Cats Lovers??

My Sally has been on Science Diet. I am thinking of switching brands, giving her variety. Donno if it is a gd idea.

Hwey,
Sally is not familiar with the surroundings as yet. She has been in her "confort zone" for quite a while, giver her time to adjust. Dun be pushy, it will cause her to be more wary instead.

How small is it?

Hi lollipop,

when Mimi brought home the prey I didn't quite encourage her coz I wasn't so experienced at tt time & too scared, just stood on a chair and froze! haha... imagine seeing a small rat, it's frightening for me!

Hi Hwey,
is your persian a kitten or grown up cat? Oh..persians are so cute.... with their furry bodies & long bushy tail... my dad picked up a golden brown persian before, poor chap, all dirty & soiled & sick..... after tt my aunt's family kept it for a while... but it subsequently died, at quite a young age u know, seems like it was never quite healthy... we often had problems with him. Prone to some infections on paw, then eye, & often had bad tummy... sigh. Poor cat, dunno who was so cruel to leave it in the streets? Persians must be very well taken care of & pampered...couldn't quite survive as a stray I think.

Hi Hwey, hope Sally will get use to you soon.

lollipop, Snowball has been a nightmare!! She came to bite us while we were in our dreamland and my hubby was really annoyed with her. And last night, while I was kissing her, she bit real hard across my upper lip causing a 1 cm wound. Hope it won't leave a scar......

Sorry to hear about what Snowball did. Usually when I kiss Nanook, he doesn't bite, if he doesn't welcome the kiss, the most he'd just back away.

Suggest you stop kissing her for the time being. To discourage her from coming into your rm and disrupting your beauty sleep, why dun you close your dr?

Hopefully Snowball will get the msg and stop being a "tyrant"

This morning while my husband and I are still in dreamland, we heard an extremely loud sound that sounded like between a meow and an "Argh......". Woke us right up! Then when I went to look at it, it was meowing away, following me around. Missed that half hour of sleep.

Sally is 1.5 years old, given up for adoption by another family.

lollipop, yah, I think I should take your advice. Will stop kissing her for now. Normally Snowball sleeps with us over the weekend, so we don't shut the door. But she doesn't always bite though, sometimes she'll lick me...... I like it best when she sleeps on my chest - so heartwarming.... Maybe should punish her by letting her sleep outside. She got her last vaccination last night. Always acting like a mouse infront of the vet......

Hwey, ever since I have Snowball, I have shorter sleeping hours as I love to play with her. But I don't mind as she has brought much joy to our life.

It's sad when a cat had to be given up for adoption due to some unforseen circumstances.
Hwey, cats sleep during the day and is awake during the night....so you may have to give up several min or hrs of sleep because of this. Perhaps sally hasn't gotten used to this routine yet, give her time to adjust to her new feeding time, ad also, to build rapport, you must spend time with it, playing with it, encourage her when she's good, discipline her when she's cranky.

Hullo Curly,
Cats will sense a change in human's behaviour. Nanook knows when I am angry with him, and he wouldn't dare cross me anymore. He would try to get into my good shoes once again by rubbing his head on my feet, then fall and worship me
He knows when I am feeling unwell too. Basically he'd not wake me up to feed him.. cats have feelings too..sometimes they can be more sensitive then humans.

halo all,

im appealing to anyone who wans to adopt a kitty. my sch has a stray kitten who's female n looks abt 2 mths old. anyone interested?? me cant keep it cos MIL oredi not happy with orange

4164.jpg

4165.jpg

juz a note, im not sure if the kitty will still be around tomorrow. but if there's someone who'd like to adopt her, i'll keep her in a box if i see her. btw, she mews pretty loudly when she's left alone.

Do your cats make a sort of grunting sound like pigs? Donno why, Sally seem to make these sounds. She looks healthy but she doesn't seem to eat a lot.

Hi Hwey,

I've never heard patches making grunting sounds like pigs before. How is Sally adopting to the new environment? Is she still shy?

Eunice,
The kitten looks so sad... is its mother somewhere? Perhaps it's lost.. I would love to adopt one more, but it's quite impossible. Nanook would bully it. Definitely. And I dun think I can handle another cat.

Lemme ask my colleage who has 8 cats.

Hi Eunice, I was really interested when I saw the pics yesterday. Showed my hubby but he wasn't keen as we already got Snowball........ Hope she'll find a nice home soon.

Hwey, Sally most probably was purring. I read that cats can make 100s different sound.

I also think Sally was probably purring, but maybe her purring sounds different.

Mimi doesn't bite...when she does she is just playing so it doesn't hurt. But my FH's black cat does bite, when provoked or trying to get attention, and u see blood! heehee... but maybe coz it's a male. dunno...

