Cats Lovers??

Eunice, most of the time, I restrict Snowball from going outside but my hubby also let her run all over...... I was thinking last night that her paw pads turned black maybe bec of newspaper? See, I lay newspapers on her litter tray before I put the litter and below her food and water dishes.....

I tried cutting her nails while she was sleeping but she would wake up and bite me before I finished my job.

lollipop, I use the normal nail clipper also. I'm not too bother with the hind ones as they are normally very blunt.

Snowball was so clever last night - she managed to switch on our radio clock! But we didn't know where the switch was..... So in the end, my hubby decided to switch off the power. hahaha..... She definitely knows something which we didn't!

Hi Curly,

The black portions you are referring to, if it is indeed caused by newspapers, you can try washing off with soap.. once I was using one brand of cat sand, and it turned Nanook's white paws green! After a few weeks of discontinuing the product and baths, his paw turned white again

halo lollipop,

nanook looks soooo good
he looks so huggable if u noe wat i mean cos his fur looks so soft n thick

orange has been keeping junior trim n fit with their tag games. wat they do is they would take turns to run after each other n then one would suddenly turn around n then switch roles. quite amusing to watch them play

another game they like is wrestle n they always do tat on our bed. orange would go after junior's legs n tails while junior would try to bite orange's head
looks pretty violent at times but i noticed tat orange never uses his claws n junior oso pretend to bite bite only. after a while, they would rest n sit quietly together

aiyoh, then you have to be very patient loh..
i believe snowball should be bigger now right?
can't wait to see her photos..

Curly,
mebbe when your husband is taking her photo, you can distract her, you stay behind your husband (he might have to squat) and do some hand gestures that would cause snowball to look up and then your husbandwould immediately snap her picture. tadah!

I tried this method once. FH was getting ready with his digicam, and I was preparing food for Nanook. He was meowing and meowing, wouldn't stop. I got his food, and suddenly I got this idea from nowhere.. call it teasing, but instead of feeding him, i went towards my FH and put the bowl on top of his head (not literally on top, but you get what I mean?) Nanook went towards us, towards the camera, and he came closer and closer until his whole face touched the camera. it was hilarious! we still had that movie clip.

hullo eunice,
his fur is quite long, given the fact he's a shorthair breed. I think his fur is about 3cm long. he leaves his fur everywhere.

junior and orange's so cute! it's good tt junior has a companion, because nlike cats, dogs are dependent, cats, they can just do their stuff as and when they like w/o being told. what a sweet combi... playing like mad, acting violent, and then rest quietly together

Yes, lollipop, she has grown bigger! My brother said she's fat.... Tried that trick before leh (without food) but didn't work!

Wow, Nanook's fur is really long. Snowball's around 2 cm. Whenever I kiss her, her fur will get stuck onto my lips.....

Eunice, I really envy you. They must be really fun to be with.....

halo curly n lollipop,

yeah, i know im lucky to hav them

say curly, how did u manage to fatten snowball up? i cant seem to get orange to fatten up
ur snowball has longer fur than orange. i think orange's fur is only abt 1cm
wonder if there's anyway to make his hair thicker n fluffier?

Hullo eunice,

Dunno of any ways to fatten them up unless to gorge them with food

Dunno if there's any way to make them fluffier either... think cats have genes also...

Eunice, we feed her twice a day but more during weekends and there's always a dish of biscuits for her whenever she's hungry. I don't really want her to become an obese cat though...... If we give her something she really likes, she'll eat a lot. Hopefully, I can post a pic here soon but I'll have to finish my film first (don't own a digicam yet).

Cats eat alot, even when they are being fed, you show them something tantalising/tempting, they would still eat

such gluttons..

Last night, the siamese cat came back again! This time, he wasn't that persistant, so we let Snowball see him. She wasn't scared of him at all! Instead, the siamese was scared..... I was holding onto Snowball and talking to them both. It was friendly for a while but the siamese got kinda aggressive, so I brought Snowball in. Later when I opened the door, Snowball rushed out and chased the siamese. I was so shocked that I kinda "frozen" and my hubby chased after them. Thank god, at the end of the corridor Snowball rushed straight home as it was the siamese's turn to chase her.....

After this incident, I will never let Snowball go near the siamese again.....

halo curly n lollipop,

i tried looking for cat biscuits n treats but i can never seem to find it
we would always leave some dry food in his dish n sometimes feed him with wet food oso. his fave food is chicken so far. maybe tonite i shall try to cook him a hardboiled egg

Curly,
Your Snowball acting brave huh?

Nanook also acts brave, perhaps all the time. He would go out to the corridor, and when he hears unfamiliar footsteps, he'd dash into the hse.

