake testing this Sat. hehehe...

apostles

you are fast dub dub.
I am writing report until i see stars.hahaahah..that is why come in and relax. yeah the food is boo boo... the chocolate buffet looks good thou.

wiseharmony

Hi blursotong,

mi got married last year. mi wedd banquet @ Raffles Town Club...

Friends kept reminding mi that they Njoy mi dinner so much... mi so glad... (^_^)

meowie

Blursotong,
Since you going to Raffles City, then good ah, can drop by Lifeshop and take a quick look mah.

Amelia,
Cute kitten you got there. I love pics of kittens too. They're simply adorable jus like babies. But once they grow big, they'll be terrible.

I maybe able to go for norm delivery leh. Yesterday gynae did a measurement, found the distant between the placenta and the cervic is about 4cm apart. So possible to try for norm jus that if i dun bleed lah.

apostles

Hi Wise, u are in blk 683C or 690C? Nice place
The wedding room they had it tastefully done up, I remember. got this grand staircase where a bride can "cascade" down like a princess. :)

It is a very happy thing to hear that pple enjoy your dinner. The last thing a couple wants to hear are complaints of the dinner. it upsets the entire mood.