Mimi is quite considerate, she doesn't sleep pple... when my dad (the person she respects most in the house - coz he's the one who saved her!) takes a nap, she'll just tuck herself nicely at the corner of his bed and sleep too.... very sweet. She doesn't disturb him then. We close our doors so she's kept out of the rooms at night.

Do domestic cats which always stay at home need to go for some vaccination? i remember one of you talking abt it... i think my mimi hasn't gone to the vet in ages, coz she has never fell ill...& dad says she is ok since she's at home, everything's clean, no infection...so dun bother bringing her to vet. What do you all think?

Eunice,

I hope the kitten finds a suitable home soon. Or perhaps it will be reunited with its mother.

I have spoken to my colleage already, but since she is moving to a new hse, there may be problems housing another cat. I'm sorry.

Hwey, yes, it probably is purring. I know of a friend, who has two cats, the younger one would grunt whilst eating. Very feral.

Apple, Nanook is a male cat, even though he bites, he's just being playful. He doesn't cause us injury. It's better to bring your cat for vaccination, even if Mimi is a dosmetic cat.

Hi Apple, Mimi is so tame!! Snowball is a little Ms Horror!! Bites and scatches me a lot and everywhere..... I have now got so many scars on my arms and legs, even on my lip! Snowball just had her last vaccination on Monday. Thereafter, she'll need an annual vaccination. I agree with lollipop, it's better to send Mimi for the vaccination.

halo all,

me couldnt find the kitty today but i saw another cat maybe abt a yr old? of similar colouring. hopefully the kitty has been adopted by someone or looked after by its mummy. thanks to all who've tried to look for a new home for it

halo apple,

i agree with curly. compared to our kittens, i think ur mimi is an angel!!
cant wait for u to post a pic of mimi

hi friends,
yeah I dunno why, Mimi has never scratched anyone before... not unless she's threatened or scared maybe.

yeah i keep pestering my dad we shld sent her to the vet for check up & vaccination. think I better go find out more. There was this vet at Frankel Avenue but moved...but I dunno where it's moved.

Curly,

I dun bring Nanook for vaccination every year. The vet didn't advise me to. So far, Nanook has been dewormed once, vaccinated twice and
deflea-ed once.

The annual vaccination you are talking about? Is it to act as a booster to improve Snowball's immunity?

Hi Eunice,
I think we would want to believe the kittie has found its mother, or perhaps a nice owner... I saw a kittie at Eunos last evening, which was about the size of my palm. It was meowing rather piteously, and it quietened down after I pat its small head. It kept rubbing itself against my finger. I wish I could do something to it, I wish I could bring it home... it couldn't even stand properly. It was being put in a basket, and it's rather high so it couldn't jump out... sigh... after I walked away, I kept thinking about it.

Apple,
Are there any other clinics near your pl? Where do you stay? Somewhere in the East?

Hi lollipop

Snowball already had 3 vaccinations. She was dewormed and defleaed (I think...) during her first vet visit. Actually I have not idea what the annual vaccination is for but I think you're right. The vet recommended her to be spayed in 2 months' time but I'm not too sure....... My hubby strongly wants her to be spayed. Why you so lucky one?? Always run into kittens?

Hwey, thanks for leaving the Matta Cattery website here. I really enjoy it. Would like to have another one but.......

When the kitten is about 6-9mths, you can have it neutered or spayed. I neutered Nanook when he was about 9mths. The surgery is nothing serious, just that the cat will prob feel groggy after the op. After tt, things will be normal. After so many years, we thought Nanook will mellow, but he is still as cranky as ever!

Curly, enjoy your long weekend. Be on leave on Monday, so continue our conversation on Tuesday!

Hey girls, know what? There was a Siamese cat guarding outside my door this morning and he wouldn't leave! It was the same cat which followed my hubby home 3 nights ago. Whenever we opend the door, it would come running, trying to get in. Snowball was scared though. Gave him some biscuits. When we went out he was still here. Not too sure if he would still be there tonight. My hubby said that it's probably on heat.....

lollipop, have a good time!!

The Siamese cat was gone when we got home last night. However, it appeared before us again this morning when we went out for breakfast. When we came home 2 hours later, he was gone......

Hullo Curly,
I have had similar experiences! There was this period of time when Moo Moo (one of the many strays I named) came up to visit, and she'd meow loudly and quite persistently. How it got there in the first place, we were not sure, but we were really puzzled because we stay on the 14th floor! The next morning, and the morning after, and throughout the week, it would appear again and again. We brought her down to feed her, and then brought her to the end of the void deck to discourage her to come back up. Few weeks later, two different cats appeared. My question is, could they have smelled Nanook's scent? But 14 storeys?!

You are quite certain the Siamese's a male? If it comes up again, perhaps you can get ready some cooking oil dabbed on a pc of cotton pad and some food. Bring it down and dabbed the nose with the oil. A colleague told me it would make the cat lose its scent (ie your hse) and it prob would not come up again. I haven't tried it, so I won't know if tt works.