Eunice,
What kind of biscuits are you looking for? Where do you look for them? Because I always see treats at NTUC/ Cold Storage... I seldom treat Nanook now, his special meals are made up of rice and cooked anchovies... and sometimes we will share meals together. he would eat the anchovies right out from my fish soup

Hi eunice, we ever gave Snowball cat treats but she didn't seem too interested.... We always find different brands cat treats at the shop we frequent.

halo lollipop n curly,

i tried lookin for treats at pet shops n carrefour as well but never see them leh. saw some at joy doggy but the brand name not familiar so i never buy. but i remembered u gals were talkin abt whiskas biscuits. where to get them? i dun mind tryin other types of treats n biscuits as long as they r reputable

I have a question. I observed that my Sally likes to sit at the gate and try to look out - as far as it could. Do you think that she is unhappy and trying to leave?

halo hwey,

think sally is juz curious abt the things outside. my orange oso likes to sit at my window sill to look outside. he would look up into the sky at the birds n planes. he would oso try to run out of the house whenever he gets the chance. he would always run to our neighbours potted plants outside their home n hide there
i read somewhere tat cats need a patch of vegetation, tat's y me now growing catsnip grass for my orange
maybe u could do the same for sally as well?

Hwey,
totally agreed with what eunice said. sally is just curious about the world "outside" It's pretty boring for a cat to stay indoors, that's why we need to play with our cats, make them run like mad.. they enjoy it!

eunice,
the whiskas biscuits we were talking about are not treats. They are the normal ones which you feed the cats... have you tried NTUC/Cold storage?

lollipop, I rather Snowball didn't try to act brave. We were so scared that the chase would go down stairs and then we would lose her forever..... Thank god she made a u-turn!

eunice, so far we haven't found the Whiskas biscuits also. We have been feeding her with Iams biscuits. Is the catnip glass easy to grow?

Hwey, Sally is just curious so don't worry. Snowball sometimes sits on the window ledge and watches the world goes by..... Can be naughty too - climbs up the window grills, makes a u-turn and climb down but that's not easy, so she'll start making those miserable noises as she knows we'll rescue her.

Curly,

The Whiskas biscuits meant for kittens? I haven't
seen them on the shelves also. Let me find out for you, because I will be calling the Pet Lovers Warehouse later.

When Nanook was much younger, he liked to climb the window grills too. The windows were closed, so it was as if he was sandwiched in between the grills and window.. but he would climb higher and higer... and then he'd make his way out.

That's my sweet bozo

Thank you so much lollipop!!!

Snowball always loves to do it when the windows are opened!! There was once when she climbed up my curtain (withe open windows) and I couldn't find her..... Really gave me a heart attack man!

Dun mention. I haven't called though.. it's their lunch hr.

Will be moving to a new place next Sunday. Nanook has some favourite spots at the current place. I know he'd be disoriented, hopefully he'd adjust fast..

Did you scold Snowball after tt incident?

I'm sure he'll adapt to "his" new home soon.

No lah, I didn't scold her. I was more relieved than angry when I found her. Kiss and kiss and kiss her only lah.... hahaha.....

Finally found time to post the picture of Patches.

<CENTER>
4480.jpg
</CENTER>

Yeah, she likes to climb into plastic bags!

Just wanted to relate an incident that happened yesterday. Found a kitten that was only a few days old. It was so tiny (smaller than the size of my palm) and the eyes were not even opened! It was lost from its parents and siblings and it was meowing so pitifully. The cries would break your heart! Was so worried for its plight as it won't survive the night if the mother was not found and we didn't know how to care of the kitten that is so young.

An acquaintance and I up walked along the street, hoping to find the parents or at least the siblings. We don't know how it got lost and where it was from. We couldn't find any adult cats and while we were walking back feeling dejected, we saw a black cat dashed across the road holding the kitten in its mouth and quickly scurry into the drain while another adult cat (think is the mum) that looked like the kitten was watching from the drain.

Real glad that the parents found the kitten! All's well that ends well!

as i mentioned before, i was tryin to grow catsnip grass. today went to take a look at my pot n found a big pile of cat poop inside it
it was so smelly. me dunno whether to dump it all n start all over again or to continue watering the soil n see if the 'natural' fertilizers will help

halo curly,
me juz started to plant the seeds a few days back so dunno whether easy to grow or not. will tell u when the grass comes out

halo all catlovers,

me found a website which has recipes for cat treats, cookies, soup n much more. check this out

btw, me checked out whiskas website n found tat they hav many products which arent available here such as milk for cat n kittens n so many different types of treats for cats. but hor, they never ship to singapore leh
think im gonna ask my fren to buy from overseas when she goes on her next flight to US

Chin Leng,

Finally get to see Patches! She's cute! Nanook likes to go into plastic bags, and would stay still until someone walks up to the bag, and he would pounce on you...he chases his tail while being inside the bag as well. How old is Patches? How heavy is she? Looks like a calico cat. There's one stray calico which I named "Mixed Nuts"

It's heartwarming, tt the mother found the kitten. Touches my heart..

Hi Chin Leng, Patches looks beautiful! She got a good mixture of colours, huh! Glad that the adult cats found their baby.....

eunice, how much are the seeds? Maybe Orange's poo will help to grass to grow faster? hahah.... Saw some of the recipes but some of the treats use onions. I was told by the vet not to feed cats and dogs onions and chocolate.

coralfairy, so far I have never noticed Snowball licking on plastic bags but she loves to play with them though...