I met a cat who is bigger than Nanook (finally) It is a cross btw a tabby and a persian. Really huge head, and long bushy tail. It's greyish black in colour. Very friendly, kept rubbing itself against me. It's prob being owned by a Malay family but it won't be allowed inside the hse as there was a huge mesh...

Hi lollipop, it's amazing isn't it? Yes, the Siamese is a tom. I was very curious about it, every few minutes I would go to the door to check and it was always there. Sometimes just sitting right outside the door. If I opened the door (just slightly) he would put his paw in trying to sneak in. Didn't see him this morning though. Thanks for the cooking oil tip.

Hi lollipop, the Siamese came back again last night! He just sat outside the door. Managed to sneak in once when my hubby went out. Tried your cooking oil tip. We suspected that he belongs to a family 1 floor below us.

Hullo Curly,

Suggest you go down and ask the family tt could be the owner, tell them your problem and your concerns (tt Snowball is afraid) If they are understanding, they'd not allow the tomcat to wander again.

Which flr are you staying? does rubbing the oil help?

Hi lollipop, didn't see the Siamese last night when we got home, so I thought the cooking oil worked. But this morning, my hubby saw it on our floor again......

hullo curly,
as long as you keep snowball indoors for the time being, the siamese cat shouldn't pose any threat.

guess the cooking oil doesn't work. the siamese cat has more or less marked his new territory, and will continue to appear at your doorstep. do not feed it, otherwise you'd encourage him to come up again. alternatively, approach your neighbours downstairs and ask if the cat belongs to them.

all the best

='o'=*

Hi lollipop

Snowball is now quite wary when we open the door. She doesn't rush out like before. If she hears anything, she'll quickly rush back in and hide.

Will get my hubby to check with the neighbours downstairs. Thanks!!

halo all,

juz to share some cat humour

You know you're a cat lover when:

-----

you let your white cat sit on your lap when wearing black trousers at lunchtime. Then spend just as long getting the white hairs of ya
trousers before going back to work.

-----

Or after visiting a cat owner, you can remember the cat's name, but not the owners.

-----

Or, when you visit a cat owner, you spend more time with the cat(s) than with the human(s).

And you know they're real cat-lovers too - when they don't mind!!

-----

When, on a Saturday night, you drag yourself into the all-night supermarket in your track pants and slippers, and get (in this order): 2 cans of premium cat food, 1 box of premium dry biscuits, 1 packet of kitty treats, 1 carton of lactose free milk, yet another bag of cat-nip mousies, and a good microwaveable dinner.

When the total comes to more than you expect, you trade the dinner in for a noodles-in-a-cup rather than getting the cheaper brand of cat-food or ditching the treats/mousies/milk.

And then you smile pathetically at the operator, trying to convince them that you really do have a life, honest, and that you really aren't under the cats complete and total control.

-----

when you sleep falling off the edge of your double bed.

when you find yourself aching after spending the night sleeping on your back while your cats spend their night curled up in blissful
ignorance of the fact that they are pressing your aorta against your spine.

when you cook up two expensive fillets of fish, even though you personally feel ill having to cut them up into small enough pieces...

when you apologise for moving in the middle of the night, upsetting the poor cat who has been using your neck as a cushion.

when you move back into the uncomfortable position which allows your kitty cat to use your neck as a cushion, based on the argument that
he/she growled at you in a hurt tone of growly sounds.

when your kitty cat eats prime cuts and you settle for baked beans on toast.

-----

When you have to get up in the night, and you go through all sorts of contortions to do it without disturbing the cat curled up next to you - who usually jumps off the bed about the time you stand up.

-----

When you nearly bite the head off your FH when he gently tries to wake you at 9am on a Saturday, but will voluntarily get out of bed at 6am to feed the meowing hoards without as much as a second thought.

-----

When you come home you greet the cat(s) and *then* kiss the FH.

(cats sulk better, but react more favourably to food bribes than FH)

-----

When you have more photos of your cats than you do of your FH ....

-----

You know your a cat lover when you purposely leave plastic bags and cardboard boxes on the floor (obstacle course for you) just so that your can see that happy, half-closed, purring,
contented look from your babies when they lay on them.

Also, you know you are a cat lover when your FH starts bitching about the mess and you get into a fight with him defending the cats' rights.

-----

Kitty Litter News

1. Cats do what they want, when they want.
2. They rarely listen to you.
3. They're totally unpredictable.
4. They whine when they are not happy.
5. When you want to play they want to be left alone.
6. When you want to be alone, they want to play.
7. They expect you to cater to their every whim.
8. They're moody.
9. They leave their hair everywhere.
10.They drive you nuts.

Conclusion: Cats are little, tiny women in cheap fur coats

oh yes! did i mention tat to my horror, n to my hubby's delight, orange turns out to be a male instead of a female!!

we took for granted tat orange is a female when a mutual fren who picked her up (who's oso a cat owner) claimed tat.

yesterday, my sis-in-law told me tat orange is havin her menses n i was shocked cos orange is only abt 4 mths old! cos she saw a little pink stuff coming out from orange's private parts. then today, i was observing orange licking her private parts n i saw the pink tip of wat looked like a penis sticking out. i was so shocked!! finally got another fren (who owns a male persian) to check orange n he confirmed tat she's a male.

n now my orange's a he instead of a she

Hullo eunice,
when i first found nanook, i thought he was a she too! i know female cats have lotsa nipples, so when I found 6 on nanook, i took it for granted he was a she until he was brought to the vet for his first check up. I was dumbfounded. I asked the vet," but i thought it's a she!" and he showed me the penis...

of course I'm happy that it is a he, because I'd want a tomcat

oh just to contribute.. some cat quotes.

1) thousands of years ago, cats were worshipped in Egypt.. they have never forgotten that.

2) everything belongs to the cat.

halo gals,

juz wanna share with u a couple of orange's pics. ive bought a harness for him n he's gonna wear it permanently
actually i noticed tat he filled up quite a bit around his neck n his eyes r now orange instead of blue

4417.jpg

4418.jpg

Hi Eunice, Orange has grown so much! He definitely looks good. How do you keep his pads so clean that they are still pink? Snowball's already turned black..... Is Orange ok with the harness? Thought of getting 1 but my hubby said it would look stupid..... Brought Snowball down for a walk yesterday. I was carrying her all the time, my hubby was so scared that she would jump and run off. She is very popular with the kids but she was very tensed and shivered a bit. When we went up, we put her down and she ran straight to the door and waited for us to open the door.

halo curly,

ehhh.... u mean his paw pads should turn black?? i dunno leh. me never let him walk outside before. we brought him out several times but he's always either in the car, on our shoulders or we carry him. i dun wan his pads to turn black oso!!

he's pretty ok with the harness now. initially he would keep biting at it n the bell but after a day or so, he got used to it.

ur snowball so smart! can recognise ur house
i dun tink orange can do tat. dunno if orange would be comfortable with kids n strangers cos yesterday when he heard neighbours walkin past, he ran up the stairs n peep from there at the window.

Eunice, I didn't mean it "should" turn black but when we first picked up Snowball, her paw pads were all pink. Don't know since when, they turned black. I had checked on the siamese cat's and his were black and hard..... My sis's poodle's paw pads also black and hard.

Snowball also very scared fo foot steps, always runs away from the door if she hears anything.

nice pictures of orange! Erm, nanook's paw pads are a mixture of pink and black.

how much did you pay for the harness?

Snowball's paw pads are not full black also lah, with a hint of pink. Just that she's still so young and they are already turning black, can't imagine in a year's time...... You know what?? Initially when they changed colour, I used a toothbrush to clean them but it didn't do anything, so I gave up.

Do you girls cut your cats' nails? It's so difficult to cut Snowball's. She's always struggling and sinks her teeth into my knuckles....

halo curly,

oic. do u let snowball walk on the pavement outside? i wonder if the heat from the pavement could hav anythin to do with the blackened paws?

ive not much of a prob cuttin orange's nails. wat i do is to wait till he's asleep, then i cut them. most of the time, he would be too sleepy to bother abt wat im doing. ive even taken to disrupting his sleep during the day so tat he wouldnt be so hyper during the nite

halo lollipop,

the harness is $7 n the leash is $12+ i tink. u getting one for nanook too?

btw, when do u tink i should send orange for neutering?

Hullo Curly,
I cut Nanook's nails, not much problem for the front paws, but the hind ones, whoa! he would put up a strong protest, kicking and making those miserable sounds. The vet once told me it is not really necessary to cut them as they dun grow as fast as the front paws'.

Perhaps when cutting her nails, you should be fast. I dun use the clawclippers, I use the ordinary nailclippers. Swift movement. Then when you could sense that Snowball's trying to put up a struggle, you stop, then reassure her, talk to her, pat her... then cut the claws again and at the same time reassure her. After cutting them all, you pat her on the head and encourage her.

Eunice,
I will be shifting to Punggol 21 either end of the year or next year. The ECD is April 2003, and there's lots of greenery so I thought it would be a good idea if I bring him dwn to walk ard... with the harness he'd feel more secured, but whether or not he'd become cranky, that's not guaranteed..

How old is Orange now? He's so good looking, his ears so big, face so small, just like Nanook when he was young. The right time to send cats for neutering is when they are btw 6 to 9 mths old. I neutered Nanook when he was 9 months old.

Hi eunice,

Just saw Orange's photo
Loved the stripes on his legs
.... hehehe... don't know why but I always like cats which looks like tiger