Last night while we were having yogurt, Snowball looked at us greedily, so I gave her some and she loved it. Hopefully she won't stomach upset......

I don't think Patches like to lick plastic bags... never seen her that.

But Patches does like to hide into the bags thinking that we can't see her... like Nanook, she'll pounce on us when we walk by.

Patches is 4 years now. I don't know how heavy she is but she is definitely putting on weight. My mum spoils her by giving her canned cat food regularly!

Hi Chin Leng,

Then Patches and Nanook are around the same age! Nanook weighs about 8 kg!

Keep those photos coming, we'd love to see them.

='o'=*

Did something to Patches this morning.

Didn't know that Patches sneaked out of the door while I collected the morning papers. I closed the door, locking Patches outside the house. She got so scared and started crying so loudyly. She dashed into the house and hid under the table when I opened the door.

She seems to be traumatised by the event. She doesn't dare to go out the house now even if we left the door opened for her to wander out.

Got a lecture from both my mum and sis!
But knowing Patches, she'll be back to her playful self in no time!

Chin Leng,
Nanook was locked outside several times too. It happened when my sister came home one night, and NAnook, as usual, would go to the gate, and look around. I knew he went out, and I presumed my sister knew too. She closed the door. It must have been quite awhile, when my sister started to look for him. We couldn't find him anywhere, and suddenly, we heard him meowing, rather pitifully. We opened the door, and found him outside... My sister didn't know he went out, which I presumed she did... Till this day, Nanook still goes out to the corridor

When I left for work this morning, I saw a big poo along the corridor (neighbour's). I suspect that the siamese must have done it. But cats are clean animals..... Hopefully my neighbour won't think Snowball did it...... Anyway, it was too big to be Snowball's.

Hi Curly,
If your neighbour query you, you can tell her that Snowball doesn't wander outside
Or does she?

Bad cat. Naughty boy. ;P

lollipop, Snowball is only allowed outside under our supervision. But normally, I don't let her go out as it's very dusty outside and she loves to roll on the corridor.

Yah, really bad boy!! He's actually a outdoor cat - they let it wanders freely. Yesterday morning when we went out for breakfast, it followed us across the carpark......

So this siamese, he's not a stray but rather is owned by your neighbor, who lets it roam about freely.

Have you fed him before?

We fed it once or twice but not anymore. Snowball doesn't like him, she always tries to chase him away.... and I think he's scared of Snowball.

Me always at Dog lover section, but we are all pet lover..so here is the good new.
Good news Pet lover in the west! I saw this pet shop at Bukit batok East Blk 271 doing renovation on Sun. I think opening soon. Heard from them that they are also providing tables and chair for pet lovers to hang out, Cool!

Lifetime

Siamese cat so bozo...being bigger but scared of Snowball which is much smaller...

Hullo Lifetime,
Thanks for sharing the news with us, but it is so far away from where I am staying. I like dogs too, just tt I prefer cats. Huge dogs. I like huge dogs, like the Siberian Husky.

halo all,

me today let orange roam outside the corridor without supervision n he's pretty well behaved. he would always come running when i call
then i decided to test him. i closed my door, leaving him outside n kept calling him while i walk inside the house. i did this for a couple of minutes. i was hoping tat he would whine but he didnt
then when i went to open the door, he wasnt there. i got worried for a while. i started callin him again n soon he came. he was looking ard n walking cautiously but the moment he saw me, he was so happy!! (i could tell!!
) he ran towards me n i gave him a nice hug but soon he wanted to get down n play with junior

guess i can leave my door open from now on
im thinkin of gettin a dogtag for him too, juz in case he gets into neighbours' house.

haiyah... i juz let orange out of the house again n u noe wat he did?? i was wondering how come he this time never come when i called. then i realised he went down one flight of stairs n was playing with a lizard!
the poor lizard's tail had oredi dropped off n orange was biting it in his mouth
i quickly carried him off n made him take a bath. now he's lickin himself dry

Orange is so smart!! I don't think I dare try this in case Snowball runs away.... She's not allowed outside for the time being because of the poo.

Eeeewww... lizards.. yikes..

I need help here, girls/Chin Leng,

Will cats scratch on parquet flooring? We will be shifting to a new hse this Sunday and my mum wanted to tie Nanook to a leash and put him in the yard. (the yard is next to the kitchen) I am strictly against it because eversince the last time he got sick, we have been letting him roam around, and I feel it is very cruel to restrain him again.. I dun think cats will scratch on parquet but I need someone to verify this.

This morning among all the many packed boxes, I noticed one pkt of Softlan had leaked and it smeared the flr. I alerted my mum and we cleaned up the pl a little. Then before I left my hse, she said it could hv been caused by Nanook. I think it is a little unfair here... first of all, the pkts were placed in a basket with sharp edges and second, I personally arranged the stuff and covered the things up. (there was insecticide, you see) How could it be Nanook?

Sad.